Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions on my job situation (Primary School)..

• 12-08-2008 10:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭

Hi all! Would love to get ye're opinions on this...

Qualified from Mary I in May..had my first ever interview last Thursday. I got the job and it's permanent. The job is in a country school in middle of nowhere in north Carlow. I only went for the interview practice, didn't think for a second I'd get it. I want to be up near Dublin! Want to be there while I'm young and most of my friends got jobs around there! Nethertheless I was delighted/overwhelmed to get this job..it's something that was all new to me!
    So the classes on offer were 1st, 3rd and 4th/5th mixed. I presumed I would be getting one of the straight classes as I made that my perference inside in the interview and esp as I have my Dip to do and 4th/5th are two different curricula! It turned out that I got the mixed class. To say I was in shock was a bit of an understatement! I asked him was there any possibility that I could get 1st/3rd class..He said no, unless one of the other teachers wanted it. Had made up my mind, I wasn't taking the job. (Though he didn't know that yet.) So got a phonecall today, it was the principal saying he now in a position to offer me 3rd class. There 21 children in the class. One of the children has ADHD so there also an SNA in the classroom.
    I'v never worked with an SNA..I'm probably being silly/stupid here but I must admit that I'd feel uncomfortable having one in my classroom. I'd feel I was being supervised 24/7..that she'd be watching what I was doing and saying..that she'd have no respect for me with me being 20 and just out of college and she an adult with more life experience..or that children might see her as the teacher. I know i'll have to deal with SNA's in future but I suppose I never thought about having one in my first year out for some odd reason!
    Now I'm suppose to be signing papers on Thurs, so I'll need to let him know if I'm not taking the job by tomorrow night (not looking forward to that phonecall if so!!). I just don't know what to do!!!! I'v been thinking about it all day and not getting anywhere..I'm sick inside! This is a life changing decision for me..defo the hardest decision I'v had to make so far in my life!
    I have an interview tomorrow by the Wexford/Wicklow border..it still not near Dublin but going for the interview practice. I have another interview in Celbridge next week, which would be perfect to get as it near people I know/Dublin. I know I should be greatful that I have a job..but I don't know if I'd be 100% happy there. But then if I don't take it will I get another/one nearer Dublin?!!

I know nobody can tell me what to do..but would love to hear people opinions on this! Thanks for reading! x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Fast_Mover wrote: »
    Thanks for reading! x

I had an SNA in the classroom last year and I will be gutted to see her go this year. She was an absolutely brilliant help to me and was a second set of eyes and ears. She offered me as much support as she could and never stepped on my toes as the class teacher, i.e. the children knew I was in charge, and knew she was, as an adult, also in a position of responsibility in the room. We worked well together and I will miss having her in the room. She went above and beyond the "call of duty" on so many occasions and helped me hugely with the dip.

So..

I'd get over the SNA thing to be honest!! The SNA could be the extra help you need to make the dip a little bit easier! Maybe the fact that she has more life experience will help.. you can use that experience. Its good to have that kind of second opinion when you've gone from primary school to secondary, to college, to primary school again. Its daunting to be in charge for the first time, and if your SNA is anything like mine, you can learn a lot from her life experience.

Well done on getting the job offer :D and best of luck with the dip!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Thanks for the such speedy reply Trotter! Your a gem!

Right, now that you kinda settled me about the SNA thing/putting it aside..Middle of the sticks Carlow isn't the place where I saw myself. I love the city! Do I give up this job in search/in hope for something closer to Dublin?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Fast_Mover wrote: »
    Thanks for the such speedy reply Trotter! Your a gem!

Right, now that you kinda settled me about the SNA thing/putting it aside..Middle of the sticks Carlow isn't the place where I saw myself. I love the city! Do I give up this job in search/in hope for something closer to Dublin?:confused:

Same situation as me! Wanted Dublin, got a permanent job down the road from where I am now. (At least I'm still close to civilisation!) It's a huge decision to give up a permanent job in the hopes of getting another, but then what good is a permanent job if you don't see yourself staying in Carlow long-term?

I chose the permanent job, out of fear more than anything, and although I'm looking forward to starting, I do still wish I was moving to Dublin.

Being young with no responsibilities makes it easier to take a risk such as giving up a job in the hope of another, so if it's really what you want, go for it. Remember though that you might not get another job so easily (or you might, but you don't know until that happens.) so it is a big decision.

At least you were given time to think! I had ten minutes to decide while she called someone to check if I could have more time to decide!

Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭KateF

I'd say hold out for a job in Dublin. You say you have interviews elsewhere? I know its a big risk to take...but, I live in Carlow, and tbh, I'm 22, going to start my PGDE in Primary this year, and when I qualify I'm not coming back here for a few years, I'd much rather teach in Dublin or Glasgow/Edinburgh first, to get the experience if nothing else. I presume you're not originally from Carlow or anything? So would you move to Carlow town or commute up and down? Either way, if your hearts not in it, hold out for a job in Dublin, you're still young ya know, your a qualified teacher at 20! If you give up this position its not the end of the world.
    Oh, on the issue of the SNA, they're a brilliant help! I was sub teaching for the year this year, and as an unqualified 21 year old going in, I felt soooo self conscious with them there. But honestly, if they're there, there's a very good reason, and you will need them!!

janeybabe wrote: »
    Same situation as me! Wanted Dublin, got a permanent job down the road from where I am now. (At least I'm still close to civilisation!) It's a huge decision to give up a permanent job in the hopes of getting another, but then what good is a permanent job if you don't see yourself staying in Carlow long-term?
    I wasn't going staying there long term..probably 3years MAX! Would take my career leave after the two years and go travelling, then come back to that job for one last year and took for another job somewhere. I'm too young to be tied down to the one job!:eek:
    I chose the permanent job, out of fear more than anything, and although I'm looking forward to starting, I do still wish I was moving to Dublin.
    Being young with no responsibilities makes it easier to take a risk such as giving up a job in the hope of another, so if it's really what you want, go for it. Remember though that you might not get another job so easily (or you might, but you don't know until that happens.) so it is a big decision.
    Yeah, I'm so afraid I won't get anything else and had a permanent job and gave it up,ahh!...but feck it, Dublin is where I wana be/see myself!
    At least you were given time to think! I had ten minutes to decide while she called someone to check if I could have more time to decide!
    Well the shock of getting the job/it being permanent I just said yes straight away, I wasn't really thinking..shur I had to ring him back later that night to ask what class I got as it was the furthest thing from my mind at the time!!:D

Have to ring him later tonight now to break the news..I'm soo sick..I mean he really nice/the school lovely and they really into sport which would be my thing/he got the class changed for me from the mixed to the 3rd. But i gota do what I gota do I suppose..still doesn't make it any easier!:(
    KateF wrote: »
    I presume you're not originally from Carlow or anything? So would you move to Carlow town or commute up and down?
    I'm from Cork. Takes exactly three hours from my house to get where I'm going in Carlow. No way would I live in the village I'd be teaching in..I'd commute from either Carlow town/Newbridge/Naas...I need civilisation/fun/life!
    KateF wrote: »
    Either way, if your hearts not in it, hold out for a job in Dublin, you're still young ya know, your a qualified teacher at 20! If you give up this position its not the end of the world.
    Yeah, what you say there is true..but I do want to get my dip done this year so I can go travelling!

Right lads/lassies..ye were such a great help, I really appreciate it..I'm gonna jump into the deep end and take the risk! Fortune favours the bold as they say!:D So we'll see what happens!! I'll keep ye posted!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Good luck! I think you've made the right decision. What is it about Cork that has us all wanting to go to Dublin, eh? lol

Tried ringing him tonight..but he was out/mobile off. Morning it is!:(

Like i'd perfer to have a job near home/live at home as opposed to paying rent somewhere where I don't know anyone/not anywhere near my friends/home/not totally happy in my job. So yeah, I think i'v made the right decision aswell.

Suppose as Corkonians we feel we need to educate those Dubs about the 'real capital'!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Muinteoireamonn

Hey, congrats on getting through Mary I! I miss the oul place myself, though i did Arts!

Id say go take the job, but im speaking as a secondary teacher. I wanted Galway or Limerick, but got Dublin myself. Took the job with the attitude that, 1. College is over (though i dont like to admit it), 2. Youll have your weekends for old friends etc. 3. Full time work these days is hard to find. Though there are more jobs as primary teachers....best of luck!

I miss the oul place myself
    Ah Eamonn you just miss the crowds of women everywhere isn't is?!!:D

Right well I rang him this morning saying that I wasn't taking it.
    I don't know if I did the right or wrong thing..but I guess time will tell!!