Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bertie Ahern becomes RTÉ TV presenter..

• 12-08-2008 5:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭

Former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern is to become a guest presenter on an RTÉ Television show later this month.

The TD will guest present the RTÉ Two sports programme 'The Road to Croker' on Thursday 21 August from An Gaeltacht in Kerry.

*Titters*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

There is a thread about it in TV.

Is he getting paid at all for this?
    My TV licence is up for renewal at the end of the month. If he is getting paid for it, I'm not paying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭adsgirl

The-Rigger wrote: »

My TV licence is up for renewal at the end of the month. If he is getting paid for it, I'm not paying it.

No idea , but no doubt some form of payment will change hands..
    Anyway here is what Bertie had to say..

Commenting, Ahern said: "I've always watched 'The Road to Croker'. It's a great show and I'm delighted that I'll have the opportunity to present it on 21 August."

Pleased to see he hasn't lost his man on the street touch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Give him The Late Late.

Uncle BertieBo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Anyone remember his stint as a pundit on The Premiership a few years back?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Whats with all the beef with Bertie?
    I think he'd be a good presenter, especially if he takes the piss out of himself which I'm sure he will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

I think he'd be a good presenter, especially if he takes the piss out of himself which I'm sure he will.

I agree

i'll definitely be watching it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Jobs for the boys.

Think about it the feckin man was Taoiseach!!!
    Think Tony Blair does "Question of Sport"......
    Bush does a "Doctor Phil" stint....

Now think Bertie does RTE...enough it is wrong , so awfuly wrong!!! It will be the end of his career...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Magpie!

Such a fcuking goon. He hasn't an ounce of dignity.

Another ex head of government would go and buy a football club, he goes goming it up on TV.

Would he not go on the chicken dinner circuit for a while raise bit of cash sort out his messes and stop making a show of us all.

Magpie! wrote: »
    Would he not go on the chicken dinner circuit for a while raise bit of cash sort out his messes and stop making a show of us all.

Its a show about GAA actually.... :pac:

i'll get me coat

Even worse! What do Dubs know about GAA?

/ducks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

He's getting a "loan" probably !!!

What a joke I thought we were rid of the doddering fool, another reason not to watch RTE. Why we have to pay a TV license for drivel like this and the other crud that emanates from the bowels of Montrose is beyond me. They are getting advertising revenue and produce bad clones of UK TV at best.

/ducks

*Pulls up a chair and waits for the fireworks*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

/ducks

Show will probably starting about 15/30mins late....

Steve_o wrote: »
    Its a show about GAA actually.... :pac:

i'll get me coat

Then he should to stick to talking shoite privately in the pub, how are the Mammies and Daddies of Ireland going to explain this, "Okay pet work hard at school some day you could grow up to represent your Country, way up there with the leaders of the World, but and it is a big but, fess up and You will end up talking GAA on RTE"....Oh the poor Irish Kddies:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

the metro said his fee is going to his local gaa club or some such

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    the metro said his fee is going to his local gaa club or some such

*sniggers*

And the crew will invade the studio 2 minutes before the end........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

he will have to take the piss out of himself from day one or he'll never be accepted. otherwise i give the show 2 months; but given his fat wallet he could keep a leaking TV programme running for decades.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

Overheal wrote: »
    he will have to take the piss out of himself from day one or he'll never be accepted. otherwise i give the show 2 months; but given his fat wallet he could keep a leaking TV programme running for decades.

its a once off thing hense a guest presenter:rolleyes:. And the presenter's fee is going to the local GAA club. I think it will be good!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Didn't Ted Heath or some similar dryballs english former prime minister have a short running talk show during the seventies at some stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Bertie was a panelist on De Premiership before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Maybe he can host something with his old comrade sean duignan...

*titter*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Absolute joke of a situation.
    The job of the media is to hold the government to account over it's decisions, and indeed to keep an eye on what our 'leaders' get up to.

This is, as somebody already said, classic 'jobs for the boys' stuff. You wouldn't get that level of gob****ery in the F.A.I even. Betie Ahern got caught with his hand in the cookie jar, but somehow came out with his 'I'm wurrrrkin class and one of the people' imagine intact, not that RTE made much effort to go beyond it either.

Bertie in his Dubs jersey, or his British soccer shirt, or his Shels jersey or whatever else is taking away from the Bertie we'd all like to know a bit more about....Bertie the greedy Fianna Failer with the funny transactions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I quite fancy Bertie Ahern :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Carroller16

adsgirl wrote: »
    Think about it the feckin man was Taoiseach!!!
    Think Tony Blair does "Question of Sport"......
    Bush does a "Doctor Phil" stint....

Now think Bertie does RTE...enough it is wrong , so awfuly wrong!!! It will be the end of his career...

But this is Ireland. Anything can happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

prendy wrote: »
    its a once off thing hense a guest presenter:rolleyes:. And the presenter's fee is going to the local GAA club. I think it will be good!
    of which he is president..snigger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'd love to see him on the Late Late Show! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

PrivateEye wrote: »
    The job of the media is to hold the government to account over it's decisions, and indeed to keep an eye on what our 'leaders' get up to.

This is, as somebody already said, classic 'jobs for the boys' stuff. You wouldn't get that level of gob****ery in the F.A.I even. Betie Ahern got caught with his hand in the cookie jar, but somehow came out with his 'I'm wurrrrkin class and one of the people' imagine intact, not that RTE made much effort to go beyond it either.

Bertie in his Dubs jersey, or his British soccer shirt, or his Shels jersey or whatever else is taking away from the Bertie we'd all like to know a bit more about....Bertie the greedy Fianna Failer with the funny transactions.
    no,no,he won it on a horse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

phasers wrote: »
    I quite fancy Bertie Ahern :pac:

"Yore ma" tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern is to become a guest presenter on an RTÉ Television show later this month.

The TD will guest present the RTÉ Two sports programme 'The Road to Croker' on Thursday 21 August from An Gaeltacht in Kerry.

*Titters*

Jesus wept!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

should have been a late night talk show called "Bertie in ur box"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

PrivateEye wrote: »

I'm guessing that you missed the news story where he resigned as taoiseach back in May? ... it's a guy called Brian Cowen who is in charge now.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I'm guessing that you missed the news story where he resigned as taoiseach back in May? ... it's a guy called Brian Cowen who is in charge now.

LMAO!
    COWEN? No ****ing eejit would elect that Offal mong.
    You're mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

... it's a guy called Brian Cowen who is in charge now.

Who?

greatgoal wrote: »
    no,no,he won it on a horse.
    ...and the money was just resting in his account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

The TD will guest present the RTÉ Two sports programme 'The Road to Croker' on Thursday 21 August from An Gaeltacht in Kerry.*Titters*

An absolute joke.............
    Bertie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

let him host 'Show Me The Money':D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Conor108 wrote: »
    let him host 'Show Me The Money':D

Or a new show called "Show me where the money is?" or "Blankety Blank (signed cheque book)".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

Seeing as Bertie is good with the horses maybe RTE should let him present their horse racing coverage, he could become Ireland's version of John McCririck!

Funnily enough, I am looking forward to the show now..
    He could well become a legend in his on right....Rte Tosser..

Seeing as Bertie is good with the horses maybe RTE should let him present their horse racing coverage, he could become Ireland's version of John McCririck!

I think Bertie with massive side burns would be the last straw!!

Former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern will be picking Ireland’s top farmer in his latest job since quitting as leader of the country.

Mr Ahern, whose father worked as a farm manager in Dublin, will head a judging panel for the FBD Young Farmer of the Year awards in September...