Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork V Kildare

• 10-08-2008 1:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭

Cork 2-03 Kildare 0-0 after 16 minutes.
    Game over already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

Kildare in trouble in all positons!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

As regards game over - Looks like it - Nightmare start by Kildare.

Given Kildare's scoring record and Cork's defence, can't see Kildare getting back into it unless they get some goals.

4th sub after 28 mins with no injuries :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭robo

What a bad penalty...Kildare need to sort out that big time after Doyle's miss last week and Sweeneys half hearted effort this week!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Harpie

They'll have til next year 2 sort it at this stage :D Poor enough match.

15 minutes since Cork have scored....we need a goal or 2.
    3 points unanswered for Kildare.

Kildare definitely need a goal. Cork are cruising and look complacent, if Kildare can punish them they need to do it now. Every time Kildare work hard for a score its only to narrow the margin to 6..If Cork win out and and I'd say they will, Kerry should have no problems beating them in the semi.

I think in the 2nd half we have been even with scores.
    Kerry will have no problem if Cork play like this and if Kildare lose...wishful thinking!!!

3 behind! Would love to see a comeback

Too little too late imo..Cork can count themselves lucky

Wow, the last 2 minutes, didn't think that they would get the goal, but great play for Kildare in the box with the passing. That missed penalty....:(

Last 2 minutes was great..Kildare will have a lot of regrets from the game. Cork were cocky and it very nearly cost them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Fair play to Kildare for getting back into it.

If they'd popped over a couple of the easy points chances as opposed to going for goal earlier on and if the first penalty had been converted, who knows what might have happened. Black mark for the ref and umpires with the goal-keeper so far off his line for the first penalty - should clearly have been retaken.

Cork unimpressive in the second half. Kerry will be massive favourites for the semi.

The missed penalty is tough for Kildare but the thing is that if Kildare got that penalty, Cork may have played differently and we may not have caught up as much as we did. They fought back well, but Cork did let it slide back a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭skinner2x

Great game from Mikey Conway, Early , Smith. Things not looking bad for the future. Thought Sweeney did well when he came in too. Geesers switches worked out well....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

cork switched off in the second half because the game was won. kildare were very very poor.

i agree with MementoMori, kerry will be favourites, and i think they'll beat us, unfortunately.

Smith is a promising player!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

Smith was the Shining light for kildare today. Really is a shame they were caugh cold at the start of the match... If they could have kept tight till half time i think they would have gone on and won ..how many times have kildare given away the first half ? Geezer needs to look at that.. They cant be the come back kings every match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

fuc;ing great craic on the hill today,last 3 minutes with the Kildare and Kilkenny fans all cheering for the lillies.Actually kind of optimistic(whisper it)about the future,smith,kavanagh,chalky etc.Just some hard work needs to be put into better forward play over the next few months.
    Geezer is proving himself to be adept at this level despite a shaky start,delighted for him and an honest bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Just to put things in context, we were missing two of our best players, and if Canty and Murphy were starting in midfield that would free Cussen for full forward and O' Neill for the center. Sheilds and Miskella now have a few championship minutes under thier wings as well. Plus some of our 'stars' like Masters and O' Connor haven't come close to hitting top form yet

We are always going to be strong and competitive in the middle third, and with Cussen, Hayes and Goulding in our full forward line we can give Kerry all sorts of trouble.

However, our defence seems to be a bit of disaster zone. Spillane and Lynch were fantastic, but I would always be wary of Kavanagh versus Donaghy in a big game, and Duggan was easily our worst player today. Og Regan wasn't a whole lot better. Basically, with those two in defence I can see Kerry running riot. Anyway, with a full squad, this is the team I would like to see against Kerry...

Quirke

Shields
    Kavanagh
    Lynch
    K O' Connor
    Spillane
    Miskella

Canty
    Murphy

D O' Connor
    O' Neill
    O' Brien
    Hayes
    Cussen
    Goulding

That team would put it up to Kerry, although it almost certainly won't start agaisnt them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Murphy has to produce it at AI Level, now is the time.

Does seem to be potential in the forward line, but dare I say it, a bit of puke football is needed in defence! No team will out shoot these Kerry boys!

Monaghan have the right idea and Cork have the forwards to make it pay!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

We tried 'puke' football by putting Canty as a sweeper in the Munster final, and we got destroyed.

I agree that our defence probably isn't up to it in Croker against Kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 kefan

cussens goal was clearly a square ball, umpires and referee weren't good enough today because of that and quirke being so far off his line for sweeney's penalty,
    having said that cork might have won anyway but at least if the squareball goal didn't count it would have been a closer more exciting match,
    thought our lads did great to come back from being 2-3 to 0-0 down in the first half. if they could only start playing quicker and not waste the first 20 minutes of the matches we'd have a great chance.
    conway was by far the best for us and smyth and kavanagh also played well.
    as for cork id say kerry will win easy enough but best of luck to them in the semi final against the kingdom. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭brianon

Peno should have been retaken and he 2nd goal was a square ball...a very obvious one at that. But as someone pointed out already...the result may have been the same. At least it would have given us a fair chance.

Thought we defended real well early one. First 3 balls in Cussen came straight back out. The first goal though seemed to knock the stuffing out of the lads.

There is plenty to build on and a new found never say die attitude could bring us a long way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Christ i hope we beat those Cocky Kerry boys! All i'm hearing is "Yerra who cares about munster titles we're out for the all ireland".

I'd agree with them about that, Munster title doesn't matter a bit these days. It's all about beating Kerry in Croke Park and winning an All-Ireland. At this stage I reckon we have about a 10% chance of winning against Kerry. Get a very bad feeling about this.

Hopefully we do it and shut "the Gooch" up with his constant whinging to the ref.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Damo.Smith

i thought masters dictated the game in the first half when he was at centre forward

He played well in the first hlaf, played a lot of ball and actually looks fitter and slimmer then ever.

However, he isn't a center forward, I wouldn't put him ahead of Goulding, NIce to bing him on off the bench for Kerry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

Christ i hope we beat those Cocky Kerry boys! All i'm hearing is "Yerra who cares about munster titles we're out for the all ireland".

a cork person complaining about another county being cocky;)you clearly werent one of the unlucky kildare fans to be stuck near them.
    Mind you they were quiet during the hurling:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 eimms

i match was crap enufe ! lik of the fans were dare to watch the hurlers to be fair !! well done to the footballers but kildare wernt much gud!!it might be a diffrent sori the 24th aginst the kingdom!!:rolleyes: