Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flurkin rain- Matches to go ahead tomorrow in Croker?

• 09-08-2008 8:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭

As per the title, have the GAA confirmed that the matches tomorrow will go ahead given the flooding in Dublin?

Picked the right day to introduce herself to the GAA anyway :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Has it been pouring up their since the match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Can't ever recall such a high profile GAA matches being cancelled due to the weather, it'd have to be absolutely atrocious up there for it to not go ahead.

Whats the alternative if it is postponed? This day fortnight maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

The weather forecast seemed to suggest that it will rain heavily during the night and then turn to showers over Dublin tomorrow around match time.

The last match I can remember being at in torrential rain in Croker was the '99 Hurling Final. Things went pretty well that day though.

Haven't been in the Lower Cusack in years either, what's the rain cover like there?

I'm sure it will go ahead, unless they have to start closing roads or something.

If it is cancelled I assume it would be played tomorrow week, with the Dublin and Tipp/Deise games pushed back a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Orizio wrote: »
    I'm sure it will go ahead, unless they have to start closing roads or something.
    FYI some of them are closed already

Had to laugh today atpoints in Micheal O Muircheartaigh's commentary on Radio 1. He called the match, gave the history of the Olympics, served as a weatherman and also gave public service announcements regarding road closures!!

Is Jones Road still closed?

I can't really see them being called off/postponed at this stage but it would be nice to get confirmation from the GAA.

Just heard that, anyone know which ones?

I assume we can still get into Dublin, I'm going to Bray and getting the DART in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Orizio wrote: »
    If it is cancelled I assume it would be played tomorrow week, with the Dublin and Tipp/Deise games pushed back a week.

Unlikely that the games next weekend would be moved if tomorrows are called off.

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Unlikely that the games next weekend would be moved if tomorrows are called off.

True. That would just create even more hassle. Just realised that this day 2 weeks couldnt happen for the football, since the winner would have to play a semi the next day!

The only way I could see them rescheduling it would be to play the double header this day 2 weeks and push the semi between Kerry and the winner back a week to the day before the other semi final.

All just speculation though. It should still get the go ahead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Kavinsky

Cork fans gettin the excuses ready early eh :pac:

Kavinsky wrote: »
    Cork fans gettin the excuses ready early eh :pac:

Surprised that only took 11 posts. :rolleyes:

Like I said '99 was a great year in the rain in Croker. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Tbh, the rain pretty much came out of nowhere today. It was only around the start of the second match that the dark clouds appeared. It was like something out of independence day!:D They even had to switch the floodlights on for the second half. Since then there've been a few very heavy showers, although it's not raining at the moment. The rain was so heavy that by the end of the game, Jones' Road and Richmond Road had to be closed. I had to run home from Croke Park and got absolutely soaked Shamrock Rovers were due to play Sunderland at Tolka Park tonight (on Richmond Road) but the game had to be cancelled because of flooding there. According to one of the Shels fans on the soccer forum, the bar in Tolka is under 2 feet of water.

The M1 is closed, as is the N3 (Navan Road) and the M50 is blocked at the Ballymun exit. For the moment Orizio, you should be ok getting the DART from Bray but it all depends on how the weather holds up tonight.

And bigkev49, unless you're at the very back of the lower Cusack, you're going to get soaked if it rains. By half time, most of the lower Cusack had been cleared. They opened the upper tier, which had been closed, so that the people that were originally in the lower Cusack could see the game without being drowned!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

I just got to the airport in Dublin from the city centre. It took two taxis and me stripping down and wading through waist high water. Pretty bad in spots. I guess all the GAA can do is wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

the games will be on ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Lads, lads, what have you been smoking? Why on Earth wouldn't the matches go ahead? If someone had come in here and asked "Is water wet?" that would not have been anywhere close to being as stupid a question. A certain Donegal poster from here is in Tunisia at present, but given the choice of being on a beach in Tunisia or even one in the Caribbean, compared to being in Croke Park yesterday, there is absolutely no contest as to where any sane person would want to be. Not wanting to be in Croke Park for championship matches is insanity of the most severe kind. Asking if the games would go ahead today certainly rivals that kind of insanity. Caribbean or Croke Park? Croke Park wins every time, in any weather! Now I'd love to stay here and post a bit longer, but there are 3 matches in a particular venue today, and I intend to be at them. Apparently there is some little sporting event going on in China at present, but the biggest sporting event of this and any year started last May and continues to next month, and a little shower like we had yesterday is certainly not going to dampen my enthusiasm to be there. As to the rest of ye, just hope they have strait jackets in your size.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Flukey wrote: »
    Why on Earth wouldn't the matches go ahead?
    If the roads around Croker were deemed to be impassable, or access to and from the ground was deemed to be hazardous then the games would be easily postponed. As it happens rain didn't continue overnight. You have to remember conditions were very bad when the original question was asked. Rainfall in the capital was only second on record for August to the day of Hurricane Charlie, had it continued a new record would have been set. Parts of the capital were already in chaos yesterday. Your post has the benefit of hindsight so be gentle :)

Apparently there is some little sporting event going on in China at present, but the biggest sporting event of this and any year started last May and continues to next month, and a little shower like we had yesterday is certainly not going to dampen my enthusiasm to be there.
    Yet some of the rowing and the shooting has been postponed today because the of the weather there ;)

Jesus H Christ Flukey I thought you had given up your holier-than-thou egotistic posts a few months ago. Obviously not.

All bow down to Flukey, the man for any weather, rain hail or snow.........

Just read Bluetonics post, then re-read it to be sure you get the message, and then understand why it was very plausible the match wouldn't go ahead. It will at this stage obviously, we would have got word by now if it wasnt, but it was still possible.

And one final thing, please tell where anyone had said they did not want to be in Croker in this type of weather? Nobody did, but you still used it as an excuse to showboat your "wonderful" talent for going to GAA matches yet again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

Bluetonic wrote: »
    As it happens rain didn't continue overnight. You have to remember conditions were very bad when the original question was asked. Rainfall in the capital was only second on record for August to the day of Hurricane Charlie, had it continued a new record would have been set.

Yesterday saw the heaviest rain in history to fall on Dublin. I was in Croke Park yesterday cheering on my beloved Kingdom and I for one will never ever forget the spectacle that unfolded before me. It was like something out of War of the Worlds or Independence Day. At about 28mins into the first half of Kerry V Galway you could see the clouds begining to gather and their defininitely was a super cell over Dublin, it became so dark as if it was 10 o'clock at night, and then the heavens opened literally. The rain that fell was the heaviest I have ever seen and I have seen heavy rain in foreign countries. It was a credit to the maintainince guys at Croker to see how the pitch handled.

However to see the lights on in Croke Park, lightning forking overhead and the mighty Kingdom answering Gods call and taking on the men of the west in what had certainly become a dark hour for Kerry football was inspirational and a game I will never forget. I though for a second I had suddenly been morphed into a Lucozade ad to see Colm Cooper kicking supreme points in the lights with the mother of all rainfalls and lightening and thunder cracking overhead.

Yesterday's match was a game of Football for us pureists and Galway and Michael Meehan are one of the finest and truest teams I have seen Kerry play in a long long time an they play pure clean traditional football. Unlike the thuggery Armagh attempted on Wexford however Mattie and Co. held their heads and I can guarantee that if Tyrone defeat Dublin that Wexford will appear in an All-Ireland final come the famous evening mid september.

Four records were broken yesterday and I witnessed each one

• Wexford Qualified for the first All-ireland semi final in 63 years
    • Kerry qualified for their 9th All-ireland semi final in a row 2000 - 2008
    • Daragh O'Se played in his 71st Championship match yesterday an all time record
    • 76.2mm of rain was recorded at Dublin Airport yesterday compared with 73mm of rain. This is a new record for the month of August. The previous record was 73mm which was recorded in August 1986 during which Hurricane Charley innudated Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

few more records -

first ever championship game under lights in croker.
    first ever 70 minute championship game played under lights.

and has there ever been 39 scores in a 70 minute championship match before???

sesnational stuff yesterday played in some of the worst conditions ever witnessed in croker. the standard was amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

first ever championship game under lights in croker.
    first ever 70 minute championship game played under lights.
    Wasn't only part of the game played under lights are they came on at half time?
    and has there ever been 39 scores in a 70 minute championship match before???
    There must be a good few, off the top of my head the 1970 final had 41 scores in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

maybe this has been said already....but i'd like to say fair play to the gaa/croker officials for opening the upper decks yesterday!

fair enough it was no big deal on their part to do, but when have we ever seen the GAA make decisions like this before for the benfit of the fans!!

hopefully this is the first step on a new supporter-friendly road for the GAA!!

Deise59, you did see the smiley at the end of my post didn't you? Lighten up. It was rough around Dublin and Kildare yesterday, but it wasn't that bad in Croke Park. Even leaving there yesterday evening, with the rain pouring out of the heavens, I didn't doubt that the games would go ahead today. As we headed into town I heard on the radio that the Sunderland game in Tolka Park was off, but I still had no doubt that Croke Park would be open for business as usual today.

As for me going to matches, yes I do go to a lot and I hope to be there on the occasion which will enable you to change your username to Deise08. For next weekend I am hoping for the Dubs and the Deise to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,964 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

sesnational stuff yesterday played in some of the worst conditions ever witnessed in croker. the standard was amazing.

It was truly refreshing to see football being played the way it was meant to be and not the bastardised crap so common nowadays.

As for me going to matches, yes I do go to a lot and I hope to be there on the occasion which will enable you to change your username to Deise08. For next weekend I am hoping for the Dubs and the Deise to win.

Thanks for that. I wish I could say the same, but I'd love to see Wexford reach an All Ireland final, and I fear your own county could give them another hiding if ye get past Tyrone :o

Sorry if I came on too strong, Sunday morning hangovers don't put me in the best of moods ;)

Deise59(08) :), I hope you have a Monday morning hangover next week after a night of celebration, which will put you in training for an even bigger hangover in September. :) If you are in Croke Park next Sunday, drop into Madigan's afterwards to join our GAA Beers. All are welcome. The two of us can celebrate the victories of our respective counties. :)

I'll try my best to make it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

whats with all the homo-erotic flirting between flukey and deise59 today???

taidghbaby wrote: »
    whats with all the homo-erotic flirting between flukey and deise59 today???

You sound like you're jealous...

:pac::pac::pac:

What's this topic about again?....Ah yeah, the weather. Didn't look like it even rained during the match today from what I saw on tv. Alls well that ends well I guess.

There was a few short showers, nothing to bad.

Taidghbaby, we're all pals on this forum, especially when we're from counties whose paths aren't likely to cross, like in the case of Deise59 and myself. :)

The pitch held up well in Croke Park after Saturday's rain. The Canal End goal mouth was a bit bare looking. There had been a big puddle there on Saturday which the groundstaff were out trying to clear during the half time break in the Kerry v Galway match. The weather stayed good and it was certainly a different experience coming out of Croke Park compared to on Saturday evening. It was a lot brighter, and dryer! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Lads, lads, what have you been smoking? Why on Earth wouldn't the matches go ahead? If someone had come in here and asked "Is water wet?" that would not have been anywhere close to being as stupid a question. A certain Donegal poster from here is in Tunisia at present, but given the choice of being on a beach in Tunisia or even one in the Caribbean, compared to being in Croke Park yesterday, there is absolutely no contest as to where any sane person would want to be. Not wanting to be in Croke Park for championship matches is insanity of the most severe kind. Asking if the games would go ahead today certainly rivals that kind of insanity. Caribbean or Croke Park? Croke Park wins every time, in any weather! Now I'd love to stay here and post a bit longer, but there are 3 matches in a particular venue today, and I intend to be at them. Apparently there is some little sporting event going on in China at present, but the biggest sporting event of this and any year started last May and continues to next month, and a little shower like we had yesterday is certainly not going to dampen my enthusiasm to be there. As to the rest of ye, just hope they have strait jackets in your size.:)

Well I for one don't intend to be here next June and I am a huge GAA supporter with his sanity intact.I plan on going to South Africa next June to see the Sardine Run with Mrs Blackbelt in tow.The only question on my mind is will I see the Sardine Run from plane,boat or actually see it right in front of me as I go deep sea diving?

Like the championship,this only happens once a year and nature waits for no man.This is one wonder of the world I intend to see.At some stage,I will have to miss some championship action and what better way to miss it than to pursue another hobby and make a holiday out of it.As for Smashey,well he is more sane than anybody whose county is out of the championship.He's not insane enough to stick around here and endure this crap weather we're having.He's on a beach in Tunisia sipping cocktails,baking in the sun and sweating over the heat rather than who is going to win the big ball competition.

PS The Dubs will be there when I get back.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

blackbelt wrote: »
    Well I for one don't intend to be here next June and I am a huge GAA supporter with his sanity intact.I plan on going to South Africa next June to see the Sardine Run with Mrs Blackbelt in tow.The only question on my mind is will I see the Sardine Run from plane,boat or actually see it right in front of me as I go deep sea diving?

Like the championship,this only happens once a year and nature waits for no man.This is one wonder of the world I intend to see.At some stage,I will have to miss some championship action and what better way to miss it than to pursue another hobby and make a holiday out of it.As for Smashey,well he is more sane than anybody whose county is out of the championship.He's not insane enough to stick around here and endure this crap weather we're having.He's on a beach in Tunisia sipping cocktails,baking in the sun and sweating over the heat rather than who is going to win the big ball competition.

PS The Dubs will be there when I get back.:D
    I landed in Melbourne on the day of the Dublin v Mayo game. Got to Melbourne, met up with all my mates, sooo glad to be away from Ireland for a while.....2am hits, match on TV and i just wanted to be back here again :D Must be a record, homesick within 1 day :D

It's taken Pope John Paul II to take me away from Croke Park, and that is not a lie. The sardine run may be a natural wonder, but so is being in Croke Park. Go down to your local supermarket, buy a few tins of sardines and get Mrs. Blackbelt to run with them in tow, and you'll have your sardine run. Get her to do it along Clonliffe Road on a match day and you'll get two wonders of the world in one day. If it is as wet as it was last Saturday, it'll be just like being in the ocean. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭mousey007

the matches will definitely go ahead and i cant wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

The sardine run may be a natural wonder, but so is Mrs. Blackbelt . :)

fixed that for you!!