Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you a terror or potentially manically violent in the mornings?

• 08-08-2008 2:48pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭

I am. Im a demon in the mornings. No actually Im like the nati-christ. I just dont do mornings. I love the snooze button more than the buttons on the TV remote.

My team at work avoid asking me for time off etc until after 11am. Some people dont bother talking to me until after 11am. What a shining example of a man I am.

But now i've met my match. There will be blood I reckon next week. I got an alarm clock called Clocky. Its an alarm clock on wheels with a banshee like alarm.

You set it and press snooze. Grand. However when the alarm goes off again and you press snooze, it doesnt stop the alarm. In fact it starts driving all over the shop. It drives off the bed side locker and goes mental on the floor. The idea is that you have to chase it around the room to physically switch it off. I cant see Clocky living beyond Monday morning.

Are you as demonic as me in the mornings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

where did you buy that alarm clock ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I generally don't know who I am or what the f*ck is going on in the mornings. I'm not agressive just confused and more than likely, less than 30% conscious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Magpie!

i went through a phase of leaving the alarm clock on top of the wardrobe across the other side of the room. Still didn't work.

I'd get out of bed turn it off and be back under the snuggly warm duvet before I'd even really woken up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I'm one of those happy cnuts in the morning.
    I can't help it... I'm the person you see in work / on the bus / luas with a happy grin listening to music that you just want to chop into little pieces.

I'm even going to utter that phrase 'Good morning' to you if you make eye contact. You *will* want to punch me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

lmao that clock sounds amazing. I'm sometimes violent in the mornings, usually when someone wakes me up JUST before my alarm. I've been known to throw pillows, clocks, pint glasses or whatever else is in reach.

I've kinda gotten into a routine now which is **** but what can ya do really!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I need one of those alarm clocks. I'm a lazy f#cker in the mornings, I have to set about 3 or 4 seperate alarms just to wake up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

I blame work. on a day off, i could happily get up at 8am, but on a day i'm working, i'll drag myself out of bed around half 9. work is the cause of unhappiness in the morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Nah I'm a sweetheart in the morning as long as:

It's sunny when I wake.
    I'm not too tired.
    My coffee machine has for once actually managed do to as programmed and turn on.
    My dog for once hasn't tried it's usual fevered attempts to impregnate or compost my furniture, clothes, walls etc.
    My commute flies.
    There's no stupid sloths shuffling on the path when I'm walking.
    Nobody left stuff on my desk after me tidying it before I went home.
    As above but with post its.
    The first person in the office I meet has to be someone I'm friendly with because false smiles and conversations wreck my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Dinter wrote: »
    Nah I'm a sweetheart in the morning as long as:

It's sunny when I wake.
    I'm not too tired.
    My coffee machine has for once actually managed do to as programmed and turn on.
    My dog for once hasn't tried it's usual fevered attempts to impregnate or compost my furniture, clothes, walls etc.
    My commute flies.
    There's no stupid sloths shuffling on the path when I'm walking.
    Nobody left stuff on my desk after me tidying it before I went home.
    As above but with post its.
    The first person in the office I meet has to be someone I'm friendly with because false smiles and conversations wreck my head.

Someone's a little hard to please?
    I'm just grateful if I wake up on time for work. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

I'm usually pretty ok in the morning, maybe still a little sleepy but that is it. After a shower I am ready to face the world. I work with someone who is always grumpy in the morning, I think he is just being a drama queen though. If your body is still slowly waking up at 10 am then there is something wrong with you, go to the doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭A_M101

Once I'm not short on sleepy I'm usually bright-eyed, bushy-tailed and ready to go in the morning. Short on sleep I'm still usually ok, just a bit quieter.

I live with a girl though that needs to be given some serious space in the mornings. Any question results in a death stare. I am TERRIFIED if I have to wake her up for something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Zangetsu

^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

Yup i am all of those things. I'm also barely concious the missus sometimes asks me to do things in the moring just before she goes away (if i'm on evenings or on saturdays as she works those she's up before me).
    Then later that day she'll be giving out stink wondering why i didn't pick up the drycleaning or pick up her mother from hospital or go to our wedding and i'm like when the fcuk did you ask me to do that and she's like this morning when you were in bed and i just look at her in my both confused and condesending way and say "ah come on now pooky i don't even know my own name when i've just been woken up" in fact the chances are she didn't really wake me up it's just that her requests triggered my automated "yeah sure baby" response which at that time of the morning really means "yeah whatever now get the fcuk out of here i'm trying to fcuking sleep you silly fcuking b1tch grrrraaaaahhhhh snarl sknaw sheeuuu".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

If I have had a lot of drink the night before, I can have a mixture of feeling depressed and being in an utterly foul mood where I could quite happily resort to violence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

Heh heh, I am one of those fellows too. Nothing annoys me more than people saying "good morning" or "hello" in the mornings. In my demented state I always think they are doing it deliberatly to annoy me, even though thinking about it now it seems absurd. My alarm clocks never last too long either..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Afer the last wekend we've just had i thought i'd never get over the depression,paranoia and suicidal black moods i've had every morning when i woke up.
    Lousy extended drinking-weekends:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I'm a dopey morning person. Generally smiley and happy - a bit like the guy who had too much to drink last night, but isn't hungover yet, so just smiles and chuckles when you're talking to him.

My OH has made it clear the there is no interaction in the weekday mornings. Until she's had her shower, there's no point in engagement. I left my alarm clock on snooze once and if she'd had a scissors to hand when I got out of the shower...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I hate most mornings, esp school mornings as for how grumpy it depends on how little sleep I have had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

As a general rule I try and avoid all human contact until about 12pm. Have three alarm clocks, all f8cked from throwing them accross the room or stamping on them in a fit of pique. One got it's revenge not so long ago when in a violent rage I ran accross the room to slam it off, tripped on it's flex and landed on my chin on the floor:(

No, mornings upset me, even more annoying is people who are chirpy:confused:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

where did you buy that alarm clock ???

The gadget shop but you can get it online. Search for "clocky".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Normally I am pretty good, been sleeping well for the last few months and am delighted to get into work but wait until everyone starts waking and going to and coming home from work in the dark mornings/dark evenings. :( My hours are flexible so I will probably avoid all of it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Happy out in the morning unlike most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

I am a thundering cow in the mornings. I have always been that way. I drag myself out of bed and just move along in a foggy haze getting ready for work. What REALLY upsets me is people who try to talk to me or waffle on about something early in the morning. I maybe making my sambos for work or hanging out washing or whatever. I might appear awake but I am NOT, I am in a trance somewhere between being asleep and awake. Just leave me alone until I wake up fully and all will be well.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I hate mornings. Recently, I had to work at night for a week and the people I work with and have known for years couldn't get over the difference in me coming into work at 9pm compared to 10am (I rarely manage to get in earlier).

I'm not crotchy in the morning, however I am often confused.
    I'm autopilot first thing.
    I have inadvertently punched a few people, full in the face for waking me suddenly.:o
    I've also ended up in the ER after falling off the bed, as I assumed my ninja pose when my brain mistook ny housemate for an intruder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

I hve heard of a guy with the old fashioned type belly alarm clock.

He used to put it in a bowl, bowl iin a bird cage and the lock the cage.

He had a coal scuttle in the corner full of water and to get the key it was shoulder deep in water at the bottom of the scuttle!

Reckons he heard it on the radio and tried it out.. worked for a while til he started to keep a towel in the room to dry his arm so he could go back to the scratcher!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

Zangetsu wrote: »
    lmao that clock sounds amazing. I'm sometimes violent in the mornings, usually when someone wakes me up JUST before my alarm. I've been known to throw pillows, clocks, pint glasses or whatever else is in reach.

I've kinda gotten into a routine now which is **** but what can ya do really!

Ha, that pisses me off too! Just had a conversation about this the other day, people waking you up 5 minutes before your alarm goes off, and nobody else understood why that would make me angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

jaysus, you pack of bloody wimps!!!

I'm not a morning person,. but I can sitll manage a smikle for feck's sake. Chirst allmighty, if you lot can't be ciliv before midday, YOU NEED TO GET LIVES.

If I was where you lot are I;d make it my mission to wind you all up as much as possible in the morning.

There. I said it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

If I wake up on my own I tend to be ok, I am more afraid of falling back asleep before I make it from my bedroom to the front door (which has happened).

However on Saturday mornings my girlfriends ma has a really annoying habit of phoning as soon as she is awake. Every time she forgets to switch of her phone and the call wakes me up it leaves me in a bad mood for a while.

Also on Sundays we have a fat kid living next door, who only seems to be allowed out in the back garden around 8 o clock for a half hour to run around and be really loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I get up at half 5 every morning and drive to work in Belfast for 7..I'm usually like a zombie untill about 10 or so..just have a glazed over look for a couple of hours. I'm neither hostile or friendly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

I am not a morning person at all. I hit the snooze button about 12 times... thats why I set my alarm much earlier than I should.

But I'm always positive in the morning even if I have a hangover too.
    It's nice to be nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Between me getting up and me finishing breakfast there's no point even attempting conversation, if somebody tries to talk to me while I'm eating brekkie, they get the whole death stare routine, plus quite possibly the words "I'm eating my breakfast" in a tone I've been told strikes fear in the hearts of those nearest and dearest to me. I have also called people stupid c*nts, fat bastards, evil fcuking bitches etc, plus I've punched my sister and kicked my flatmate in the face for trying to actually wake me up. After breakfast I'm grand though

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    jaysus, you pack of bloody wimps!!!

I'm not a morning person,. but I can sitll manage a smikle for feck's sake. Chirst allmighty, if you lot can't be ciliv before midday, YOU NEED TO GET LIVES.

If I was where you lot are I;d make it my mission to wind you all up as much as possible in the morning.

There. I said it.

this would be you so!

http://www.cartoonstock.com/lowres/rth0297l.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

Between me getting up and me finishing breakfast there's no point even attempting conversation, if somebody tries to talk to me while I'm eating brekkie, they get the whole death stare routine, plus quite possibly the words "I'm eating my breakfast" in a tone I've been told strikes fear in the hearts of those nearest and dearest to me. I have also called people stupid c*nts, fat bastards, evil fcuking bitches etc, plus I've punched my sister and kicked my flatmate in the face for trying to actually wake me up. After breakfast I'm grand though

Lol!! You sound awesome in the morning!