Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GUKPT Luton

• 07-08-2008 5:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭

good luck Doke........(allegedly a wexford lad)

tough starting table today....

anybody had any updates ??

ta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭doke

eoin-dubh wrote: »

ta

Thanks Eoin.

Rough day, very up and down. Got up to 20K earlyish, then lost a race with 8's v. AJ against a shortie, and drifted down to 8K with an hour to go (8 big blinds). So very relieved to finish the day with over 25K.

Favourite hand of the day: blinds 75/150. Paul "Action" Jackson makes it 400 utg, one caller in mid/late position, so I decide to call with 4's for set value. Action Jackson practically announces his hand by saying "Uh oh, bad feeling about this hand. I'm ahead now but I've got a bad feeling".

Flop is q84 with two hearts, bingo! He leads out for 700, other guy folds, I smooth call virtually certain he's got either aces or kings so not worried about flush draw. Turn's another 8 and he says to the table dismissively "That can't have helped him" and bets 2K. I flat call again. River's a 2 and he weak leads for 1.5K while I try to decide what raise he might call. I have 6.5K left now so I bet 4K and he instacalls with kings. I guess he thought I might be overrating AQ or something. When I show him the 4s he's so disgusted he's visibly steaming until they move him from the table shortly after.

Paul Leckey and Mick McCloskey unfortunately went out. Paul was gayed when a guy raised utg with A7 and then called Paul's shove with 9's. Ace on the river.

Good luck to the Irish playing tomorrow, especially Rob Taylor.

PS: Born in Clare, but grew up in Enniscorthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

doke wrote: »

Favourite hand of the day: blinds 75/150. Paul "Action" Jackson makes it 400 utg, one caller in mid/late position, so I decide to call with 4's for set value. Action Jackson practically announces his hand by saying "Uh oh, bad feeling about this hand. I'm ahead now but I've got a bad feeling".

Flop is q84 with two hearts, bingo! He leads out for 700, other guy folds, I smooth call virtually certain he's got either aces or kings so not worried about flush draw. Turn's another 8 and he says to the table dismissively "That can't have helped him" and bets 2K. I flat call again. River's a 2 and he weak leads for 1.5K while I try to decide what raise he might call. I have 6.5K left now so I bet 4K and he instacalls with kings. I guess he thought I might be overrating AQ or something. When I show him the 4s he's so disgusted he's visibly steaming until they move him from the table shortly after.

LOL, very nice. Good luck today Dara

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭The Al Lad

eoin-dubh wrote: »

ta

http://blondepoker.com/forum/index.php?topic=35855.0 Good updates here
    Thanks Eoin.

Rough day, very up and down. Got up to 20K earlyish, then lost a race with 8's v. AJ against a shortie, and drifted down to 8K with an hour to go (8 big blinds). So very relieved to finish the day with over 25K.

Paul Leckey and Mick McCloskey unfortunately went out. Paul was gayed when a guy raised utg with A7 and then called Paul's shove with 9's. Ace on the river.

Good luck to the Irish playing tomorrow, especially Rob Taylor.

N1, gl in the rest of the tourney man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭eoin-dubh

Thanks Eoin.

Good luck for day 2 tomorrow

PS: forget where I was born (possibly on a cross fire hurricane)

but still trying to grow up in Enniscorthy lol..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭one ill cat

Just saw a bit of a sick hand there . . .

I think the blinds were 50-100, guy raises to 350, Rob reraises to 1100 and different guy rereraises to 3500. Initial raiser folds and Rob does that "moaning & mumbling" thing that he does. The rereraiser chirps in "Do you have tens?" Rob thinks a bit more and folds kings face up to be shown Aces!

Within 20 seconds he was the talk of the room . . . "Did you hear about the guy that folded Kings prelfop??" Needless to say the cheesy grin Rob's face was embarrassing to look at!

WP Rob!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Just saw a bit of a sick hand there . . .

I think the blinds were 50-100, guy raises to 350, Rob reraises to 1100 and different guy rereraises to 3500. Initial raiser folds and Rob does that "moaning & mumbling" thing that he does. The rereraiser chirps in "Do you have tens?" Rob thinks a bit more and folds kings face up to be shown Aces!

Within 20 seconds he was the talk of the room . . . "Did you hear about the guy that folded Kings prelfop??" Needless to say the cheesy grin Rob's face was embarrassing to look at!

WP Rob!

Is it just me or does anyone else think the other guy was really stupid to show the Aces?? What good could possibly come from it, he should have left the guy with the Kings sweating sitting there for the next 3 levels wondering if he'd just made a complete horlicks of the hand.

rob here, my god its sick how i run in these yokes.
    basically played 4 hands, folded kk preflop to aa.
    raised with ak, flop k high all hearts, bet flop, folded turn to AJ hearts shown.
    raised again with ak, k high flop all spades, had to fold to 4th spade on turn.
    then, AA, re raised a mid pos raiser, who flops a set of tens and im out.

with regard to the kk hand, i was certain the other guy had AA, there was some speechplay in there and i think it was a standard fold.

as usual std was poor, and got cooler after cooler to go out early, getting kinda sick of this in live tourneys, obviously i seriously pissed off someone upstairs around christmas time.

paul is still in but looks short on about 4k, gl to dara tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

silly show.

doesnt beat the KKs folded preflop versus QQ and AA, twice in tramore!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

I type very slowly but just cut and paste the following from a word document saved on my desktop

" well done Dara on another great showing and result "

rob here, echo those congrats to dara, great effort to battle on deep into day 2 for 18th.

we stayed on to play all the side events with no joy. i played 4 tourneys in total, got JJ+ on 4 occasions, on every single one of these occasions someone else had AA, i got AA once, and someone flopped a set. can only laugh really.

mick mccloskey was going ok in the 300 when we left.

Thanks to everyone. Overall happy with another second last table, even if you're always a little diappointed when you go that deep not to hit a really big score. In truth though it was a lot easier to take this time given I was microstacked on the bubble, whereas in Newcastle I was in good shape and would have had a guaranteed FT place with a good stack had my 9's not been cracked by 78.

I was happy with my play overall. Still learning and improving hopefully. I played the early bubble hyperaggressively as I had a decent stack with about 40 left but it just didn't work out for me. I couldn't seem to win a pot at that point and took quite a few hits. The last one left me microstacked to the point that I'd have had to double up just to be short, and with just 2 to go to the bubble I more or less had to fold into the money. Bubble went on for 87 agonising minutes!

Was lucky enough to treble up just after the bubble burst and managed to stay in the hunt thereafter by pushing with hands that were going to be second best if they got called, but thankfully they weren't.

When the two last tables level bubble burst, I knew I had a good chance of getting back into the hunt if I doubled up, but with the antes and blinds climbing couldn't wait for a premium hand to do it with. AJs is not a hand I'd normally like reraising allin with when there's no fold equity, but having seen the original raiser raising worse aces and KQ, I figured it was as good a spot as I was likely to get and there was a good chance I was ahead or at least racing. Unfortunately I was neither (he had AK).

Standard was mixed with some obviously very good players and some shockingly bad ones (some of whom outlasted me). There's definite value in these tournaments with so many online qualifiers. Ironic given that the average English player seemed to assume any Irish player must be a total donk.

Sorry to hear you didn't cash last night Rob, thanks to you and Kat (and Paul) for all your support and encouragement while I was in the main event. I meant to hang around and rail you but I was completely pokered out at that stage and in desperate need of some sleep before the pre-dawn flight home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭TripleAce

Is it just me or does anyone else think the other guy was really stupid to show the Aces?? What good could possibly come from it, he should have left the guy with the Kings sweating sitting there for the next 3 levels wondering if he'd just made a complete horlicks of the hand.

The only time I folded K K preflop the other guy didn't show and I went totally on tilt. You are very right here....although in my case it was just a 50€ game, so I think he would have been nice by my opponent to show:(

TripleAce wrote: »
    The only time I folded K K preflop the other guy didn't show and I went totally on tilt. You are very right here....although in my case it was just a 50€ game, so I think he would have been nice by my opponent to show:(

this is what happens when you fold kk pre and get shown a bluff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

nicnicnic wrote: »
    this is what happens when you fold kk pre and get shown a bluff

lol, remember this. this guy ever seen since?

yeah Trevor's sound, posts a bit here. Dont think he has had an incident since the counseling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

nicnicnic wrote: »
    yeah Trevor's sound, posts a bit here. Dont think he has had an incident since the counseling

I'd 2nd that.

Trevor's is a good guy. I think the moment just got the better of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Tony_Montana

rob here, my god its sick how i run in these yokes.
    basically played 4 hands, folded kk preflop to aa.
    raised with ak, flop k high all hearts, bet flop, folded turn to AJ hearts shown.
    raised again with ak, k high flop all spades, had to fold to 4th spade on turn.
    then, AA, re raised a mid pos raiser, who flops a set of tens and im out.

with regard to the kk hand, i was certain the other guy had AA, there was some speechplay in there and i think it was a standard fold.

as usual std was poor, and got cooler after cooler to go out early, getting kinda sick of this in live tourneys, obviously i seriously pissed off someone upstairs around christmas time.

paul is still in but looks short on about 4k, gl to dara tomorrow.

Well done Rob great folds, VUL man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

UL rob and well done dara....

You bloging anymore rob? havn't seen an update in a while....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

I'm taking a chance posting in a thread that has serial bad beat victims, like Macspower and Robbie....Jaysus lads you really run into them...UL but stand back please.....

What can we say about Darragh . We should call him the cockroach, if there were a nuclear war, all that would be left afterwards would be Darragh and the cockroaches.

Rob and Paul will die first, probably in the panic that ensued upon hearing that war had been declared....some falling traffic light will boink them on the noggin..

YULETIRED wrote: »

What can we say about Darragh . We should call him the cockroach, if there were a nuclear war, all that would be left afterwards would be Darragh and the cockroaches.

Thanks Willie, I'm proud to officially accept "The Cockroach" as my new official nick name. I don't really have the table manners or presence to continue carrying off the Jamie Gold of Irish poker one given to me by Joe, and it's a lot better than a lot of things starting or ending with cock that I've been called in my life.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Congrats Dara on another fine showing. When the annual boards poker awards come around, you'll be defo up there for most improved/best live tournmanent player of 2008. Keep it going and hopefully you'll get another big score this side of Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Jeez Dara, well done is that 2/3 cashes in these GUKPT's now? On some run this year....excuse the pun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Jeez Dara, well done is that 2/3 cashes in these GUKPT's now? On some run this year....excuse the pun

hang your head in shame,

well done daragh

blog linkage changed to The Cockroach

Trust you Willie to come up with a strange nickname for Dara!

I played 3 of the side events at the festival with no luck in any of them. I finished about 26th in the £100 FO on the Friday night. Ended up crippled when my late postion raise with AQ was called by a shorty with KT. I had a good image at the table and got respect from pretty much everyone at the table. By calling he was only leaving 2k behind and when calling said, "I know I'm pot committed here but I've been card dead and can't hold on any longer" - I knew there and then I was getting dogged! The flop comes 9J9 rainbow and he (as promised) shoved for his remaining 2k. I make the call (getting 6/1) without thinking as it was a short stacked tournament and winning this would give me some breathing space and we were approaching the money quickly enough. Well the Q on the river screwed me nicely there. I exited about 2 hands later as was forced to shove with a medium hand, called by a decent hand which stood up. :(

The £250 rebuy was rediculously loose . . . I don't know where some people get cash from to play poker! I was completely card dead in this beyond believe and it was a game of survival. Plenty of aggressive players at all of my tables which would have been ideal had I got a decent hand! I managed to tread water with blind steals and the odd move until there were about 15 left. Finally the blinds jumped from 400/800 to 600/1200 and I had no time left to wait. The table had one or 2 very good players on it, Rob can add their names to this later as I can't remember them now. I end up taking my chances with my BB hand which turned out to be Ac9c which I was certainly happy enough with as it had been one of the best hands in several hours. A guy who had just lost most of chips in the hand before shoves in lateish position and I therefore shove behind. He turns over 89os. This would have resulted in a near enough double up which would have been not too bad as the structure for this tournament was decent enough. So just after I hear Rob say "nice one, he's dominated" I catch a glimpse of the 8 on the river to ship him my chips . . . out in 15th (9 paid) :(

The last of the side events was a £300 FO. I figured I was due a few hands in this after the drout of the tournament before. Right enough I get AsKs UTG int he 3rd level. Again I have an aggressive table and I'm not getting to see many flops cheap. It was a 7k starting stack and half hour levels but through pure aggressive play by 80% of the table and not managing to hit a flop to save my life I find myself down to 4.5k. So I make it 700 UTG (blinds 100/200) and it's folded around to the BB who calls. This guy had donked off most of his stack in like the second hand but through getting a few hands since managed to recoup most of his starting stack again. The flop comes T33, he checks, I make it 1000 and he repops it to 2.5k. I knew straight away he had a T at least and wasn't a bit surprised the donkey had called my preflop raise with his rags. I fold the AK face up and he shows me his T. I asked about the other one and he quickly mucked. So after another couple of blinds I finally get a hand. I was either on the button or the cutoff and look down at KK - FINALLY I'm thinking, time to double up and get going! Well, guy in early pos makes it 800, a guy 2 seats later calls, guy after him shoves for about 1450 and I autoshove 2 seats later. Original raiser calls, as does his caller and 4 of us get to see a flop which is 996 with 2 clubs. Original raiser then goes all in and the other guy folds. Raiser turns over JJ, shorty that shoved turns over 66 and my Kings are immediately behind his set. 2 blanks make up the board winning me the sidepot of about 2k and losing me a main pot of about 6k. Talk about gutted, I would have loved to have 8k at that point, especially with the tight image on an incredibly loose table. I end up all in with AQ the very next hand called by the 66 guy with his JJ and I'm gone. :(

So, all in all no luck whatsoever but hopefully I learned from the experience. When in England, ideally play even tighter than normal in the early levels and when you make a move make sure you shove (as opposed to make a standard raise) with anything you don't want called, as they don't see strength in smaller raises or even early position for that matter. Note to self, next time - very few tight players over there, 90% of them are fish or hyper aggressive - wait for a hand (if possible) and trap like fcuk!

I would definitely intend on playing those side events again as there is incredible value in them, I was card dead through the most part and there wasn't much I would change with my play but they are very doable as a standard and would recommend them to anyone wanting to have a crack at them. The average standard in Ireland is much higher than the average standard in England imo!:D

Also incredible value in the main event, mainly in the form of the numerous online qualifiers (many of them playing their first ever live event) and locals more accustomed to playing 25 quid freezeouts.

Also agree that the way to play these is even tighter than normal early on (having said that, would love to see what a top notch Irish wild aggressive like, say, Sean Prendiville could do to a typical GUKPT field). Later on in the main event the enormity of the occasion gets to a lot of the onliners and locals and it's worth loosening up a lot.

Finaly, agree to on the average standard here v. England. The irony is the English have a serious superiority complex when it comes to Irish poker players. Paul Smallwood told me one guy told him he loves seeing Irish players because we always get our money in bad. The general assumption is there's only one type of Irish player: the lunatic gambler. An Irish person playing a solid TAG game starts at an immediate advantage because of this. It takes them an age to figure out such a thing can exist, and then when they do, it doesn't seem to dawn on them you might be capable of changing gears.