Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saturday Spin: 9th of August

• 07-08-2008 3:22pm
    Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I know a lot of people are doing the Tour of Kildare on Sunday, but I wouldn't mind doing a short enough spin on Saturday to stretch the legs and clear out my tobacco addled lungs. I have a route in mind that I'll post when I have a minute but it woudl basically be Dundrum, Edmundstown Road, Killakee Car Park, Glencreee, Sally Gap and home via Kilbride and Saggart.

10am start from under the Luas bridge in Dundrum would allow folks to watch the Olympic road race before heading out. Any takers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Count me in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

If I'm not violently hungover and/or heading out with a different group I'll try and make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Sounds good. Was talking to Emty and he is on for just this sort of route also. I would have to put in a vote for avoiding the N81 on the way back though, maybe taking the route you guys did the other day when we split, but in reverse?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Here's the route I had in mind. 60km starting in Dundrum and finishing in Terenure.

blorg wrote: »
    I would have to put in a vote for avoiding the N81 on the way back though, maybe taking the route you guys did the other day when we split, but in reverse?

If you're coming out in Kilbride, you're only on the N81 for a short while before you dive down the Embankment. If folks want to go up the other way, I guess we can decide on the morning.

I was thinking more of the turn-off around your 20 mile marker and then along Bohernabreena Road, Firhouse Road, etc.

If going as far as Kilbride there is that parallel road which is a lot smaller/quieter and just as flat - you get off the bit that is being resurfaced faster too. Brings you out at Brittas where there is the option of turning straight off right and up Bohernabreena Road. It's only a little bit of "up" and TBH I do think it's a lot nicer, even after you get back into the city, Firhouse Road is better. The N81 through Tallaght isn't exactly picturesque.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I was thinking more of the turn-off around your 20 mile marker and then along Bohernabreena Road, Firhouse Road, etc.

Yep, that's the one we came down the last day.
    If going as far as Kilbride there is that parallel road which is a lot smaller/quieter and just as flat - you get off the bit that is being resurfaced faster too. Brings you out at Brittas where there is the option of turning straight off right and up Bohernabreena Road. It's only a little bit of "up" and TBH I do think it's a lot nicer, even after you get back into the city, Firhouse Road is better.

I don't mind at all. The Bohernbreena one might be fun. Might take the N81 myself though if I'm stuck for time.
    The N81 through Tallaght isn't exactly picturesque.

Tis fast though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

Count me in unless it's p1ssing down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭LDB

count me in (once its not too wet)
    anyone meeting at harolds x dog track before heading to dundrum? not too sure of the way!

LDB wrote: »
    count me in (once its not too wet)
    anyone meeting at harolds x dog track before heading to dundrum? not too sure of the way!

If no one else is meeting at the dog track I can meet you in town if you're interested. You'd be coming down Amiens St, wouldn't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

I might be on for this, will see how I feel after my football match tonight. That's a decent route and the section from Kilbride to Kippure is definitely quite hilly - I'd be wary of slowing yous down but yous could always fire ahead if that looked like happening - I'd prefer that than slow someone down.

So, if I'm under the Luas bridge at 10am I'll see you then, if I'm not there it means the legs are tight after the match and will hopefully be ok for Sunday morning.

I might be on for this, will see how I feel after my football match tonight. That's a decent route and the section from Kilbride to Kippure is definitely quite hilly - I'd be wary of slowing yous down but yous could always fire ahead if that looked like happening - I'd prefer that than slow someone down.
    I'd say you'll be OK on that bit, with the direction we are planning it will be downhill :D

el tonto wrote: »
    If no one else is meeting at the dog track I can meet you in town if you're interested. You'd be coming down Amiens St, wouldn't you?

yeah, that'd be great thanks.
    suppose about 9:30 do you think?

I can meet you outside Connolly Station?

Grand, see you there so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭Cadex

Hi, will head out if I feel ok in the morning. Forecast is not good but hopefully better for Sunday's event. If I head out, will meet you at Dudrum under the bridge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 rigel4

hello folks,

I'm a mountainbiker by nature but I have a loan of a road bike for the foreseeable future. I think I may be chastised for asking this, but what level are you guys? I was a fit enough mountain biker this time last year, but I moved away and have had some injuries to deal with in the last 3 months. The physio said I'm ok to go roadbiking, but not mountain biking for the moment. I really don't know how to gauge my level here. I imagine it's rather low. I'm based in Dundrum/ballinteer though. If you guys are all experienced road bikers then I think I'll pass for the moment, but if there are newbies interested in going out then I'd like to come (or even form a slower group).

Perhaps you can advise me as to how I can make a good start in this area of cycling...

Cheers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

I'd love to come along but I've been awfully sick all week so I'm not up to it.

rigel4 - you will probably be grand if you used to be into mountain biking.
    I think its a mix of levels really so you could always head out and see how you get on.
    sure if your not feeling good you can just head back at your own pace.

you'll only know when you give it a go ... sounds like a new slogan there!

Sorry guys I'm out. Piece of work that I hoped to finish today isn't finished yet.

See ye on Sunday in Naas or on the way down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I'm out, heading to Howth tmw for a spin.

Lovely day for a spin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

Its a bit wet out there but very warm.Tbh I think its only going to improve.

Well, I'm going to head out to Dundrum anyway, given that I organised this thing. But at the moment my appetite for going any sort of distance isn't very strong.

are people still going out?

oh just seen above. i'll head out as per origionl plan, i'll probably be drenched by the time i reach you -ah well!

It has stopped raining now.

Hope it stays that way.

Right ok...back to work...:(

Lucky I left you guys when I did. I broke my right side crank arm when I was almost home. Will have to find a replacement crankset for tomorrow and get this one warranteed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Lucky I left you guys when I did. I broke my right side crank arm when I was almost home. Will have to find a replacement crankset for tomorrow and get this one warranteed.

How did it happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Had a reaction on my leg injury after my football match last night so am resting up today doing plenty of stretching - hope to have it settle down today so I can do the 100km tomorrow. Hope you's had a good spin and good luck getting that sorted out el tonto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

Too many watts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

That was a nice spin ,a bit wet on the way out but got baked on the way back.Fantastic route back by kilbride btw,will never go on the 81 again!

P.s sorry to hear that ,el tonto,hope you get it sorted without too much hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 rigel4

Well folks, I hope everyone made it home in one piece. I thoroughly enjoyed my first road spin, although I was fairly wrecked trying to come up that last climb...you can take 30 seconds off my time though (peepee)! I hope you weren't waiting too long anyway. Cheers for showing me a really nice route. Good route. nice people. good (eventually) weather. My fitness will jump up after a couple more spins I hope...Has anyone got a map/stats of the route we did?

Nigel

penexpers wrote: »
    How did it happen?

Was coming down the quays and, bang, it just went. Initially I thought I'd just broken a cleat and that my foot had come out of the pedal. Was kind of surprised to look down and see the pedal and the top of the crank arm still attached to my foot.
    E@gle. wrote: »
    Too many watts?

:D I wish I could say that, but I wasn't really hammering it at the time.
    emty wrote: »
    sorry to hear that ,el tonto,hope you get it sorted without too much hassle.

I plan on nicking the cranks off my wife's bike. Hopefully that won't be too much hassle. There's one dodgy bolt on them.

Nice spin but more than a bit wet! Sun only came out at the very end really but nice to dry off. Had a tough time keeping up with Sean on those hills.

th_IMGP5925_resize.jpg th_IMGP5926_resize.jpg th_IMGP5927_resize.jpg th_IMGP5928_resize.jpg th_IMGP5929_resize.jpg th_IMGP5930_resize.jpg th_IMGP5931_resize.jpg th_IMGP5932_resize.jpg th_IMGP5933_resize.jpg th_IMGP5935_resize.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭bunnygreen

Hi was'nt out with you today,went out around 230 and just arrived back home now,holly sh**,got caught in continous heavy rain,no rain gear could stand that deluge,very dicey coming down from the Gap,note to self,must look at weather forecast before going out,hey Blorg,did you go out today in your Sandals?.

bunnygreen wrote: »
    Hi was'nt out with you today,went out around 230 and just arrived back home now,holly sh**,got caught in continous heavy rain,no rain gear could stand that deluge,very dicey coming down from the Gap,note to self,must look at weather forecast before going out,hey Blorg,did you go out today in your Sandals?.
    I was out just there in that deluge myself, impressive stuff. I did wear my sandals on today's spin; they are actually perfect in the (summer) rain as they don't waterlog and dry really easily. Wouldn't work so good if the rain was cold of course, then I wear shoes+overshoes.

Thanks for the spin lads, and for waiting for me along the way :)
    90k for me in the end, went home out the cost road to enjoy the sun while it was out briefly.

can't believe you luck with the crank el tonto, good thing alright that it didn't happen up the sally gap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭sean_d

Nice spin but more than a bit wet!
    Agreed - full winter gear in August...nuts!
    Had a tough time keeping up with Sean on those hills.
    Hey, I thought I was struggling to keep up with you...looks like we were second-guessing each other, but all good fun. And what doesn't kill you makes you stronger etc etc.
    That pothole on Bohernabreena seems to have killed my wheels. I blame Blorg for cursing them, only an hour earlier I had been telling him how bombproof they arewere....

Thanks to everyone who came out for a good spin...

Road%20-%20Sally%20Gap%20-%20Brittas%2009-08-2008%2C%20Elevation%20-%20Distance.jpg