Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alcohol Consumption , how long to pass through body?

• 06-08-2008 11:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭

Ok so I am planning on going out Saturday night to a mates out the country. Dont want to be done for drink driving, so need to know how long it takes to pass through the body.

I reckon I will probably drink 12 pints, between the hours of 9pm -3am. I would want to be heading home the following morning around 12pm/1pm. I am about 6'6 and 19 stone or so. Just wanted to how long does it all take to pass through my body.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Stop drinking around 1am, and stay awake 'till 3 (that's what's Lucozade's for) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,680 ✭✭✭Chong

Will that work?

Should I get some powerade to replace electrolytes or something , I have heard people say that before.

I just do not want to be done the following morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Indeed, try to stop drinking early and start drinking water, ideally around 12/1am.

There's till no guarantee that you'll be "clear" at lunchtime the next day.

A few things to do/not do:

1. Don't drink shorts - pints only.
    2. If you can, drink bottles instead of pints. They're more expensive, but they take longer to drink and make it easier to control your intake.
    3. Invest in one of those home breathalyser yokies. They're expensive too, but less expensive than a fine and a ban. They're not 100% accurate, but they'll at least give you some kind of indication.

Have something substantial to eat at least an hour before you get in the car - carbs are good.
    If you're in doubt at all about your ability to drive, either from tiredness or light-headedness, then what have you got to lose by chilling out there for an extra hour having a cup of coffee and a sandwich?

There is nothing that will "get rid" of alcohol for you. Lucozade will replace lost electrolytes the next day and may minimize your hangover, but it won't reduce the level of alcohol in your system. The only effective thing is drinking water before you go to sleep - dehydration will slow down your body's ability to process the alcohol, so keeping hydrated can help remove it faster, but by no means will ensure that you're clear.

Cheers for the sound advice Seamus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

All the above and a good walk the next morning. Exercise seems to sober you up allot, I can't say that's fact but it feels like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

If you drink 12 pints between 9pm and 3 am then I think you can forget about driving back the next morning at 12. There was a thread here a few months back where a guy decided to take a half day from work on the Monday morning so that he wouldn't be over the limit and he got done even though he thought he would be OK. Not worth taking the chance. The home breathalyser is good advice if you are drinking.

Ya more I been thinking about, I might just get the taxi out there, save on any fines and or drunk driving offenses, my car is my prized possesion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I believe it is 1 standard drink per hour. It also depends on size and other factors, even if you have eaten (takes longer with food, although you will be less drunk).

1 standard drink is about a half a pint (a little more) or one glass of wine, or one pub measure of spirits.
    So 12 pints would be about 24 hours (probably more like 22) when you think about it. So if you stop drinking at 3am then do not drive again until after 3am the next day :D

Oh and if you get done.. bye bye license to drive!

Yup I think I can forget its the only way in reality. Dont want to be getting in to any trouble with the PO-Lice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Saruman wrote: »
    I believe it is 1 standard drink per hour. It also depends on size and other factors, even if you have eaten (takes longer with food, although you will be less drunk).

1 standard drink is about a half a pint (a little more) or one glass of wine, or one pub measure of spirits.
    So 12 pints would be about 24 hours (probably more like 22) when you think about it. So if you stop drinking at 3am then do not drive again until after 3am the next day :D
    To be fair, that's a general figure, which is horrendously difficult to apply in the real world.

I would imagine that a slight woman who drinks occasionally and is around 5'5" in height would process alcohol at those rates. Men and more frequent drinkers would process alcohol far quicker.

Of course, in advisory "bulletins" and ads and the like, they couldn't say, "Ah shure you'll be grand if you've a beer belly", so they tell you what the worst-case scenario is.
    In reality, the whole thing is so hit-and-miss that trying to put a figure on how quickly a specific person can process alcohol is an exercise in futility.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Would you consider maybe only having eleven pints? Obviously not nearly as much fun, but it might save you a few minutes detoxing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭Joseph Kuhr

Van Zuylen wrote: »
    Yup I think I can forget its the only way in reality. Dont want to be getting in to any trouble with the PO-Lice.

Yeah if its going to be a big night out then forget about driving the next day. You can be full of good intentions to limit your drinking but that will be out the window after the 3rd pint.

Anyone notice there wasn't a garda in sight on Sunday night over the bank holiday? Come Monday morning they were all over the place. Their tactics are a disgrace. Nobody should drink and drive but the message they're sending out is if you've had loads to drink you're better off driving home that night rather than the sleeping most of it off and driving home the next morning after.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

You could just not drink at all and spend the night off your face on coke and pills?

the message they're sending out is if you've had loads to drink you're better off driving home that night rather than the sleeping most of it off and driving home the next morning after.

Is that really the message they're sending out or is that just some moronic conclusion a pig-ignorant drunk would come before ploughing into a line of pedestrians?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭Joseph Kuhr

Is that really the message they're sending out or is that just some moronic conclusion a pig-ignorant drunk would come before ploughing into a line of pedestrians?

To lots of people its all about not getting caught. Its not about being safe and responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Solution

DONT DRINK!

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Solution

DONT DRINK!
    HaHa , no the solution is, I will have a good time and get a taxi to/from there.

Better than drink driving .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

HaHa , no the solution is, I will have a good time and get a taxi to/from there.

True....

better to be safe than sorry

doesn't that sound like the road safety authority:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Red Alert wrote: »
    Stop drinking around 1am, and stay awake 'till 3 (that's what's Lucozade's for) ;)
    I got breathalysed on the Stillorgan dual carriageway at noon last saturday! I was in town till well after 3am the previous night but had my last drink at around 1.30am (had been drinking though since 7pm and i had alot of booze)! I passed the test but i tell ya nothing is worst than the panic of seeing that guard pull you over...lesson learnt bigtime and will be over cautious from now on..its not worth it!

http://www.drinkaware.ie/howmany.php

There is a calculator here.. Its a rough guide as like i (and others) have said, it all depends on other factors such as body size, weight, fat and how much you drink as well as other factors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭corban

a general rule is to leave it 12 hours from your last drink to the time you start driving. if you eat food and drink some water before you go to bed his will help you (though not your digstive system). have a good breakfast and you should be ok. tbh you will know how you feel in the morning, if u are in ribbons then u shouldnt drive...

Eh Corban i hate to break it to you, but it you have food to digest and break down as well as alcohol, it will take you longer than if you had no food at all and only drank alcohol all night.
    I think its a myth because food is soakage, so if you eat, you do not get drunk as fast... but it takes longer to break it down.
    Drink all the water you like, you will still be over the limit by the same amount. All that will happen is you will feel a lot better and maybe not suffer a hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭corban

Saruman wrote: »
    Eh Corban i hate to break it to you, but it you have food to digest and break down as well as alcohol, it will take you longer than if you had no food at all and only drank alcohol all night.
    I think its a myth because food is soakage, so if you eat, you do not get drunk as fast... but it takes longer to break it down.
    Drink all the water you like, you will still be over the limit by the same amount. All that will happen is you will feel a lot better and maybe not suffer a hangover.

i knew that was the case if u ate before u drink, but was of the opinion if u eat after drinking it would help... the idea is to sober up, so part of that would be getting rid of the hangover by drinking water. its just my opinion but if you leave yourself 12 hours from your last drink as well, you should be ok... but i could be wrong. prob best not to drive at all the following day...

No you are right on that count corban, but "sober up" is a relative term to how you feel yourself. It does not affect your blood alcohol level which is what the boys in blue will be looking at.
    You can feel as sober as if you have not drank in a week and still be over the limit from the night before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Good man.

Not sure where you live but even if the taxi there and back costs 80 euro, tis better than a much larger than that fine and losing your license.

And in future, when in doubt as to whether or not to bring the car, just think "20/30 euro or no car for the next 2 years".

Then watch yourself wake up with a smile of reassurance the next morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Getting a taxi is a better idea, because if you drink that much, it definately wont be out of your system by lunchtime the next day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Laurs_civic

one hour per unit = 1 glass of beer/cider.

And remember by glass, that is NOT a pint glass. It would be a half pint glass :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Laurs_civic

yes very true ^^^^^ sorry should of made that clear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Dont want to be done for drink driving

It always amazes me how people worry about 'being done' but don't seem to worry about knocking someone down or crashing, and people giving out how its unfair that the gardai are breathalysing the next morning. Ah sure ive had a nice big fry up and i feel grand, don't mind the level of alcohol in me blood.
    You may feel fine, but that doesnt mean your reaction times are the same as sober. Get a taxi OP.

Ok bringing up the trhead again, this time I have to drive.

I think this time around I will prob have about 8-10 bottles of bud stop at 12 , wanna be heading back around 3 pm next day. Shud I be ok? Sorry for the stupid question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭brosps

Mr. X wrote: »
    Ok bringing up the trhead again, this time I have to drive.

I think this time around I will prob have about 8-10 bottles of bud stop at 12 , wanna be heading back around 3 pm next day. Shud I be ok? Sorry for the stupid question?

no way, that is peak time for bear attacks you will be killed man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

I would say you'd be fine!

As for the bears though hmmm....

How about if you drink less beer? Or the fact that you have to drive, then don't drink any at all.

I really dislike the opinion of this country that if you go out you have to drink, and if you don't you're "weird".

So do I , but I suppose its peer pressure in a way, the others will wreck my bloody head about it. I will most certainly drink less, all about illusion to them, I could always get 6 bottles of Maarten Pils, fill em with non alcholic beer and pretend I am drinking normal beer.

The wonders of a screw top bottle of beer.

In fact that might just work , I AM A GENIUS !

I will give my dad the maarten pils he can sup that up no probs.

So do I , but I suppose its peer pressure in a way, the others will wreck my bloody head about it. I will most certainly drink less, all about illusion to them, I could always get 6 bottles of Maarten Pils, fill em with non alcholic beer and pretend I am drinking normal beer.

The wonders of a screw top bottle of beer.

Or why pretend at all? Just say, "ah no, I'm not going to drink tonight. I have to drive"

Then walk up to the bar, place your keys on the counter, sing "Just One Look" then push some random pint away. If that ad taught me anything, it'll drive the brunette beside you nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,814 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Sit on the ground floor or the basement if available, lay flat on the ground all night will help.

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/09/02/health/02real.htm?_r=1&oref=slogin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭steph1

anniehoo wrote: »
    I got breathalysed on the Stillorgan dual carriageway at noon last saturday! I was in town till well after 3am the previous night but had my last drink at around 1.30am (had been drinking though since 7pm and i had alot of booze)! I passed the test but i tell ya nothing is worst than the panic of seeing that guard pull you over...lesson learnt bigtime and will be over cautious from now on..its not worth it!

Even though you passed the test did the guard say anything to you that there was still a trace of alcohol in your system but you were ok as you were under the limit.

I'm getting a bit paranoid about this as I drive for a living and its gotten to the stage now where I dont bother going out midweek in case I get caught the next morning. I'd be rightly screwed then.

I could always get 6 bottles of Maarten Pils, fill em with non alcholic beer and pretend I am drinking normal beer.

Which is exactly what you'd be doing by drinking Bud.

Survived the weekend!!!

Drank 5 bottles of some lower strength Stella Artois, its called Peeterman Artois.

Happy Days!!