Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anybody playing civilation revalution

• 05-08-2008 10:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭

anybody else get this one or am i the only person to get it on ps3. never anybody on psn not that i expected there to be (i didn't get it for its mp primeraly) but i wouldn't mind a game online.

Edit: sorry about spelling in thread title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,415 ✭✭✭RoryMac

I have it, it's a pretty good game but I haven't played online yet. The game takes so long that it'd be pretty hard to play online unless against mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Indie18

RoryMac wrote: »
    I have it, it's a pretty good game but I haven't played online yet. The game takes so long that it'd be pretty hard to play online unless against mates.

i would imagine i would be hard alright but i would say its good. you have to be settled in for the night to play a game of it online. if you want to add me i will give you a game some time my psn tag is the same as my xbox one below. there might be an under score between the names not sure.

I'm not that good at CIV but yeah I'd be up for a game sometime, can't find your PSN, mine's rorymac7

yeah i'm not that good either i'm still playing it on the easiest level.

I usually play the next one up, once you go to the 3rd level, things go badly wrong quickly. You'd just build your first catapult then over the hill comes 10 panzer tanks to anhilate you :(

i played one game on the second level up and just barely one it with an economic victory. i will have to try the hardest level for the laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Tuatha ill add you later for a game, Rory ive u added already!
    Ive played a few games with friends online, its a good laugh. Hopefully we can organise something.

Didn't realise you had the game Kev, rarely see you play anything apart from COD4 :D

Yeah we'll arrange sometime soon

Didn't realise you had the game Kev, rarely see you play anything apart from COD4 :D

Yeah we'll arrange sometime soon

should be good to get a game of this going. i sent you a request last night rory. and i excepted yours kev.

Indie18 wrote: »
    should be good to get a game of this going. i sent you a request last night rory. and i excepted yours kev.

I sent u an invite, u added me. What night suits ye lads? How about 2nite or tomorrow night?

i might be on about nineish tonight you'll see my name if i am. will have a game tonight

Indie18 wrote: »
    i might be on about nineish tonight you'll see my name if i am. will have a game tonight

Alright I'll keep an eye out for ya

I'll try to get on-line later but I've an early start tomo so not sure if I'll have enough time for a game of CIV

correct me if i'm wrong here but did there not used to be a civ forum on the games part of this site.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

There was but it makes more sense to divide things by platform for this game.

btw, not bragging but I've walloped this game up to and including Emperor (second from top level). Its really pretty easy once you cop the tactics and also.... buy archers. :)

DeV.

it's definatly easier than the civ games on the pc but i like it i think the pace of the game works well for playing on a console.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I don't know, I think it's a little too fast IMO. I always loved this on the PC, and when I tried it the first time on the easiest level, I couldn't believe when I had finished it in one sitting of about 3 hours. Even on Easy I'd still expect a game to run on for a while, I prefer to finish it at my own pace (i.e. race to space or military victory only).

Moved onto the 3rd highest level (I think) and it's slightly better, but only because after a while you're at War with everyone else at basically the same time and it can be slightly difficult holding on to newly captured areas when you're getting attacked on 5 fronts.

Gonna play the Hardest Level soon and see if it's any good.

I've also never played on-line either, but I may give it a whirl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Tuatha ill add you later for a game, Rory ive u added already!
    Ive played a few games with friends online, its a good laugh. Hopefully we can organise something.

Good game the other day.

Leonardo's workshop rules though

DeVore wrote: »
    There was but it makes more sense to divide things by platform for this game.

btw, not bragging but I've walloped this game up to and including Emperor (second from top level). Its really pretty easy once you cop the tactics and also.... buy archers. :)

DeV.

Archers are the must, early on.

Seriously though, if you have any tech at all and still have loads of lower level fighters. Do not waste them but build Leonardo's Workshop Wonder.

I was losing my capital last night. Was down to two armies of losers and hey presto Modern Infiltry (with all the power ups the losers had gotten early on)

Went on to win after that turn around

Ste05 wrote: »
    I don't know, I think it's a little too fast IMO. I always loved this on the PC, and when I tried it the first time on the easiest level, I couldn't believe when I had finished it in one sitting of about 3 hours. Even on Easy I'd still expect a game to run on for a while, I prefer to finish it at my own pace (i.e. race to space or military victory only).

Moved onto the 3rd highest level (I think) and it's slightly better, but only because after a while you're at War with everyone else at basically the same time and it can be slightly difficult holding on to newly captured areas when you're getting attacked on 5 fronts.

Might be worth your while looking at the Scenarios

Ste05 wrote: »

i know what you mean about it being over too quick but i don't mind that mainly because its a console version of the game and it's made in a relativly quick fix kind of way. i still play on pc for something with a bit more dept(mind you still only playing civ 3 haven't gotten round to getting 4)but i really like civ rev for what it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

got this for 360, prefer it over the other civs and rome:tw and other turn based strategys simply because it is less complex and easier to get into

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Its a board game. Its not a Civilisation game (note the capitalisation). This is a tight, fast, nasty, cut-throat game and you need to plan each step closely to not get your ass handed to you on either the warfare, culture, tech or money front. If your opponent is going warfare hardcore, build some pikemen/archers/infantry and let him crash against your walls, all the time upgrading your units for you :)
    Meanwhile, build temples and cathedrals and watch his lovely cities join you.
    Or tech fast to catapults or canons and wipe him out in one wave while he desperately tries to catch up.

Its a game. That means you need to adapt to your opponents strategy and out manouver them.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭McGetty

I tried the demo for this off the PSN, and being big Civ fan, didn't like it. I prefer the pace of the PC games and just felt like I was being shuffled from menu to menu here with a bit too much hand-holding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Yeah the strategies are good, although as with all Civ games, Tech is most important IMO. Get ahead on tech and you'll fly it, only problem is then all the others start begging off you and obviously when you refuse them they all declare War on you... ha ha ha, bring it on!!

Also, Leonardo's Workshop certainly is the Dogs Bollix... :D