Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could only happen to me....

• 04-08-2008 3:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Dont know whether this is a PI or not but basically I need somewhere just to vent.....

Basically my OH went away for the weekend with her mother, she has been driving my car for the last month or so and left it parked in her mam's for the weekend. Its a fairly sporty /quick car, not all that new but it was my baby etc. Well her younger brother (24) who doesnt drive btw decided lastnight to go out driving in it after a feed of pints and ploughed it into a wall. The police apparently came along then and promptly arrested him for drink driving and took the car to the pound. My OH rang me with the news this morning, and initially I was just glad nobody was hurt\injured etc but as the day has gone on ive got madder and madder.

Im stuck in work till 8 tonight and the pound isnt open till tomorrow, either way they have said that its basically a write off. And TBH i dont even feel like going up 2moro to see it because it will just send me over the edge. Her brother has retired to bed for the day and is not talking to anyone, presumably feeling sorry for himself as he is going to get charged with drink driving at the very least. He is a nice lad so I dont know what the **** he was thinking. But what makes it worse is that when he went out his more sensible younger brother who drives was in and would have dropped him anywhere he wanted. So presumably he just wanted to go out for a joyride.

So it leaves me with a dilemma now, I cant claim the insurance because to do that I will have to say it was stolen, which I think will mean he will get prosecuted for stealing the car. Anyway even if I do claim the insurance it will really rape my no claims so I dont want to go down that road. He hasnt got much money although he works full time, so I think ill just have to work out something. But my OH recently sold her car as the repayments were killing here so I gave her my car to use for the time being. Now she has no car either and will probably need to buy a new one. I really need to sit down and have a chat with him about what we're to do but I reckon I should cool off for a while and probably give him a chance to think about what he's done and how much trouble he's in and has put me and my GF in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Making a claim against him might stop him from doing it again.
    Then again you said he was a nice lad so maybe it was just a once off.
    Regardless though each person must pay for their own mistakes and admit their fault in it.
    It's not your fault he stole your car and wrote it off.
    Like you said both yourself + gf need that car so by all means make a claim for it.
    If the worst comes and he gets charged make sure you all stand by him and this should get some leeway.
    Either that or he pays up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Stop feeling sorry for this absolute clown who stole your car and drove it while under the influence. GF's brother or not.

He was putting his own (worthless, imo) and, more importantly, other people's lives at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭ZygOte

if i were you and i cared about this guy (even if he is the biggest muppet in the world) if would give him the opertunity to cough up for your car, failing that working and he proves to be an even bigger muppet than you first though you can have him done for theft. bottom line he stole your car. Not a nice situation to be in but these are the facts.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Any kind of a moron who goes out uninsured, whilst drunk, in a car he doesnt even own deserves everything that is coming to him, and more.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Des wrote: »
    Stop feeling sorry for this absolute clown who stole your car and drove it while under the influence. GF's brother or not.

He was putting his own (worthless, imo) and, more importantly, other people's lives at risk.

I'm with Des on this one, say the car was stolen, which it was as it was driven without permission. I'm pretty sure your girlfriend will understand.

Op how much is the car worth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Been thinking about this for a while. In fairness if I put a claim in for the insurance it will ruin my no claims anyway, so I think the best option is to get him to reimberse me (in full) for the car. I want to sit down and have a chat with him, maybe tomorrow when Ive cooled down and he's had time to reflect on what he's done. Its so fupping annoying though, I just bought 4 new tyres for it,new battery not 2months ago had it through the NCT and it was perfect, one of a kind. He is going to have to take a loan out to pay me back, but I think the money is the least of his worries at the moment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

What an absolute scumbag... I do agree that he deserves everything he gets!!

So, so far the cops know he was driving, without a license?, uninsured and intoxicated? Now i'm no expert, but surely he should expect a prison sentence out of this regardless of whether you say the car was stolen.

Plus, if you don't say it was stolen, then you may be found partially responsible for allowing it to happen?

I can understand your predicament. If you decide not to make a claim, then all you can do is make sure he pays you back IN FULL. Don't make it a verbal agreement or even a handshake, if you go down this route then get it all written up by a solicitor and make sure he is legally binded to pay you back a pre agreed amount.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

It's not your fault that the brother stole your car. It was a brainless and selfish thing for him to do and he is a very lucky man that he didn't hurt or kill anyone. I know of a car accident (won't say which one but it's a recent one) where one of the drivers involved had borrowed his brother's car without his permission and ended up killing himself and another person in the resulting prang.

Whatever happens, he needs to pay for what he did. The ideal solution of course would be for him to pay for the a new car for you. Perhaps the family will do that in order to keep him out of more trouble than he's in. Maybe let him stew for a bit, lead him to believe that you're going to go the insurance company. Tread carefully - blood is thicker than water

I'm with Des on this one, say the car was stolen, which it was as it was driven without permission. I'm pretty sure your girlfriend will understand.

Op how much is the car worth?

Well there isnt many of them around on cbg etc but roughly between 6-8 grand. She was in mint condition so if I was selling it I would be looking for 7, 7 and a half. My GF, and him are very close (there is only 11months between them) and she does everything for him but as you can imagine she is as angry with him as I am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

The ONLY fair option is that he pays for the car.....

Discuss with your g/f that that's what you're going to do; that if you were to to claim on your insurance that he'd end up being prosecuted, so therefore the best option for everyone is that he pays.

You're being facilitating because he doesn't get prosecuted.

Yes, blood might be thicker than water (and brothers who joyride in a car while drunk even thicker again) but she'll surely see that this is the only option, and that you're not the baddie and are actually trying to minimise the damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

So, so far the cops know he was driving, without a license?, uninsured and intoxicated? Now i'm no expert, but surely he should expect a prison sentence out of this regardless of whether you say the car was stolen.

LOL.

Anyways OP I would make him pay for the car. No point in losing your no claims bonus

When his younger brother collected him from the station this morning they said that as long as he pleads guilty they will only charge him with Drink Driving and not dangerous driving, stealing etc. They also took a blood sample so I hope for his sake it was only drink he had taken as this is very out of character for him.

Another fecking problem is that now I have to store the car somewhere as I live in an apartment and my parents have never liked the car so dont really wana ask em can I store it there. The pound charges 40euro a day to keep it there, so im going to get it assesed tomorrow and if there is more than 2k damage then ill sell it for scrap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭bored and tired

NotMyDay wrote: »
    Another fecking problem is that now I have to store the car somewhere as I live in an apartment and my parents have never liked the car so dont really wana ask em can I store it there. The pound charges 40euro a day to keep it there, so im going to get it assesed tomorrow and if there is more than 2k damage then ill sell it for scrap.

have the car stored at your gfs mothers until you decide what to do with it, where it will serve as a daily reminder of what a dangerous, stupid, idiotic, suicidal thing he did.

thank god he didnt crash into anyone and kill or injure them, but i wouldnt worry about hurting his feelings, he wasnt worrying about what he was doing when he was driving,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

1. Store the car at your gf's house. It will serve as a reminder to him what an idiot he is and as a reminder to his parents what a fool he is. He will then hopefully learn from all this by seeing the results of his actions parked in the driveway and from the hassle he'll feel from the parents.

2. Let on that you will be pursuing this and claiming theft but after some time of him stewing, agree to be fully reimbursed including extra for the extra transport you and your gf are going to have to pay for in the next few weeks.

3. Above all, get it in writing.

He was a d.ick but you are in a situation where you don't want to cause mayhem in your girlfriend's family, but you want to get compensated too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

Get the brother to take out a loan for the cost of the car (were you to sell it for new) and pay you back straight away. The time it takes for him to pay off the loan is his own business and will be a reasonably long-term reminder of his stupidity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 286 ✭✭SnowMonkey

personally id beat him.... I know thats not the answer but it would make you feel a lot better..

scare him, wiht the use of the cops tell them to have a talk with him about the fact he stole a car...talk to the perents, as well..

this is his mess and his mess to cleen up... so Ask him to buy you the same car same year etc, you can expect nothing less......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

Be careful how heavy you lay it on him though, the last thing you want is him topping himself over something which in the grand scheme of things is trivial.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

God, if I were you I'd be baying for blood! Realistically the best option for both of you is to not claim off your insurance, unless you really have to. If I was you, the deal I'd be offering to the brother is this:

He takes out a loan, or whatever to pay you back what your car is worth. In addition to that, he will also cover the cost of your and your GF's transport, while you are waiting to get a new car. He pays any impound fees incurred. Get an agreement to this effect drawn up by a solicitor. He will also cover any solicitor's fees. (And I think he'd be getting off lightly!!)

If he does not agree to this, then tell him you'll be reporting your car as stolen to the guards, meaning that he'll be prosecuted for theft etc. Maybe that's harsh, but IMO he's a 24 yr old man, not a child, and he needs to take responsibility for his actions. Discuss with your OH what would be the best way to approach him, and then maybe you both sit down with him together. OK, you don't want him getting overwhelmed and doing anything stupid, but also he needs to realise the seriousness of what he's done.

Aw Jasus OP,so sorry to hear this bad news for you-you seem like a very fair person and will sort the issue with integrity-fair play to you-i just wanted to say sorry about your car,we can become quite attached to our possesions and you sounded like you really liked your car.... hopefully there is something great for you around the corner,best of luck and RIP to the car xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

SnowMonkey wrote: »
    personally id beat him.... I know thats not the answer but it would make you feel a lot better..

scare him, wiht the use of the cops tell them to have a talk with him about the fact he stole a car...talk to the perents, as well..

this is his mess and his mess to cleen up... so Ask him to buy you the same car same year etc, you can expect nothing less......

Great idea.

Beat your girlfriend's brother up. Then ask him to be best man at the wedding.

And also cause distress to the entire family while leaving yourself open for your own day in court.

Brilliant.

OP, think carefully about what to do before you actually sit down with the gf's brother.

Like I said before, I'm like you. Wouldn't be able to nor would believe it was right to see him go through the courts over what was indeed a very stupid thing to do, but as you said yourself, it was out of character for him.

As I said, let him stew to the point that he gets enough of a shock to knock him back into line. Then get your full compensation from HIS pocket, not his parent's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

There's a lot of people calling for his head. But remember, if you love your OH, and she loves her brother, then skinning the guy is gonna have a much bigger impact than the loss of your car.
    Sure he deserves everything he gets, but if it was someone I was close to I'd protect them. Make him get a loan, make him pay you, or buy a new car, and then forget it. That's what I'd advise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

For the record though AFAIK if the car was technically stolen with most insurance companies this wouldnt your no claims bonus.

I would advise a cool head and see what the guards are saying* and what he/his family are offering.

*very surprised they arent charging for driving with a license/insurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭ciaranmul

You seem quite reasonable and calm to be honest, so fair play to you for that!

At the end of the day it's only 7k, not too bad it could be worse. Just get him to get a loan and pay you back, would only be about 35 a week over 5 years for him.

At least you'll get brownie points from your OH's family for how gracefully you handled the situation and didn't go mad!! You'll have hassle free inlaws for years!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    The ONLY fair option is that he pays for the car......
    Its as simple as that really,he will just have to borrow the cash or whatever,it will teach him a lesson,hes lucky hes not dead or has killed someone!!
    There is no fcuking excuse for drink driving whatsoever,its a real kick in the balls when you do someone a good turn and it gets thrown in your face like that,i presume it was a sporty car or something a bit unusual because if it was an average runabout he would have had no in iterest in taking it for a spin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

davyjose wrote: »
    Sure he deserves everything he gets, but if it was someone I was close to I'd protect them.

That's what's wrong with this sh1thole of a country.

Tosser gets pissed, steals a car, crashes it, could have killed anybody in the course of doing same and we must protect him.

However, for example

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/drunk-motorist-gets-five-years-for-death-crash-1214984.html
    Mr Olszowka was decapitated -- his head still in his helmet -- and his body parts were strewn across the road. Mr Kawa's head was on fire and the two motor bikes were fused together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

I remember that crash,its not too far from where i live,and iv seen the bikes in the scrapyard,even the engine casings were broken and the frames totally bent,scary stuff:(

dresden8 wrote: »
    That's what's wrong with this sh1thole of a country.

Tosser gets pissed, steals a car, crashes it, could have killed anybody in the course of doing same and we must protect him.

However, for example

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/drunk-motorist-gets-five-years-for-death-crash-1214984.html

No, people protecting their family from the possibility of prison, is not what's wrong with this country. Simple really. If he had decapitated, or even injured, someone else, I would have offered completely different advice, but that is not the case. He said the guy was a good lad, so as a family member, it's up to him to decide if it was a mistake and he learned his lesson, or not.

I never said WE must protect him I said it's something the OP should think about. It's easy to say hang him when you don't know the guy. If he was someone close to your other half, to your family, you'd toss him to the wolves, would you?

Damn right I would.

Good lads don't steal cars, drive drunk, (when they can't drive), untaxed, uninsured and crash the yoke.

He's 24 so his "youth" is no excuse.

Just because he didn't kill somebody this time is not an excuse either.

"We have to look after little Johnny no matter what he did" is how parents raise scumbags.

dresden8 wrote: »
    Damn right I would.
    And what, you'd go round for sunday lunch with the in-laws the following week?

It's easy to take the high-ground when it hasn't happened to you. But the OP has a life to live after this happens. And if someone sent my brother down, It'd be a long day before they got back in the marital bed with me. Whether the OP is as morally pristine as you or not, that is something the OP still has to consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

If it was me, I would have had him dragged out into the back yard and Kicked the Wind,Love and Pi55 right out of him..( I know mods wont like that But...)

He has to pay for the car FULL STOP! Take what ever Punishment he has coming to him,It would be a totally different story had he pinned two innocent people to to the wall..There would be no such word about protecting him then.. Talk to your GF's Parents see what can be resolved there,I'm sure they are Equally Pi$$ed with him and maybe this will teach him a valuable lesson for the future..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭wasper

NotmyDay wrote: »
    Dont know whether this is a PI or not but basically I need somewhere just to vent.....

Basically my OH went away for the weekend with her mother, she has been driving my car for the last month or so and left it parked in her mam's for the weekend. Its a fairly sporty /quick car, not all that new but it was my baby etc. Well her younger brother (24) who doesnt drive btw decided lastnight to go out driving in it after a feed of pints and ploughed it into a wall. The police apparently came along then and promptly arrested him for drink driving and took the car to the pound. My OH rang me with the news this morning, and initially I was just glad nobody was hurt\injured etc but as the day has gone on ive got madder and madder.

Im stuck in work till 8 tonight and the pound isnt open till tomorrow, either way they have said that its basically a write off. And TBH i dont even feel like going up 2moro to see it because it will just send me over the edge. Her brother has retired to bed for the day and is not talking to anyone, presumably feeling sorry for himself as he is going to get charged with drink driving at the very least. He is a nice lad so I dont know what the **** he was thinking. But what makes it worse is that when he went out his more sensible younger brother who drives was in and would have dropped him anywhere he wanted. So presumably he just wanted to go out for a joyride.

So it leaves me with a dilemma now, I cant claim the insurance because to do that I will have to say it was stolen, which I think will mean he will get prosecuted for stealing the car. Anyway even if I do claim the insurance it will really rape my no claims so I dont want to go down that road. He hasnt got much money although he works full time, so I think ill just have to work out something. But my OH recently sold her car as the repayments were killing here so I gave her my car to use for the time being. Now she has no car either and will probably need to buy a new one. I really need to sit down and have a chat with him about what we're to do but I reckon I should cool off for a while and probably give him a chance to think about what he's done and how much trouble he's in and has put me and my GF in.
    Put a claim with insurance & make him pay for high premiums that you will be paying for the next 3 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭minime1

Op you could be telling my story! About three years ago an exboyfriend of mine. He's an ex now but I was going out with him at the time. Well he stole my car and went drunk driving in it and crashed the car. The car was a write off. He crashed into two walls. The first I heard of it was a call at 3am from a garda telling me about it:eek: Basically what happened was an insurance assesor called out to me as the people that owned the two walls had been in contact with the insurance company. In fairness the assesor saw how upset I was and was very kind. he told me that it wouldn't affect my noclaims bonus. So claim was settled. Six months later I got an insurance renewal and my premium went up by €300. I rang the insurance company and asked why? I was told cos of the claims etc anyway in the end after explaining what the assesor had said and getting nowhere I asked to speak to a manager. Eventually my premium was lowered and my noclaims giving back. So you can claim and keep your noclaims as the car was stolen! Be insistant with the insurance company!

I would also get the gfs brother to get a loan for you to buy a new car. He'd be getting off lightly!

Hth!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

minime1 wrote: »
    Op you could be telling my story! About three years ago an exboyfriend of mine. He's an ex now but I was going out with him at the time. Well he stole my car and went drunk driving in it and crashed the car. The car was a write off. He crashed into two walls. The first I heard of it was a call at 3am from a garda telling me about it:eek: Basically what happened was an insurance assesor called out to me as the people that owned the two walls had been in contact with the insurance company. In fairness the assesor saw how upset I was and was very kind. he told me that it wouldn't affect my noclaims bonus. So claim was settled. Six months later I got an insurance renewal and my premium went up by €300. I rang the insurance company and asked why? I was told cos of the claims etc anyway in the end after explaining what the assesor had said and getting nowhere I asked to speak to a manager. Eventually my premium was lowered and my noclaims giving back. So you can claim and keep your noclaims as the car was stolen! Be insistant with the insurance company!

I would also get the gfs brother to get a loan for you to buy a new car. He'd be getting off lightly!

Hth!

And your ex didnt get charged for stealing the Car?

Hi guys, thanks for all the advice and obviously I can understand this is a touchy subject as drink driving has affected so many lives in Ireland. Just to update you, I got the car brought to my parents, have you ever seen the FR ted episode when they raffle the car? Well thats exactly what its like, one side is perfect and the other is a complete wreck. The car is definately a write off, the front passenger wheel is right back at the arch and the wing is smashed as is the bonnet,bumper etc. After looking at it Im just glad he crashed on the passenger side as if he had of crashed on the driver's side he wouldnt have walked out of it. He really must have been doing some speed as the car has ABS and BREMBO discs and pads all round yet he still ploughed it out of it. Another scary thing is that neither airbag inflated!?

To all the people saying I should call around and knock lumps out of him, that isnt going to happen, it wouldnt solve anything and probably wouldnt make me feel any better either. I managed to get a lend of a car off my sister for my OH (i only used the car on the weekends) and she said she could have it as long as we need it so thats all good. I spoke to a few friends of mine who work in insurance etc and they said that if I was to claim for the car I would have to fill in an accident report saying who was driving it etc and had they got permission. If they hadnt they would have to speak with the gardai about the theft of the vehicle they also said that it would affect my premium so there really is no point in going down that road, as my shiny no claims would be affected.

I spoke with the OH in depth about it (she feels responsible because she left the keys around) and the only fair thing in my opinion is to let him worry about the car now. I think I will sign the logbook over to him to do what he wants with it, I shouldnt have to worry about it. I then want him to take out a loan or whatever to pay me back within 2months. Im not in a rush for the money as I probably wont be buying another car for a while, but feel I should set a time limit.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

SnowMonkey and LoanShark banned for a week for advocating violence as a solution to the OP's problem.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

NotmyDay! wrote: »
    the only fair thing in my opinion is to let him worry about the car now.

Make sure he does and don't feel bad about insisting on this.
    He's a 24 year old who very badly needs to take responsibility for his own actions.
    He had a very lucky escape, he's walked away from this and has killed nobody in the process.
    If he were to do this again things may turn out differently so the lesson needs to be learned now.
    You making him pay for this fuk up will also help him learn that lesson.
    I think I will sign the logbook over to him to do what he wants with it, I shouldnt have to worry about it. I then want him to take out a loan or whatever to pay me back within 2months. Im not in a rush for the money as I probably wont be buying another car for a while, but feel I should set a time limit.

You may not be in a rush for the money but that doesn't mean he sits on his ass and doesn't get this sorted. The limit of two months sound more than reasonable and I would insist on that being the cut off point.
    Tell him that it's either he takes that option or you will be reporting the car stolen.
    Don't feel you have to be easy on him, people never learn and grow up if the people around them facilitate their behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Des wrote: »

[sarc] I disagree... maybe he'll be sorry when he nicks your next car :D [/sarc]

OP, it was stolen, joyridden, and smashed into the wall. Wonder how many cars this "nice lad" has joyridden?

davyjose wrote: »
    And what, you'd go round for sunday lunch with the in-laws the following week?

It's easy to take the high-ground when it hasn't happened to you. But the OP has a life to live after this happens. And if someone sent my brother down, It'd be a long day before they got back in the marital bed with me. Whether the OP is as morally pristine as you or not, that is something the OP still has to consider.

Davy, you've convinced me.

We should let him kill himself and somebody else before something is done. Seems like the only reasonable course of action.

Since he's learned his lesson I suppose his sister won't have to hide the keys of the new car from him, so all's well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Burial

Haven't read all of the thread, lack of available time. Anyway, in your garda statement, did you say that the car was "Taken without your consent" This will make classed as stolen. I'm sure the insurance company will pay for most of the damages. However, they can't prosecute gf brother, thats the police's job. You have insurance for a reason. AFAIK, it won't effect the no claims bonus. Agree with the Gardai to not prosecute. My friends car was taken in a similar manner, but my friend didn't prosecute, as it was his choice. So I think you don't have to prosecute.

All in all, if this route doesn't work, agree that the GFs brother contributes to getting another car. Remember this GF might not end up as your OH, so letting the brother go is just insane. He has to take responsiblity. The loan will cripple him though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Burial wrote: »
    The loan will cripple him though.
    Meh. The money he'll be saving by not drinking will go towards your car.

Also, have it written down, so if things go ogg between you and the GF, you ain't let loose with money still owed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

NotmyDay! wrote: »
    I spoke with the OH in depth about it (she feels responsible because she left the keys around) and the only fair thing in my opinion is to let him worry about the car now. I think I will sign the logbook over to him to do what he wants with it, I shouldnt have to worry about it. I then want him to take out a loan or whatever to pay me back within 2months. Im not in a rush for the money as I probably wont be buying another car for a while, but feel I should set a time limit.

Two months is too long. The more time that passes the more his guilt over it all will fade and the more he will be p*ssed off that he has to hand over 7 or 8K. If you give him two months at the end of it he could very well try stringing it out even longer and you may never get it all back, Ive seen this crap happen before. Anyway, it doesn't take two months to apply for and get a loan. Give him one month max as that is more than enough time to get one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 sryk

such a despiseful act...i totally agree...he should pay for what he has done..after all ur not the one to be blamed..so chill...his tym will surely come;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

NotmyDay wrote: »
    Been thinking about this for a while. In fairness if I put a claim in for the insurance it will ruin my no claims anyway,

i had a car stole recently and it didnt affect my non-claims because it was stolen

i say stick it to, what he done was disgraceful.

i am sure there are loads of "nice lads" in prision for killing and maiming people while drink driving.

he doesnt deserve to get away with this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Two months is way too long. So long as he's in good standing with the bank and/or credit union then he can have the money in your account in a matter of weeks.

So long as he has a job 7k is really not a lot to pay back over 5 years. I wish i was only in 7k debt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭SMK

Your bonus will not be affected for a theft claim. But to claim for theft, you must report the car as stolen to the Gardai. If you do claim, your insurers may well pursue the driver for recovery of their outlay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

Has your girlfriend been speaking to her brother about this yet?
    Or has he contacted you at all?

I think you need to get straight over to his house right now, sit him down and have a serious word in his ear. Tell him to get down to the bank first thing in the morning to sort out a loan for €7,500. When that money is in your account, sign the wreck over to him. He needs to know in no uncertain terms that this is his problem, and he's lucky that you've been so understanding. If he hasn't been to the bank looking for his loan by tomorrow evening, tell him you'll be straight onto the gardai and insurance company about your stolen car.

Although I sincerely hope you've already spoken to him by now, it's like rubbing salt in the wound that he wouldn't even pick up the phone by now to apologise and explain his intention to pay you back and make it up to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

I havent had time to read the entire thread so sorry if someone has already raised these points.

OP, you may not want to report the car as stolen as he is your OH's brother but at somepoint in the Garda investigation and prosecution of the related drink driving charges they will want to assertain if he had permission to drive the car. They are going to ask you about this, its one thing to just keep silent but will you lie to the Guards for him and risking putting yourself on the wrong side of the law?

remember at all times that none of this was your doing and that you are the victim of this crime. You need to be compensated for your loss.

He could have killed himself and anyone else unfortunate enough to get in his way, he needs to face up to the responsibility of what he did, the fact that no one else was involved in the crash could be the difference that keeps him out of prison if the prosecution goes ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭thebaldsoprano

Muppet gets a loan, this week, for the full amount and then some.
    Muppet then calls to your door, on his knees preferably, with a cheque.

He f**ked up, everyone does that from time to time - fix it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭Myxomatosis

Beruthiel wrote: »
    SnowMonkey and LoanShark banned for a week for advocating violence as a solution to the OP's problem.

Violence is a perfectly viable solution in many cultures. I feel you are offending those cultures by banning these people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

myxomatosis: banned 1 week, arguing with mod in thread, off topic posting and advocating violence.
    Take your pick