Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Law bending Irish

• 04-08-2008 1:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭

Folks I have noticed that we the Irish as a nation like to push laws as far was we can. From big to small we will try bend them. What hit it home was the other day I was working beside traffic lights. I noticed that when the little red man was showing for do not cross the road. A large amount of non Irish would stand there waiting for the green man to cross. Most Irish people looked up and down and made a run for it.

This got me to thinking are we the lawless Irish?

How many people do you know with no tax/insurence/NCT on there car? Wee drop of green in the tank?

We as a nation just seem to think laws apply to everyone else. Is this a good thing? Is it our high spirts and devil may care approach that give us the sparkle in the eye:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

No tax for the last 2 months, sorted it online this morning though;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

You say "we as a nation" , please forgive me if I take this wrong but I'm only presuming by your grammar that you are not Irish.

To be honest I find Irish people fairly ignorant when it comes to respecting and abiding the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Laws are written and passed so they can be broken here.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Laws are made to be bended.

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Hogmeister B

There's no law that says you have to wait for the green man before you cross the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

The warrant was out of date. Phew.

^5 Brian Curtin.

I find being a university student helps in not getting arrested.I remember I was out in Galway ages ago and I was helping a GMIT person steal a sign.He got arrested.I was told to go home.

I remember I was out in Galway ages ago and I was helping a GMIT person..................................steal a sign

You seemed quite nice and decent there for a second

.....but he was in university too?

Mike

When I lived in Ireland I drove like an idiot , did what I liked and generally acted the ass because I could get away with it.

Then I moved to Munich exactly a year ago today and I got a real shock to the system. One good example is I wait at the traffic lights even if there is no cars for miles in fear of getting a fine. I obey the speed limits and when I see a cop I don't give them the fingers and make oinking noises.

I think my granny would be proud of me:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭The Everlasting

I am ABOVE the law

KTRIC wrote: »
    When I lived in Ireland I drove like an idiot , did what I liked and generally acted the ass because I could get away with it

I just got back from Egypt, now thats chaos, makes Irish drivers look like a bunch of saints

The-Rigger wrote: »
    .....but he was in university too?

Mike

No.He was in an IT.

eddiehead wrote: »
    You seemed quite nice and decent there for a second

I thought the same about you for a second but then I seen your signature.

Hey, leave those comments in the soccer forum:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

Considering Sodomy was once against the law here I imagine in some circumstances people are 100% right to show disobedience to certain laws. Societies change, law's lagg quite a bit behind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Y2J_MUFC

chem wrote: »
    This got me to thinking are we the lawless Irish?

-1 for massive stereotyping and a rubbish phrase... "lawless irish", wtf.

People who come up with such phrases are usually full of sh!te to be honest.

No.He was in an IT.

I see, didn't understand the distinction.
    You are all a shower of no-good student bastards to me, tbh.
    not rly
    Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

KTRIC wrote: »
    You say "we as a nation" , please forgive me if I take this wrong but I'm only presuming by your grammar that you are not Irish.

To be honest I find Irish people fairly ignorant when it comes to respecting and abiding the law.

Sorry im Irish! And have bent afew laws myself over the years;) Notting major like murder just the likes of arms dealing, drug manufacture, Drug mule, explosives manufacture and several other small infractions:p Its a Louth thing:D

Y2J_MUFC wrote: »
    -1 for massive stereotyping and a rubbish phrase... "lawless irish", wtf.

People who come up with such phrases are usually full of sh!te to be honest.

Cant take the credit for coming up with the phrase:cool: but im using it;)

Its a Louth thing:D

Ah I see, explains the bad grammar then :P

Wouldn't be too concerned about the arms dealing, manufacturing and drug production. Sure we've all done that at some stage, nothing to be ashamed of :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭D-A-V-E

generally i can see where your coming from but as far as traffic lights are there is no law saying you cant cross the road in a red light unlike in some other countries which it would be considered as j-walking..but everything else everytime i picture some serious law come in i always think of the Irish going..ah feck it who cares..and joking about it but i suppose thats just in our blood..just our culture really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

D-A-V-E wrote: »
    generally i can see where your coming from but as far as traffic lights are there is no law saying you cant cross the road in a red light unlike in some other countries which it would be considered as j-walking..but everything else everytime i picture some serious law come in i always think of the Irish going..ah feck it who cares..and joking about it but i suppose thats just in our blood..just our culture really

I read somewheere that jaywalking here is in fact an offence and carries a maximum 3-month imprisonment. I'll have a look but I can't for the life of me remeber where I saw it. Definately referred to Ireland though.

Lol, the thought of doing 3 months for jaywalking...most guards would have a fit I'd say :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I am the law.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,578 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

It's not illegal if....no..wait....I think it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Oh we kicked up alright.
    Now we have secret pubs. Underground places. Great choons and all the best guinness.
    That's why you think that there is a recession. Because us smokers took our money off of the table when you took our ashtrays off of the table.
    Now we only support other smokers.

The first rule of smoking club is you do not talk about smoking club.
    The 2nd rule of smoking club is do everything in your power to piss off this guy.

Mike

Alot of pubs around here get out the ash trays after closing time. Have also seen people roll joints at the bar of some of the pubs here, then go outside to smoke them:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

My sig explains all. 'we as a nation' (stupid bloody phrase) are clearly a bunch of neo kantian adornoeans op.

You don't have a sig.
    Whoa.
    Nihilistic man.
    /toke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Scrawling grafitti in front of Darkman's house, so nothing that serious. Not as serious is getting as anythign you could do in a car, anyway!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

My sig explains all. 'we as a nation' (stupid bloody phrase) are clearly a bunch of neo kantian adornoeans op.

neo kantian adorneans? Speak English boy! or should I say sham:D so when did Sligo declare independance from the rest of Ireland?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Mike?

Mike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

neo kantian adorneans? Speak English boy! or should I say sham:D so when did Sligo declare independance from the rest of Ireland?

sham? :eek: how dare you! And it is english,a special sort.

I lived in sligo for 3yrs:( 3yrs a can never get back:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Trebor

its only against the law if you get caught :P

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

It's really funny the odd time you see someone waiting at the pedestrian crossing at 3 am in the morning when there's no cars out.

Red Alert wrote: »
    It's really funny the odd time you see someone waiting at the pedestrian crossing at 3 am in the morning when there's no cars out.

Yore ma!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

I think we bend some minor rules but most people know the difference between wrong and right and we generally stay on the right side of the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

"Shur till be grand" Typical Irish mentality!

"Isn't cousin patie a guard and he'll get us out of it"

"Mr. X is a 19yr old apprentice carpenter and this was his first offence your honour"
    €50 to the poorbox so!

I believe we need high fixed penalties not leading to a criminal record to sort out this criminal lawlessness.

Look, bending the law is what made Australia what it ia today.

Just thing of all those who got free tickets to go there. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭DenMan

It definitely seems to be a national problem here. When going away to other countries and witnessing them adhere to the laws of their country, it is something that we should do here. I only seem to notice it when I return, and that worries me. Alarmingly I have noticed a lot of Irish tourists abroad who spend close attention to the rules and regulations of other nations once they are there and then fall back into bad habits once they return. I cannot understand this, it is mind boggling. The laws are there for a reason, and as a citizen you are supposed to abide by them. They are in your best interests! I don't want to get into hot water and say it is a cultural thing, but with so many people blatantly ignoring what is in their best interests, it makes me wonder!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

No tax for the last 2 months, sorted it online this morning though;)
    The days are numbered of driving around the city for a few months and then getting the cops to stamp a disclaimer are numbered, expect a reminder in the post that your un taxed car spotted passing the toll bridge by ANPR cameras.
    . A large amount of non Irish would stand there waiting for the green man to cross. Most Irish people looked up and down and made a run for it.
    Reason is that there are heafty fines in certain countries for not obeying pedestrian lights, my cousin got a ticket in Copenhagen at 3AM. When foreigners come here they think the same law applies. I wish it did,

The days are numbered of driving around the city for a few months and then getting the cops to stamp a disclaimer are numbered, expect a reminder in the post that your un taxed car spotted passing the toll bridge by ANPR cameras.

Nah, paid the arrears, I have an honest side too. Seriously though, can they do that?

yes I would imagine so, very simple to link up two databases - or output the vehicles listed as having traveled through the toll and cross reference to the database that holds the car tax details.

Would do also, They can take the car off you after three months.

Just be thankful it's not the UK, not only do you bet a ticket, you also get to walk home!

yes I would imagine so, very simple to link up two databases - or output the vehicles listed as having traveled through the toll and cross reference to the database that holds the car tax details.
    The Authorities would have access to the Toll plaza database 24/7 just as they do with the London congestion charge database to check out on serious offenders such as get away cars and terrorists through. It wouldn’t take much for them to a run a search on tax evaders