Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland is the most expensive place to have sex in the world

• 03-08-2008 11:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 44

http://www.environmentalgraffiti.com/offbeat-news/worlds-most-expensive-places-to-have-sex/1405
    For obvious reasons you can’t recycle a condom, but have you ever wondered which countries “tax” sex the most?

Well… Environmental Graffiti has decided to create a detailed graphical diagram, complete with wallpaper download for your viewing pleasure. The data, which gives the average condom price around the world has been compiled from UK price comparison site pricerunner and a blogger from an interesting little site called condomunity. We thought we’d go one step further however, and create a graphic representation of the findings - I think you’ll agree the graph makes for ‘interesting’ viewing.

When looking at it, please don’t deduce that bar heights are correlated to penis size (that’s just offensive).

Shanghai came out the cheapest with an average price of just $4.50 (£2.25), whilst Ireland was the country where sex costs the most (!) at almost $18 (£9) on average for a pack – (perhaps due to the hostility of the Catholic Church towards contraception?). Prices within the US showed a high amount of variation, from $9.50 (£4.75) in Houston to nearly $15 (£7.50) in New York - feel free to extrapolate from that what you wish…

I knew it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I remember posting this in S&S, it's a damn shame Johnny's raincoat costs so much but we don't want him catching a cold. Alternatives: Tayto packet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

Lucky they didn't factor in the cost of buying yer wan drink. We'd be off the scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

What difference realistically does the price of the rubber glove cost? It's probably the least expensive part of the entire process. They should be looking at the price of an evening at the theatre and a nice meal in a fancy restaurant (or 2 UCI cinema tickets and a Supermacs) rather than the price of condoms.

Or alternatively compare the price of hookers around the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

condom savers are having a closing down sale..... www.condomsavers.ie

12 pack of sensations for 6.80, just over 50cent a ride....not so bad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,694 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

javaboy wrote: »

It's in this months FHM

Kenya and India are the cheapest, 50 cent a ride.....

Slovenia, Croatia, Tenerife and Greece are nearly the most expensive at €100 a load...

Ireland and the UK are coming in about €50 a pop...

So who's coming to Kenya?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

They should be looking at the price of an evening at the theatre and a nice meal in a fancy restaurant (or 2 UCI cinema tickets and a Supermacs) rather than the price of condoms.

Thats the price you pay for living in the City. Down the country, a naggin of Vodka and a quick trip to Johnny O'Learys haybarn would normally suffice.
    Sherifu wrote:
    Alternatives: Tayto packet.

...and a couple of elastic bands for added pleasure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

have gotten rid of vat on condoms yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,082 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Boots are doing BOGOF on condoms at the moment. Twenty-four for the price of twelve!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 hereNqueer

Ye its disgraceful, and gay strength ones cost about double that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Bareback and a pre-booked Rynair flight to Birmingham ftw

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Damn, I wish I had gay strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

When it comes to shopping, these days i pretty much only buy food etc in shops, the sooner people realise how easy the internet is to use for shopping the better off this country will be

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭doonothing

Gay strength? Que?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

nope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

I think it was FHM this/last month's edition that did that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

No, they are STILL taxed as "Luxury Items" for some fecking reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭zoos

condom savers are having a closing down sale..... www.condomsavers.ie

12 pack of sensations for 6.80, just over 50cent a ride....not so bad...

Oh my god! has anyone ever bought these from this website?! Is that not dodgy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭CPT. SURF

At least we are not the most expensive country in which to have a ****. If we were I know Id be f****d, or not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

mehh you get what you pay for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭genericgoon

CPT. SURF wrote: »
    At least we are not the most expensive country in which to have a ****. If we were I know Id be f****d, or not!

Well, broadband is more expensive here than most places so the value ain't great.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

hereNqueer wrote: »

You should picket Lenister House and claim discrimmination/human rights violation.....wouldn't get you anywhere, but it would pass an afternoon:)

I like the term 'Gay Strength' by the way.......;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

It's only so expensive because our alcohol costs more and our irish wimmin have a greater tolerance to the stuff! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

€8 for a pack of three from a pub vending machine on Saturday. Eight fecking euro, and I didn't even get a hung-over jump in the morning.

Which means I've got one for sale still. Perfect working order, in original wrapper, €2 or best offer secures.

So who's coming to Kenya?:)

Forget Norway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭North&South

Now, here's a thought....
    Has anyone got a boat?

Maybe get together a gang of lads & lasses, hop over to the UK & go to the nearest Fam Planning Clinic....

Grab as many of the FREE condoms there as you can each carry... come back & sell 'em for 1 euro a go...

You'll make a fortune!

Or you could just make do with a few cold showers.. haha!

I'm SO glad I'm a married 47yr old - and SO glad that my condom years are a dim & distant past too! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

hereNqueer wrote: »
    The thought of that turned my stomach until...
    Xavi6 wrote: »
    Bareback and a pre-booked Rynair flight to Birmingham ftw

The thought of this made me really ill.

Birmingham.....uuurrrggghhhh:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Has anyone got a boat?

Maybe get together a gang of lads & lasses, hop over to the UK & go to the nearest Fam Planning Clinic....

Grab as many of the FREE condoms there as you can each carry... come back & sell 'em for 1 euro a go...

You'll make a fortune!

I'm SO glad I'm a married 47yr old - and SO glad that my condom years are a dim & distant past too! :P
    Hate to ruin your business idea but Boots have a permanent 'Buy 1 Get 1 Free' offer on boxes of 12; Works out to about 50c per condom average price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭adsgirl

Has anyone got a boat?

You'll make a fortune!

You could do Ikea and a family planning clinic in a day out up North.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,283 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

doonothing wrote: »
    Gay strength? Que?
    Like "retard strength", but stronger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Pretend to be a student in a few colleges during freshers week. Pick up LOADS of free condoms. Profit.

Also steal some bog roll while you're there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

[-0-] wrote: »
    Pretend to be a student in a few colleges during freshers week. Pick up LOADS of free condoms. Profit.

Also steal some bog roll while you're there.

Ahh, love being a student :D