Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

15,000 tickets to Dublin fans ... WTF mate

• 31-07-2008 9:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭

Im not a happy bunny
    :mad::mad:

Dear __________,

The Central Competitions Control Committee have indicated to us this afternoon that two Football Quarter-Finals will be held in Croke Park on Saturday 9th August. Dublin will receive a maximum of 15,000 tickets to be divided between Players, Sponsors, Parnell Park Ticket Scheme Members and Clubs.

Accordingly allocations to clubs will be significantly less than received for previous games. Family Tickets will be limited.

Kind regards,

John Costello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I thought Dublin had the 9th for themselves? :confused: What other match is on? Galway and Armagh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Could be good news, perhaps all of the quarter finals could be in Croke Park. IMO all of the teams should be given a chance to play in Croke Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

i guess so.. Armagh always turn up in huge numbers and now that the Moate is gone ( see what i did there) there is nothing stopping the tribesmen coming in droves... damm these good roads.

Alany wrote: »
    i guess so.. Armagh always turn up in huge numbers and now that the Moate is gone ( see what i did there) there is nothing stopping the tribesmen coming in droves... damm these good roads.

See all of that EU money for the roads was to ensure that all roads really do lead to croker ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

God bless the Parnell Park Pass.I feel sorry for those going through the clubs to get tickets.There will be killings.

yep.. i have 2 corp tickets so i could go with a client but thats naff... i shouldnt have an issue getting sorted but I may not get the 2 I requested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Quick question - how exactly are the tickets allocated? Are the 4 counties involved getting 15,000 each, and then the rest is given to neutral county boards, and/or allocated by HQ itself for guests, players families etc?

Wouldn't allocation based on a counties level of support or GAA membership make more sense?

I would guess 15K to each county boards invonved another 5-8K to the rest of the county boards and the rest is central and corporate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭eigrod

I think this is absolute madness. I've no connection to Dublin, but as they sell out almost every game they play, why can't they put the Dublin QF back to Saturday 16th as a stand alone fixture ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭eigrod

Im not a happy bunny
    :mad::mad:

Dear __________,

The Central Competitions Control Committee have indicated to us this afternoon that two Football Quarter-Finals will be held in Croke Park on Saturday 9th August. Dublin will receive a maximum of 15,000 tickets to be divided between Players, Sponsors, Parnell Park Ticket Scheme Members and Clubs.

Accordingly allocations to clubs will be significantly less than received for previous games. Family Tickets will be limited.

Kind regards,

John Costello

By the way, where did that letter come from ? Could it be a hoax?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Marse

What time is the Dublin game down to start?

eigrod wrote: »
    By the way, where did that letter come from ? Could it be a hoax?

no, it could not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Presumably it would be at about 4pm, especially if it is a double-header.

As we've seen in previous years, most of the people that want to go, manage to get tickets somewhere. You can be certain that there will be a lot more than 15,000 Dublin fans there on the day. Over the last few years we've seen panic in here over trying to get tickets, but people always got them in the end. So be positive and you'll be sorted.

Alany, if you have corporate tickets, then you have a ticket! That's the most important thing. Don't worry about anything beyond that. Having a ticket is not naff compared to not having one. If you are going to give the second ticket to a client, just make sure they are a client who is a genuine fan, or else find a genuine fan to give it to. It won't be difficult to find them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Over the past few years the GAA have adopted a decent policy that as Dublin matches in the quaters would sell out the venue they would have them as a stand alone. Fair enough.

But, at the same time, they have this crazy fixtures list which now comes into play from August till September. So we have had various counties sitting around for weeks and the qualifiers being run off in week in week out fashion.

After the Leinster Flukey, Mullet, Blackbelt my myself were all wondering how they'd have opposition for the 9th given how little time there is.

The elephant in the room for all this mess is the telly. That is the only reason why so many weeks are lost during the May-July period. How? This idea of Hurling/Football weekends. Why every bloody match has to be shown live on a sunday is beyond me. Its time that the GAA started to use Saturdays for provincial championships so you can reduce dramatically the time it takes for a team to get to the quaters and avoid this sort of thing, and spread the quaters over two weekends.

Given that there are no hurling quaters in Croke Park surely this can be done.

as for the 15,000 we all know that the returns will go to Dublin, and there'll be plenty of blue. There'll be 15,000 on the hill alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

All Provincial winners should get a day in Croker.

If Fermanagh had won Ulster, they'd have deserved a day there.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Why every bloody match has to be shown live on a sunday is beyond me. Its time that the GAA started to use Saturdays for provincial championships so you can reduce dramatically the time it takes for a team to get to the quaters and avoid this sort of thing, and spread the quaters over two weekends.

Here, here! Most fans (and I daresay players) would be more than happy with Saturdays.

Flukey wrote: »

Alany, if you have corporate tickets, then you have a ticket! That's the most important thing. Don't worry about anything beyond that. Having a ticket is not naff compared to not having one. If you are going to give the second ticket to a client, just make sure they are a client who is a genuine fan, or else find a genuine fan to give it to. It won't be difficult to find them. :)

My corp tickets always go to fans of the teams playing but i try and avoid going myself. More of a Hill person..the reason Im not a happy bunny is cause people will be disappointed. and it makes no sense to me to have 80,000 people watching 2 games when you could have 120,00 by splitting them out.

Flukey wrote: »

As we've seen in previous years, most of the people that want to go, manage to get tickets somewhere. You can be certain that there will be a lot more than 15,000 Dublin fans there on the day. Over the last few years we've seen panic in here over trying to get tickets, but people always got them in the end. So be positive and you'll be sorted.

I hope you're right lad(please let it 4pm with 15min delay for the Dublin fans), my fligh doesn't get into to Dublin until 1.45pm. With the speed of the ground crew in Dublin I might just make 4pm, no chance on 2pm.

forget your bags... just get off the plane and run..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I didn't hear it so maybe someone else can confirm. But apparently on the radio this morning it was saying the latest plan/rumour is to have an Armagh, Galway double bill on August 9th and defer Dublin (standalone) to Saturday Aug 16th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

This is what happens as a result of not playing the qualifier rounds earlier.Longford had to wait 8/9 weeks to play Laois in their first qualifer and that is scandalous.You just have to know that if they play more matches on weekends earlier in the championship,August won't be backlogged.

May and June should see the smaller games being played all together over the course of weekends.The soccer upsetted the tv coverage this year but the GAA should learn that with the daylight available particularly in May/June and with the fllodlights in grounds,more fixtures can be completed in time to avoid a fixture crisis later on.

As Popebenny said,it is unfair on Dublin and their opposition that they only have one week to prepare for each other.Same for the other quarter finalists.

blackbelt wrote: »
    This is what happens as a result of not playing the qualifier rounds earlier.Longford had to wait 8/9 weeks to play Laois in their first qualifer and that is scandalous.You just have to know that if they play more matches on weekends earlier in the championship,August won't be backlogged.

May and June should see the smaller games being played all together over the course of weekends.The soccer upsetted the tv coverage this year but the GAA should learn that with the daylight available particularly in May/June and with the fllodlights in grounds,more fixtures can be completed in time to avoid a fixture crisis later on.

As Popebenny said,it is unfair on Dublin and their opposition that they only have one week to prepare for each other.Same for the other quarter finalists.

With the scrapping of the Tommy Murphy I assume that the qualifiers will revert back to the old format, which will give more time to play the earlier rounds of the qualifiers in June and July.

I didn't hear it so maybe someone else can confirm. But apparently on the radio this morning it was saying the latest plan/rumour is to have an Armagh, Galway double bill on August 9th and defer Dublin (standalone) to Saturday Aug 16th.

Well John Costello sent that Email to every club in Dublin so he is fairly sure that the match will be on the 9th but then again its not unlike the GAA to change them minds is it.

The story is being reported on Hogan Stand now so looks like it isn't a hoax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

I have a nightmare in store anyway. Presumably because of the short allocation, my club sent in the list very early.....without my name on it :( Got a hard road ahead to find tickets now altho id say wouldnt be easy even if my name was down!

The story is being reported on Hogan Stand now so looks like it isn't a hoax

Did you ever doubt me ? :eek:

Actually, looks like the HS got their story from here.
    Boards.ie... faster than a speeding Sliotar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tazdedub

Heres the thing though a Dublin stand alone fixture could be accommadated. Why dont the muppets in the GAA take their heads out of their backsides and simply put the Cork Football 1/4 final and the cork hurling semi final on as a double header, then put the armagh and the other 1/4 final on as a double header and that would leave the Dublin 1/4 final as a stand alone fixture. This way everyone is happy.

Anyway watch the GAA spin on their tails if its a Dublin/Kerry 1/4 final bet that would be a stand alone fixture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Tazdedub wrote: »
    Heres the thing though a Dublin stand alone fixture could be accommadated. Why dont the muppets in the GAA take their heads out of their backsides and simply put the Cork Football 1/4 final and the cork hurling semi final on as a double header, then put the armagh and the other 1/4 final on as a double header and that would leave the Dublin 1/4 final as a stand alone fixture. This way everyone is happy.

Anyway watch the GAA spin on their tails if its a Dublin/Kerry 1/4 final bet that would be a stand alone fixture.
    +1 but we'll probably end up getting Kildare ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

My corp tickets always go to fans of the teams playing but i try and avoid going myself. More of a Hill person..the reason Im not a happy bunny is cause people will be disappointed. and it makes no sense to me to have 80,000 people watching 2 games when you could have 120,00 by splitting them out.

I am sure you would give them to real fans. That's what we'd expect of any of the regular posters here. Of course even in Croke Park could hold 120,000 there would still be disappointed people. There is no perfect solution.

As to the qualifiers, it should be possible to get teams that are knocked out early to be in action again a bit sooner. The problem with the first round is the amount of teams that have to be knocked out and therefore the amount of games that have to played, before all the teams are known and a draw can be made. They should get those early matches played quicker. Saturdays are a possibility, but not necessarily a necessity to do it.
    Nalced_irl wrote:
    I have a nightmare in store anyway. Presumably because of the short allocation, my club sent in the list very early.....without my name on it Got a hard road ahead to find tickets now altho id say wouldnt be easy even if my name was down!

I know you have an aversion towards them, but this is where Ticketmaster can be of use. We also know that you are not avert to using the credit card. That's one solution. One way or another, you will get sorted.
    Marse, if your plane does arrive on time, you should be easily able to get to Croke Park by 4pm. There are plenty of buses that go in nowadays, and they all pass through Drumcondra. Then of course there are the bus lanes, so even a big crowd of northern traffic coming down for a match won't impact too much on you. You'd even have some flexibility if the flight gets delayed a bit or if the match does start a bit earlier. As to 15 minutes delays due to Dublin fans, there are just as many rival fans coming in late, and the majority of Dublin matches do start on time. There was no big write-up in the papers on the Monday after the Leinster final to state how that match had started on time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭yahoo_moe

Marse wrote: »
    I hope you're right lad(please let it 4pm with 15min delay for the Dublin fans), my fligh doesn't get into to Dublin until 1.45pm. With the speed of the ground crew in Dublin I might just make 4pm, no chance on 2pm.
    You could always just give up and pass on your ticket... say to me? :p

Feck, feck and triple feck if it's a double-header - my club was already left 100 tickets short for the Leinster final. Next year, I'm going the Parnell route I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭zuluboy

This is great news especially if Kerry get dublin. The kerry boys can sell their tickets to the jackeens for at least a grand and that should cover the cost of the semi and final.
    Everyones a winner!

zuluboy wrote: »
    This is great news especially if Kerry get dublin. The kerry boys can sell their tickets to the jackeens for at least a grand and that should cover the cost of the semi and final.
    Everyones a winner!

LOL
    Your forgettign that the Kerry lads would have to fork out the 35 euro for the ticket first then arrange to sell it to a Jackeen.... bah not sure they could be bothered. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i can guarantee a few things -

if this is dublin v kerry, it will be stand alone fixture. other games will be moved, simple as that.

anyway, regardless of who they play, there will be about 35000 if not more dubs fans in croker, as these q/finals dont tend to sell out. some of the counties would only bring 7,000 -10,000 to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

zuluboy wrote: »
    Everyones a winner!

I know Kerry fans are notorious for only travelling for finals, but why would they go to a semi or final just to watch Dublin play? :p

yahoo_moe wrote: »
    You could always just give up and pass on your ticket... say to me? :p

Feck, feck and triple feck if it's a double-header - my club was already left 100 tickets short for the Leinster final. Next year, I'm going the Parnell route I think.

Nice try!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,759 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Dublin were initially informed their QF would be standalone on Sat Aug 9. So training over the last 3 weeks has been done on that basis. But now things have changed and they've been given the choice of double header on 9th or standalone on 16th. Pillar said a weeks delay would be too much disruption so he'd prefer to stick with Aug 9. Hence the notification from Costello. But DCB are continuing to lobby for standalone on 9th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

Nobody has mentioned the one certainty in all this!

All Ireland Minor + Senior Hurling semi-final Kilkenny v Cork on Sunday 10th of August which is Guarrenteed to be in Croker.

That leaves 4 football quarterfinals to be played which is 5 huge games over the weekend of 9th and 10th

GAA will have to play one or two of these outside HQ.

Bring the dubs down to Thurles again? ;)