Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Olympic boxing betting - thank me later eh!!

• 31-07-2008 9:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭

In the light flys Zou is red hot favourite of course with Paddy Power offering best odds at 2/5 - our Paddy is 100/1 but a wee taste of value is Birzhan Zhakypov at 20/1 at Powers.

Georgy Balakshin is 6/1 at William Hills to win the flyweight gold. Surely its between him, Warren and Jongjohor so 6/1 seems cracking odds! Lee Ok-Sung looks value at 25/1 also.

Bantams - nothing to have a go at unless ya want Murray at 33/1 in Powers

I reckon the Chinese will do well so in the feathers I reckon Li Yang at 7/1 is good value as is Sooltonov at 10/1.

Lightweights - Domenico Valentino at 12/1 in Hills or Pichai Sayotha at 50/1 in Powers

Light welter - regining champion Manus Boonjumnong at 4/1 at Hills is great value imo, Joyce is 200/1 at Centrebet.

Welterweight - Andrade is boiling hot favourite but Bakhyt Sarsekbayev could be worth a sniff at 16/1 in Hills and they have Andrey Balanov at 40/1.

Middleweights - Alfonso Blanco at 10/1 in Powers and Bakhtiyar Artayev at 16/1 in Hills. DeGale and Sutherland are 80/1 and 50/1 at Centrebet

Light Heavy - maybe Jahon Qurbonov at 14/1 or our Kenny at 80/1 (centrebet)!!!

Ali Mazaheri in the heavyweights at 25/1 and a bit of an outsider but experienced Oleksandr Usyk is 33/1 at Betfreds.

Super Heavys - not much happening here but Glazkov is 12/1 at Totes and Kubrat Pulev is 25/1 at Powers

Thats yer lots girls - anyone already bet on anything or fancy value with someone else???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Shiming is favourite for a very good reason, Luiz Yanez(America) is starting to come on very strong but in China I wouldn't go with betting against Shimimg.

Blanco isn't going to win gold at Middle, I'd be a little hesitant even taking 10/1 for him to medal(but probably just about would) .

There isn't really much value to be had as far as betting goes, you're betting on 1 out of 28/29 guys to do something and they're going to have to win 4 very hard fights at the very least. Even the favourites will find it very tough.

The Heavyweights and Super-Heavyweights should offer a little more value though with only 16 men competing in each.

Looking at it now Paddy Power has Yanez at 50-1 but Barnes at 33-1, there must be some money down on Barnes from Irish people otherwise that's very strange.

I can't look past Warren at Flyweight, that 5/6 looks cracking odds to me.
    Korobov at 4/7 isn't bad either. Chances are if you look for the real outsiders you're going to earn nothing.

If you want to actually win something either stick to the favourites(who are very strong favourites) or if you're a bit more of a gambler look to the 2nd/3rd favourites which are offering odds of 6/1 or 7/1 .

Honestly I don't think we'll have any huge shock winner at the games but you'll get a couple of mild upset winners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭HollowMan

Can anyone post the odds of the five Irish lads?

For gold and for a medal... That's not asking too much is it?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

HollowMan wrote: »
    Can anyone post the odds of the five Irish lads?

For gold and for a medal... That's not asking too much is it?!

Centrebet have most of them at 80/1 - with a few up to 200/1 - they are an Aussie site

Paddy Power have them at about 33/1 each

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

nice post sligo..... ok mabey im being too patriotic here but i dont think so, how in the hell can they price egan at 80-1 when his world ranking stands at 4th as per

http://www.ababoxing.com/mens%20world%20rankings%20june08.html

Also sutherland looks good value considering his official ranking but i just dont think he will be clever enough but egan is a smashing price IMO :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 boylan1000

Are they taking each way bets or is it win only.thanks.

alanceltic wrote: »
    nice post sligo..... ok mabey im being too patriotic here but i dont think so, how in the hell can they price egan at 80-1 when his world ranking stands at 4th as per

http://www.ababoxing.com/mens%20world%20rankings%20june08.html

Also sutherland looks good value considering his official ranking but i just dont think he will be clever enough but egan is a smashing price IMO :eek::eek:

That ranking is slightly inflated, Egan is indeed top 8 at 81KG but he's not really top 5 .

As for Irish for Gold Paddy Power have:
    Paddy Barnes 33-1
    John Joe Nevin: 80-1
    John Joe Joyce: 100-1
    Darren Sutherland: 33-1
    Ken Egan: 33-1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭sston

Given his odds and the fact that he's an unknown quantity at senior level Nevin is probably worth a tenner at 80/1 but it's a real long shot. To be honest though I can't see any golds for us but I've a sneaking feeling that we might get a bronze or even two with a bit of luck.

Big Ears wrote: »
    That ranking is slightly inflated, Egan is indeed top 8 at 81KG but he's not really top 5 .

As for Irish for Gold Paddy Power have:
    Paddy Barnes 33-1
    John Joe Nevin: 80-1
    John Joe Joyce: 100-1
    Darren Sutherland: 33-1
    Ken Egan: 33-1

I general the last thing you want to be doing is backing Irish boxers on an Irish website - Centrebet which is an Australian site give much better odds on these boxers

I fully agree, Barnes short odds are a great example of this, I was trying to give a view of what the backing of the Irish boxers has been so far and where the Irish money is going(seemingly mostly on Barnes).

Its strange that Barnes is being touted so much, or maybe not cos he got through at the worlds and most of the rest limped through.

I hope Barnes gets a medal but I cant see it being gold because the Light Fly is a really really tough division this time round.

Its strange that Barnes is being touted so much, or maybe not cos he got through at the worlds and most of the rest limped through.

I hope Barnes gets a medal but I cant see it being gold because the Light Fly is a really really tough division this time round.

I think the bookies probably reckon that cause he made the Quarter-finals of the World Championships and was the only one to qualify from that, that he'd have a better chance than say Nevin.

Although it does seem rather short sited of someone who has a vested interested in his result. You'd think they'd look deeper and realise he has pretty much 0 chance of a Gold and they really should be offering higher odds to entice people. Although maybe they feel too high a price would scare people off and that people would reckon they'd be wasting their money with an 80-1/100-1. I shouldn't really doubt the bookies though, they are very succesful at what they do but I think if you have a very indepth knowledge of a particular subject you can get the better of them.

Pro boxing is a pretty good sport for betting on with just two competitors and the likelyhood of a major upset is less aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭HollowMan

Nevin qualified at the first chance in Pescara, actually winning gold there. 80/1 is a nice price, wonder what can be got on him for a medal?

Barnes hasn't a prayer, neither has Joyce.

Sutherland and Nevin will do the business!

Middleweights - Alfonso Blanco at 10/1 in Powers and Bakhtiyar Artayev at 16/1 in Hills. DeGale and Sutherland are 80/1 and 50/1 at Centrebet

Light Heavy - maybe Jahon Qurbonov at 14/1 or our Kenny at 80/1 (centrebet)!!!

*cough*sweeeet*cough*

All four middleweights are in the top half of the draw and still in it so I would say that I will have one person in the finals so thats the middleweights sorted - cant ask for much more especially as none of them were short odds.

Qurbonov delivers the first real upset of the games and Kenny is AWESOME value now at 80/1 - I'd say once the betting is altered to take todays fights into consideration you'd be doin well to get him at 20/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

well here mine

5ew alex vastine 100/1 Lwelter ladbrokes
    5ew I gheorghe 33/1 Lwelter skybet
    5ew jj nevin 100/1 bantam ladbrokes
    5ew k egan 12/1 L heavy ladbrokes
    20ew bj saunders 10/1 welter ladbrokes
    5ew d sow 100/1 light ladbrokes

jayroyal wrote: »
    well here mine

you got Kenny at 12/1 - jesus ya got raped man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

you got Kenny at 12/1 - jesus ya got raped man!
    ye but that was after he got a favourable draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

jayroyal wrote: »
    well here mine

Just mention him in the other thread , Think you got a great chance there , was very impressed with him against top class opponent in his first fight, OK has a cuban next , but he has beaten him before.
    Good luck with them all.

lordie lordie lordie - thats TWO of my outside tips that have knocked out gold medalists from the Worlds - get in there my son Lee Ok-Sung!!!!!

Lee Ok-Sung is a World Champion from 2005 himself, but I felt Warren was robbed. After a fantastic first round he went back to his corner and realised he was only drawing 4-4, because of this he seemed to change his style a bit and become more defensive but he still won it for me.

The worst thing is that the winning shot for the Korean was a glancing blow with nothing behind it and Warren landed a hard crisp right hand bang on the face less than a second later which didn't score.

Warren won more clearly there than Andrade beat his Georgian opponent at Welterweight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Big ears, you can't say Warren as robbed. It was a very tight fight and that Korean was fantastic as well. It was nip and tuck all the way and I thought the Korean deserved the bout. He was the more aggressive and wanted it more I thought

Lee Ok-Sung is a World Champion from 2005 himself, but I felt Warren was robbed. After a fantastic first round he went back to his corner and realised he was only drawing 4-4, because of this he seemed to change his style a bit and become more defensive but he still won it for me.

The worst thing is that the winning shot for the Korean was a glancing blow with nothing behind it and Warren landed a hard crisp right hand bang on the face less than a second later which didn't score.

Warren won more clearly there than Andrade beat his Georgian opponent at Welterweight.

jog on playa hateh!!!

Granted he won gold in 2005 but he hasnt done a tap in the past three years - hence the reason he was 25/1 and Raushee was 3/1!!!!

jog on playa hateh!!!

Granted he won gold in 2005 but he hasnt done a tap in the past three years - hence the reason he was 25/1 and Raushee was 3/1!!!!

I take that back I was being FAR to generous!!! 5/6 ON to win the lot let alone get past Lee!!! lol!!

"I can't look past Warren at Flyweight, that 5/6 looks cracking odds to me" - dont give up the day job bud

walshb wrote: »
    Big ears, you can't say Warren as robbed. It was a very tight fight and that Korean was fantastic as well. It was nip and tuck all the way and I thought the Korean deserved the bout. He was the more aggressive and wanted it more I thought

The last 3 rounds were closely contested, but Warren should have had 7/8 points from the first round(and that's is taking into account the judges cautious scoring) and the Korean was lucky to get 4.

I think if that fight was analysed in slow motion by judges that Warren would be a definite winner. Maybe you could say that for plenty of other bouts too but I thought the judges were nearly looking to score for Lee. I think I counted 3 body shots being scored, might have been 4. When do you ever see that many body shots scored in amateur boxing ?, yes they were legitimate punches and should be scored but I haven't seen other boxers treated than well with them in nearly any tournament.

That exchange where Lee picked up the winning point described the fight. He landed a glancing blow that was very lucky to score and got his 9th point, Warren landed a hard flush right hook(with the white part of the glove) which was pretty easy to see imo and he didn't get a point.

I just feel he was pretty hard done by.

The last 3 rounds were closely contested, but Warren should have had 7/8 points from the first round(and that's is taking into account the judges cautious scoring) and the Korean was lucky to get 4.

I think if that fight was analysed in slow motion by judges that Warren would be a definite winner. Maybe you could say that for plenty of other bouts too but I thought the judges were nearly looking to score for Lee. I think I counted 3 body shots being scored, might have been 4. When do you ever see that many body shots scored in amateur boxing ?, yes they were legitimate punches and should be scored but I haven't seen other boxers treated than well with them in nearly any tournament.

That exchange where Lee picked up the winning point described the fight. He landed a glancing blow that was very lucky to score and got his 9th point, Warren landed a hard flush right hook(with the white part of the glove) which was pretty easy to see imo and he didn't get a point.

I just feel he was pretty hard done by.

Watched it last night BE and I couldnt disagree more - Rau'shee thought he had it in the bag and stopped boxing and started to run - talk about a breakdown in communication.

I thought he matched everyone Warren had to throw at him and was very composed - well worth the victory imo