Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Six Russians, including Soboleva, suspended for suspected doping!

• 31-07-2008 12:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭

This is breaking news at the moment, but medal favourite in both the 800m and 1500m, and world indoor 1500m record holder, Yelena Soboleva has been suspended along with hammer thrower Gulfiya Khanafeyeva (what a shock!), Daria Pischalnikova, Tatiana Tomashova, Yulia Fomenko and Svetlana Cherkasova.

Not good publicity for the sport of athletics on the eve of the greatest show on earth.

http://www.thewest.com.au/aapstory.aspx?StoryName=502117

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

Rineanna wrote: »
    This is breaking news at the moment, but medal favourite in both the 800m and 1500m, and world indoor 1500m record holder, Yelena Soboleva has been suspended along with hammer thrower Gulfiya Khanafeyeva (what a shock!), Daria Pischalnikova, Tatiana Tomashova, Yulia Fomenko and Svetlana Cherkasova.

Not good publicity for the sport of athletics on the eve of the greatest show on earth.

http://www.thewest.com.au/aapstory.aspx?StoryName=502117

better now than a week after they had collected Olympic medals.

what was the story with Gulfiya Khanafeyeva ?

Never heard of DNA convergence in an athletes sample. I'm guessing it means the urine used in the test given by these athletes may have come from a common source ? Can anyone shed light on this ?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The beeb is now saying there is seven of them.

Clicky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

what was the story with Gulfiya Khanafeyeva ?

She was always a bit dodgy; she failed a drugs test before this aswell. Her and Tatyana Lysenko were both throwing 77m around the same time as each other, quel suprize!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭fatgav

interesting to see yegorova among them. i know she wasn't beijing bound, but it's nice to see a proper cheat get caught.

i guess this is v good news for o' keeffe. is she now a legit medal shot?

fatgav wrote: »
    i guess this is v good news for o' keeffe. is she now a legit medal shot?

There are still several strong throwers ahead of her, although I have my doubts over one or two of them, but I'm guessing it's libellious to name names here.

You have Yipsi Moreno, three strong Belarussians, three strong French throwers, that Slovak Hrasnova, Heidler, Skolimowska and Brkljacic. But listen, she wasn't ranked anywhere near the top last year and she was just 3 places outside the medals in Osaka; there are a lot of bottlers in the women's hammer throw; plenty who can throw far in Grand Prix during the year, but can't come near it when the pressure is on. Luckily, Eileen isn't one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭dedon

Yegorva got way with EPO before. Delighted. No surprises here really. Especially since the new third gen epo ( CERA ) is out and no test for it expect in cycling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Common Sense

Rineanna wrote: »
    There are still several strong throwers ahead of her, although I have my doubts over one or two of them, but I'm guessing it's libellious to name names here.

You have Yipsi Moreno, three strong Belarussians, three strong French throwers, that Slovak Hrasnova, Heidler, Skolimowska and Brkljacic. But listen, she wasn't ranked anywhere near the top last year and she was just 3 places outside the medals in Osaka; there are a lot of bottlers in the women's hammer throw; plenty who can throw far in Grand Prix during the year, but can't come near it when the pressure is on. Luckily, Eileen isn't one of them.

What's the latest on Eileen's knee?

Regarding the drugs - I'd say there will be very few delegations in Beijing that 100% clean. Hopefully Ireland is one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

A couple of Romanian 1500m women also, according to Sky

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,14935_3891631,00.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Drug using athletes are like farts. Better out than in but even when you get them out they leave a bad smell that is hard to shake and will always leave a doubt when the smell comes around again and people will point the finger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Lads I have to say i am very very worried that there is no test for the third generation EPO (Micear) and no test for most HGH. This is a fair chance these are being used big time.

there is a fairly high probability that most of the athletes wining medals will be using either or both of the above. They are undetectable!!

The only test for Micera was in this years Tour de France and they only managed to get a few. See the cycling forum. That test is not being used in the olympics.

Also Micera is around since Jan 08 so most would have been using it in training all preseason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

dedon wrote: »
    there is a fairly high probability that most of the athletes wining medals will be using either or both of the above.

I am not trying to play down the possible amount of drug users at the Olympics and I agree that it is very worrying that there are well-known powerful performance enhancers that there is no test for. But consider this hypothesis against your statement:

You say this drug became available in 2008. Many of the athletes likely to win medals will have been winning big races/events in 2006 and 2007. I don't think that these athletes are likely to start doping as soon as an undetectable drug appears.

(Those that were doping already will likely to move to these undetectable drugs and are less likely to get caught.)

True true I agree with what you are saying. But the olympics comes once every fours years ans I think they will be willing to take the risk and get the extra edge

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Do you need to tell the people what they are been tested for, I mean if a test becomes available over the next few weeks / months can the samples be re-visited?

also spotted this a while back..

http://blogs.psychologytoday.com/blog/as-you-like-it/200806/olympic-athletes-using-famed-boner-drugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭ChickenTikka

dedon wrote: »
    True true I agree with what you are saying. But the olympics comes once every fours years ans I think they will be willing to take the risk and get the extra edge

Maybe I am very naive. History is showing us that drug cheats are caught eventually - maybe it takes 5 or 10 years but they are eventually caught. Lies lead to more lies and eventually someone somewhere slips up or rats out. The doping authorities hold these samples for years do they not. So samples can be (are?) retested when tests become available.

So any self-respecting athlete will know that if they achieve the dream of an Olympic medal now, they may still be caught and have their medal stripped or achivement scorned in years to come if they are taking drugs now or ever. I know its naive and that there probably are some but hopefully not many cheats who never get caught.

It would be great if the world started to think positively about this thing rather than always negative, always guilty until proven innocent. The more we say that "sure everyone is doing", the more susceptible clean athletes become to corruption. If all they are hearing (and think about our young potentially elite athletes coming through) is everyones at this drug lark - what will they think or do themselves. They need very strong will power to resist or else give up the sport they love.

It would be great also if we started to think about the clean athletes in the Olympics. There are alot of knockers out there who says its a sham because of the drugs. Well for the % that are clean, lets preserve the Olympic dream and ideal. I'm not a religious type but I like the passage from Genesis:18 about destroying the city of Sodom and Gomorrah when Abraham was having a chat with God:-

"But he still persisted: "Please, let not my Lord grow angry if I speak up this last time. What if there are at least ten there?" "For the sake of those ten," he replied, "I will not destroy it." "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

It would be great also if we started to think about the clean athletes in the Olympics. There are alot of knockers out there who says its a sham because of the drugs. Well for the % that are clean, lets preserve the Olympic dream and ideal. I'm not a religious type but I like the passage from Genesis:18 about destroying the city of Sodom and Gomorrah when Abraham was having a chat with God:-

"But he still persisted: "Please, let not my Lord grow angry if I speak up this last time. What if there are at least ten there?" "For the sake of those ten," he replied, "I will not destroy it." "

Ya think there's 10 clean athletes at the Games? :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Maybe the coxes in the rowing, but thats probably about it.

robinph wrote: »
    Maybe the coxes in the rowing, but thats probably about it.

Athletes, athletes. You know, people who DO Athletics.

I'm not a religious type but I like the passage from Genesis:18 about destroying the city of Sodom and Gomorrah when Abraham was having a chat with God:-

Not the religious type??? Ya right!!: rolleyes: It think you are very naive because they dont freeze the samples from the out of competion tests (the few that exist) So if they are taking Micera before the Olympics the wont get caught. Only an idiot would take it so close the olympics or during. The hard work and hard drugs have been done by now I'm afraid.

Also the lack of blood profiles and so on make it even easier. Unlike cycling who have clamped down on this.

And so it...well...continues!

Earlier today, Daniela Yordanova, the Bulgarian European 1500m bronze medallist and 5th placer at the last Olympics, continued to drag Women's middle-distance running through the dirt, failing a drug test and being kicked out of the Olympics.

http://au.sports.yahoo.com/olympics/news/article/-/4915773/olympics-bulgarias-yordanova-pulled-olympics-doping

And it doesn't stop there! Reigning Olympic 400mh champion, Fani Halkia, joins her Greek doping comrades (and, boy, were there many this year!) on the plane of shame home. Good riddance if it's true. Although, it says that she was voluntarily submitting herself for testing with WADA, which is strange. If it's confirmed, I think it's kinda funny the way she was running so crap all season on drugs! Good enough for her; the Verve, I'm sure, have a certain song to best describe the situation...

http://www.tsn.ca/olympics/story/?id=246559&lid=sublink01&lpos=headlines_main

The Greeks, Russians and Romanians really have no shred of integrity left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,167 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I was just thinking about it today, and Marita Koch still has the world record for 400m and Jarmilia Kratochvilova still has the second best time over the distance. My spelling might be a bit off there.:rolleyes:

The heptathlon record still belongs to Jackie Joyner-Kersee and of course the 100m record still belongs to the late Florence Griffith-Joyner.

This is so sad really.

eagle eye wrote: »
    I was just thinking about it today, and Marita Koch still has the world record for 400m and Jarmilia Kratochvilova still has the second best time over the distance. My spelling might be a bit off there.:rolleyes:

The heptathlon record still belongs to Jackie Joyner-Kersee and of course the 100m record still belongs to the late Florence Griffith-Joyner.

This is so sad really.

Drug innuendo is not permitted. The latter two plus Kratochvilova never tested positive, or admitted drug use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭A P

Don't think this will surprise anyone...

From www.bbc.co.uk

Heptathlon silver medallist Liudmyla Blonska has tested positive for a banned substance for the second time in five years, BBC Sport understands.

The Ukrainian, 30, was handed a two-year ban in June 2003 when traces of stanozolol were found in her system.

If Blonska's B sample matches her A sample she is likely to be expelled from the Beijing Games within 24 hours.

Hyleas Fountain of the US finished third in the heptathlon while Russia's Tatiana Chernova was fourth.

Britain's Kelly Sotherton was fifth in a competition won by the Ukraine's Nataliia Dobrynska.