Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Advice needed on state of rental please

Options
  • 31-07-2008 1:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Hi all :D! I’m completely new to this site! I’m having major difficulty with the state of my little flat (which I have been renting for nearly 6 years). It has been one thing after another since day one – the floor has subsided to the extent that the wardrobe once fell down on top of me, the shower has been leaking which now means that the bathroom floor by the shower is now rotten (I put my foot through it in May so now there’s a hole in the floor!), my oven door is falling apart so it means that I am holding it together with a wire coat hanger (not surprisingly it takes 3 times as long to cook anything!), the lino in the bathroom and the kitchen are torn and unhygienic, I’m sleeping on a bed that simply knackered (I’ve had to put planks of wood between the mattress and the base for support), and as from last Saturday my emersion has packed up which means that I have no hot water … the list goes on and on!

I know you probably think that I’m crazy for still living there but I have spent loads of my own money painting the place, putting up shelves, making it nice and I’m really happy living in the area. I’ve contacted the agent so many times but it always results in broken promises! I’ve recently phoned the Dublin Co Co and left my details for a surveyor to phone me back but they haven’t as yet! Any advice on how to deal with my lazy lard of an agent would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen