Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prison Officer

• 30-07-2008 4:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

hi all im new to boards im just waiting for clearance for prison officers.

does anyone know what job is like is it as rough as everybody says

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Ally, I know screws working in the Joy as well as ex-screws who've worked in places like Wormwood Scrubs and Belmarsh here in the UK. I think the reality is that your training will equip you with the basics but you'll learn your trade on the landings. A prison can be a violent and stressful place to work yes, but the guys I know who worked in the service loved their job.

Most of my screw/ex-screw mates all say the same thing, and its very similar to policing, yep you'll have times when you'll be rolling around with someone who kicks off, but most days people under your charge will be compliant and your shift will pass without incident.

I know you'll do a good course on c&r in the service, and that'll give you the basic hands on skills to deal with non-compliant prisoners. However, you won't be on your own mate, you'll have every other screw in the prison running to back you up should you get into trouble.

As with policing you'll find the most valuable tool in your arsenal will be the ability to talk to, and calm down, hostile and aggressive prisoners.

My best advice would be to do a search on Amazon for a book called Verbal Judo. Lot of the stuff in there has been adopted here in the UK for basic police tac-comms (talking to persons in a confrontational situation).

Best of luck. Don't worry too much. You'll be working with a good bunch and you'll love it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Always wondered about this job. Yet they never seem to get the credit they deserve. One could only start to imagine the stress of the job.

Best of luck with the new role ! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 lakes

hi allyg, hows the job going? Im very interested in prison officer work,dont know much about it tho!!how would ya apply for that type of work?? Im working as a construction technician for the last 2 years & iam looking for a career change! my work involves me commuting over 500 miles every week & seem to have no time to myself! id love something wit shift work!! wats the salary like starting out and wats it at max?? cheers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

lakes wrote: »
    construction technician

???? what s a construction technician???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Labourer i guess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 lakes

thanks for all smart comments lads!!! its another title for civil technician actually

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Im in the service myself. PM if you need any info, hints or tips.

Good luck. It's not all bad! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Frankdtank

Does anybody know when the next Recruitment Campaign for the Prison service will be? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

One of my mates is in it bout maybe 2 years, is in cloverhill prison in dublin and he loves it, he gave pretty much same response as met man said 'somedays are great others are tough' he said there are definitely more good times than bad times though. he was saying that they recently a new group started but that they are supposed to be taking in a new group again after xmas, i'll see what else i can find out for you. if you were to ring up the prison service or the department of justice im sure they'd be happy to answer any questions you have in relation to recruitment etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

METMAN,
    Yet again you show your ignorance. Calling Prison Officers "Screws" is like calling Police Officers " pigs " or " filth" or whatever other derogatory names that can be used and I'm sure you wouldn't take that abuse from someone on the streets of London now would you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

480905 wrote: »
    METMAN,
    Yet again you show your ignorance. Calling Prison Officers "Screws" is like calling Police Officers " pigs " or " filth" or whatever other derogatory names that can be used and I'm sure you wouldn't take that abuse from someone on the streets of London now would you.

Shut up you twat, responding months afterwards and giving out about a well dead thread that no one else was bothered about. Who and what the **** are you anyway?

'Screws' being used here by Metman is like Paul using the word 'coppers' or Gardai calling themselves 'Mules'. Its the context its used on not the word. I suppose 50 cent is insulting himself when he says '******' now?

And is your last sentence a statement or a question? Learn some bloody grammer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

1 week ban to Karlitosay1978 for personal abuse, attack the post, not the poster.