Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New drinking laws

• 28-07-2008 11:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭

So can i ask emergency service personel what they think of the new opening hours laws?

ahern said you back the idea having everyone leave at the same time rather then staggering hours do you really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

So can i ask emergency service personel what they think of the new opening hours laws?

ahern said you back the idea having everyone leave at the same time rather then staggering hours do you really?

Staggered opening hours are great in countries that can drink sensible. We cannot. If bar A stops at 2 but bar B goes until 3 or 4 then people will just leave A and go to B too continue drinking. The only way we could do staggered hours would be too stagger the lenght of time a bar can stay open, for example A open at 8pm close at 4am and no entry after say 1am. Bar B opens at 6pm, closes at 2am and no entry after midnight.

Ha, when did he ask me what I thought? Dont remember ever being asked my opinion on any laws or Garda issues but I agree with him.

Put it this way, ever been to an event or a bar in Portugal, Spain or France with Portuguese, Spanish or French people? Compare that to Irish people in a bar and its just laughable.

they drink sensible, dance,have a good time then go home and they have bars open all night. last time I left at 7am having entered at 8pm, wasnt hammered just tired and that was the norm. the whole night there was 1 fight which was stopped by other customers before it got bad. Both parties left the bar and walked away. It wasnt even a nice bar and they had no door staff.

See the Irish handling relaxed drinking laws and control like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Not in the emergency services, but, I just have one gripe with the law.

The closing times of off license, is now 10pm all week. My problem lies with, that I work most nights till ten in the supermarket. So the system won't allow me too buy it after that time.

I could buy it in the afternoon, but I don't want to look like a alcoholic or for it too go warm in the car. Just a bit of an odd one for them too move it back so early.

As for the clubs hours change, its just going to be the same. As in all I can see people doing is drinking alot faster/buying drinks up a higher alcohol content and or going down half pissed.

I think its cause most Irish people have developed this thing that cause there Irish they have to get absolutely wasted, and then turn into the fighting Irish. And start a mini rebellion, simply for the fact that "yer man, looked at me the wrong way".

People in Ireland, drink too much too fast, and never seem too enjoy there night, changing hours etc.. ain't going to stop this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I don't see the point of the off-licenses closing at 10pm... what difference does that make exactly?! What problem is that addressing like? :confused:

The nightclub closing times will not make a lick of difference. Get some f*cking imagination ministers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭userfriendly

I agree that the theatre licences of nightclubs needed review, though I really dont agree with the new laws.

The sunday night closing times are unfair on those of us who work shift work.

Ever tried to get a taxi in town at half 2 on a sat night? It's next to impossible, if everyone is thrown out at at the exact same time it's going to be even worse, people will start drinking earlier, and I believe more fights and antisocial behaviour will occur.

Time will tell I suppose.... but I for one am against it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

Staggered opening hours are great in countries that can drink sensible. We cannot. If bar A stops at 2 but bar B goes until 3 or 4 then people will just leave A and go to B too continue drinking. The only way we could do staggered hours would be too stagger the lenght of time a bar can stay open, for example A open at 8pm close at 4am and no entry after say 1am. Bar B opens at 6pm, closes at 2am and no entry after midnight.

and people don't do that in these other countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

My experience policing in London echoes that of Karlito's experience. I spend some of my free time in France, Paris and its suburbs to be exact, and I haven't encountered the public order problems we police in the UK and Ireland. Similarly I've spent a lot of time in Ontario, and again they do not experience the kind of major public disorder we deal with after closing time.

In London 24 hour drinking hasn't alleviated the PO problems. Every Thurs/Fri/Sat, and to a lesser degree Sunday night, the same problem arises; boozed up people commiting various offences from d&d to crim dam, through the plethora of public order offences up to serious offences against the person. At my old nick, in central London, we were averaging 90 arrests a weekend (on night duty alone, double it if you want to include day shift prisoners), and I'm sure the majority of those were drink related.

Its the drink culture in this part of the world thats the problem, not the licensing laws. The Irish, English, Scots and Welsh cannot drink socially in comparison to the rest of the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

so why restrict peoples right to go to entertinament late into the night?

dermot ahern kept using the phrase that people will just move from one place to another to drink, yes some will but some wont' and they'll go home and you'll have less people going home at the same time thus spreading it out, thats the point, it won't mean everybody in pub will leave town but a far amount will.

even if its irresponsbily heavy drinkers who stay on drinking in the late bar and then onto the nightlucbs you'll still have less people in town to deal with overall.

from i've read that main problem with the 24hr laws in england is they didn't match the funding and the resources to the extended hours which of course is never polticians fault...

what are the shift times for police ambulance etcat night?, im sure many of yas don't like working nights but if your sleep patterns are disturbed anyway whats the difference about working later and busier into the night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Well I know the guards work 10pm-6am and DFB work 6pm-9am, not sure about hse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

All this hoo-haa about 24 hour opening.
    My local church has been running Perpetual Adoration 24/7/365 for 25 years now. After an initial surge in nuns rampaging the streets, lassooing bins with rosary beads and the local priest baptising anything that moved, things settled down.

After they got used to the idea, people came and went at their own pace. All you see now is a steady flow of elderly women in and out of the church, the gentle rattle of beads as they beg Gawd for forgiveness. And the smell of wee.

I can't see 24 hour pubs being much different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Guys, anyone know. The answer to this...

Drinking in the pub the other night went down at 9:30..

I left at 10:30, went into the pub off-license, they would not serve me a take away.

Was wondering is it considered on-license if they were to serve me from the bar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

More pointless laws

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Are the fixed penalty notices for public order offences coming in now that the new legislation is in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Those notices were meant to come into force from the CJA 2006 amendments..as were the new Custody Records..so I doubt we'll be issuing tickets for some time to come.