Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Triathlon- what to wear?

• 28-07-2008 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭

First triathlon coming up on Sunday, the Focus Ireland one in the docklands.

Will have to hire a wetsuit, planning on doing that from CycleSuperStore.

Only question then is what to wear (I don't have a tri suit) - was thinking I'd wear my running shorts as I reckon I can cycle 20km in them handy enough while if I wore any cycling shorts the pad would get a bit clogged up with water. Also they are no fun to run in. Or should I just change? Any suggestions appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭messed_up

What type of running shorts do you have? If I'm doing a bike-to-run session I usually wear a pair of lycra running shorts on the bike and then run in them off the bike - I'm usually on the bike for about an hour and don't miss the padding too much. Not sure how comfy a pair of loose running shorts would be under a wetsuit bur doesnt sound too pleasant!

Champion Sports in the West End Retail Park had decent Nike ones on sale for €20 at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Killgore Trout

Tri-shorts only? Minimal padding - good in a run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

If your running shorts are lycra then they will be fine. Given the amont of cycling you do (sorry to be blunt) your nads are plenty hard enough to cycle 20 km. Make sure you lube the moving bits, last thing you want is chaffing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

My running shorts aren't the lycra type or I think I would have just worn them. They are these Asics Eikoku ones, more traditional type- I don't know quite what I was thinking ordering these but I think it had something to do with sorting by price on Wiggle :D Only got them last week and have been out in them once, I was using either my swimming shorts or bike shorts for my two other runs this year :) Look really absurd on me, especially with my cycling tan, the shorts are very high on the leg at the side. But they are actually pretty comfy to run in. Cycled the course on Friday in these and they were grand on the bike for that sort of distance, I do not expect I would have issues over 20km as long as they wouldn't be causing problems with water retention etc.

@messed_up- do you reckon these would be bad under a wetsuit?

Buying tri shorts sounds like a good alternative option though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Dowee

Personally I wear tri-shorts, but they'll set you back about €40 so unless you plan doing some more triathlons (or using the shorts for cycling) I'd just go with the running shorts. They'll be fine under a wetsuit.

I've worn swimming togs, boxers and triathlon shorts when swimming in a wetsuit and I never noticed any significant difference.

They'll be fine under a wetsuit. Just remember they will be wet after the swim. Comfy to run in when dry is not necessarily comfy to run in wet! Apart from that you should be fine, enjoy the triathlon and welcome to multi-sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭griffin100

I'm in a similar position in that I don't have a tri-shorts. I was planning to wear speedos under my wetsuit and put cycling shorts (with padding:D) on for my cycle and run. I have worn cycling shorts for my brick workouts and have had no issue with chaffing. I am hoping that my wet speedos will not cause chaffing under my cycling shorts so have lots of gel applied to my regions before the race. Will this be ok?

should be,

I should say I am a girl so my understanding;) of what chaffs and what doesn't is purely from listening to men complain after races, then again we all know men have no tolerance for discomfort!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,144 ✭✭✭Bambaata

as its being discussed what gel's do ye generally use. i had been told vaseline does a great job but damages a wetsuit over time. that true? if so is there anything that is particulatrly good? I've a few Tris/duathlons coming up and the marathon so i imagine it might be a good idea to get something!?

Also what running distance would you deem it necessary to use it? Lately ive been running 10 - 15km runs in training which are fine but is there a point where it would be recommended to use some sort of gel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭crubean

I have never done a triathlon but hopes to do a dualathlon next year.I have had trouble with chaffing running dry , if i was you i would use lyrca shorts (no padding) and lube (loads) and give it hell and enjoy your triathlon.

body glide is supposed to be good ,I think you can get it in cycle superstore.

yes wetsuits are neoprene. A general rule of thumb is that if you wouldn't use it with a condom, don't use it with a wetsuit. vaseline is out. You can get specialised lubes such as bodyglide but I find ky jelly works really well at a fraction of the price. You do get some strange looks though.
    BG-BG1C_lrg.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

yes wetsuits are neoprene. A general rule of thumb is that if you wouldn't use it with a condom, don't use it with a wetsuit.

personally I wouldn't use a two piece lycra tri-suit and a sperm helmet with a condom, but they work well in a triathlon with a wetsuit.

haha i'll take your word for it on that one tunney ;-)

Does that Bodyglide stuff last long and where do people generally apply it? Wiggle.co.uk seem to have it at the cheapest price (£7.99 for Bodyglide Skin Formula Regular 36.9g)

Despite what hunnymonster says - baby oil works excellently with wetsuits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Wally Runs

A stick of Bodyglide does not last that long, but the pain and discomfort from chaffing lasts much longer.

The thing with Bodyglide is that is does really work and once you start using it you will be loath to train without it and chance chaffing. Especially now in the warmer weather. My GP told me that the number of people calling in with chaffing and heat rashes has shot up in the last few days.:eek:

If you are going to stick with the sport buy it in bulk online to save on postage. Although I have asked and got discounts from Irish stores when buying a number of them.

If your wetsuit is on correctly and fits, and your clothing is appropriate and fits. You don't actually need bodyglide for chafing, you shouldn't chaff full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭onekeaneo

Runways sells Bodyglide on Parnell Street €12. I was in there on Saturday. Failing that I find KY is very effective.

thanks Wally Runs. I got onto Irishfit.eu and they have bodyglide in 70g tubes as opposed to the 32g i could only find as the largest before. He thinks they have it at about 15 euro so i ordered 2 tubes but he's going to check and call me back before ordering. how long is one of them likely to last?

Next what areas should it be applied to? I presume up the arms and backs of shoulder for under the wetsuit as well as down the legs to help tget the suit off quick? Then the usual areas where skin can rub against skin and toes/feet? Is there anywhere i'm missing? Does it really help get the wetsuit off in a tri? I have a Blue Seventy Helix (2007) which isn't too bad getting off but the more help the better i suppose I ahve a Elite Mens 2XU Tri-Suit so only the shoulder blades are exposed

baby oil is the business to get the suit off quickly (be careful in hot climates because it's also a sunburn magnet). Bodyglide is more for the friction stuff. As Tunney said you'll need less if everything fits well but you still have moving parts so there is always the potential for chaffing. I find the neck of my wetsuit the worst because I rotate a bit funny. In long races where I need to pee on the bike, I tend to try not to pee in the last half hour because running in wet shorts is not particularly comfortable. Sudocreme helps post chaf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

Bambaata wrote: »
    thanks Wally Runs. I got onto Irishfit.eu and they have bodyglide in 70g tubes as opposed to the 32g i could only find as the largest before. He thinks they have it at about 15 euro so i ordered 2 tubes but he's going to check and call me back before ordering. how long is one of them likely to last?

Next what areas should it be applied to? I presume up the arms and backs of shoulder for under the wetsuit as well as down the legs to help tget the suit off quick? Then the usual areas where skin can rub against skin and toes/feet? Is there anywhere i'm missing? Does it really help get the wetsuit off in a tri? I have a Blue Seventy Helix (2007) which isn't too bad getting off but the more help the better i suppose I ahve a Elite Mens 2XU Tri-Suit so only the shoulder blades are exposed

Behind the knees is a sneaky one that can get you time to time

Thanks all. I'll get some baby oil for the shoulders, arms and thighs. it doesnt do any damage to the suit no? Is it easy enough to wash off afterwards?

I was using this stuff suit juice spray - it's meant to help lube you into/out of the wetsuit etc. Seems to help a bit but I didn't have any problems without it last race day, when I couldn't find it. I use bodyglide on the armpitspits as i get chaffed there on longer swims without a suit and also on runs - Should've done my neck as i got a scabby neck from the wetsuit

I also use bodyglide on inside upper thighs - next to the nads like.

- Should've done my neck as i got a scabby neck from the wetsuit.
    cue lots of juvanile jokes about Killgore trout and love bites/ hookies or whateer the young folk are calling them these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Wally Runs

Tunney, you have a point but there is a fair amount of trial and error before you get the right set up and when you do it has a habit of wearing out on you after a while.

I get cut on my nipples when the weather is cold ,would bodyglide help there??
    I have used vaseline when i run but i look very weird with vaseline coming through my running singlet.

yeah but it will also "leak" a bit. I see quite a few blokes using plasters to cover their nipples. It's one of the few times I'm glad to be a women, sports bra's prevent all that messing.

Quick question- should I wear my Garmin HR strap during the swim or put it on after? Everything I have read suggests it is OK in the water but are there slipping issues etc(Edge 305 computer itself will be left on my bike, although I will hold it for the run.)

Back on the cycling board Blorg.........

Run with the garmin? Why? Why? Why?

tunney wrote: »
    Back on the cycling board Blorg.........

Run with the garmin? Why? Why? Why?
    Heart rate, want to pace myself so I don't explode! If I get to like running I might get a Forerunner.

blorg wrote: »
    Quick question- should I wear my Garmin HR strap during the swim or put it on after? Everything I have read suggests it is OK in the water but are there slipping issues etc(Edge 305 computer itself will be left on my bike, although I will hold it for the run.)

Can't see the strap going anywhere when you're swimming while it's bet on to you by a wetsuit. What's going to take more time in T1? fixing it while it's already on or faffing around putting it on under your top. If it's already on you could be fixing it while you cycle...

Sounds like an awful lot of arsing around carrying the yoke for the run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭liamo

I've worn my HR strap during the swim with no problem. No slipping issues.

Thanks guys. It snaps off in a second, no problem there (e.g. a lot easier than undoing a watch from the handlebars.) I'm new to running (three training runs total this year) so I am most concerned about keeping the heart rate under control and will not be legging it around particularly quickly. If I can keep the HR under 165 for the first 4km of the run I think will be a happier bunny. Since I got the HRM I have been a slave to it's numbers.

If you're that new to running it won't be your CV system that packs it in. Your legs just won't have it to get the heart rate up.

Ha, I was made painfully aware of that when I decided to make my first run of the year 10km- wasn't the original plan but after initial pain in the first couple of km subsided I was keeping my heart rate steady thinking "this isn't so bad." And it wasn't. Until I stopped. After which I had problems walking for several days (cycling was actually substantially easier.)

The subsequent two runs have been around the 3km and 5km mark and have not had any post-run stiffness. I am not going particularly fast (4:40-4:50/km) but I can assure you I have no problem keeping my heart rate up (this kept it at a 162 average.) I generally find managing the heart rate is a decent proxy for keeping myself in check. 5km should not be quite enough to kill me if I keep the heart rate steady (I would be aiming for under 165 as I say.)

Jeez, good work Blorg.

*Never* ran myself - after several abortive attempts at taking up running in previous years - it was time to grasp the nettle this year - as I'd agreed with friends to do a few triathlons.

Kicked off in March with a 5k race with no training - it hurt for the first K - but i generally felt good about it. It also hurt afterward.

Started doing 5 k every week - then twice a week. (i could go into detail here - but i'll spare you) Now I do a 15K and two 10k runs a week. I'm getting much more comfortable in doing it and taking less time to recover - however I'm only doing 5:30 per Km.

i find the only thing that pains me when running are my hips. ive had 4 runs (off the bike 4 weeks back so couldn't train for 2 weeks) in the past 2 weeks (9km/12km/15km/10km) and my hip get sore after about 7 or 8km. its only when i stop do my legs then feel sore. is that normal? also all this talk of runners and types! where are those places that analyse your running and recommend a few runners that would best suit the running technique?

I know Amphibian King in Bray do analysis of your gait, have never been there though.

There are also different types of feet.

If I get into running I will get myself checked over I guess!

Amphian King are good and Damian is very very helpful.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,085 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

I'll vouch for Amphibian King also. Got a pair of runners there before my holidays. Great service and a stack of choices for shoes. Good clothing aswell. They record your size for future reference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Bruce11

Gait analysis is great, well so far. Went to Amphibian King recently and was sceptical about how good this gait video analysis is but after running along the track and getting fitted I'd say go for it.

They run you along the track barefooted, see how you are. Then they will take out 3 different runners and see which suits best, getting you to run along the track in each pair and video it again. Got a set of NB 1224's and they suit great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,136 ✭✭✭✭Stark

It's nice that they suggest runners from all different manufacturers as well. There are a lot of running stores who will try to push a particular brand of runners.