Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Monthly €200 Tournament.

• 28-07-2008 3:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭

Saturday 2nd August.

€200 + €20 "No Limit" Hold'em Freezeout.

Starting Stack : 8,000.

Clock : 30 minutes for 5 levels, 40 minutes from then on.

Doors open at 6pm for a 7pm Start.

1 Table Satellites from 6pm.

The Structure.

25 - 50 - 0 - 30 min clock
    50 - 100 - 0
    75 - 150 - 0
    100 - 200 - 0

20 minute dinner break

150 - 300 - 0
    150 - 300 - 25 - 40 min clock
    200 - 400 - 25
    300 - 600 - 50
    400 - 800 - 50

10 minute break

500 - 1000 - 100
    600 - 1200 - 100
    800 - 1600 - 200
    1000 - 2000 - 200
    1500 - 3000 - 300
    2000 - 4000 - 500
    3000 - 6000 - 500

Satellite for the €200 Tournament.

Tuesday 29th July.

€30 + €5 "No Limit" Hold'em.

1 x €30 Rebuy or Top-up.

Starting Stack : 3,000.

Rebuy/Top-up : 4,000.

Clock : 20/25 minutes.

Doors open at 8pm for a 9pm Start.

1 Package for every €400 collected. A package consists of entry into the Saturday 2nd August Tournament (€220) + €180 cash. 6 tickets have been given out for Tuesday so probably around 3 or 4 packages up for grabs.

Alex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

hi Alex,
    Is the Satellite an 8.30 p.m. or 9 p.m. start.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Starts at 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

Hi Alex,

Does the 200 game always end on the Saturday night or is the FT brought back on Sunday? If so, what's the start time on Sunday?

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭S.Emporium

The €200 Freezeout will be a 1 day Tournament.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

I am donating. Anyone up for beers on a lazy saturday afternoon beforehand

Jayminator wrote: »
    I am donating. Anyone up for beers on a lazy saturday afternoon beforehand

All drinks on you then so? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 AKOLAS

How many runners does this usually get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭30something

I have accumulated sufficient Husbandry Points and thus earned a very precious "one live tourney" Hall pass for this week-end :rolleyes:

So, SE on Saturday or JPs on Sunday?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

I have accumulated sufficient Husbandry Points and thus earned a very precious "one live tourney" Hall pass for this week-end :rolleyes:

Wow sounds very familiar. Unfortunatley sir you will need to make your mind up as to which tourny your voucher deserves. Although you can always use the tactic of saying you made the last 2 tables of the SE game and had to come back on the Sunday to finish it off...

Marriages have broken up for far less though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

glad to see another 2 boards souls^^^^ being owned, at least i am not alone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Well logic says Saturday for live poker and all the big Sunday donkaments at home with no work on Monday thus fulfilling 2 days of poker.....ez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

Jayminator wrote: »
    Wow sounds very familiar. Unfortunatley sir you will need to make your mind up as to which tourny your voucher deserves. Although you can always use the tactic of saying you made the last 2 tables of the SE game and had to come back on the Sunday to finish it off...

Marriages have broken up for far less though.

Jay is the master at achieving a weekend poker pass....he always seems to win a ticket (well that's what he tell his good lady wife anyway)...and I won't mention the fact that I had to ring him at a specific time on the Sat of the SE €400 game with a specified script in order for him to lay the guilt trip on his wife...I love it...and if he finishes outside the money, the line is "Jaysus hunney I got knocked out on the bubble....some little C**t called me with K high and he was good"....little does she know that he has been spinning it up on the cash table for the past 5 hours!!

Jay I think this might need it's own thread!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

SWAR wrote: »
    I love it...and if he finishes outside the money, the line is "Jaysus hunney I got knocked out on the bubble....some little C**t called me with K high and he was good"....little does she know that he has been spinning it up on the cash table for the past 5 hours!!

Swar, this is 100% standard. Deception is the solid foundation underpinning any healthy marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,956 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

lets hope jay's wife doesn't read boards....

Ace2007 wrote: »
    lets hope jay's wife doesn't read boards....

or mine :eek:

Swar, this is 100% standard. Deception is the solid foundation underpinning any healthy marriage.

Oh i'm not knocking it....just trying to share a few of Jay's secrets with those who have trouble obtaining a weekend poker pass.

Lads its simple - all you gotta say is:

No poker = No more kids....

guaranteed to work...

FYI, those "Husbandry Points", for those single out there, are identical in most respects to FPPs earned playing t'internet. The more you accumulate the better the prize. In this case I have been changing nappies at a ferocious rate, getting up in the middle of the night when the beds get wetted, doing the dishwasher, cooking etc etc. I don't mind telling you I've been saving up for many months to "win" a bank-holiday live tourney pass ("token" if you will). I was a bit worried on Monday when I wasn't sure I had accumulated enough, however, there was a bonus amount of HPs on offer this week.

You see, the wife was planning to see "Sex and the City" (or was it that ABBA musical movie thinggy) with her girly friends on Wednesday. She had a meal planned and all the rest. She had this planned for weeks. I was due a pint with the boys which had also been planned for weeks. However 3 of the 4 "boys" had cancelled so I was just going out for a pint with one of them. Anyhow, the babysitter called that evening to tell us she couldn't make it because of some last-minute emergency. Panic broke out in the house. I told Mrs 3Osomething that I would make some calls and find a replacement. I told her not to worry and to go on upstairs and put on her party-frock. Meanwhile I simply made one call to my one remaining drinking buddy telling him I had to cancel.

When she came down I gave her the bad news that I couldn't get a replacement. She looked at me with those "Double HP's on offer" eyes and I told her (reluctantly) not to worry I would cancel and mind the kids. Voila, one "token" secured.

Now I am running low on excuses. I have already used the "have to come back for the FT" excuse and the "I won a seat on the internet" excuse. So by necessity I am becoming more devious. I think there may be no harm in having a thread for us hand-cuffed saddos who don't wear the trousers at home.

Anyway:

Brag: Won a live tourney pass "token"
    Double Brag: Took a spin at $1/$2 on Stars on that said Wednesday and improved the BR by 10%.
    Beat: Spent all HP's and will need to accumulate lots to get another token.
    Variance: Depends how I do in the SE to-morrow.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Solution: marry a reasonable woman......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

I thought the whole point of marrying them was to not have to do any of that ****e anymore.

marry a woman that plays poker...

thought don't think there are too mnay of them about....

Your spelling is shocking, Donal.

meh the point doesnt change - in essence - a woman should be kept in the kitchen or bedroom*, i have made this point before - but jay and the lads are wimps.

no poker = no more kids - i'm telling ya lads you'll see some changes..

*obv not all women, some have to be waitress and deal in the poker rooms in Dublin,

Edit - to get back to topic - u playin tomorrow Dom, i'm thinking about playing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

I'll be donating, hangover permitting ofc.

Might well do, Donal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

FYI, those "Husbandry Points", for those single out there, are identical in most respects to FPPs earned playing t'internet. The more you accumulate the better the prize. In this case I have been changing nappies at a ferocious rate, getting up in the middle of the night when the beds get wetted, doing the dishwasher, cooking etc etc. I don't mind telling you I've been saving up for many months to "win" a bank-holiday live tourney pass ("token" if you will). I was a bit worried on Monday when I wasn't sure I had accumulated enough, however, there was a bonus amount of HPs on offer this week.

You see, the wife was planning to see "Sex and the City" (or was it that ABBA musical movie thinggy) with her girly friends on Wednesday. She had a meal planned and all the rest. She had this planned for weeks. I was due a pint with the boys which had also been planned for weeks. However 3 of the 4 "boys" had cancelled so I was just going out for a pint with one of them. Anyhow, the babysitter called that evening to tell us she couldn't make it because of some last-minute emergency. Panic broke out in the house. I told Mrs 3Osomething that I would make some calls and find a replacement. I told her not to worry and to go on upstairs and put on her party-frock. Meanwhile I simply made one call to my one remaining drinking buddy telling him I had to cancel.

When she came down I gave her the bad news that I couldn't get a replacement. She looked at me with those "Double HP's on offer" eyes and I told her (reluctantly) not to worry I would cancel and mind the kids. Voila, one "token" secured.

Now I am running low on excuses. I have already used the "have to come back for the FT" excuse and the "I won a seat on the internet" excuse. So by necessity I am becoming more devious. I think there may be no harm in having a thread for us hand-cuffed saddos who don't wear the trousers at home.

Anyway:

Double Brag: Took a spin at $1/$2 on Stars on that said Wednesday and improved the BR by 10%.

Very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

JP Poker wrote: »
    Very funny.

ive got to admit i love these hall pass stories:). they all look like cool dudes in real life but behind the scenes they have to spin the bullsh!t to get out acting not so cool in the homestead!.

Well i know Jay is a big fan of speech play so im sure he can talk rings around his missus :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

Anyway:

Excellent & so true for so many.... :D

if one come in around 7:15 can they still get into it?

As far as I know you get in up until the end of the first level so you should be fine but I would ring in just to be on the safe side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

I was wondering how so many of you married men managed to get out to play so much poker! You really should get the wives hooked.. will save loads of grovelling :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

meh the point doesnt change - in essence - a woman should be kept in the kitchen or bedroom*, i have made this point before - but jay and the lads are wimps.

no poker = no more kids - i'm telling ya lads you'll see some changes..

*obv not all women, some have to be waitress and deal in the poker rooms in Dublin,

Edit - to get back to topic - u playin tomorrow Dom, i'm thinking about playing it

Cheeky!
    She can fire back... Poker = No Sex (maybe they dont all want kids)

Cheeky!
    She can fire back... Poker = No Sex (maybe they dont all want kids)

with all the begging the lads are doin just to play poker i'm guessing that in their cases that mabye

poker > sex

i'm hoping that jay is in the pub and hence won't see this before tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

My only out imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

5starpool wrote: »
    Solution: marry a reasonable woman......

... and the story is not over....

Wife wakes at 7am this morning screaming in pain, goes to bathroom and comes out green, still in agony. Couldnt get the kids sorted till 9. Off to A&E, turns out she has a Gall Stone! Spent 9 hours in casualty.

She's okay now, lying on the couch recovering with more pills then an institutionalised pyscho.

In fairness, in between agonising moans, she kept saying "I'll be fine, you can still play tonight".

But I know, oh yes I know, if I did I would need tripple the usual HP's for the next token. So I say, "np honey, I wouldn't risk leaving you for the evening in case anything happens".

I reckon I'm good now for two tokens ;)

GL in the tourney tonight.

28 runners, finished 6th, 4 paid. Standard. Smurph still left in.

Came 2nd for €1,650

I had 45K out of the 224K going into heads up, which at a 5:1 chip lead and blinds 800 1600 I need to get busy.

Got it all in with Q9Soooooteeeed against Q8 but alas it was a split pot

Then next hand get it in with k 10 clubs V K J offsuit, and his hand holds up,

Great structure to the tournament, I was the short stack at the final table but only once went below 12 bb's......

Well done to Alex & John,

Who won it Smurph? Was it the guy in seat 1? He was a very good player from what I could tell.

how did the guy who took my chips do - was wearing white...

Thats the guy I was talking about above Donal. He knocked me out too when I was short. There was him, Smurph and 3 fairly poor players there when I left.

wp Smurph

could not play this due to geographical reasons (nothing to do with hall passes or suchlike. Rounders, you are such a stirrer - play this next month and we will speak further ;))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

Thats the guy I was talking about above Donal. He knocked me out too when I was short. There was him, Smurph and 3 fairly poor players there when I left.

Conor is seat 5 won it Dom. The guy who hit his flush to knock me out in 7th.

Who won it Smurph? Was it the guy in seat 1? He was a very good player from what I could tell.

Nop, wasn't him Dom, he obviously was unaware of the Doom Switch, and when we got 5 handed it was suggested that money be taken off 1st and 2nd to give 5th their money back, he said nop,

few hands later, he raises to 5K blinds are 500, 1,000, Eventual winner, re-pops to 15K (after a few of his usual twitchy im folding, im not folding moves)
    White jumper guy instant calls.

Flop comes down A A 5 rainbow,
    eventual winner checks
    Guy white jumper goes all in for bout 70K
    Guy calls after alot of thought with pocket jacks,
    White jumper guy turns over KJ offsuit and is gone.

Then 3 handed,
    Vinny min-raises utg while checking out our 2 chipstacks... which always equates to monster in my eyes
    Eventual winner, calls in SB, I fold
    Flop comes down 8 8 3
    Eventual winner checks,
    Vinny beats out pot and guy announces all-in
    vinny beats him to the pot for all his chips
    turns over pocket aces
    Eventual winner turns over 9 3 offsuit:eek:
    No fear though as 3 on the turn seals the deal
    As Vinny is getting up to leave, guy says "I put you on 2 over cards to the board",
    Vinny replies something subtle like "I told you my hand on the F**kin flop"

In fairness guy made good call with the Jacks and played his big stack well on final table, he was by far the most active player there, and ran like god aswell, which helps too.