Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAS. Lots of GAS

• 27-07-2008 5:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭

Steinberger, J-Custom, Gibson, Tokai, Fender, Parker, Matamp, Mesa... GAS... How did I not see this coming? :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Ha!

That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

How the HELL are you online already? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Hush up you. Did you put my Tele away nice and safe? :D

I'm in the process of removing your DNA from her. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Doctor J wrote: »
    Steinberger, J-Custom, Gibson, Tokai, Fender, Parker, Matamp, Mesa... GAS... How did I not see this coming? :pac:

Which models of each brand are you specifically enamoured over? Details man, details! :D

We had a small get together today, so specifially Johnny Storm's Strat, Steinberger & Parker, Boycey's Gibsons, VoodooChild's J Custom, QuatroSte's Tokai and Bacchus, Ancient1's Fenders and a delightful selection of ampage.

Deadly stuff lads:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Aye, guitars and amps of all shapes and sizes, great variety of sounds and styles, fantastic craic altogether. Won't even try and list all the sexy gear :pac: Actually, pity we didn't take a few pics, next time ;)

There's a J-Custom on the ubox, oh man it's killing me.

I think there'll be consequences and repercussions from today's get-together. :D

I need a cold shower now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Nice stuff Doc, Mesa gas, eh? Voodoo's Mark IV was it? :D

Mesa plural ;)

Doctor J wrote: »
    Mesa plural ;)
    Plurarity of Bacchus's too, and Matampage, and Gibsons IIRC. Lots of plurarity :pac: Yiz all have too much gear lads :D

Shame I couldn't go with the Ran. Show ya all what a guitar should be :p

I think my head would have exploded from excitement if we had another nice guitar in there. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭boycey

Not one of them could play a note Feylya, you missed nothing:D

Only joking; great guys, great players and a room full of the nicest equipment you could possibly lay your hands on. In the words of the late great Freddie Mercury I want it all, I want it all, I want it all, and I want it NOW:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

It was great fun. Thanks to all concerned.

So next time somebody buys a new guitar, we'll have to do it allllll over again...:P

In that case it'll be next weekend at the latest ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

Sorry I couldn't make it with the big orange guitar. Next time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭les-paul

This thread is worthless without pics! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

I don't think it even happened at all without photographic proof of such events.

LIARS !

Ahhhh such bitterness in ones so young... :pac:

Everybody just needs to buy some new gear before the next one and everything will be ok :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

We should do that again lads and get the pictures going. I have a couple of crappy phone pics but it was a bit dark in the room so they're not too clear and Johnny's guitars didn't come out at all.

It was such a pity Boycey hogged all the play with his below average guitar playing skills ;) leave him off the next invite :D I can play the A chord!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 chris*

I'm just gonna say it lads....
    That Bacchus les paul, looks beautiful right up until ya get to the headstock, where it sets the whole back a few hundred euro.
    Honestly...the headstock looks cheap and nasty....why would they do it to an otherwise beautiful instrument? :(
    What PUP's are in those anyways?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭kranog

Oh....can I come next time, I can bring one of my quiality axe's too! :)

Quattroste wrote: »
    ....and Johnny's guitars didn't come out at all.
    That's one of my less well known super-powers;)

Quattroste wrote: »
    It was such a pity Boycey hogged all the play with his below average guitar playing skills ;)
    I LOL'd :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

I take it Boycey has some serious chops?

sei046 wrote: »
    I take it Boycey has some serious chops?

He does - and he was probably being shy too. :pac:

Unfortunately sei046 no:o
    Quattroste's just jealous cos I knew the A-minor chord too:D

Have to say, had a blast and there were some surprising gear revelations for me too.
    Ibanez- never liked them, had a cheapo one years ago. BUT Voodoo's J-custom-what a guitar. That and his Mesa could flatten houses. Awesome gear.
    Bacchus- what can I say. All Doc's preaching is true. They really are the dogs bollocks. I think, actually I know, thats the best Les Paul Ive ever played. His other super strat one tuned to B is awesome too. They are both terrific guitars and will definitely be my next purchase.

JohnnyStorms Parker and Steinberger were just too cool. Some real thought has gone in to both those designs, guitar engineering at its finest I think. They dont sound half bad either!! (PS loved your wheels too Johnny;))

Quattroste had a beautiful Bacchus with him, an absoulutely cracking Tokai Les Paul (yes it does sound like a Les Paul Ste:pac:) and some awesome ampage- a stonkingly nice sounding Mesa Lonestar and a wicked sounding 7 watt Matamp Minimat- that thing woulod tear your head off.

Ancient1 went all old school with a beautiful early 70's thinline tele. What a lovely guitar. The man drives like Schumacher on speed too!!

A long post I know but it was great getting to try gear you only read about before. Not so great for my now over the top guitar lust. The kids are gonna get some cheap-ass presents from Santa this year me thinks:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

ye gits! an i'm big into my photography too,i coulda taken lovely shots!

I think another one will be in order in the future.

I think Boycey summed it up well. It was great to try a whole load of different gear, stuff I've only read about in some cases, and the banter was top drawer too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I'd be up for going to one of these if another is organised. Was there any basses there? :p

Anyone take any pictures of the gear? :)

No bass action at all Dord. I know, I know, shame on us:o

But why would guitarists want dirty dirty bassists amongst them? Next it'll be drummers and then suddenly, you have a band. :pac:

Doc was there incognito!

Ah, he's excused. He plays guitar better than most guitarists :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

I'd go but my playing is pants atm ! :o

Pyr0 wrote: »
    I'd go but my playing is pants atm ! :o

Ah its not a competition, its just about having the craic and checking out some cool gear :)

Exactly, it's just about seeing some of the stuff we're all talking about here, an opportunity to see first hand what someone else is talking about. It was great that everybody brought something different, that everybody was was able to try something in real life which was something new to them. My eyes have been opened to 7 watt amps, believe me :)

As for bass, I'd like to do a bass one next but just you and me in a room, Joe, I dunno man :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭kranog

Hmmmm....We could probably put the next one on in my studio in town!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

My playin' would be considered pants too, but it wouldn't stop me wanting to check out some o' the gear I see here in the flesh.
    Any chance of heading Wesht o' the Shannon??? ;)

There's no committee organising anything, it's just a matter of getting in touch with a few people yourself and arranging to meet in the scary real world, so fire ahead if you can organise a room for a few hours. If any of ye Munster heads want to get together gimme a shout, there should be enough people down here to make up sufficient numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I don't have a car so I can't bring a lot if there's another one on, I gotta rely on public transport. :(
    I'd be able to bring the shuttle head, a bass and a few nice effects though. :)

And for the record, my playing is mostly pants too. :p

punchdrunk wrote: »
    ye gits! an i'm big into my photography too,i coulda taken lovely shots!

OK, OK, obviously we did take some photos. (L-R: Dr J, VooDoo Child, Boycey, QuatroSte, Ancient1)

2716787087_5ac7c5986c_o.jpg

Ah yes, the 'Row, row, row your boat' jam session, such memories...

Boycey played an awesome solo in that one, 4 hours it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

Ah yes, the 'Row, row, row your boat' jam session, such memories...

and his leather kecks are only massive too! :D

I always get all hyper and yappy round strangers Voodoo. Unfortunately for you guys it manifested itself into a four hour solo. Jaysus I rocked all the same:p:D:p
    and his leather kecks are only massive too! biggrin.gif

Thanks punch, someone had to make the effort. Nothing says 4 hour solo like a pair of leather nut huggers:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ravelleman

I´m sorry I missed it. Damn you again Atlantic ocean! Did anyone take any pictures? I hope so. I´ll definitely be at the next one.