Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Colin Farrell's the new Patrick Bergin?

• 26-07-2008 5:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭

Is his carreer heading into oblivion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Saw Pat Bergin in a movie a few years ago called Merlin the Return and it was rubbish.
    Best bit had overweight (and out of breath) Bergin running along a road in broad daylight wearing a suit of armour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

Can't Patrick Bergin actually act...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭berliner

Phone booth was a cracking 'B' movie.He has huge potential.Just one lucky brake and he'll be back in the 'A'list

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

In fairness Farrell starred in an Oliver Stone movie ... which is more than Bergin ever did ... or ever will do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

And a world of good that Movie did for his career...:pac:

Still did it tho.

Bergin is appearing in the next Wesley Snipes direct to DVD masterpiece so there's hope for him yet. And lets not forget this masterpeice:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Errr, i had to actually look up who Patrick Bergin was.

I don't really understand the question, is Collin Farell heading that way? From Bergin's IMDb list, he never seemed to be much of an actor himself in the first place. I fail to see the likeness.

I don't really like Colin Farrell in general, but i thought In Bruges was very good and he played his part very well, it's not an oscar winning performance and it never would have been regardless of who played the part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Lirange

Bergin? He knows what he is and embraces it. He's making a good living. Fair play I say. He was a Culchie devil worshiping priest who's cult made human sacrifices in the last movie I saw with Patrick. Good stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Farrell has one the best agents in Hollywood. So no he wont be relegated to direct to dvd wesley snipes trash!! It seems that since Miami Vice he's trying to make smaller , perhaps more "artistic" films - Cassandra's Dream & In Bruges spring to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Cassandra's Dream is the worst Woody Allen movie in his 40-year career.
    Not much of a comeback there for Farrell.
    In Bruges was another over-hyped Irish movie that should have been made years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Nolanger wrote: »
    Cassandra's Dream is the worst Woody Allen movie in his 40-year career.
    Not much of a comeback there for Farrell.
    In Bruges was another over-hyped Irish movie that should have been made years ago.

Cassandra's Dream wasn't great, in fact yes it was pretty rubbish!! In Bruges I didn't think was over-hyped but mind you I've stopped reading information regarding films these days. I just heard about it after it was out from a friend who had it on pirate and I watched it and thought and still think it's really really good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Munya

I thought he was already gone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

I actually only saw In Bruges for the first time last night.. Pitiful acting by him.. Far from his heyday in Tigerland all those years ago.
    I cant see him ever get a big role again but i doubt he gives a sh|t now anyway, having made his millions...

Disagree , I think he's a fine actor and has a great career ahead of him