Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Societies and clubs and all that stuff

• 25-07-2008 10:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭

Just wondering how active they are? Which ones are to avoid... etc.

If you got involved in several of them, would it be a big drain on your coursework?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭synacron trion

There are some really good societies and some that aren't hugely active but still do something.

You can check out a list of them here http://www.socs.nuigalway.ie/list_socs/
    Not all of the societies on that list might still be active though.

I'm in Compsoc myself and its a class society if you are in anyway interested in tech. Its going to be a big year for Compsoc this year too.

In terms of clubs, theres a list here http://sports.nuigalway.ie/clubs/
    I've never been a part of a club although this year I am going to try and set up an inline hockey club.

It really depends on how much time you put into clubs or societies. If you are on the committee of a society a lot of your time may be taken up but if you are just a member and are going to events your course work wouldnt get affected. With clubs you are probably giving more of a commitment to being at all the trainings etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

Try the Nothing Specific Society ;)

Don't feel like you're signing any contract when joining. Just attend some events and see what you think.

I wouldn't think being a member is too draining on coursework. Just try to keep a good balance really. Great way to get to know people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Anyone know anything about athletics/throwing sports?I was half thinking of taking up shot putt but would they take on a noob?Would there be any coaching provided or would you have to figure everything out yourself?Thanks.

I'm sure they are glad to take on n00bs. Head down on socs and clubs day and see what you fancy. They are generally good days to meet the people who run the soc or club and get an idea of what they're doing. Head down too before lunch time so its not wedged!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

as someone who spent time in charge one of the busier societies i can promise you it won't affect your college work, that is if you don't let it. main thing is to go to all your lectures and don't take off lectures to spent time working for your society. As a general member you should be fine especially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭hada

anyone heard anything about the roteract society?... Friends of friends in the society and might thinking of joining next year! Have heard conflicting reports that they're up their own arses or that they run the nuig fashion show, etc etc?

hada wrote: »
    anyone heard anything about the roteract society?... Friends of friends in the society and might thinking of joining next year! Have heard conflicting reports that they're up their own arses or that they run the nuig fashion show, etc etc?

There are people everywhere in college, not just in societies that are a little up their own heads so I wouldn't pay too much attention to that.

As far as I can remember they did run the fashion event, think they won something for it too, not too sure though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

There are people everywhere in college, not just in societies that are a little up their own heads so I wouldn't pay too much attention to that.

As far as I can remember they did run the fashion event, think they won something for it too, not too sure though.
    They sure did win something for it -- best soc event 2008.

Don't know about people being up their own you-know-what. You're likely to find the odd one in some societies. Just blank 'em :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

ethernet wrote: »
    Try the Nothing Specific Society ;)

Don't feel like you're signing any contract when joining. Just attend some events and see what you think.

I wouldn't think being a member is too draining on coursework. Just try to keep a good balance really. Great way to get to know people.

Yeah, join the NSS. The lads who run it are all great craic.

If you're in any way nerdy Fansci is a good bet.

If you're into toga parties join Lit 'n' Deb.

As far as clubs go I'd recommend Kayaking, also good craic.

Well that's enough plugging for one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Depends what youre into, and there is a Clubs and Socs during the first semester so you can have a chat with members and see..I was involved with the Radio soc, Film soc and Lit and Deb mainly, a lot of fun and doesnt drain on your coursework, even when youre on a commitee. Its a great way to meet new people and will provide some of your best memories in college IMO. Looking forward to getting back in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭oneofakind32

Your all very welcome to join the physics Soc., weather you have an interest in physics or not. We are making a big push next year to put the physics Soc. on the map. We will be organizing lots of events through out the year both physics and non physics related so don't miss out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭chat2joe

Clubs and Socs days are when all the new members sign up - if you come in early you'll get plenty of time to chat to people involved. Highly recommend signing up for a few things. Sign up for what you're interested in! Make it to the first "intro" meeting if you can. And if you miss a few meetings don't worry about checking the emails or ringing someone on the committee to see when the next event is on.

With societies you can generally be as active as you like - you'd normally get messages about events and talks, then just go to those that sound interesting and you're free for.

Clubs often require more of a commitment - regular training. But that usually means getting to know a good group of people really well.

Get onto the committee if you want to be more involved, even as a first year. I was on both club and society committees and I'd say just be one 1 committee on any given year. Otherwise the small bit of "work" that is involved multiplies up and it starts taking up time! :cool:

I've been on committees of a society and a club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Takk

I've never been a part of a club although this year I am going to try and set up an inline hockey club.

Sounds like fun. What would be the situation with equipment and stuff? I've never played before, and I'd imagine a few people who would be interested wouldn't have either, so what would be needed?
    We are making a big push next year to put the physics Soc. on the map. We will be organizing lots of events through out the year both physics and non physics related so don't miss out!

Good to hear. I signed up last year but that's pretty much all I did. So hopefully this year I get more involved and actually go to some events! I'm entering 2nd Year Physics btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭oneofakind32

Dynamo Kev wrote: »
    Good to hear. I signed up last year but that's pretty much all I did. So hopefully this year I get more involved and actually go to some events! I'm entering 2nd Year Physics btw.
    Yes If Im not mistaken I approved you for the bebo group a couple day ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Takk

Yes If Im not mistaken I approved you for the bebo group a couple day ago.

Oh, that was you! Thanks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Societies only take up as much time as you feel like investing. Although you obviously get more out of it if you get involved.

[shameless plug]Anyways, join Lit & Deb.[/shameless plug]

Dynamo Kev wrote: »
    Sounds like fun. What would be the situation with equipment and stuff? I've never played before, and I'd imagine a few people who would be interested wouldn't have either, so what would be needed?

Thats a tough one to answer at this point in time. I've been talking to a guy who said they were looking at setting up a club a couple of years ago and they were getting funding for equipment but he never said exactly what equipment.

To play inline hockey you basically need roller blades and a hockey stick, but you'd need to wear a helmet, shin guards, gloves and a groin guard for safety reasons. I have all my own equip at the moment because Im playing for http://www.galwayinlinehockey.com but what I'd prob try and do is get funding for an order of a few sticks, shin guards and helmets. For sizing reasons people would have to get their own skates, and for hygiene their own groin guards. I can advise on what to purchase for anyone who would need help.

There seems to be a lot of interest in it anyway and if even only a fraction of people actually go ahead with it we would have enough. We'd really only need 8 people turning up every week to have a decent game.