Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Situation with my post (..as in mail!)

• 25-07-2008 9:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

The following story is not a regular topic that comes up here on PI..so bear with me please, and apologies for it been long. I’m a regular user here on boards and could really do with yer opinions/feedback/help as I’m at my witts end at the mo.

I’m 21yrs old. Named Aisling by my parents at birth, however when I was a toddler I couldn’t pronounce my name all that properly and was saying Aisleen. My parents happened to like the name so they left it and so the name stuck. I’m known by that name by most people. Most of my post that I get (cards/personal) are all in the name of Aisleen. Anything else official comes as Aisling obviously as that’s what is down on my birthcert/passport/college.

Now the townland area I live is the place where my father was born and bred...so my two uncles (we’ll call them Dan and Mick) and their families live here aswell. My family and I get on very well with Dan and his family…Alan and his family on the other hand, no. We don’t talk at all. A lot of history went on between them and my parents before I was even born. I always think that it’s a pity when families don’t get on, but they’re not nice people (to put it mildly!!) so it for the best in this case! My uncle Dan doesn’t get on with Alan and his family either.so it not a ‘just us’ kinda thing.

So as we all have the same surname/address here, we’ve naturally had issues in the past with the post...especially when there only a first name initial on it. Now if we ever got anything of Dan and family we’v no problem dropping it down to them, and vica versa. However if Alan ever got anything for us, they would never hand it up. We’d still drop theirs down as we are genuine honest people. I never had any problems with my post as none of the cousins have a female with the initial ‘A’ so I always got my post or be it Aisleen or Aisling. All was gravey!

So now to the problem: One of Alans sons married last October and you’ll never guess what the girls name was…oh no, it couldn’t have been Jacinta or Marcella or anything like that, no but Aisling. That would be grand out if they lived somewhere else, but nope, they have built next door to us aswell. Now all of a sudden I have stopped getting my ‘Aisling Murphy’ post (despite receiving it for the past 21yrs and hearing that she was going by her maiden name/putting her maiden name in front of Murphy!) and I believe it going down below to her.

How it came to our attention was that I’m in the process of finding my first professional position (just graduated from college) and I’m getting some rejection letters coming in the door. My mother then suggested that I should post a letter to myself with Aisling on it as so to get the postman is used to putting it into our door as I hadn’t gotn Aisling post in a while. It never arrived. We posted another..it arrived (only because the handwriting was the same as the ones on my rejection letters (I have to send an S.A.E in with my application forms)! We sent another letter, different writing, didn’t arrive. In the letters we had documentation (physio receipts etc) with my name ‘Aisleen’ in it so they knew exactly it for me. They never arrived up. What else hvnt they handed up..There could be important documents from college/bank/government etc that I havnt gotten…Im afraid to think tbh!!!

So anyway next morning I went out to the postman and introduced myself as Aisling Murphy and said that I was concerned that I wasn’t receiving my mail. I said that I knew for a fact that I was to expect two letters this week (never said I posted them to myself) that never arrived..he was all like ‘who are you?..An Aisling? I didn’t know there an Aisling here. I was only instructed to put mail that said ‘Aisleen’ in here..Aisling Murphy goes down there (pointing to the cousins house)’ Lads my blood was boiling. The ignorant bollóx of a postman has been doing this round for the past 8yrs or so and I’v always gotn Aisling Murphy..now all of a sudden he doesn’t know who I am. By logic it should be me getting all Aisling Murphy as I have been her for 21yrs. I had to walk away from him. There is no point in talking to people like that..You can’t get the better of them. He’s in clicks with Alan so obviously all post going to go there first..they must of had a word with him about sending all the Aisling Murphys to them..given him few benefits even! (no joke..it’s there style..and our postman is such a prick he’d do anything for them)

Now is holding someone’s post illegal? I mean I hate the thought of them getting my mail (bank, personal, official etc..) and reading it..and not even having the decency to hand it up!! Would ye not feel the same??? So today I sent a registered letter to Aisling Murphy..so we’ll see where it goes or what happens to it. Im actually very upset by it. I’m a strong young woman and I’m not going to let them get away with it..they have been doing for so long!! They’re not going to walk all over me/get their way.

I know some people might not understand the annoyance I have over this issue as ye all prob get on with yer families/uncles/cousins etc..and ye get yer post..have no one reading it. But this is my reality and I must do something about it. I want my post.

Sincere thanks for reading (sorry if asleep!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭Grawns

I've read something similiar recently on consumer issues, here's the linky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

as far as i know it is illegal to interfere with someone getting their post, or to open post addressed to someone else.

maybe one way around it would be to put a name on your parents house, and then ring bank/college/work etc to update your address details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,294 ✭✭✭Jack B. Badd

How is this a problem? :confused: Go and talk to your one, Aisling, and ask her (politely) to pop any mail for you that she gets into yours if you live nearby. Then go and talk to the post office to see if there's a solution to this. Given the nature of rural Ireland I doubt this is something they've never come across before.
    Btw, you say you're a strong young woman and that you're not going to let them walk all over you, but given the fact that you're obviously getting shirty about it already without talking about the situation like an adult to your familial neighbours, my guess is that you're actually a passive-aggressive young woman and are probably just going to use this as an excuse to exacerbate any bad blood between ye.
    Apologies for any bluntness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭leesmom

agree with sam34,its illegal to mess with someone elses post

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I may have gotten the wrong end of the stick with this, but your PI appears to be that because your postman doesn't use his An Post Psychic Powers (TM) to make sure that mail intended for you arrives at your door, despite there being someone next door with the same name? And to make things even more interesting, you're letting some daft family feud prevent you from going next door and just asking whether any mail for you has been received? (I may have misunderstood the situation, so please clarify whether you've actually been next door to check whether they have received any mail that was meant for you).

In the context of the family situation, it's sad when families don't talk but tbh that's not going to change fast enough to sort out your issue with the post. However, if you give a rat's ass about the jobs you're applying for, I'd suggest either putting the family pride to one side and going next door to check politely if any mail's gone your way or alternatively following up each position individually by phone, explaining that there have been a couple of issues with your local post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭coco85

We had the exact same prob, my mothers name exactly the same as her sis in laws name...

Sis in law ended up putting a name on their house and all the confusion stopped.

Be praticle, your postman, as bad and all as you say his is,cannot read minds..

As an alternative you could add your middle name to all legal, important docs as well as job applications, that way there can be absolutely no confusion...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,981 ✭✭✭✭phog

Who's Alan, I thought it was Mick?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

phog wrote: »
    Who's Alan, I thought it was Mick?:confused:

lol noticed that too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭lily lou

You could always change your name by deed pole (is that how you say it) if everyone calls you Aisleen anyway?? But if the family feud is between your paretnts and your uncle you shouldn't let it come between you and this other Aisling, call in and try to arrange something with her so you get your post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

If I know feuds like this as well as I do talking to them won't do an iota of a difference. You can try having a chat with them but have a back up plan :) If they were decent enough people they'd have popped the post in your mail box by now.

When dealing with people like this the way to an easier life is working around them. Yes, I know in a perfect world you wouldn't have to do anything but ya don't so you're going to have to get past that :) Try the putting a name/number on your house suggestion by folks here. It'll be easier to do that than to get them to behave in a mannerly way towards you or threatening them with the guards.

Another suggestion would be to put your name on future documents/interviews as Aisleen Aisling Surname.

Long term solution would be to get your name changed by deed poll. I'm surprised you haven't already.

A.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

Ring an post customer service an lodge a complaint the post is addressed to your house not some house up the road, it shouldnt matter what name is on it its the address that counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

+1 for the deed poll solution. Not as a solution to your current problem, although it will help, but for the future also. Either that or force everyone to spell your name Aisling and tell them to pronounce it Aisleen, if you want to be a bit hollywood.

+1 for the name on your house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

A really easy way to solve this could be just to add on C/o (dads name) Murphy to your address.

Ie: Aisling Murphy
    C/o John Murphy
    24 Some estate
    Some Town
    County Whatever

I add this to all my mail myself to avoid confusion with a neighbour who has a similar name to me.

IRISH RAIL wrote: »
    Ring an post customer service an lodge a complaint the post is addressed to your house not some house up the road, it shouldnt matter what name is on it its the address that counts.

As far as I understand it, they have the same address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭estar

that will identify the post as yours

Aisling Murphy
    "The big mansion"
    townland
    co county

the other house will remain townland, co county

problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

It is illegal to open someone else's post. I think you can open it after 366 days (one year and one day) as long as you have gone through sufficient lengths to find the rightful owner.

If I was you I'd go around to the other house and tell them this. If they tell you to piss off send them a solicitor's letter.

I would also complain to an Post about the postman not delivering the post to the correct house. You can point out that you explained the situation to him and he still does not deliver the post. He is not fulfilling his contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

+ 1. If your postman really is "in cahoots" with the nasty relations you need to go above him. If it continues to happen, continue to complain until it's sorted. If your address is the same as theirs, whack a number on your house and use it.

It is illegal to open someone else's post. I think you can open it after 366 days (one year and one day) as long as you have gone through sufficient lengths to find the rightful owner.

If I was you I'd go around to the other house and tell them this. If they tell you to piss off send them a solicitor's letter.

Does the OP have any evidence that the neighbours are opening her mail? No.
    Are people on this thread (including the OP) jumping to conclusions regarding this? Yes.

There is a very good chance they're binning it though.

Are people on this thread (including the OP) jumping to conclusions regarding this? Yes.

Doesn't matter. It is also illegal to withhold someones mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

Apart from it being illeagal to withhold someone's mail, it is fairly obvious that she is opening the mail as she would need to do so to verify that the mail is not actually for her seeing as they have the same name, unless she is binning all mail that arrives.

Are people getting on their high horse unnecessarily? Yes.

Doesn't matter. It is also illegal to withhold someones mail.

It's common sense to ask your neighbours to return your mail in the event that you believe that they have received it in error before going down a legal route. Granted, a decent neighbour would probably return it without having to be asked but you can't rely on people doing things for you if refuse to talk to them. The OP doesn't appear to have communicated with her neighbours about this (or anything else). In the even that she asks and they refuse then yeah, she should probably take it further but first she should do the reasonable thing and actually talk to them.

It's common sense to ask your neighbours to return your mail in the event that you believe that they have received it in error before going down a legal route.

The OP has already stated that she has returned mail to other members of the family and that no mail has been returned to her. I presume she asked before coming and asking for advice. Family feuds are a lot worse than just having a pissed off neighbour. I would ask them about the post as well but I'd be prepared for them to say no and I would tell them to go get legal advice because they'd be needing it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Apart from it being illeagal to withhold someone's mail, it is fairly obvious that she is opening the mail as she would need to do so to verify that the mail is not actually for her seeing as they have the same name, unless she is binning all mail that arrives.

Are people getting on their high horse unnecessarily? Yes.

Hang on, hang on, hang on.

The assumption here is that the OP has not received any mail, therefore it must be getting sent to the place next door and be withheld by the satanic in-laws who're clearly evil?

How do you or the OP know that it's not:

a) getting returned to the local post office and sitting there for weeks as "incorrect address"?
    b) getting lost in transit?
    c) getting delayed?

As far as I understand the OP's position she hasn't tried using recorded delivery to confirm where the letters are actually going, she's just tried sending stuff to her address and hasn't received them so far. So something is up, but we've only the rather biased word of the OP that the postman and the evil neighbours are in cahoots.

I still say that if the going concern here is finding out whether she's been offered a job, following up on applications and interviews by phone is the quickest way of doing it. Sure, the postal thing is an issue but changing name by deed poll, making official complaints through An Post or getting enough proof of malicious intent to justify going to a solicitor or the gardai are all going to take a lot of time and aren't particularly practical in the context of the immediate problem. (Regarding complaining to An Post or getting a solicitor involved, I seriously doubt either approach is going to go very far if the only evidence she can provide are the claim that a bunch of non-recorded-delivery letters "not arriving" and her say-so that it's really the other side who are the baddies in this family feud....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭herya

Fysh wrote: »
    The assumption here is that the OP has not received any mail, therefore it must be getting sent to the place next door and be withheld by the satanic in-laws who're clearly evil?

There's a good chance of it (perhaps with the exception of them being satanic) from what the postman said, that he is only aware of one Aisling in the area.

OP you are assuming a lot and you should absolutely go and openly ask them about the post missing, ideally the whole family together. If you are right and you'll have to report it you will have their answer to include in your statement. Or maybe it's all rotting in their kitchen drawer and they can't be bothered to do anything about it!

And definite +1s for
    - changing your name
    - differentiating your address
    - recorded delivery could definitely help as you could trace back the signature to her if needed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I’m a strong young woman
    Do you mean you are pigheaded? Solve the problem, don't start a fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

I take it its like a house in a field then
    Im having a little trouble figuring out how they would have the same address even in a small village

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

its quite easy actually. rurally there are no numbers and families might have family land built upon. the problem here is the same name.
    just go knock on the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭what2do

Does this girl even know your name - from previous posts you aren't close to your cousin - would his wife know your name, and your cousin probably thinks your name is aisleen so perhaps you just need to talk to her....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭kfk

I take it its like a house in a field then
    Im having a little trouble figuring out how they would have the same address even in a small village

There are three other people with the same name and address as myself. It happens a lot in rural Ireland. We use middle name initials to help with the post - Pat J, Pat P etc. Luckily we all get along so even if a letter is delivered to the wrong house, no big deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭squibs

It seems to me its easier to get the postie to deliver to the right house in the first place. Name the house "Meadow View" or whatever and put a name plaque up prominently. The address is now unique - the postie has no excuse.

Failing that, get a PO box or do the c/o trick but with a friend/relation who has a different postie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Right...that registered letter I sent, delivered to my door this morning!:eek: (He may be onto us, esp after I confronted him about where are my letters!:D)
    So the other 2/3 letters that I delivered normally and didn't arrive could have been lost alright..But what are the odds two in the same week. Especially since I posted all of them from head sorting office in my county.
    How do you or the OP know that it's not:
    a) getting returned to the local post office and sitting there for weeks as "incorrect address"?
    b) getting lost in transit?
    c) getting delayed?

a)I went into the local post-office and asked and they had nothing.
    b)perhaps..but as I said before two letters in the one week?!
    c)for 2weeks now?
    Family feuds are a lot worse than just having a pissed off neighbour.
    Yes! I know alot of people don't understand this as I'm sure a majority of ye get on with ye'r families so well..and that's brilliant! I mean I just couldn't imagine not talking to my brothers and sisters when I'm older!!
    I would ask them about the post as well but I'd be prepared for them to say no and I would tell them to go get legal advice because they'd be needing it.
    OP you are assuming a lot and you should absolutely go and openly ask them about the post missing, ideally the whole family together. If you are right and you'll have to report it you will have their answer to include in your statement. Or maybe it's all rotting in their kitchen drawer and they can't be bothered to do anything about it!
    The OP doesn't appear to have communicated with her neighbours about this (or anything else). In the even that she asks and they refuse then yeah, she should probably take it further but first she should do the reasonable thing and actually talk to them
    Granted I havn't asked them..but of course they're going to say no. Shur they know that if they say yes then they should have delivered it up. Besides her husband (my cousin) will just tell me to fuck off if I went down and asked..I could get his wife on her own, but no doubt he'll be up and tell me to fuck off. He's like that, and no Im not exaggerating..He has done it before in another matter to another family member (my father). I mean before I would tell his father (my uncle) to fuck off..I wouldn't ever speak to the man ever but if he enquired/asked me about something, those would not be my choice of words towards him within a sentence. I have been brought up better than that.

I went to the Gardai weeks back as I figured holding someones post was illegal alright..the young fella behind the desk said it was a civil matter between two people so it's one for the solicitor?! I am prepared to go that far if needs be. I know ye're all thinking that it's prob a bit OTT. I suppose logically though I don't have evidence..I mean I can't prove they're going down to her, she's opening them and not delivering them up. The postman will just deny that he is delivering any Aisling Murphy post to her aswell.
    And what are they going to do with it? Just leave it there unopened even thought it could be for her..despite her going with her maiden name before the Murphy surname?
    The OP has already stated that she has returned mail to other members of the family and that no mail has been returned to her
    They don't play ball..I'm sick of us always doing the right thing and not getting anywhere.
    and her say-so that it's really the other side who are the baddies in this family feud....)
    Yes, I understand that ye only have my word.

Re: Putting up a house name.
    Some of ye might not agree with this thinking: If we put up a house name and I changed whatever documents come to mind, then other documents that get posted which don't have my house name on it..well then they're automatically going to go down to her. Then she has an arguement saying 'well it has my address on it'
    ...Or am I on my own with that one here?!!

Oh, and for..
    Do you mean you are pigheaded? Solve the problem, don't start a fight.
    No, not pigheaded. I try not to let people walk all over me and get away with it if they think they can.
    The fight is already there to be fair.
    I still say that if the going concern here is finding out whether she's been offered a job, following up on applications and interviews by phone is the quickest way of doing it.
    That's not an issue as they're down as Aisleen. Still jobless anyway!:D

I'll send another Aisling post normally again today as I'll be up the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

Don't understand this as all.

What do you want her to do, change her name ?

The name your using is just a nick name. Like being called Jerimiah and going by Jerry or Jer.

That Garda was thinking "WTF does she want me to do about it"

Out of curiosity, what name do you put down when your booking a flight :) I'd like to see you have an argument with a Ryanair employee

I went to the Gardai weeks back as I figured holding someones post was illegal alright..the young fella behind the desk said it was a civil matter between two people so it's one for the solicitor?! I am prepared to go that far if needs be. I know ye're all thinking that it's prob a bit OTT. I suppose logically though I don't have evidence.

They don't play ball..I'm sick of us always doing the right thing and not getting anywhere.

Re: Putting up a house name.
    Some of ye might not agree with this thinking: If we put up a house name and I changed whatever documents come to mind, then other documents that get posted which don't have my house name on it..well then they're automatically going to go down to her. Then she has an arguement saying 'well it has my address on it'
    ...Or am I on my own with that one here?!!

Oh, and for..

No, not pigheaded. I try not to let people walk all over me and get away with it if they think they can.
    The fight is already there to be fair.

Don't back down by putting up a house name (house names look pretentious anyways) you have a right to get your post. Also you are right you will be giving them a good argument if you do that.

You said you don't have evidence. But you do. If it came to it just ring the companies that were supposed to send you out letters. If they said they posted them then you have a starting place. An post have a duty to deliver your mail. Just ring up the head office and complain saying you have proof that letters were sent and this has happened too many times for it to be a coincidence.

If I was you I would subscribe to a magazine and they will have a record of it being sent out. If you don't get it call into the other house and ask did they get it. A magazine is harder to hide and people have an interest in these things no matter what so it might be left lying around or in the bin. If the plastic covering is taken off then you can show that they knew the contents were not for them as it is a specific magazine and secondly that the post was opened after the contents were known so they were breaking the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭letterman

So much conspiracy, so what have you done. The evil Postman has sold his soul to the doppleganger. Have you ever considered human error? Same name , same address , mistakes can happen. Ask your namesake first, maybe she hasn't been tainted by this batch of hatred that runs through that side of the fence and will be able to reach a compromise. She may not appreciate the possibility of Bank statements et al getting misdelivered the odd time to you. Her husband may not have to find out and things may work out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Jesus christ. Talk about mountains and mole hills.
    Show your postman valid ID. He'll then deliver your mail to you.
    He's not in cahoots with your cousin.

As for the family row - this is between your dad and your uncle, why are you getting involved? Why are you involving your cousins wife? Do you honestly think she wants to be included in a family row?
    Try being nice to them.
    Ask them nicely, if he tells you to fuck off, stay nice an polite and say sorry for bothering you, and walk off. Remain polite and nice to them. Why perpetuate the feud through a generation?

Madness.

Oh, for the love of god...

What you're saying is that you could pop round but they'll clearly just lie to you so what's the point. Well, so far you've got the following:

1) A registered letter delivered to you at the correct address;
    2) No evidence of registered letters going to the wrong address;
    3) No evidence of non-registered letters going to the wrong address (non-registered letters not being received can't be given as evidence since there's no mechanism to know where they've gone);
    4) A refusal to perform even the most cursory check with the neighbours to see if it's arrived there, backed up by the assumption that they couldn't possibly be helpful anyway therefore it's not worth doing;

Now, explain to me where in the above you think you see grounds for a competent solicitor to take any action against your neighbours. You haven't received letters, you don't know if they've gone next door because you won't ask, but you expect a lawyer to pop around and demand them? A solicitor is only going to take action when reasonable means have been exhausted, so if you do spend your time and money getting advice from one he's likely to tell you to call around and ask them (perhaps with a witness to confirm that you've done so) whether they've got your mail.

When it comes to solving a problem like this, you can huff and puff about how you're in the right and they're in the wrong and they've always been ignorant and all the rest of it, or you can get on with actually sorting the problem out. Which may mean being polite to people you can't stand, or may mean wasting more time and money than the issue actually merits. But on the plus side, it will get your problem solved. Huffing and puffing means you get to look every bit as intransigent and daft as the neighbours you're complaining about, with the added bonus of still having the original problem that you originally posted about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,169 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

How can you have gone to the garda before going down the road to ask? And to talk about getting a solicitor? Complete madness, it sounds like your the cousin with the problem, rather than them.

It is not up to them to get the mail to you, it is up to you to get the mail from them.

And yes, a house name will make things easier, also, other post will not go to them by default, especially if it has another name on it, just explain what you are doing to your postie, get things changed over a 6 month period and then problem is gone.

Possibly one of the most ridiculous problems I have read on boards.ie, and more like mount everest from sand castle.

astrofool wrote: »
    How can you have gone to the garda before going down the road to ask? And to talk about getting a solicitor? Complete madness, it sounds like your the cousin with the problem, rather than them.

It is not up to them to get the mail to you, it is up to you to get the mail from them.

And yes, a house name will make things easier, also, other post will not go to them by default, especially if it has another name on it, just explain what you are doing to your postie, get things changed over a 6 month period and then problem is gone.

Possibly one of the most ridiculous problems I have read on boards.ie, and more like mount everest from sand castle.

I'd have to disagree, this is a serious problem and the OP is looking for advice on how to resolve it. Talking to the neighbours/relatives is not an option and people shouldn't criticise her for that. I do agree that what she needs to do is get the postie onside so that all Ashling mail comes to her for the future and give him an undertaking that she will ensure post meant for other Ashling will be forwarded to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭outspann

But what do you hope the end result will be?

(a) Postman has a letter to deliver that says "Aisling Murphy" on it. He then decides to put it into your house or theirs - it's completely pot luck whether it goes to the right house or not.

(b) Now let's say it goes to your house - how are you going to know if it's meant for you or not until you open it? There will be no way to tell from the outside. So now you've opened a letter and read it to see if it's for you - there's no other way to do it!

(c) Alternately, he delivers it to them: in which case SHE has to open the letter and read it to see if it's for her. Same situation.

UNLESS - you are only planning on receiving letters that you already know that you are going to receive. Which is just far too confusing for a Monday.

MY SOLUTION - request that your bank, etc only write to you in postcard form. That way the Postman can read it before he delivers, and deduce whether its for you or not. True, it means that the Postman may know your business, but at least your cousin won't. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,169 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Grawns wrote: »
    I'd have to disagree, this is a serious problem and the OP is looking for advice on how to resolve it. Talking to the neighbours/relatives is not an option and people shouldn't criticise her for that. I do agree that what she needs to do is get the postie onside so that all Ashling mail comes to her for the future and give him an undertaking that she will ensure post meant for other Ashling will be forwarded to her.

But then she will have to interact with the cousins anyway AND she has no right to expect all Aisling mail to come to her.

Grawns wrote: »

The statement in bold above is a needlessly hard-line and counter-productive stance to take or endorse. Yes, I know, family feud yadayadayada, and no doubt we can throw in a "but they started it first!" and an "ITS NOT FAIR!" too, perhaps with an accompanying stamping of feet and shaking of fists.

At the end of the day, absolutely nobody in a position to resolve the issue is going to take the OP in the slightest bit seriously if she says that, as per my previous post above, she has no evidence to prove conclusively that mail intended for her is being erroneously delivered to the other address and then admits that she hasn't bothered with the trivially simple step of politely enquiring with her NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOUR whether any mail has been delivered there by mistake.

We can continue to encourage this Fight Teh Powah attitude of refusing all compromise and insisting that the other side is 100% to blame, which leads us to an approximate plan of:

1) Refuse all suggestions of compromise and demonise neighbours, postman, world + dog etc
    2) ???
    3) Profit (and presumably correctly delivered post)

Alternatively, we can encourage a less self-righteous but on the other hand more potentially succesful option of:

1) Politely enquire next door as to whether mail has been received in error.
    2) If mail not delivered in error, follow up job applications/interviews by phone to ensure no loss of communication
    3) Continue testing mail system via registered letter deliveries, and possibly consider making address unique by adding a house name (and registering the house name with the post office)
    4) In the event of a problem being identified with postal service, discuss with postman/post office to identify a viable solution
    5) No profit (but correctly delivered post)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 MMW

Just a suggestion, why don't you get proof of postage when posting letters to yourself, costs nothing and the postman won't know, this is a 'cert' that shows that you posted a letter to a specific address at a specific time and date.

You could also post a letter to your cousins wife asking her to pass up any post that's not hers and say that you'll do the same for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭outspann

But whats the point???? You still end up with a letter addressed to "Aisling Murphy" and with two Aisling Murphys living next door to each other.

Even the greatest Postman in the world isn't going to be able to tell them apart. The only way to do it will be to open the mail. So either Aisling 1 opens it, or Aisling 2 opens it.

Aisling 1 will be pissed if Aisling 2 opens it. And Aisling 2 will be pissed if Aisling 1 opens it.

Just put a name on your house and on your future correspondance.

OP - What are you hoping for? That all Aisling Murphy post comes to you - which means that you get to open it? Don't you think that - if there is a family fued - your opening of the other Aislings post will only escalate matters??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭forestfruits

God your getting dogs abuse here!!:D

I think your goin to have to take the bull by the horns and march down and have a chat with aisling 2, then either start using your middle initial or put a name on the house, both will mean tedious changing of address with banks, tax etc but would be well worth it to know you were getting all your post.

Im sure if you let her know you are making the effort to sort it out she will appreciate it- shes probably down in her house saying the same things about you - opening her post etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Bogger77

Problem is not with an Post.
    Problem is with 2 people sharing name in the same townsland/postal area.

if the OP wants to receive post directed to her using her formal name, but not used commonly name, then it's up to her to make sure that the postal address and name combination is unique.

Granted I havn't asked them..but of course they're going to say no.

OP, you obviously don't give two hoots about getting your postal problem fixed. You do however have the perfect opportunity now to get righteously indignant and bitchy about some less popular members of your family. My bet is that you're in your element...