Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gumbet, Turkey - Anyone been?

• 25-07-2008 7:00pm

Hi All

Anyone been to Gumbet in Turkey?

Going on 3rd Aug for one week...staying in POSEIDON appts.

Any reviews...average prices for food, drink, smokes etc? Just want to work out how much to bring...would 550squid be ok for 6 days/nights.
    Not gonna be going shopping, just the drink, food, relaxing and nights out.

Also...getting a taxi from the airport...4 people, anyone get a taxi before? what kinda prices did ya pay?

Anyone?

Cheers

Spy :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,278 ✭✭✭Fabio

My parents were there and they loved it. It was quiet when they wanted it to be and yet if you wanted nightlife you wouldn't have to go far to find it so it sounds perfect for yourself.

Brilliant, can't wait, did they mention if it was cheap or expensive ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

I stayed in those apartments they are pretty basic but have everything you need..But you have to pay extra for air conditioning and a deposit when you arrive so make sure have money on you because its hell with out it.
    Everything is really cheap like smokes,food,drink but some restaurants can be expensive so check before you buy.
    You can get a bus to Bodrum and its only 30 mins away and there is loads of clubs and markets and you can get a boat over to Kos for the day which is worth while :D
    Clothes are dirt cheap there they are fake but really good quality so I would defo go shopping in the markets.
    Near the POSEIDON appts there is a good irish bar/club called the Shamrock Club its a good laugh and cheap drinks.

Wow thats brill, do you remember how much the deposit/air con was? Gonna be using laser / cc so would like to have the cash ready! And dont arrive until 5am

Cant wait now...have heard nothing but good things about the resort & appts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

we stayed near those apartments. Its your usual resort-loads of good restaurants & cheap from what i can remember as it was a few years ago. You should check out bitez- lovely little resort about 5 mins away. I would personally stay there if going again but if you want nightlife etc.. gumbet is probably your best bet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Our local radio station did an expose on the Poseidon there last week and it wasn't pleasant....something along the lines of the tripadvisor reviews.

ellscurr wrote: »
    Our local radio station did an expose on the Poseidon there last week and it wasn't pleasant....something along the lines of the tripadvisor reviews.

Ah jasus! Well its all booked and all now, so hopefully it'll be ok...along the cheap and cheerful line of things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Stayed there in 2002 and i thought it wasn't too bad, it's not luxury accommodation but for the price i thought it was grand, the only problem with Turkey is the perverts who leer at women like they've never seen one before in their lives...sad f***s :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

bills wrote: »
    we stayed near those apartments. Its your usual resort-loads of good restaurants & cheap from what i can remember as it was a few years ago. You should check out bitez- lovely little resort about 5 mins away. I would personally stay there if going again but if you want nightlife etc.. gumbet is probably your best bet.

Bodrum about a 10 minute drive away has better nightlife than Gumbet i thought, also keep an eye out for a "nightclub" boat that sails out from Bodrum for a few hours, was pretty decent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Hi All

Anyone been to Gumbet in Turkey?

Going on 3rd Aug for one week...staying in POSEIDON appts.

Any reviews...average prices for food, drink, smokes etc? Just want to work out how much to bring...would 550squid be ok for 6 days/nights.
    Not gonna be going shopping, just the drink, food, relaxing and nights out.

Also...getting a taxi from the airport...4 people, anyone get a taxi before? what kinda prices did ya pay?

Anyone?

Cheers

Spy :cool:

could you tell me who you booked with and how much it was as im looking into booking here too!

cheers:)

could you tell me who you booked with and how much it was as im looking into booking here too!

cheers:)

Yea, twas 380 thru budget, think its around 429 now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

stayed there 4 years ago,found it ok,gumbet was cheap to drink and eat.
    Cost me 320 for 2 weeks incl flights,charges so i was never going to complain.

Well Lads,

I'm back.....and wanted to share my experience.

Firstly, we got it cheap and somewhat last minute, so we did not have high expectations, but overall we had a blast, suppose this is mainly due to the company !

As for the appartment, (Posideon, booked through budget), I would most definately not go back, The pool area was good, fairly quiet, with kickin tunes, that was cool & quite clean, the restaurant was ok, we only had lunch there, it was cheap enough and nice enough to get a quick bite.
    The problem was, that with the 4 of us, going out each night and getting (rather) drunk, the appt ended up being a bit messy, now we did keep it a bit tidy, But the Cleaner didnt come at all, we went down near the end of the week and complained to the sleeze-ball manager, and he said that the cleaner did go to the appt, knocked on the door and got no answer, so she didnt bother....YEA, because we were OUT !! So after a lot of bickering, we managed to pursuade them to at least change the sheets.
    The Air con was only in the bedroom, and with it getting up to 49deg Cel, and myself with fair skin (somewhat typically Irish) I sweltered...we eneded up moving the sofa bed, and the extra pull out bed and squashed it all into one big bed in the bedroom.

The bar in the complex was expensive, so was the Shop, so anyone thinking of going (dont) go to one of the local shops for any booze, but even then we were told off because we had our drink when we were down near the pool, and we "should have bought it in the bar" but we argued back, at the end of the day we took a self-catering package, so f#*k off.

The view around the are is amazing, but our appt had a balcony that could fit one chair, which was facing a wall.

Thats the appartment, it was basic, but dirty with flies, oh and theres a serious smell of sewerage in the evenings.

As for Gumbet & Turkey in general, I will definitely go back, the people are so friendly, and not as sleazy as I had anticipated. Everyone was very welcoming, chatty etc, the food was ok, it was very, very hot, but we survived as it wasnt very humid.

The bars were all brilliant, about €2.5 for a local pint, and the usual promo's etc, dirt cheap shopping, and the beach / scenery was amazing. Anyone going, go down to the beach and one of the bars, you can catch your own fish off this long jetty from the beach and they will BBQ it there and then for you as you sit in the nighttime under the stars..quite romantic if thats what your lookin for.

Cant wait to go back, and would highly reccommend anyone to go, just not to the appt's, will deffo be paying that bit extra for a nice hotel next time.

P.s Was charged €6 (no joke) for a bottle of water in the airport on the way home, so make sure you bring your own, fecking rip off!

Cheers
    Spyguy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Puzzle35

Any recent updates for gumbet? I'm heading there next week on a budget so all recommendations welcome. Couple mid thirties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Well Lads,

I'm back.....and wanted to share my experience.

Firstly, we got it cheap and somewhat last minute, so we did not have high expectations, but overall we had a blast, suppose this is mainly due to the company !

As for the appartment, (Posideon, booked through budget), I would most definately not go back, The pool area was good, fairly quiet, with kickin tunes, that was cool & quite clean, the restaurant was ok, we only had lunch there, it was cheap enough and nice enough to get a quick bite.
    The problem was, that with the 4 of us, going out each night and getting (rather) drunk, the appt ended up being a bit messy, now we did keep it a bit tidy, But the Cleaner didnt come at all, we went down near the end of the week and complained to the sleeze-ball manager, and he said that the cleaner did go to the appt, knocked on the door and got no answer, so she didnt bother....YEA, because we were OUT !! So after a lot of bickering, we managed to pursuade them to at least change the sheets.
    The Air con was only in the bedroom, and with it getting up to 49deg Cel, and myself with fair skin (somewhat typically Irish) I sweltered...we eneded up moving the sofa bed, and the extra pull out bed and squashed it all into one big bed in the bedroom.

The bar in the complex was expensive, so was the Shop, so anyone thinking of going (dont) go to one of the local shops for any booze, but even then we were told off because we had our drink when we were down near the pool, and we "should have bought it in the bar" but we argued back, at the end of the day we took a self-catering package, so f#*k off.

The view around the are is amazing, but our appt had a balcony that could fit one chair, which was facing a wall.

Thats the appartment, it was basic, but dirty with flies, oh and theres a serious smell of sewerage in the evenings.

As for Gumbet & Turkey in general, I will definitely go back, the people are so friendly, and not as sleazy as I had anticipated. Everyone was very welcoming, chatty etc, the food was ok, it was very, very hot, but we survived as it wasnt very humid.

The bars were all brilliant, about €2.5 for a local pint, and the usual promo's etc, dirt cheap shopping, and the beach / scenery was amazing. Anyone going, go down to the beach and one of the bars, you can catch your own fish off this long jetty from the beach and they will BBQ it there and then for you as you sit in the nighttime under the stars..quite romantic if thats what your lookin for.

Cant wait to go back, and would highly reccommend anyone to go, just not to the appt's, will deffo be paying that bit extra for a nice hotel next time.

P.s Was charged €6 (no joke) for a bottle of water in the airport on the way home, so make sure you bring your own, fecking rip off!

Cheers
    Spyguy

Next time go to Kusadasi :D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,332 ✭✭✭tatli_lokma

Puzzle35 wrote: »
    Any recent updates for gumbet? I'm heading there next week on a budget so all recommendations welcome. Couple mid thirties.

Depends what you are looking for...Gumbet is one of the more 'lively' resorts on the Bodrum penninsula. Personally not my cup of çay (tea) but it might be right for you. As far as the Bodrum Penninsula goes, it really is beautiful and lots of coves and bays, so its very sheltered.

Really nice places along the coast to visit are Turgutreis (fabulous big marina, so if you like yachts in particular its fab), Gumusluk, and Yalikavak (nice little fishing town). I would recommend hiring a car and driving along the penninsula and stopping where ever takes your fancy. You should also visit Bodrum, which is really bustling and energetic in high season, but with a great mix of tourists (i.e not all Irish/English bar hoppers). Walking through the old town at 11pm with the streets literally thronging with people is unreal - I'm not normally into busy places like that, but in Bodrum the atmosphere is really great. Lots of nice shops too, not just knock off designer labels and souvenirs. It is realatively expensive for Turkey though, because it is on a Marina with a lot of rich yacht people! so bear that in mind.

Go on a boat trip - a must. But don't expect too much food wise - have a good breakfast!

If you are nervous hiring a car, then the dolmus run between practically every town on the penninsula so you can get to other resorts quite easily.

There are lots of markets in all the different towns, inc Gumbet, on different days, so that is worth a look. I'm more into browsing the food areas than the clothes, but regardless which you prefer you will be happy. Do however, dress appropriately - yes you are on hols, but you are visiting a market where the locals do their weekly shop so its akin to walking through Tesco in a bikini or without a t-shirt! so unless you want pervy comments or extra hassle, don't dress in beach wear (you will also get better prices, cos once they see the beach wear the 'tourist trap' kicks in!) If you are self catering, the food market is the place to get fab fruit, cheeses and honey. Also try pekmez and tahin - a sweet syrup mixed with tahini and you dip white slightly salted cheese into it. Delish for brekkie.

Try local food and cuisine - its fab. Iskender (pronounced Ish-ken-dir)kebab is available in any kebab restaurant, and try a doner from a street vendor. Do like the locals and eat late about 10pm when it starts to cool down and hit the çorba shop (soup shop). Alo 24 is one of the well known chains. You will get fab soup (don't be put off by the literal translations of the ingredients - head and foot soup is apparently really nice actually!) with fresh salad and fresh baked flat bread, followed by a freshly cooked kebab. Other great Turkish dishes are Gozleme (pronounced goz-leh-meh) - a type of pancake that can be sweet or savoury. I like either potato or aubergine in mine. Yummy deserts are kazandibi, asure, sutlac. If you can spot a Hasan Usta chain of shops go in and try out the deserts.

As to the smell of sewerage many people complain of - its not actually sewerage. Throughout the day many people and businesses hose down the paths with water to keep the dust down and cool the place. In teh day this burns off quickly, but in the evening it takes longer. This results in the minerals in the water getting a bit smelly and this is usually what the smell is, not raw sewerage as some people think.

Other than that, enjoy. Turkey is a wonderful place with lovely people. there are the 'boyo's' in some restaruants/hotels, but then again, aren't there everywhere! I find that if you learn some basic phrases this will in particular help with how you are treated:
    Hello - Merhaba (Mer-ha-ba)
    please - lutfen (loot-fen)
    Thank you - Tesekkuler (tesh-ek-u-ler)
    The meal was lovely - eline saglik (el-in-eh sa-lick) literally means the hands are blessed! say this and they will be really impressed!
    how much - ne kadar? (ne ka-dar)
    too expensive - çok pahalla (chock pa-hal-la)
    and when the price is too much in the market, emphatically say 'allah 'hallah' and slap one hand off the other - this is what the locals would to to literally say are you for real! you might get a better bargain out of it!

Have a fabulous time!