Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Should someone join the Guards??

• 24-07-2008 04:23PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45

I want to Join the guards but im just not convinced yet thoe???
    I don't mean to sound like im bad mouthing it, But could ye tell me why someone would join the guards (Why did you join or why you wanna join??)
    I just need help on this, What benefits would it have to me??? Trust me i think the guards do a great job and are VERY UNAPRECIATED for what they do, cause alot of my family are guards and i know....

Thanks i hope i didnt get anyone angry or anything, im just curious what other people think(",) thanks again nd post a comment!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Like nursing and teaching, most people consider a job in the Gardai, or indeed in any of the defence forces, to be a calling of sorts. You do it because you want to do it and you want to make a difference, and not for the money or any type of prestige.

The problem in the past is that some people joined because they simply wanted to lord it over their peers and get stuff for free. These people were always a minority and entrance processes and other checks now tend to ensure that such people rarely get in or get far.

You say you want to join the Gardai - just ask yourself why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Audi2008

seamus wrote: »
    Like nursing and teaching, most people consider a job in the Gardai, or indeed in any of the defence forces, to be a calling of sorts. You do it because you want to do it and you want to make a difference, and not for the money or any type of prestige.

The problem in the past is that some people joined because they simply wanted to lord it over their peers and get stuff for free. These people were always a minority and entrance processes and other checks now tend to ensure that such people rarely get in or get far.

You say you want to join the Gardai - just ask yourself why?

I know im not like that im not in it for the money or anything like that i actually took 1 of them test ware it shows wat jobs would suit you and it came up with the guards or defence forces but my family is very much involved within the guards so i was brought up around it and i would like it, even thoe alot guards rnt aperciated you know wat i mean??

I do want to join it because i think im a friendly/approachable kinda person and would help anyone out... As my teachers in school/college would tell you about me im a BFG(Big Friendly Giant) im tall like and would very easy going... Oh and trust me im not in it for the money im studyn to be an accountant in college and 1st yr wen i leave college i could be getting €27,000 which is the guts of €400 pw after taxes... unlike the guards pay of 200/250€ pw

Im just all summer thinking about joining the guards i missed the last campaign and i really want the next campaign to come soon!!!
    When do you think the next campaign will be??? just a guess???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

Finish college first tho, would be my advice. Even join the Reserve in the mean time. Thats what I done, just finished third year as an engineer and applied back in may and had the interview last week. still have a year left in college, so no rush to get in yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 EimearM1

Help!! I really want to join the guards but I failed maths I would of passed with flying colours only I had a baby quite young I only missed 4 weeks but in them 4 week my maths teacher of 4 years left and I was used to the way she taught me , due to having my child I just scraped my leaving and failed the maths , I just finished a level 5 fetac in accounts an payroll in fas and I have just applied to college to do accountancy in September , I really appreciate everything the guards to and I just think they are inspiring , any help of advice on anything and everything I could do to help me have a good chance of getting in, I am willing to go and do an evening maths course , :)