Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What happened in Carlow was sick

• 24-07-2008 4:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭

About that 13 year old who got racially abused while playing GAA. OK if it was kids doing it, it would be bad enough....but they said adults encouraged it!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Yes I did read a small piece on it briefly in work today and was sad to read it.It just goes to show that there are still some backward communities/nasty spectators who are not embracing new cultures and ethnicities.I hear this 13 year old is a serious talent and has soccer trials over in England but could you imagine if these kids and "adults" ruined a potential chance for Carlow to be a much stronger team with these disgusting racist insults turning that player away from the game.

As a referee,I have first hand experience of dealing with parents/mentors of minor teams.I hear at underage it is worse and the majority of incidents happen at these levels.They can be animal like and very very aggressive.I think a ban on this team should be implemented.Whatever about Galvins appeals and other BS this kind of sh1t is not welcome in GAA and is totally unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

what happened ? where is the story posted ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Carlow officials to probe racist abuse claim
    24 July 2008

Carlow’s Coiste na nOg is to launch an investigation into claims that a young Nigerian footballer was subjected to racist abuse from spectators during an under 14 game earlier this week.

Teboga Sebala, who moved to Carlow town with his family six years ago, had to endure a torrent of racist abuse from the sidelines as he played for Eire Og in an under 14 semi-final against town rivals O’Hanrahan’s last Monday night.

Adrian Tomlin, whose son Joe is a team-mate of Teboga’s and who was a spectator at the game along with his wife, described how a group of young girls, encouraged by a group of adults nearby, shouted obscene and racial abuse at the young Nigerian throughout the game.

He explained: "There were obscene racial comments like ’kill the f***ing n***er and the like. It was ongoing throughout the match and Teboga was visibly upset."

Tomlin, who made a complaint to Carlow officials after the game, said he pulled his wife away when she asked them to stop because the group turned on her and she was in tears.

"I am beside myself, I am thinking of pulling my son from the sport," he added.
    "I come from the north of England where racial tension is a big problem and I bring up my children to be against this kind of behaviour."

Jebus.... that’s disgraceful ..

I was only saying the other day that I cant wait till some of the African children that are growing up in Ireland break into senior football. it will be great for the game ...the more cultures we can get playing the better.

The GAA is also one of the best possible ways to integrate into Ireland and Irish culture I would be sick to the teeth if I thought that was happening on a regular basis. I have seen a few juvenile matches where there was some African boys playing... they were great ( although you could clearly see they had been playing soccer a lot longer than GAA) I have never really seen racism in GAA ( apart from some stupid comments on the hill about Jason Sherlock)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Alany wrote: »
    what happened ? where is the story posted ?

Its on the front of today's Irish Exmainer.

Why exactly didn't the referee and both teams' management act earlier? Why wasn't the game stopped, the teams taken off and the police called? Something like that should be the procedure, you can't just leave the kids out their recieving and listening to a torrent of abuse.

Suffice to say those involved are scum, shameless parasites who despise themselves and take their anger for their pathetic lives out on anyone different from themselves. Racially abusing a innocent child is cowardice and ignorance of the highbest level. The 'individuals' involved should be banned, and their club fined at the minimum.

Hopefully the lad involved won't turn his back on GAA after this.

Jebus.... that’s disgraceful ..

I was only saying the other day that I cant wait till some of the African children that are growing up in Ireland break into senior football. it will be great for the game ...the more cultures we can get playing the better.

The GAA is also one of the best possible ways to integrate into Ireland and Irish culture I would be sick to the teeth if I thought that was happening on a regular basis. I have seen a few juvenile matches where there was some African boys playing... they were great ( although you could clearly see they had been playing soccer a lot longer than GAA) I have never really seen racism in GAA ( apart from some stupid comments on the hill about Jason Sherlock)

There is a lad born in the Ivory Coast (I think) who plays hurling at an intermediate level in east cork, but beyond that I can't think of many foreign born lads at adult level.

Unfortunately, when my team played the above lads team in minor championship before and during the game there was some racial/xenophobic abuse along the lines 'of stealing our taxes' gibberish. It was a couple of morons (the rest of the team was blatantly uncomfortable) and not as bad as the Carlow story but unfortunately all it takes is a few racists - and every village and town in this ocuntry has them - to make the rest of us look bad and make the GAA look bad. Thats a shame because I genuinely believe the GAA understands its important to reach out to foreign born children, and seems to be doing just that in places like Galway.

Which is why I expect the GAA to cxome down hard on those involved in the above abuse, should be a lot of pressure coming down on the Carlow board right about now.

GalwayDub2 wrote: »
    About that 13 year old who got racially abused while playing GAA. OK if it was kids doing it, it would be bad enough....but they said adults encouraged it!:eek:

I doesn't be suprised that its adults involved, and/or encouraging it. Put young Irish kids in the same classroom, or team, with foreign children and things like accents and skin colour became a harmless and funny difference rather then a point of division. Unfortunately its the older generations, the parents and grand parents, who pass out their bias to the children either blatantly or in a more subtle manner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

GalwayDub2 wrote: »

Unfortunately, there are still some rednecks left out there. Players with backgrounds other than Irish are the future of the game, considering how much more racially diverse our country has gotten in the last decade.

There are one or two high profile players currently playing at the top level with roots reaching beyond our shores, who are probably among the finest exponents of the game(s) I have seen. This kind of redneck behaviour should not be tolerated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

:( for shame.

**** like that does nothing at all for the sport. clowns of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭AndyP

And the irony is (with most people with racist views) that all these muppets probably own a Liverpool/Man U/Arsenal top and cheer their little heads off every time one of their black or far-eastern players does anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

This is a horrible thing to happen anyone.

Not sure what can happen in terms of a punishment. Would I be right in saying that the school seems most likely to take the hit, which seems unfortunate. But something has to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

CyberDave wrote: »
    Unfortunately, there are still some rednecks left out there. Players with backgrounds other than Irish are the future of the game, considering how much more racially diverse our country has gotten in the last decade.

There are one or two high profile players currently playing at the top level with roots reaching beyond our shores, who are probably among the finest exponents of the game(s) I have seen. This kind of redneck behaviour should not be tolerated.

If you're suggesting that this sort of thing never happens in cities, you're delusional !!

Either way it's absolutely disgraceful and should be punished severely.

agreed. I grew up in dublin and still spend most of my time in dublin we have our fair share of racists..perhaps more than our fair share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

That is truly sick. That club should get some severe punishment.

On the topic about the 'new' Irish playing GAA, its great to see, but remember seeing one match, and many of them were playing soccer for the most part. Sometimes they dropped the ball on purpose and just ran with it at their feet....don't wanna see that happening again anytime.

A lot of Irish kids do that as well when they are young. Its just a habit they grow out of with training, and when it becomes clear that picking it up as an advantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

I'd like to have seen the crowd that were at this as I'd say they were the local guriers out for a day's entertainment in whatever way they can get it. If it's not this it's probably shop lifting etc.
    Mushy wrote: »
    On the topic about the 'new' Irish playing GAA, its great to see,
    This isn't the politics forum etc, but someone made the point that there are very very few "new Irish". In fact that's a bit of a misnomer. The vast majority of foreign nationals don't integrate as they want to keep their Nigerian or Moldovan etc way of life. This lad is a bit of an exception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Orizio wrote: »
    A lot of Irish kids do that as well when they are young. Its just a habit they grow out of with training, and when it becomes clear that picking it up as an advantage.

Ah alright, thats good to hear. Least now I know
    JHMEG wrote: »
    This isn't the politics forum etc, but someone made the point that there are very very few "new Irish". In fact that's a bit of a misnomer. The vast majority of foreign nationals don't integrate as they want to keep their Nigerian or Moldovan etc way of life. This lad is a bit of an exception.

Just like above, at least now I know. I just didnt know what term to use really, so was a generalisation by me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Sickening to hear that story.

If Carlow GAA don't punish the club and individuals heavily the boys in Croke Park need to punish Carlow GAA heavily.

This type of thing needs to be crushed and you hit a county board with a big fine it sends a warning.

megadodge wrote: »
    If you're suggesting that this sort of thing never happens in cities, you're delusional !!

Either way it's absolutely disgraceful and should be punished severely.

No I'm not. I don't know where you get that assumption from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

No I'm not. I don't know where you get that assumption from.

Well bearing in mind I have never, ever, ever heard of a city person or even townie being referred to as a "redneck" and the fact that you used the term "redneck" twice in your original post to describe the said behaviour, led to my "assumption" !

thats the last of that tangent please ... we are discussing the outragous report of racism at a kids GAA match in carlow. Enough assumptions CyberDave clarified his position. End of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I always think it is great to see the people from other origins playing Gaelic games. In years to come some of them, probably speaking with strong Irish accents, will be playing on county teams and those jeering them now will be cheering them.

I remember seeing a little darkish lad playing corner forward in a minor match many years ago. He was a great bit of stuff. You couldn't but admire the way he was playing the game. You will all have heard of him. His name is Jason Sherlock. We have Sean Óg and Setanta in Cork who also have done well for their counties. Who'd have thought we'd see a man making an acceptance speech for the Liam McCarthy Cup using both Irish and Fijian? There will be many more players like them in the future, something that is to be welcomed. If a little black lad helps Carlow win some trophy in years to come, I am sure those people at that match will have changed their perspective.

There is a young lad, a Brazilian, plays on one of Gort underage teams at home in Galway. He is supposed to be brilliant. I remember there was a feature on him on some GAA show I was watching a while back.

I'd like to have seen the crowd that were at this as I'd say they were the local guriers out for a day's entertainment in whatever way they can get it. If it's not this it's probably shop lifting etc.

I'm sorry but how could you possibly know this? Rather huge generalisation, and insult against the new people coming here, saying they refuse to integrate.

And once again, around here, at underage level there are plenty of kids from outside of Ireland playing GAA, particurly amongst the city clubs.

There is a young lad, a Brazilian, plays on one of Gort underage teams at home in Galway. He is supposed to be brilliant. I remember there was a feature on him on some GAA show I was watching a while back.

Haven't Gort or Galway town gotten some underage project especially designed to attract immigrants?

I don't know. This is the first I have heard. If so it's a good idea. Gort is like a little hamlet of Brazil in Ireland so it is inevitable that some Brazilians would take part on their GAA teams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭Myxomatosis

Why should the Club be punished? Someone even suggested Carlow GAA should be punished.

How on earth can the club be held responsible for a few people who choose to attend a game and make those comments? They could have been Eire Og fans for all you know.

The individuals should be banned for life. The club and Carlow Gaa have absolutly no control or can take no responsibility for these people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

What happened in Carlow was wrong. However, this kid's not the first one to have ever been abused at a GAA game. People shout abuse at players all the time.

I'm sorry but how could you possibly know this? Rather huge generalisation, and insult against the new people coming here, saying they refuse to integrate.
    Cos I work with them, socialise with them, am god parent to 2 of them, and know around about 20 families in total. It's not an insult, and it's not that they refuse. They just don't want to, and prefer to keep their own culture.

there is a big differance between abuse and racism and thats what this was. Dont try and make excuses for these people. I read the comments of the boys father and Im amazed how pragmatic and fogiving he was. I would not have been.

Firetrap wrote: »
    What happened in Carlow was wrong. However, this kid's not the first one to have ever been abused at a GAA game. People shout abuse at players all the time.

Kids regurly get their life threatened on the GAA pitch? :rolleyes: He is a thirteen year old, he should never be verbally abused in anyway. We are not talking aobut an inter county senior here.

Cos I work with them, socialise with them, am god parent to 2 of them, and know around about 20 families in total. It's not an insult, and it's not that they refuse. They just don't want to, and prefer to keep their own culture.

My experience has been different, plenty of non-Irish kids playing GAA where I am. Possibly your area is the exception? I'm sure these things fluctuate depends on geography, wealth, the club involved etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Land of a thousand welcomes me arse! We are as bad as any other for this sort of sh1t. I have seen it from kids and adults alot, not on a football field but to give that to a 13/14 year old kid? Thats just horrible!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

there is a big differance between abuse and racism and thats what this was. Dont try and make excuses for these people. I read the comments of the boys father and Im amazed how pragmatic and fogiving he was. I would not have been.

I'm not making excuses for anyone. I've stood on the sidelines at underage games and have heard awful stuff being shouted at players. And the kids on the pitch are no angels either.

plenty of non-Irish kids playing GAA where I am.
    There are non-Irish playing because of things organised by and thru the schools. The parents otoh don't do anything "Irish".

Yes but if the parents didn't want their kids playing GAA, or were so against anything Irish then they wouldn't let their kids play GAA. Its the parents choice first and foremost.

Anyone, I think its clear that the kid in Carlow is not just a fluke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Whats sad is that its the victim's name thats plastered across the media. Wouldnt it be great to have a list of the people who were handing out the abuse across the newspapers. Thats what they deserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Kids regurly get their life threatened on the GAA pitch? :rolleyes: He is a thirteen year old, he should never be verbally abused in anyway. We are not talking aobut an inter county senior here.

Happens at least a few times year at underage matches in Kildare. imo clubs should be responsible for their own spectators and if there are some just there to cause trouble they should be asked to move on. Too often people bury their heads in the sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

If the GAA doesn't appear to be doing anything about this and forcing the clubs do to something, then why should any other immigrant family bother letting their kids play.
    By saying, "it's not the fault of the clubs and sure there is always abuse at matches" is a cop out. It's another version of the "it's a man's game" argument used after someone has their jaw broken by an off the ball incident.

What will happen is this kid and any other talented kids of a non-Irish ethnic/racial background will find another sport, probably soccer or rugby.
    They may receive racial abuse in those sports as well, but they may be looking at a future where they will get financially rewarded for their talents and get a move overseas. GAA doesn't have that carrot to offer someone, so they need to make it as attrractive as possible to continue playing the games.

Anyway if this is allowed to continue to happen at pitches anywhere in the country, then it is the GAA that will be the ultimate loser and the gob***** dragging their nuckles on the ground will be the winners.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Munya

I don't see it as being much worse than what you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Munya

"I have nothing nice to say so I wont wont say anything at all"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I thought we'd moved past this kind of shite.