Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quick Q for the Gardai

• 23-07-2008 7:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭

There's a girl in my circle of friends who has been driving for the past 2 years with no tax, and 18 months with no insurance. I've had mine checked at least 8 times at checkpoints in that period, and always wondered how she got away with it, until one day she boasted about how she had seen a checkpoint up ahead, pulled into someone's driveway, pretended to ring the bell and get no answer, then pulled back out of the drive and went back in the opposite direction.

Anyway, she finally got stopped last night at a random breath-check (she's actually also a chronic drink driver, but had "only" had two drinks and was under the limit last night). Needless to say, she had no tax or insurance, and was told to produce them within ten days.

Now, her ex-boyfriend works for a v. dodgy car dealer and has already told her he'll give her a trade disc & cert to produce in the Garda station, and will also certify her car as having been off the road for the past 18 months, so all she has to do is back-tax it for 6 months, and she's off scot-free.

My question is, is there anything at all that can be done about this??? It absolutely makes my blood boil that she thinks that tax & insurance are optional for her because she'd rather spend the money on clothes.

I've known this girl for years, and believe me, the fact that she got away with this (if she does) will only serve to enforce her "untouchable" complex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

I pay tax and insurance, but the tax is a load of balls so if she can get away with not paying tax then let her on. Until the day comes i can drive my car without hitting a pothole my attitude will never change towards road tax.
    Honey-ec wrote: »
    There's a girl in my circle of friends who has been driving for the past 2 years with no tax, and 18 months with no insurance. I've had mine checked at least 8 times at checkpoints in that period, and always wondered how she got away with it, until one day she boasted about how she had seen a checkpoint up ahead, pulled into someone's driveway, pretended to ring the bell and get no answer, then pulled back out of the drive and went back in the opposite direction.

Anyway, she finally got stopped last night at a random breath-check (she's actually also a chronic drink driver, but had "only" had two drinks and was under the limit last night). Needless to say, she had no tax or insurance, and was told to produce them within ten days.

Now, her ex-boyfriend works for a v. dodgy car dealer and has already told her he'll give her a trade disc & cert to produce in the Garda station, and will also certify her car as having been off the road for the past 18 months, so all she has to do is back-tax it for 6 months, and she's off scot-free.

My question is, is there anything at all that can be done about this??? It absolutely makes my blood boil that she thinks that tax & insurance are optional for her because she'd rather spend the money on clothes.

I've known this girl for years, and believe me, the fact that she got away with this (if she does) will only serve to enforce her "untouchable" complex.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

My question is, is there anything at all that can be done about this??? .

How about an anonymous letter to the sergeant in charge of her local garda station.

He would assign a gard or detective to investigate it and ultimately prosecute her and her boyfriend, without you having to get involved.

Hey, if we all have to pay tax and insurance (10% of our premium goes to uninsured drivers), Fcuk her!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Fyr.Fytr

Surely if she hadn't trade plates showing on the night trade cert wont mean jack?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Ah its a seperate offence, doesnt mean ****e to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Very well might get away with it but hopefully the Garda will record the full details on the system to stop repeat offences.

You could PM one of the many Gardai, such as myself with the car reg and have it dealt with without ever revealing your name, etc.

Not too bothered about tax as I dont think our system is a good one however we all have to pay it and as the OP said, she isnt strapped for cash just pissing it away on drink and shopping etc. then theres the issue of her smashing into some poor sod with 3rd party only or killing someone when half cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

I'd be sending a letter to the sergeant in charge of the raffic corps, annonymous of cousre.

Im sure they would be delighted with it.

I love when people turn away from checkpoints whatever they have done wrong if i can the car is coming with me.

Tonight i was working (i do deliverys) and it happend while doing it i made a delivery to a house on a main road, a bit further up there was a check point, anyway as i was pulling back out again and unmarked car came up and the lads got out said they saw me turning away from the checkpoint asked why etc, i explained, showed my docs as requested they had a quick look in the car and in the boot and let me go on my way.

So some guards are wise to this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Definitely report her to the local station or maybe to a guard you are friendly with. It may seem like a harsh way for her to learn her lesson but there are worse ways to learn.

On a totally different topic, my 1000th post on boards. All my posts were deep and meaningful or at least that was the intention!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Tonight i was working (i do deliverys) and it happend while doing it i made a delivery to a house on a main road, a bit further up there was a check point, anyway as i was pulling back out again and unmarked car came up and the lads got out said they saw me turning away from the checkpoint asked why etc, i explained, showed my docs as requested they had a quick look in the car and in the boot and let me go on my way.

So some guards are wise to this

Word to the wise, if your doing deliveries standard insurance will not cover you if your in an accident as its deemed to be commercial use

Serious? Uh oh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Fyr.Fytr wrote: »
    Serious? Uh oh!
    You're still legal to drive as the third party insurance will still be valid - if you e.g. crash into a wall then they won't pay for damages or injury to yourself.

/on topic

I think the OP should definitely report this - would it be calling Garda Traffic Watch 1890 205 805 ?

Ah sweet, got worried there, damn you Karl!! Almost gave me a M.I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

I wasn't saying it's OK to do it - you run the risk of blacklisting yourself by the insurance companies if found out - and possibly being sued in the event of an accident.

I was just pointing out that technically you're still within the law.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Thanks for all the replies folks - will definitely be reporting her. Just need to find an easy way of getting her reg. as I live in a different county!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Word to the wise, if your doing deliveries standard insurance will not cover you if your in an accident as its deemed to be commercial use

Unless you're not paying tax on the income you earn on your deliveries in which case you're apparently not working and can say the food's for you. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

Just a quick update on the original scenario - the timeframe for my "friend" to produce her tax and insurance expired on the 1st of this month, without her producing anything. The ex-boyfriend who had told her he'd give her a trade insurance cert. told her not to produce at the Garda station but to wait until she was summonsed.

What will happen now? Presumably she'll get summonsed at some stage, but surely she's more likely to be caught out producing a trade policy that she's not actually covered on in court rather than if she'd just brought it down to the Garda station???

I would dearly love to see this girl get her comeuppance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

Just a quick update on the original scenario - the timeframe for my "friend" to produce her tax and insurance expired on the 1st of this month, without her producing anything. The ex-boyfriend who had told her he'd give her a trade insurance cert. told her not to produce at the Garda station but to wait until she was summonsed.

What will happen now? Presumably she'll get summonsed at some stage, but surely she's more likely to be caught out producing a trade policy that she's not actually covered on in court rather than if she'd just brought it down to the Garda station???

Yeah I'd say she's more likely to be caught out in court alright. The fact that she was unwilling to produce it within the (I presume) 10 days to her local station is a good indicator that she has something to hide!
    I'm not a guard so I don't know, but if she produces a dodgy cert in court and she's found out, I'm guessing she could be done for fraud, and her ex could be done for perverting the course of justice..

Silly girl.

Fair play to you, I think she will definitely learn her lesson alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭mixer101

Any further developments here yet??