Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ian Dempsey, Paul Collins, Emily Tully 'quip' in the morning.

• 22-07-2008 11:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24

....for those of you who listen to Today FM before Ray D'arcy comes on air, half 8ish, will probably know what i mean...

...why is it that when Ian Dempsey, Paul Collins and Emily Tully are on the airwaves that it somehow turns into battle of the 'quips'?

i.e When Emily finishes her news reading, Ian will proceed to ask her something about the news bulletin that she just read (in other words Ian will state the bleedin' obvious)...Emily will laugh at Ian, because he's just such a funny guy....

...then the incredibly annoying Paul Collins (or as Ian likes to call him 'PC') will try to woo Emily with his brilliant wit by making a better 'joke' or 'quip' than Ian just tried to do......zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Probably the three most annoying people at 8:30 am on a weekday morning to listen to....thank god for my iPod, i don't have to listen to them anymore....whooo, hoooo!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭StudentEmeritus

Paul Collins is fantastic, couldn't agree less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Ah they provide a good bit of entertainment in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

totally agree,those 3 in the morning are great and it doesnt seem contrived.you get the impression they do be heading for breakfast together after,not at all smug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭raido9

I cant listen to him in the mornings anymore.
    Ian Dempsy's breakfast show reminds me of the clips of Alan Partridge o Norwich radio.

He belongs in the early nineties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

Paul Collins is a fake. The radio voice he puts on just drives me mad, and the way he thinks that saying something in a stupid culchie accent is hilarious. He seems to know absolutely nothing about sport either, if it's not GAA he doesnt have a clue. He's so blatantly Tipp biased too.

[/rant]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

He's so blatantly Tipp biased too.

[/rant]

Jaysus he's taking the urine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

Paul Collins is a fake. The radio voice he puts on just drives me mad, and the way he thinks that saying something in a stupid culchie accent is hilarious. He seems to know absolutely nothing about sport either, if it's not GAA he doesnt have a clue. He's so blatantly Tipp biased too.

[/rant]
    i dont know the man but have seen him about three times at racing or once in the same shop and he talks exactly the same.Granted he is clueless about sport bar gaa but all he has to do is read it off some paper.Its not like he works on a sports show,he gives 3 minutes of sport to people who have no interest in sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Great show and great craic, i think you were thinking of the local Dublin stations like that god awful 98 fm in the morning talk about annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I love Dempo but christ I can't stand Paul Collins. Every morning I wake up his his faux culchie accent....flyin' it now! Why do he always refer to GAA teams by there nick names, who the fu*k are the daysha?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    I love Dempo but christ I can't stand Paul Collins. Every morning I wake up his his faux culchie accent....flyin' it now! Why do he always refer to GAA teams by there nick names, who the fu*k are the daysha?!?
    That'll be Waterford, the Deise (insert fada if applicable!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

I cant listen to them.

Ian Dempsey annoys me, he's so long winded and drab. Paul Collins sounds so monotoned he bores me. I switched a long time ago to Newstalk/Pure Morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

THFC1 wrote: »
    ....for those of you who listen to Today FM before Ray D'arcy comes on air, half 8ish, will probably know what i mean...

...why is it that when Ian Dempsey, Paul Collins and Emily Tully are on the airwaves that it somehow turns into battle of the 'quips'?

i.e When Emily finishes her news reading, Ian will proceed to ask her something about the news bulletin that she just read (in other words Ian will state the bleedin' obvious)...Emily will laugh at Ian, because he's just such a funny guy....

...then the incredibly annoying Paul Collins (or as Ian likes to call him 'PC') will try to woo Emily with his brilliant wit by making a better 'joke' or 'quip' than Ian just tried to do......zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Probably the three most annoying people at 8:30 am on a weekday morning to listen to....thank god for my iPod, i don't have to listen to them anymore....whooo, hoooo!:p

Not sure if she has left Today FM, but Emily Tully hasn't been on the air in months..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭iwudluvit

too many ads / promotions / sneaky ways to have stealth advertising through silly competitions on iano's show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Poochie05

Not sure if she has left Today FM, but Emily Tully hasn't been on the air in months..
    Not sure where she's gone but much prefer Sinead Spain, who's been reading the news on the breakfast show for a while now. She doesn't have as much to say for herself - a refreshing change.
    I enjoy Ian's show, but prefer when no nonsense Moikal McMullan reads the news as he's brief and to the point. Given there's a sports bulletin every half hour and nothing is happening at that hour I don't know what P Collins finds to prattle on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭iwudluvit

Poochie05 wrote: »
    Given there's a sports bulletin every half hour and nothing is happening at that hour I don't know what P Collins finds to prattle on about.

the same stuff as half hour before, same as the news

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Yep, she's gone.

Paul Collins angers me. Really really angers me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

I'm delighted somebody else agrees with me about Paul Collins. The stupid accent pisses me off. Really plays up to it. I dont mind the rest of them but Collins is a buffoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,385 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

This thread makes me sad. My name is also Paul Collins, so it just looks like people are just bashing me... :(

dulpit wrote: »
    This thread makes me sad. My name is also Paul Collins, so it just looks like people are just bashing me... :(

Are you flyin' it too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

ronnie3585 wrote: »

+1 Tune in tomorrow to hear PC roll out "How ye gettin on" & using "she" in every other sentance. Also you have to admire the lad for the way he projects himself as some sort of bogger lothario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

raven136 wrote: »
    .Granted he is clueless about sport bar gaa
    So having a preference for GAA, makes him clueless about other sports? Not a fair comment me thinks. Have you ever sat down and had a proper conversation with Paul Collins about sport? GAA is my favourite but i'm also hugely into soccer and rugby. Just because somebody prefers one sport, does not mean they know little or nothing about other sports.

Sizzler wrote: »
    +1 Tune in tomorrow to hear PC roll out "How ye gettin on" & using "she" in every other sentance.
    And having a kinda generic Radio Caroline DJ accent for his links but then putting on a Tipp/West Waterford accent for interviews with players.
    Also you have to admire the lad for the way he projects himself as some sort of bogger lothario.
    LOLZ I know! :D
    It's too cringey to bear! You're a stud Paul - sure you are!

using "she" in every other sentance

I thought I was the only one who noticed that:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭dedon

Paul Collins is a legend. He basically mocks the boggers who are mad about their GAA. Its hilarious stuff. Love listening to him!!

He has some neck to mock the country folk/boggers on radio. Fair focks to the goy!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Breakfast radio is responsible for 50% of iPod sales.

dedon wrote: »
    Paul Collins is a legend. He basically mocks the boggers who are mad about their GAA. Its hilarious stuff. Love listening to him!!

He has some neck to mock the country folk/boggers on radio. Fair focks to the goy!!!
    I think you've misinterpreted him...

Dudess wrote: »
    I think you've misinterpreted him...
    Agreed. He's not mocking anybody. Thats the way he is.

LOL! One born every minute!

I bet you have an 80's leather jacket just like him, go on admit it :D

Dempsey thinks PC is high-larious as well, FFS :rolleyes:

Agreed. He's not mocking anybody. Thats the way he is.

No way lads!! We is having a go at the country folk. Come on!! It’s hilarious.

And what’s even funnier about is ye don’t even realise it.

LOL! One born every minute!

I bet you have an 80's leather jacket just like him, go on admit it :D

Dempsey thinks PC is high-larious as well, FFS :rolleyes:
    I don't think he does, he's just being diplomatic. You can totally tell John Duggan, the other sports guy, cannot abide him...

Paul Collins uses the bogger schtick cuz he thinks it sounds funny to put on a muck savage accent and use muck savage phrases - like Pat Shortt. He's not at all taking the piss out of boggers, he's one of those "proud to be a bogger" types... but he knows not to overdo the accent and to use a smarmy radio voice, otherwise he could be out of a job - seeing as he's a broadcaster on a national radio station, not Mucker FM in the Midlands somewhere...

Dudess wrote: »
    I don't think he does, he's just being diplomatic. You can totally tell John Duggan, the other sports guy, cannot abide him...

You're prob right ! Altho Mickoil "4 golf balls in my mouth" McMollon is equally despicable for similar reasons.

Duggan is prob the only grounded presenter they have!

I dont know I think he is taking the piss allright and its hilarious when he has a go at the GAA people. He realises its not really a proper sport and has a laugh about it.

Good man Paul. Total ledge!! Where is he from?? anyone know

Tipp - how have you not heard one of his many mentions of it?

Taking the piss out of GAA? Are we talking about the same Paul Collins? Because the man clearly loves de hurlin' (note: it is a pathological impossibility for him to say "hurling", has to be "de hurlin'").

I dont know I think he is taking the piss allright and its hilarious when he has a go at the GAA people. He realises its not really a proper sport and has a laugh about it.

Good man Paul. Total ledge!! Where is he from?? anyone know

/me facepalms.

ya but he is mocking it at the same time!! Like Dub would mock the boggers. Its all tongue and check mind

No offence Dedon but you are the only one who thinks he is slagging off the GAA and country folk! I dont like him myself (he drives me nuts in fact) but I can see that he loves GAA and he is clearly from Tipperary and plays up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭sham69

I have to admit I still listen to him in the mornings, it does be funny sometimes.
    Agree Sinead Spain is much better on the news than Emily (is she gone from the station?). PC has been using the same quips every single morning for the past few years.
    Its pretty obvious the only sport he is knowledgeable about is GAA, he never goes into any detail about any other sport whereas Duggan and Michael Mc Mullan have an all round knowledge which could be applauded I suppose.
    As much as PC annoys me I just can't switch off the dempsey show, gift grub is a big plus for him and the only reason he survived I think. I have stopped listening to D'arcy and the Ray Foley show as they are just too damn annoying.
    I will listen to D'arcy tomorrow though for Fix It Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Dempsey has been top dog for 20 plus years and has seen countless rivals come and go, with or without gift grub or Paul Collins (who i tink is excellent btw) he would still top the ratings and have a brillant show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Given the D4/Ross O'Carroll-Kelly spelling of "guy", maybe I'm missing the sarcasm in that post, but "boggers who are mad about their GAA" ????? :confused:

By all means, mock the idiots who think that "celebrity gossip" and Big Bother should be included in the news or a show on TV3, or that it's cooler to talk like a U.S. gang member or West Brit than your own accent, but slagging off GAA sports and its supporters ? :rolleyes:

Top Irish Sport - Rugby
    2nd - Hurling
    3rd - Football (not soccer)

And while I'm not slagging off the domestic leagues, soccer barely features at all....mention soccer and most people think of England's Premiership first, then maybe Scottish, then their local junior games and then they'll probably remember that there's a national League of Ireland.
    Baza210 wrote:
    He realises its not really a proper sport
    Give me strength! And I suppose you think American "football" is ???? Sheesh!!!! :rolleyes:

Just out of interest, without going miles off-topic - what would you view as a "proper sport" ?

Uh, I didn't say that..

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭tSubh Dearg

I would really prefer if people didn't go "miles off-topic" please. Thank you.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Given the D4/Ross O'Carroll-Kelly spelling of "guy", maybe I'm missing the sarcasm in that post, but "boggers who are mad about their GAA" ????? :confused:

By all means, mock the idiots who think that "celebrity gossip" and Big Bother should be included in the news or a show on TV3, or that it's cooler to talk like a U.S. gang member or West Brit than your own accent, but slagging off GAA sports and its supporters ? :rolleyes:

Top Irish Sport - Rugby
    2nd - Hurling
    3rd - Football (not soccer)

And while I'm not slagging off the domestic leagues, soccer barely features at all....mention soccer and most people think of England's Premiership first, then maybe Scottish, then their local junior games and then they'll probably remember that there's a national League of Ireland.

Give me strength! And I suppose you think American "football" is ???? Sheesh!!!! :rolleyes:

Just out of interest, without going miles off-topic - what would you view as a "proper sport" ?

Well I am a rugby goy myself! Maybe I was being a bit harch on GAA there. I will take it back. But I do think it get too much air time in this country.