Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford v Wexford

• 22-07-2008 10:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭

Next Sunday at Thurles 2pm.

Who do you think will win?

What team would you like to see put out.

This would be my preference:

Hennesy in goal. (edit - bad joke backfired, sorry)

Full back line: Will prob be Dec Prender, Ken McGrath and Eoin Murphy. (If Kearney was fit I'd have him in the corner instead of Prender, that would be much more solid.)

Half Back line: Brian Phelan, Tony Browne and Shane O'Sullivan. (Jack Kennedy hasn't impressed me much this year.)

Midfield: Michael Walsh, Dave Bennett. (I'm not sure about who to pair up Walsh with here, not sure if Jamie Nagle is ready for the pace yet, he's going to be a good player but he is he ready right now?)

Half Forward Line: Eoin Kelly, Seamus Prendergast, Stephen Molumphy (kelly would be more effictive here than Dan and he scores some great long range points out wide)

Full Forward Line: Eoin McGrath, Dan Shanahan and John Mullane. (Dan not doing enough out the field and would be better off in full forward where he can cause a goal threat and keep Wexford busy keeping an eye on him)

What does anyone else think? Would molumphy be better in midfield? Would you keep Hurney in if Molumphy goes Midfield and take Bennett out?

Sunday's outcome? 47 votes

Waterford
    0% 0 votes
    Wexford
    65% 31 votes
    Draw
    34% 16 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Waterford but only just, they certainly are not the team they were in the past and are definitely in decline. Offaly were there or there abouts with them , an average Clare destroyed them, Wexford will be competitive for 60 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

buck65 wrote: »
    Waterford but only just, they certainly are not the team they were in the past and are definitely in decline. Offaly were there or there abouts with them , an average Clare destroyed them, Wexford will be competitive for 60 mins.

Couldn't agree more.(except about being a team in decline, very few first team players who might retire in next year or two, Browne maybe) We have looked weak in too many areas against Offaly and If we were facing Clare or Cork on Sunday I'd be very worried. Wexford will be all out to put things right after the Leinster final but I think we just about have enough to deal with them and I'm praying the players who haven't shown up yet put in decent performances and give us some hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭askU

Brenner in goal-What ru on about? Do you mean Clinton_Hennessy?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clinton_Hennessy

I was taking the piss and left out the smilie :D Clinton is so obvious I was having a laugh. sorry :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭Badabing

Im going for Waterford to win, I cant see Wexford getting 20 plus scores that you need to beat the top teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

askU wrote: »
    Brenner in goal-What ru on about? Do you mean Clinton_Hennessy?
    Why dont ye bring back the mercurial Ray Whitty? :D

I'm going for Wexford to shock them, the Déise still have not sorted out their full back line. Waterford conceded 0-18 to an average Offaly side, and had it not been for the accession of two very soft goals by Offaly, it would have been the Midlander's day. Waterford have been relying heavily on Kelly and Mullane, keep either of them quiet and the Model men are in with a shout.

grenache wrote: »
    Why dont ye bring back the mercurial Ray Whitty? :D

I'm going for Wexford to shock them, the Déise still have not sorted out their full back line. Waterford conceded 0-18 to an average Offaly side, and had it not been for the accession of two very soft goals by Offaly, it would have been the Midlander's day. Waterford have been relying heavily on Kelly and Mullane, keep either of them quiet and the Model men are in with a shout.

Declan Prendergast is the weak link in full back line. If Kearney was fit then I would be happy enough with him in instead of Prender and it would be much more solid.
    It would take a lot to keep Kelly and Mullane quiet and if they do go down that route then it would free up McGrath, S Prendergast and Molumphy more. This is another reason why I'd like to see Dan in Full Forward also. If Wexford concentrate on Kelly and Mullane then they take their eye off of Dan and he has punished teams before for this by sneaking in behind for goals.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Could be a draw on the cards. Waterford are not hurling well but they like Thurles and have played their numerous times where as Wexford would not have.

Waterford need to come out all guns blazing and build up a big lead. If they cannot then I think they will struggle but they should just edge past Wexford in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭hughes2558

Prendergast is a weak link but I dont think wexford have the inside forwards to expose him. I do think Eoin Quigley could cause Tony Browne problems running at him though. Is it three or four years ago that Wexford beat Waterford in Walsh Park in the championship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭phase-3

Is it just me or did anyone notice last week that "Brick" didnt seem fully fit what so ever. He was slow getting away and appeared tired at early stages of the game. I think waterford should win the game but they have so much work to do if they want to beat Tipp in an all ireland semi final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭askU

you know he's a recovering alchoholic...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i hope waterford win for the good of hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

perhaps you could explain for me why that would be so??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

hughes2558 wrote: »
    Prendergast is a weak link but I dont think wexford have the inside forwards to expose him. I do think Eoin Quigley could cause Tony Browne problems running at him though. Is it three or four years ago that Wexford beat Waterford in Walsh Park in the championship.

2003 in Nolan Park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

Yes, please enlighten us, at least back up your sweeping statements with something useful. I don't see how Wexford losing can be good for hurling, especially Leinster hurling which is a serious concern at the moment.

For the good of hurling I'm hoping for a close competitive and entertaining game and a reminder of what both sides are capable of, whether its a win or not for Wexford. There's plenty of heart in that Wexford team and they're going to be out to show that we're not ready to lie down and forget what hurling means to the county. We need this more than ever, we need a performance.

I'm aware Waterford need it more than ever too, there has been obvious problems this year and the new manager coming in, but with Eoin Kelly and Mullane on form they're capable of beating anyone on their day. It's a really hard one to call but if you pushed me to it, and as hard as it is to say I would predict a narrow defeat for the model men. A strong performance though at least may give us something to build on next season, it's not going to happen overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Daisygirl

Yes, I hope Waterford will win and I'll be there cheering on the Deise.. but we have to beware of Wexford!! Laugh you may, but they seem to be our bogey team and Wexford are out to prove that the beating the received from Kilkenny wasn't there true colours, just like Offaly last weekend, few times last week did we wonder "what was going on?" win by 2 goals, but how many errors? How many people here thought we would walk over Offaly??? Not me, both counties have good young players - Wexford are still in the minor QF's. Also, they haven't played in a few weeks and I'm sure our lads will find it tough especially after some of the displays from last week.
    Molumphy should start, Kennedy out (what happened to him??) Big Dan out (I know... wait till he comes to form, but we can't wait any longer, this is it - last game before we're out for another year!) Jamie Nagle, don't think he is ready yet, played well, but need a bit more in midfield, although Brick wasn't on form either, Shane O'Sullivan played well too. Is there any chance of Murray playing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭mousey007

i'd agree that Dan the man should be dropped

Daisygirl wrote: »
    Yes, I hope Waterford will win and I'll be there cheering on the Deise.. but we have to beware of Wexford!! Laugh you may, but they seem to be our bogey team and Wexford are out to prove that the beating the received from Kilkenny wasn't there true colours, just like Offaly last weekend, few times last week did we wonder "what was going on?" win by 2 goals, but how many errors? How many people here thought we would walk over Offaly??? Not me, both counties have good young players - Wexford are still in the minor QF's. Also, they haven't played in a few weeks and I'm sure our lads will find it tough especially after some of the displays from last week.
    Molumphy should start, Kennedy out (what happened to him??) Big Dan out (I know... wait till he comes to form, but we can't wait any longer, this is it - last game before we're out for another year!) Jamie Nagle, don't think he is ready yet, played well, but need a bit more in midfield, although Brick wasn't on form either, Shane O'Sullivan played well too. Is there any chance of Murray playing?

I could live with never seeing Murray play again. Why on earth was he played so much last year only to be taken off in every game by Justin. Made no sense at all. How many times did we see him running after a player with his hurl stretched out praying for a hook because he messed up again? seemed to be his favourite move.
    He gave great service in the past but he's not at the races these days.

"Kennedy out (what happened to him??)" He played well against Kilkenny a few years back in the semi and that was it for me. I haven't seen anything to suggest he's going to be a decent player for us. He's very average. Unless he could maybe do more at half forward?

O'Sullivan did play well I thought and i'm glad to hear someone else say it, nothing amazing but it was enough to keep him where he is.

Dan to play Full Forward, that's my big hope for the weekend, he could bring back the glory days again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Daisygirl

I agree, Dan in front of the goal, scoring like he was last year... alas, he is not playing off the same hymn sheet. He's sluggish, unfocused and looks unfit. He barely got a touch of the ball last weekend, and when he did he couldn't even run with it, bad passing, making an ordeal of getting away from his opponent - with his particular form i'm afraid we won't be winning any All Irelands (I hope I'm wrong)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

God this thread makes me sick, You are either for your team or you are not!! Stop slating them. SOME waterford supporters make me sick, ye are all for celebrating when we win and when we lose ye are the first to stick knives into the backs of the men putting their lives and reputations on hold for the good of their county, Dan will come right, he hasnt given an off the wall performance like last year but he is handy to have there. Who else do we have??????
    Also please stop starting rumours, nobody is a recovering alcoholic.
    Now i am off to support my team, win lose or draw I will come home today proud to be from Waterford and proud of the lads who have been breaking their backs all winter training to be abused the way they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

I agree, Dan in front of the goal, scoring like he was last year... alas, he is not playing off the same hymn sheet. He's sluggish, unfocused and looks unfit. He barely got a touch of the ball last weekend, and when he did he couldn't even run with it, bad passing, making an ordeal of getting away from his opponent - with his particular form i'm afraid we won't be winning any All Irelands (I hope I'm wrong)

Spot on.He really is a shadow of himself from last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭Green Hornet

Davie is an awful public speaker....

Agreed. He is brutal. His aftermatch interview was cringeworthy.

Good game though. I think Wexford were a tad unlucky to lose but Tipp will beat Waterford well in any case I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

Enjoyable game, good to see Dan getting the goal, hopefully his return to form is coming at the right time for Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Great game, clearly Wexford are a quality team, particurly considering they were missing Rossiter and their most talented forwards like Rory Jacob and Banville were disapointing. As usual, the big probelm for Wexford is size, they are badly behind in strength and height compared to the likes of Cork and Kilkenny. Offaly are sorting that problem out a bit better then Wexford right now imo. It looks like they have a nice minor team as well.

Congrats to Waterford, always make hurling entertaining. That fullback is dodgy as hell though. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

I think Dan is back after his second half yesterday. Took his scores well and looked more interested than he has done in the last couple of matches. Could he be hitting peak form just at the right time. When Dan's plays well he really gets Waterford going. I think they are a good outside bet for the All-Ireland this year. They were 8/1 with Paddy Power last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

CyberDave wrote: »
    I think Dan is back after his second half yesterday. Took his scores well and looked more interested than he has done in the last couple of matches. Could he be hitting peak form just at the right time. When Dan's plays well he really gets Waterford going. I think they are a good outside bet for the All-Ireland this year. They were 8/1 with Paddy Power last night.

i wouldnt go as far as saying he's back just yet, he hit two balls the whole game while he's man did a huge amount of hurling ( and even the gaol he completely mi**** it)

Cant see him getting any change out of Paul Curran who imo is the best full-back in the country at the moment.

While Davy Fitz is clearly a very good motivator and physical trainer, he is clearly out of his depth on the sideline when it comes to decision making and spotting switches and this i think will be their downfall against tipp, Lar Corbett and Eoin Kelly will destroy that full back line.

i wouldnt go as far as saying he's back just yet, he hit two balls the whole game while he's man did a huge amount of hurling ( and even the gaol he completely mi**** it)

Cant see him getting any change out of Paul Curran who imo is the best full-back in the country at the moment.

While Davy Fitz is clearly a very good motivator and physical trainer, he is clearly out of his depth on the sideline when it comes to decision making and spotting switches and this i think will be their downfall against tipp, Lar Corbett and Eoin Kelly will destroy that full back line.

Maybe they were not the best scores he got in the last couple of years, but they all count and they will give him the confidence he has been missing earlier on in the year. His demeanour after the match was the Dan from last year. On his day Dan can touble any full-back, we seen that last year. The full-back line is an obvious flaw with Waterford. Ken McGrath doesn't look comfortable in there.

Fitzgeralds slowness with switches is probably down to his inexperience. He will have probably learned more about himself and his management skills in the last two games than in his management career. Remember it's Liam Sheedy is inexperienced as a senior manager as well.

Maybe they were not the best scores he got in the last couple of years, but they all count and they will give him the confidence he has been missing earlier on in the year. His demeanour after the match was the Dan from last year. On his day Dan can touble any full-back, we seen that last year. The full-back line is an obvious flaw with Waterford. Ken McGrath doesn't look comfortable in there.

Fitzgeralds slowness with switches is probably down to his inexperience. He will have probably learned more about himself and his management skills in the last two games than in his management career. Remember Liam Sheedy is inexperienced as a senior manager as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

CyberDave wrote: »
    Fitzgeralds slowness with switches is probably down to his inexperience.

I appreciate that but i also think it has alot to do with the fact that he gets way too worked up on the sideline and looses focus during the game.