Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where's Wall-E?

• 21-07-2008 6:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 47

I was looking forward to seeing Wall-E in my local cinema (Tullamore) and went in search of the listings. One small problem though - it's not being shown :mad: By the looks of things, a lot of other cinemas aren't showing it either. Is this an extension of that bone-headed row which stopped the Sex and the City movie from being shown in loads of places?

How much money is being lost by both distributors and cinema owners because of sure-fire hits not being shown? It's not nice either to look forward to seeing films that aren't ever going to make it to the local flea-pit. How long will this row go on? I don't give a stuff about the internal wranglings between cinema chains and distributors - I want to see films on the big screen, not on DVD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭dog-man-star

The cinema in Tullamore is owned by the Savoy group, I imagine they'll send the Wall-E print down eventually, very odd they don't have it considering they're showing the likes of Meet Dave, it has to be an issue with getting hold of the reel!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Its not being shown in Savoy in Dublin atm... hope that consoles you somewhat ;)

Oh and hi to Tullamore o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

I got to see this in Dundrum, great flic, enjoyed it a lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

It is indeed weird that there Wall-E blurb on the omniplex site (Savoy , Screen etc) but yet none of them are actually showing the movie yet? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Fabio

Weird...maybe just logistics with the reel though as others have said.

Very nice film, make sure you see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭kmurph

It's showing 8 times a day here in the new Omniplex in Wexford and fantastic it looked too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I dunno if it's logistics. A big film like this opens in cinemas everywhere on the same day. No sign of it in Kilkenny either :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Probably not the reason, but cinema chains sometimes get into disputes with the distributors over this and that. There were loads of notices in the newspapers when SatC was showing that cinemas like IMC weren't showing it because of some arguement. Can't see any other reason why such a big chain would miss out on one of the bigger films of the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I don't think the OP really had any trouble finding the movie. I think he just came up with a clever thread title, and decided to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭ryoishin

I really want to see this but my usual cinema buddies are in Oz and Thailand.

I have no one to go with! I might have to bring that annoying fat chick who keeps asking me out.

It looks quality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Blisterman wrote: »
    I don't think the OP really had any trouble finding the movie. I think he just came up with a clever thread title, and decided to use it.

Ha! I never even copped that until you mentioned it there! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

ryoishin wrote: »

I have no one to go with! I might have to bring that annoying fat chick who keeps asking me out.

It looks quality.

go by yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

It looks quality.

She's a she, not an it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭JangoFett

I was looking forward to seeing Wall-E in my local cinema (Tullamore) and went in search of the listings. One small problem though - it's not being shown :mad: By the looks of things, a lot of other cinemas aren't showing it either. Is this an extension of that bone-headed row which stopped the Sex and the City movie from being shown in loads of places?

How much money is being lost by both distributors and cinema owners because of sure-fire hits not being shown? It's not nice either to look forward to seeing films that aren't ever going to make it to the local flea-pit. How long will this row go on? I don't give a stuff about the internal wranglings between cinema chains and distributors - I want to see films on the big screen, not on DVD.

Wall-E is in Portlaoise, heard bad things about it but, its in Portlaoise!

It looks quality.

Err, just go by yourself. I often go to the cinema on my own, in fact 9 times out of 10 I go by myself as it can make for a far more enjoyable experience. Watching a film like There Will Be Blood alone in the cinema with no one sitting near you is what cinema is all about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Err, just go by yourself. I often go to the cinema on my own, in fact 9 times out of 10 I go by myself as it can make for a far more enjoyable experience. Watching a film like There Will Be Blood alone in the cinema with no one sitting near you is what cinema is all about.

completely agree with this, try and figure out the showings that will be quietest and head out to see them.

You dont need to have lcompany to sit in the dark quietly and watch a film! :D

On WALL:E, i watched it last night with the rest of the batman overspill, and what a cracking little film it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

It looks quality.

What's with all the insecurities?

Ah here whats this the personal issues thread!

Ive been to the cinema on my own, well last time in ireland i was 14 and I went all the time when I lived in thailand but that was more for the air con.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Does anyone else think that there is a very strong resemblence between Wall-E and No5 from Short Circuit?

Hagar wrote: »
    Does anyone else think that there is a very strong resemblence between Wall-E and No5 from Short Circuit?

Massive, he's like a cross between Number 5 and ET

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Rotti Express

Blisterman wrote: »

Well spotted on the thread title :D

Thanks to the wonders of the internet, I did manage to find Wall-E. He's in Portlaoise or Athlone for all you midlanders out there. I am annoyed that if I do go see the film, I'll have to make a 40 mile round trip rather than going to my local cinema. I wish the cinema chain(s) and distributors would sort out whatever rows they're clearly having. If they keep this up, we're going to miss out on a lot of films on the big screen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Went last night, cracking little movie, so much you didn't really hear about. worth the watch for sure, looks great.

Hope the OP got to see it and enjoy it, the trouble with the midlands, 3 cinemas all an hour away! That was when i lived down there with the folks, not nice!

Went last night as well, enjoyed it, will be going back again at the weekend.

Can't believe that I've heard so many people say it was rubbish, one of the best animations I've seen and it's up there with Ratatouille imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Paulb_Boards.ie

I didn't like WALL-E at all. I love the character himself of course, but the movie wasn't great at all. It looks amazing, but in a movie, that isn't enough. There's no great plot to it, no real stand out scenes, no real script to it... WALL-E barely says a word... And the soundtrack was boring. Definitely not a great movie for Pixar to have created.

Ah here whats this the personal issues thread!

Ive been to the cinema on my own, well last time in ireland i was 14 and I went all the time when I lived in thailand but that was more for the air con.

I mostly go on my own. Well, i'm single now, so that's something to do with it. But i wouldn't just ask someone for the sake of it. If there's a movie i wanna see right now, i'd go to it, no bother. I see loads of people who go by themselves.

Fine fine, Ill go by myself.

tut.

Fine fine, Ill go by myself.

tut.

Eh? :confused:

My only criticism of it is that they should have kept it completely dialogue free.
    Although i understand they had to fit John Ratzenberger in there somewhere! :D

Paulb_boards.ie you should check out this! it sounds right up your street! ;)

LOL, why? I just checkout the page, and it doesn't look like something i'd get a kick out of :)

lol, i was just going by your comments on Wall:E about it lacking dialogue etc.

Its a cracking wee film by the way ;)

Eirebear wrote: »
    lol, i was just going by your comments on Wall:E about it lacking dialogue etc.

Its a cracking wee film by the way ;)

Oh right, lol. I was wondering :) I just like WALL-E, and wish he had gotten to speak more. Maybe like Johnny 5 in Short Circuit. Pixar usually make movies that have a lot of dialogue and characters, but this just felt like they wanted to make it look nice, but give no plot and give the characters nothing to say.

Cool :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

but this just felt like they wanted to make it look nice, but give no plot and give the characters nothing to say.
    The characters say an awful lot - just not with words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 922 ✭✭✭trishasaffron

Saw Wall-E yesterday with a bank holiday week-end crowd. Arrived when the cinema was mostly full. Full with large obese people with massive tubs of popcorn and sucking on straws dipped in enormous cups of soft drinks. the row behind was made up of an obese dad and 3 massive young boys all slurping and chewing. I felt so sorry for those kids. They can't be expected to have self control and appreciate proper food if the adults around them display such bad habits. Its up to the parents.

But then - delicious irony - have to admit it was pretty funny to see the large inactive obese humans in the cinema watching the large inactive obese humans on screen. Wonder will it make any difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I think Pixar are having a bit of a pop at the audience, with that one alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 sryk

loll..best of luck zen buddy...;)u njoy the muvy 2 z max wid her:D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

sryk wrote: »
    loll..best of luck zen buddy...;)u njoy the muvy 2 z max wid her:D
    Please do not use "txt spk". It's against charter rules and it makes my eyes bleed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

I see they've finally got around to showing it in kilkenny now... at 2:10 and 4:20 on weekdays. what fecking good is it that to me?

My local cinema has finially got Wall-E in and I'm really looking forward to seeing it this week. About time is all I can say.

Loveless wrote: »
    I see they've finally got around to showing it in kilkenny now... at 2:10 and 4:20 on weekdays. what fecking good is it that to me?

Not much, I think it's a little over younger film goers head.

For example it's not a Toy Story or Ratatouille, and in the two screenings I've been too - kids have been very restless and obviously don't fully understand the plot.