Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford v Offaly

• 19-07-2008 1:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭

Been trying to get teams for this but can't find them. Anyone have a link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Try the RTE SPORT website.

Hope Offaly win this one, being from Tipp I'm sick of Waterford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Hmmm. Eoin Kelly outscores Offaly. Not a great performance by the Waterford team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭tonc76

Not a great performance by any standards but a win all the same and a week to get things right before Wexford next Sunday

Huge performance from Kelly - 2 goals and a couple great points from play.

Midfield didn't play that well althpugh it was Nagle's debut. Brick has not been the player he was last year.

I can see Murray or Phelan being brought in for Kennedy next week as Offaly got too many scores from there

Full back line played well today I thought

Shanahan was poor as well as Hurney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

tonc76 wrote: »
    Not a great performance by any standards but a win all the same and a week to get things right before Wexford next Sunday

Huge performance from Kelly - 2 goals and a couple great points from play.

Midfield didn't play that well althpugh it was Nagle's debut. Brick has not been the player he was last year.

I can see Murray or Phelan being brought in for Kennedy next week as Offaly got too many scores from there

Full back line played well today I thought

Shanahan was poor as well as Hurney

Starting Hurney instead of Mollumphey (an all-star last season let's not forget) is a mad decision from what I can see. Hurney hasn't impressed at all. SHanahan was very poor today, barely had a touch.

Thought Nagle looked a bit inexperienced in the middle. Looks a handy player to have around though.

Kennedy has never been a wing back and the sooner managers realise that, the better for us. Throw the Bull out there next week and see how he gets on. Full back line looked very well, althuogh they weren't tested all that much. Shane O'Sullivan has really impressed me at wing back the last two games. Very neat player, cool under pressure. Might need to get a bit better at getrting tight but he looks good there.

Mullane was flying for the first half and showed a few glimmers second half too. Back on top form I reckon.

And there's not much you can say about Eoin Kelly today. I'd liken his performance today to the game against Cork a couple of years ago where he nearly won the game by himself. Excellent player when his head is right, and it seems to be right now.

Not the best performance overall, and Wexford will be a much bigger test next week. BUt hopefully they'll work on a few things and come through it.

nkay1985 wrote: »
    Starting Hurney instead of Mollumphey (an all-star last season let's not forget) is a mad decision from what I can see. Hurney hasn't impressed at all.

Hurney was used at centre forward when Declan Prendergast was injured bit he shouldn't still be there when Prendercast is back fit. Waterford with Prendergast at centre forward and Molumphy on the wing are a stronger force going forward.

Any mention of venue for next Sunday? Nolan Park would hardly be big enough? Double header at HQ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭hughes2558

They said on Rte that it will be at HQ

I'd expect it in Croker. Might go to it, tho I seem to jinx Waterford:o

Half back line is showing the loss of Ken McGrath.. while the full back line is stronger, I think it'd still be better to put him back in the half back line.

JHMEG wrote: »

Half back line is showing the loss of Ken McGrath.. while the full back line is stronger, I think it'd still be better to put him back in the half back line.

McGrath is a big loss across the half back line but full back needs to be sorted which he seems to have done although hasn't really been tested yet. Tony Brown has been playing great at centre back but we need to tighten up on the wings

I actually thought the half back line was seriously weak today, and someone like Cork who go for lots of points would make a lot of hay in that situation. While the full back line is stronger than it was, Waterford's problems in the back half still aren't completely solved.

We're trying to fix one position at a time :D Over the last number of years full back has been a problem which now seems to have been sorted with 2 clean sheets - although against weaker opposition. Half back line does have to get tighter though.

Up front we need a big improvement from Shanahan. Eoin McGrath was quiet today and Mullane showed flashes. Molumphy needs to improve. Prendergast is better at centre forward.

Kelly on the other hand is on fire :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

DONT YOU DARE GO SO :)

Good result today, but god we were poor!! As Davy fitz said after the game, Wexford will be laughing at us! I hope the game is on in croker!
    I agree re ken in full back, he is too much of a talented hurler to be wasted in there, he made two obvious mistakes today, i'd say there may be changes soon.
    I'm so happy we are back in full swing. I love this time of year! Way too nervous for half the game today though, we really have to up our game.
    Well done to Eoin Kelly on man of the match!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Jugs82

Congratulations to Waterford - proud to see another good display from Offaly, the future looks promising

Really thought Waterford were lucky to some degree yesterday - Kelly was fantastic and Mullane looked dangerous but aside from that, below par imo..

Also the referee did nothing to help Offaly and lets be honest 3 or 4 of Waterfords frees were dubious to say the least and McGrath was lucky not to get marching orders - a tick for a bad foul when already on a yellow - shocking stuff!!
    Not the best performance overall, and Wexford will be a much bigger test next week. BUt hopefully they'll work on a few things and come through it.

Dont agree at all tbh - Wexford wont be a 'much bigger' test than Offaly - not sure how you arrived at that opinion :confused::confused:

Anyways Rant over and best of luck to Waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

How the hell are Wexford going to be much bigger test then Offaly? Take away the two goals from the silly ass mistakes by the corner back in the first half and Offaly could have very easily won that game. They are aggressive, very young, have top class players down the middle and play a lovely style of hurling. A couple of more years experience and a few more victories and I can see this Offaly team being one of the best in the country. They have the extra dangermen, youth and rounded attack that the likes of Limerick, Dublin, Wexford and apparently Galway don't.

As for Waterford, the scoreline flattered them big time and they can thank Offaly's wayward shooting in the last ten minutes for an easy finish. Take Eoin Kelly out of the team and were would they have been last night? Moreover, with the likes of Hurney and Kennedy they are going to get destroyed at the semi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

Jugs82 wrote: »
    Also the referee did nothing to help Offaly and lets be honest 3 or 4 of Waterfords frees were dubious to say the least and McGrath was lucky not to get marching orders - a tick for a bad foul when already on a yellow - shocking stuff!!

Can't say I agree with you about that. Overall the referee was very poor and gave both sides a really bad time in terms of giving silly frees and such. But I can't say I think he gave Offaly a tougher time of it.

Jugs82 wrote: »
    Dont agree at all tbh - Wexford wont be a 'much bigger' test than Offaly - not sure how you arrived at that opinion :confused::confused:

I think Offaly are a better hurling side than Wexford but with their youth and inexperience I think Wexford will be a tougher test. They will also be rested - a luxury Offaly didn't have - playing a Waterford that had a tough game this weekend.

Wexford's performance first half against Kilkenny showed what they are caapable of. Fair enough, they fell to pieces second half. But a performance of that standard for 70 minutes will have us beaten if we don't shape up.

With regard to half back, either Phelan or Murray in instead of Kennedy should make a big difference. Or both of them instead of O'Sullivan and Kennedy. It's a shame to have Ken at full back but he appears to be the best we have back there. I wonder how bad Tony Browne would be back there. He reads the game well, is quite good under pressure etc. Maybe not physical enough there. But if he was any good there at all, he wouldn't have to run much and would have another few seasons in him yet.

nkay1985 wrote: »
    With regard to half back, either Phelan or Murray in instead of Kennedy should make a big difference. Or both of them instead of O'Sullivan and Kennedy. It's a shame to have Ken at full back but he appears to be the best we have back there. I wonder how bad Tony Browne would be back there. He reads the game well, is quite good under pressure etc. Maybe not physical enough there. But if he was any good there at all, he wouldn't have to run much and would have another few seasons in him yet.

I think either Phelan or Murray instead of Kennedy. I think O' Sullivan has been doing a good job so far. Tony Brown is too small for full back but has been doing well at CB in last 2 games.

Any official word on venue and time yet?

Orizio wrote: »
    Take away the two goals from the silly ass mistakes by the corner back in the first half and Offaly could have very easily won that game.
    That's one of the most stupid statements I've ever heard. Why the fook would you take out goals? It's like saying take out the goals by Italy and France would have won the 2006 World Cup.

As regards Eoin Kelly, well we all know that unlike some counties Waterford are not a one man show up front.

That's one of the most stupid statements I've ever heard. Why the fook would you take out goals? It's like saying take out the goals by Italy and France would have won the 2006 World Cup.

As regards Eoin Kelly, well we all know that unlike some counties Waterford are not a one man show up front.

My point was that all that seperated the teams yesterday was two bad mistakes form a young inexperienced corner back. In terms of skill and phsyicality both teams were at the same level. Straightforward and easy to understand right?

Eoin Kelly scored 2-13 out of the 2-18 yesterday. One man show yesterday, just like Canning for Galway. Mullane showed and started well but without Kelly yesterday ye would have been destroyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

In each game it only ever seems to be one of the Waterford forwards that click. Yes, the likes of Mullane, Shanahan, McGrath and Kelly are good forwards when then are on song, But I don't think there are many examples of all three of them clicking on the same day. Shanahan was anonymous yesterday and should have been taken off. Compared to last year he has really gone backwards. Mullane showed flashes of brilliance but tends to be a little selfish on the ball from time to time. The Waterford forwards are not bad, we have seen what they are capable of in the past but you have to admit that yesterday only Kelly and Mullane in periods were any real threat. If indeed Kelly wasn't on the pitch, there would have been somebody else there in his place and on the frees a lot of which would have been converted.

My point was that all that seperated the teams yesterday was two bad mistakes form a young inexperienced corner back. In terms of skill and phsyicality both teams were at the same level. Straightforward and easy to understand right?

Eoin Kelly scored 2-13 out of the 2-18 yesterday. One man show yesterday, just like Canning for Galway. Mullane showed and started well but without Kelly yesterday ye would have been destroyed.

If my aunt had balls she'd be my uncle:pac:

CyberDave wrote: »
    In each game it only ever seems to be one of the Waterford forwards that click. Yes, the likes of Mullane, Shanahan, McGrath and Kelly are good forwards when then are on song, But I don't think there are many examples of all three of them clicking on the same day. Shanahan was anonymous yesterday and should have been taken off. Compared to last year he has really gone backwards. Mullane showed flashes of brilliance but tends to be a little selfish on the ball from time to time. The Waterford forwards are not bad, we have seen what they are capable of in the past but you have to admit that yesterday only Kelly and Mullane in periods were any real threat. If indeed Kelly wasn't on the pitch, there would have been somebody else there in his place and on the frees a lot of which would have been converted.

Thats a good point, although if Kelly wasn't on the pitch yesterday they might not have gotten those all important goals. Its a shame, because when the likes of Flynn, Shanahan, Mullane etc connect together its usually something to behold.

The fact is that he was on the pitch so there's no point in speculating as to what might have happened if he wasn't.

I have said earlier in this thread that Shanahan is no where near last years form and needs to improve vastly.

Waterford are still in a qf next Sunday so we'll have to wait until then...

The fact is that he was on the pitch so there's no point in speculating as to what might have happened if he wasn't.

I have said earlier in this thread that Shanahan is no where near last years form and needs to improve vastly.

Waterford are still in a qf next Sunday so we'll have to wait until then...

Sure there is, if only to make the point that Waterford were both lucky and a one man show yesterday. ;)

Beyond that, best of luck to Waterford against Wexford. I'm sure they'll beat them, and lets hope they hammer Kilkenny after that...

Sure there is, if only to make the point that Waterford were both lucky and a one man show yesterday. ;)

Beyond that, best of luck to Waterford against Wexford. I'm sure they'll beat them, and lets hope they hammer Kilkenny after that...

Remember Wexford beat Waterford in the League, so they won't be afraid of Waterford.

:pac::pac::pac: fair enough lets hope the one man show takes down Wexford next Sunday so ;)

CyberDave wrote: »
    Remember Wexford beat Waterford in the League, so they won't be afraid of Waterford.

Tha was a long time ago now (in terms of the season) and I think Waterford have enough firepower to get past them. I couldn't see Waterford getting the same hammering if they were to meet KK and Wexford really haven't shown anything since winning Leinster in 2004

Sure it was, but the point is in pyschological terms. Wexford will understand it was at the beginning of the season but will believe they are as good as them. It is a local derby as well, which are generally very close.

Waterford are indeed more capable of beating Kilkenny because in the same psychological way Wexford just cannot believe they are good enough to beat Kilkenny.

Straightforward, easy to understand, and stupid. Just like saying it was mistakes by France that cost them the world cup too.. it wasn't really anything to do with Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,032 ✭✭✭She Devil

Waterford have learned their lesson very early on thank god. We got another chance to move on after yesterday and Davy Fitz won't let them forget it. You will see a stronger hungrier team emerge against Wexford. Mark my words!
    UP THE DEISE BOY ! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 blaaaaaa

l saw the waterford team were out training at half seven this morning on tramore sand hills so if that does'nt show how davy is changed things by making sure the lads were not drinking last nite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

...Wexford really haven't shown anything since winning Leinster in 2004

Bull. Who beat Tipp last year? Yes, that Tipp that drew twice with edventual All Ireland Finalists Limerick?

For God Sake... Take off the blinkers lad.

blaaaaaa wrote: »
    l saw the waterford team were out training at half seven this morning on tramore sand hills so if that does'nt show how davy is changed things by making sure the lads were not drinking last nite

Jeez! A return to the Clare methodology of the nineties. They only have a week until the next match, any other sessions will probably be ball work so they are not f**ked for the game next Sunday. It was his only chance to get some physical training done before next week.

Danno wrote: »
    Bull. Who beat Tipp last year? Yes, that Tipp that drew twice with edventual All Ireland Finalists Limerick
    Jeez, that's a tenuous link if ever there was one. Everyone knows Limerick really shouldn't have been in the final (and got a good hiding from KK to prove it), and that Tipp's Eoin Kelly was off form (didn't stop Thug Reale from trying to break his arm tho, as highlighted on the Sunday Game).

Wexford are a spent force. Their glory days are back some time in the 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

They'll have to beat Tipp first in the semi-final.

Danno wrote: »
    Bull. Who beat Tipp last year? Yes, that Tipp that drew twice with edventual All Ireland Finalists Limerick?

For God Sake... Take off the blinkers lad.

The same Limerick team that Waterford beat in the Munster final?

So Wexford > Tipp

Tipp = Limerick

Limerick > Tipp

Waterford > Limerick

Obviously Limerick > Waterford 2nd time round

As previoulsy stated Wexford haven't shown much since 2004:pac: