Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ulster football final.

• 19-07-2008 12:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭

Armagh v Fermanagh.

Armagh are the obvious favourites but I really hope Fermanagh can do it.

Thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Think you meant Armagh v Fermanagh. I hope Fermanagh win their 1st ulster. Theyve got a good chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Think you meant Armagh v Fermanagh. I hope Fermanagh win their 1st ulster. Theyve got a good chance.
    Damned beer. :o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Well I stand to win €250 if Fermanagh win, 60 if they don't!

Seriously as I tipped Armagh in the pools and as Smashey knows, Armagh don't lose Ulster finals! :o

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Seanies32 wrote: »

Seriously as I tipped Armagh in the pools and as Smashey knows, Armagh don't lose Ulster finals! :o
    You didn't have to remind me. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

smashey wrote: »
    You didn't have to remind me. :D

My bad, my bad!:D

Lol, it'll be 3/4 points or else Armagh will run riot. :D

Seriously, Not sure about Fermanagh defence since Wexford, but in a tight Ulster game it will be 3/4 points! Armagh will respect them and play it tight!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Would love to see Fermanagh win too but think armagh will wallop them and also picked them in the pools for Ulster:)

Will be interesting to see how jimmy white the ref gets on as he has been the best ref in Donegal for some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

It would be great to see Fermanagh finally winning a title but Armagh might have a bit more experience and firepower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Seanies32 wrote: »

does that includ the event of a draw

seriously though, would be loving it if the erne boys win, was in fermanagh last week, it was a sea of green and white flags then, there will be some hang over in the morning if they manage it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

draw, replay next sunday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭lorweld

irish-stew wrote: »
    draw, replay next sunday

Fantastic end! So exciting, fair play to Fermanagh for holding their nerve!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

All Fermanagh at the end, indeed they would have been kicking themselves if they lost after the number of changes they had!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

If Fermanagh lose the next day they will forever rue that 21 yard free missed by yer man in the 2nd half. Plus I counted at least 3 or 4 times when Fermanagh selfishly tried in vain for goals when taking a simple point from one of those opportunities would have sent Armagh packing. Somehow I suspect that Armagh will lie down as easy the next day and can see a Wexfordesque hammering on the agenda, Fermanagh had their chance to make history and blew it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

I think Fermanagh played into Armagh's hands by over-carrying the ball, they used far too many hand passing movements instead of kicking it long and direct. I'm sure the Orchard men were happy to deal with that sort of tactic all day, their blitz defence kept Fermanagh at bay for long enough.

And as mumhaabu already mentioned, Fermanagh were extremely naive in front of goals. Apart from some of their awful shooting from well placed positions, when they did kick direct, they continually tried to shoot for goals, instead of taking their points. A lost opportunity for Fermanagh i feel, the underdog only gets the one chance.

Fair play to fermanagh for the comeback, armagh should be having no 2nd chance though. I know they had a good few wides but they seemed to be lacking a left foot kicker in the 2nd half big time, the amount of times they came up the left wing in 2nd half with an easy oppurtunity begging, but the players always cut in to get on right but were then meeting cul-de-sacs.
    Armagh bench cant be up to much either when they took o rourke off and then put him back on later.
    What yez think of the ref(as a donegal man), he missed a few minor things but i thought he let the game flow well enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

shiibata wrote: »
    What yez think of the ref(as a donegal man), he missed a few minor things but i thought he let the game flow well enough
    The call against Mark Little at the end was very harsh i thought. From what i saw of it, he genuinely fisted the ball from his hand, but Mr White saw a throw and awarded a rather dubious free to Armagh. He gave several soft frees to both teams, could have let the play flow a bit more. Not a bad performance from the ref but you will see better this summer.

grenache wrote: »
    The call against Mark Little at the end was very harsh i thought. From what i saw of it, he genuinely fisted the ball from his hand, but Mr White saw a throw and awarded a rather dubious free to Armagh. He gave several soft frees to both teams, could have let the play flow a bit more. Not a bad performance from the ref but you will see better this summer.

Ye, will agree that call was very harsh indeed as he(ref) could not have seen it too well as there was a blanket of armagh men around him(little) and he should have given him benefit of doubt and yes seeing the replay of it, it looked a legal handpass. I thought he let the game flow well enough, yes some soft frees but compared to some refs, he let a lot go too.. Armagh right enough in 2nd half could not get near fermanagh to tackle them:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭tororosso

Well I guess the romance with Fermanagh this year will continue for at least one more day! I was shocked at how Armagh lost their composure in that 2nd half. Ok, Fermanagh started playing better but it was really Armagh who allowed them back in with terrible passing decisions and as for the referee: I thought he played for a draw in the final few minutes when Fermanagh were throwing the kitchen sink at Armagh desperately looking for an equaliser!!!

I was surprised Armagh left Aaron Kernan on as he made a fair few mistakes in the 2nd half and it was his slack kick on the sideline that led to Fermanaghs goal.....

Armagh must have lost nearly every kick out either way in that game :eek: