Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Father branded for taken photographs of own children in park

• 16-07-2008 3:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭

From todays daily mail

Nobody would haver blinked an eye if the man was taken the pictures of his children abroad on holiday or anywere else at home ,but his crime was to do so at a local park . :rolleyes:

As i mentioned in another thread ,it is not allowed by many schools to take photgraphs or use camcord to record your children at school events such as sports days,plays, exhibitions and such like .But for a fee of anything betwen £20 /26 ,the school will gladly sell you a copy of their pictures/official dvd .

We all want our children to be protected in every way but in future, one wonders will this rule extend to not taking pic or vidoes anywere ? .

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

I've been to Wolverhampton and the reaction of the people in this article doesn't surprise me.

There's something about being landlocked (or at least being a long way away from the sea) that does something to the mind, that's my figuring on the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

It might be that british insulur mentality coming to play a bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭Overdraft

flogen wrote: »
    I've been to Wolverhampton and the reaction of the people in this article doesn't surprise me.

You were in college there Adam, weren't you? What standard college was it? No offence, my son was considering going there but was warned off!

Overdraft wrote: »
    You were in college there Adam, weren't you? What standard college was it? No offence, my son was considering going there but was warned off!

I'll PM you rather than take this too far off topic!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Crazy story but doesn't surprise me, I've been taking pictures for years and have to say I've personally had no trouble with idiots saying I was breaking the law,.....however I've heard some horror stopries of normal people and security guards accusing people of breaking the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

To be honest, I don't really see anything to warrant an article .

Fella was taking pictures of the kids, people didn't know that it was his children, and showed some vigilance. Maybe they took it too far, but how is that a news?

The man taking pictures called the police, he probably went to the paper as well, so he is the one making a big deal about it.

Seriously - if you'd see someone taking pictures of your kids, wouldn't you be concerned? Or at least curious?

I find it ironic, that it's papers like Daily Mail that create this atmosphere of constant danger, but now they seem to be surprised that people are afraid.

ojewriej wrote: »
    I find it ironic, that it's papers like Daily Mail that create this atmosphere of constant danger, but now they seem to be surprised that people are afraid.

There is a fair amount of hypocrisy in the Daily Mail getting pious about this alright.

Is it news worthy? Of course not but the Daily Mail have decided it's news nonetheless - I do think the other people over-reacted, though.

flogen wrote: »
    I do think the other people over-reacted, though.

I agree, IF everything he said is true. We only have his side of the story there.

And judging by how eagerly he informed papers about it, he is prone to overreaction himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I do agree that the daily mail and other dailys dotend to focus on these type storys if ony cuz of the climate of ' Nanny state /BB fear , call it what you like .

Thing is are they newsworthy storys or just sign of times we live in ?

latchyco wrote: »
    I
    Thing is are they newsworthy storys or just sign of times we live in ?

It's a sign of a slow day in the newsroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

This sounds too much like the sort of horror story those who like to blame all the evils of the world on 'political correctness' would just love to see coming to pass. I question its accuracy.

But so saying it was true. And so saying somebody came up to you while you were taking pictures of your kids and accused you of being a paedophile. How would you react?

Me, if they said it within earshot of anybody else I would point out to them that they have just slandered me by making unfounded allegations in earshot of somebody else that would have been likely to reduce my standing in the eyes of that person (how much lower than a paedophile can you get?) and could I have their name and address please because I would really like my lawyer to send them a letter.

That would probably shut them up. Maybe it's what yer man should have tried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Great great ,a guy takes a few photos of kids and the whole place breaks up.

Meanwhile some chav kicks the shít out of some innocent person and wheelchairs them for life, no reaction.

It's a funny old newsworld, sure is cockeyed in its values.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭quad_red

It truly is paedo-geddon out there.

I would be shaken if some rabid cow accused me publicly of being a paedophile and wanting to post pictures of young children on the internet even AFTER I had shown her that I was taking pictures of my own children having fun on a bloody inflatable slide.