Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If Bob speaks you could do worse than listen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

PaulBrewer wrote: »

"don't listen to anything I say cause I'm usually full of crap" is the best advice there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

studiorat wrote: »
    "don't listen to anything I say cause I'm usually full of crap" is the best advice there.

Ah ... but he's not now is he?

2 things he say's interest me the 1/2" thing, everything he say's is true. Still 1/2" can be a nice effect. Though there's so few of them now that there's a better chance of them not being set up properly from studio to studio. And POD guitar thingys are crap, true. Amp Farm isn't any great shakes either.

Apart from that it's the same old schlock you could get from any issue of future music or sos. In fact he passes questions about mixing with the usual need to spend 20 years making tea for the rolling stones or similar rubbish. Likewise when someone mentions the fact that the website is crap he explains he's stuck for words and posts the dudes email. The site does look crap, my bleeding myspace looks better! Spare me from cheezy pictures of stars in the studio!

And then he has the nerve to say he's doing the site not to whore himself or his studio but to brag cause he's proud of it. Bite me!!!

I see his assistant hasn't had time to fill in his page, probably 'cause he's too busy setting up mixes for Bob to sign off on. He's done some great work but he's done his fair share of sh1te too. I wish people would stop looking at Bob 'bleeding' Clearmountain like he was Jesus Christ or Eric Clapton or something.

Anyway, Apogee are a great company, good products and more importantly seem to have good ethics and I'm sure Bob's a cool guy and everything but he needs a good slapping for that site, and the hole in the ozone layer that Neve is making too!!!

Surely they could have used the space at the back of that factory for storing cardboard boxes or something.

And another thing....
    ::D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

2 things he say's interest me the 1/2" thing, everything he say's is true. Still 1/2" can be a nice effect. Though there's so few of them now that there's a better chance of them not being set up properly from studio to studio. And POD guitar thingys are crap, true. Amp Farm isn't any great shakes either.

Apart from that it's the same old schlock you could get from any issue of future music or sos. In fact he passes questions about mixing with the usual need to spend 20 years making tea for the rolling stones or similar rubbish. Likewise when someone mentions the fact that the website is crap he explains he's stuck for words and posts the dudes email. The site does look crap, my bleeding myspace looks better! Spare me from cheezy pictures of stars in the studio!

And then he has the nerve to say he's doing the site not to whore himself or his studio but to brag cause he's proud of it. Bite me!!!

I see his assistant hasn't had time to fill in his page, probably 'cause he's too busy setting up mixes for Bob to sign off on. He's done some great work but he's done his fair share of sh1te too. I wish people would stop looking at Bob 'bleeding' Clearmountain like he was Jesus Christ or Eric Clapton or something.

Anyway, Apogee are a great company, good products and more importantly seem to have good ethics and I'm sure Bob's a cool guy and everything but he needs a good slapping for that site, and the hole in the ozone layer that Neve is making too!!!

Surely they could have used the space at the back of that factory for storing cardboard boxes or something.

And another thing....
    ::D;)

Ah Lads, such Negativity from ones so young? It makes me sad ....:confused:

Why just focus on the bad? That's not balanced critisism , that's just giving out - which many have pointed out before sours the Forum.

Here's a guy who defined the art of mixing from the 70s onwards and is still on top of his game.
    He still has a big buzz going on after 30 + years and is perfectly prepared to shoot the Audio breeze with all the enthusiasm of a novice.

Same old Schlock' or not doesn't make it less valid...

Anyone who has any length of Studio experience would probably agree with the following quote?
    To my mind a heavy weight like Bob saying it gives it much more gravitas that an article in a mag.

"1. Use your imagination. Listen carefully to cool sounding stuff on your favorite records, try to imagine what the mixer did to get it, then come up with your own version. It may end up better than what you were trying to duplicate, and it will be original.

2. When mixing, don't start with the drums - start with the vocal. Find an environment (verb, delays, etc.) and a sound (eq, dynamics, etc.) for the vocal that suits the lyric and the general mood of the song, then build your mix around that.

3. Listen to your mix on as many different sets of speakers as you can get your hands on, and keep changing monitor levels randomly. Ironically, the only type of speakers that really mean nothing for pop & rock record mixing are large, soffet-mounted studio monitors. Believe it or not, I find the easiest speakers to judge vocal, bass and bass drum levels & eq are my little self-powered Apple computer speakers, that, of course they stopped making.

4. When you start to feel like you can't make a decision about something - can't see the forest for the trees, take a 20 minute break. Go for a walk, get something to eat, you might even try to take a short nap. When you return to your mix things will be clearer. If possible, instead of finishing a mix at two in the morning, leave it up over night. First thing in the morning you'll immediately know what's wrong."

The Website is manky though!

:D go on outa that!
    Think of it as positive criticism Paul;) so your own will be better!!

I think the site and it's contents have a bit of a complacent tone to them. There's nothing on there I haven't read before, it's hardly John Watkinson like...

All due respect to the man like, but it's that's womans weekly territory, "and here's a poem that was sent in" Guffaw!!! I'd love to be a fly on the wall for that pint of Guinness. I expect he has better things to be doing anyway.

:D go on outa that!
    Think of it as positive criticism Paul;) so your own will be better!!

I think the site and it's contents have a bit of a complacent tone to them. There's nothing on there I haven't read before, it's hardly John Watkinson like...

All due respect to the man like, but it's that's womans weekly territory, "and here's a poem that was sent in" Guffaw!!! I'd love to be a fly on the wall for that pint of Guinness. I expect he has better things to be doing anyway.

Have you not gear to be testin instead a givin out like an oul wan?
    ;) ... about nothin'?

Why just focus on the bad? That's not balanced critisism , that's just giving out - which many have pointed out before sours the Forum.

I did say there was 2 things I agreed with. Besides for him to post his studio spec.'s and photos and then say it's only for special friends is pure wankology.
    Here's a guy who defined the art of mixing from the 70s onwards and is still on top of his game. He still has a big buzz going on after 30 + years and is perfectly prepared to shoot the Audio breeze with all the enthusiasm of a novice.

True but he could do that on Gearslutz if he wanted a chat!

It's just the usual "there are no rules" spiel. Personally I think it gives himless gravitas. Hanging a mix off a vocal, sure! But tell us about using 2 different compressors, or automating the multi band, using different settings for verse and chorus etc.

The Website is manky though!

Amen to that brother!

It's just the usual "there are no rules" spiel. Personally I think it gives himless gravitas. Hanging a mix off a vocal, sure! But tell us about using 2 different compressors, or automating the multi band, using different settings for verse and chorus etc.

!

He only does that for his special friends .... sure you can tell us ?

Have you not gear to be testin instead a givin out like an oul wan?
    ;) ... about nothin'?

ha ha ha! nice one!
    you stop windin' me up and I'll go email that carnet and me passport details!!!
    got dates today, off sat week. was expecting it to be Monday but there you are!!!

ha ha ha! nice one!
    you stop windin' me up and I'll go email that carnet and me passport details!!!
    got dates today, off sat week. was expecting it to be Monday but there you are!!!

Bleedin' Hippie!

Sat week? for how long is it?

Audient await photos with great interest. I forgot to get that d-sub and I'm not in til next week, butsure no hurry now is there?

Here, shouldn't you been watching your fellow curmudgeon Vincent Browne isn't he on about now?;)

Bleedin' Hippie!

Sat week? for how long is it?

Audient await photos with great interest. I forgot to get that d-sub and I'm not in til next week, butsure no hurry now is there?

Here, shouldn't you been watching your fellow curmudgeon Vincent Browne isn't he on about now?;)

more fun trolling you...
    back on the 2nd. 5 days up there is enough for me. Wouldn't have minded
    a few days by the sea but not viable with all the gear, transport etc.

I'll be getting the suit measured up for the "world music" Grammy soon after!

Will do a post and a photo before I hope.