Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Santa Ponsa police #?

• 15-07-2008 4:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭

Off-topic, but my little brother was just robbed out in Majorca (Santa Ponsa) by a local scumbag from my town who I used to be friends with. They took 2.5k on my brother and his friends and now my brother and his friends are stuck in Majorca without ANY money for a week. No food, nothing. My brother is only 18. He saved up for months in work, just so he could go away with his friends this summer. For some scumbag to steal his money which was hard-earned is absolutely disgusting and I'm fuming.

I need to get a contact number for the Santa Ponsa police. I called the Majorca national police but they didn't speak English. They gave me another number to call, but they don't speak english either.

I just need to get in contact with the police in Santa Ponsa. I can't get through to my brother's phone so naturally, I'm worried about him and want to make sure he is ok. I will have to wire him out money, so I need to speak to him.

Anyone who can help me, I'd be greatly appreciated.

John.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Maybe tourist info?
    TOURIST INFORMATION (Santa Ponsa) - 971 691 712
    From
    http://www.santaponsascene.com/phone.html

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

dlofnep wrote: »
    Off-topic, but my little brother was just robbed out in Majorca (Santa Ponsa) by a local scumbag from my town who I used to be friends with. They took 2.5k on my brother and his friends and now my brother and his friends are stuck in Majorca without ANY money for a week. No food, nothing. My brother is only 18. He saved up for months in work, just so he could go away with his friends this summer. For some scumbag to steal his money which was hard-earned is absolutely disgusting and I'm fuming.

I need to get a contact number for the Santa Ponsa police. I called the Majorca national police but they didn't speak English. They gave me another number to call, but they don't speak english either.

I just need to get in contact with the police in Santa Ponsa. I can't get through to my brother's phone so naturally, I'm worried about him and want to make sure he is ok. I will have to wire him out money, so I need to speak to him.

Anyone who can help me, I'd be greatly appreciated.

John.

Op I know your bro is your but why didnt they just tell this lad to f**k off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

get him to go see his rep and she/he will give him the number, so if he doesnt want to do that , the police station there is on the beach , well theres a little hut there think its open till 7 in the evening.

if he is stuck for money , if he booked it in an agency, you can go in there (to the agency)and give them money and they will transfer it over to the rep to give to them , it takes 24hours to transfer over.

terrible story, but he needs to get a police report done himself and the rep to sign it to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

God damn ****ing scumbags... make my blood boil.

Really bad thing to happen.. but.. how did it happen? No one is just going to let some ****ing scumbag prick take two and a half grand from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

Irish Consul 971 719 244

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

They took it from the safe. They didn't mug him for it. Thanks for the help guys. I'm cracking up here. Theres nothing more annoying than some kid working his head off for months to get away with his friends and then some scumbag stealing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Try contacting: Irish Embassy and Consuls in Spain http://www.dfa.ie/home/index.aspx?id=5520 - lists a different number to the one above.

Mallorca Honorary Consul General: Pedro Pablo Marrero Henning
    Address: Honorary Consul General of Ireland San Miguel, 68 A-7º/8º 07002 Palma de Mallorca
    Mallorca
    Telephone: +34971 722 504
    Fax: +34971 718 229
    Email: me.martinez@marrero-henning.com

Spanish Embassy in Ireland (page 121-122) http://www.dfa.ie/uploads/documents/Protocol/diplomatic%20list%20external%20website%204%20jul%2008_layout%201.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

They took it from the safe. They didn't mug him for it. Thanks for the help guys. I'm cracking up here. Theres nothing more annoying than some kid working his head off for months to get away with his friends and then some scumbag stealing it.

if they took it from the safe and it was locked, and the police do nothing about it , they can try and claim it back form the insurance. That **** man though seriously get him to go see the rep/police asap, there isnt really much you can do from this side tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

WHERE IN WATERFORD ARE YOU

I have a spanish friend living in tramore , she may be able to speak to the police for you , IF you want I with ring her and explain the story and ask her to help , she is a lovely women so i cannot see her not helping .

If its ok with her i'll PM you her number.
    if you want to go down this path

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

have a chat with the guards here as well, cant do any harm. approach the scumbags family here if its not going to put you in a dodge situation. buy a crossbow

Thanks appreciated, I'm in hillview. I texted my brother to ring my house phone so we can find out more info. I told him on the phone to contact the police. My text delivered so hopefully he will call soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭July

This may be no help at all considering it happened in Spain but, I wonder would it be of any use to contact the Gardai? They may even be able to provide a phone number (long shot I know).

What about phoning the scumbag's parents? Just to make it known to them.. Though, they're probably responsible for how the little f**ker has turned out so probably couldn't care less.

Edit: ^^ longshanks, great minds..

longshanks wrote: »
    have a chat with the guards here as well, cant do any harm. approach the scumbags family here if its not going to put you in a dodge situation. buy a crossbow

Called them already, they said they can't do anything cos it didn't occur in Ireland. They weren't really helpful at all.

July wrote: »
    What about phoning the scumbag's parents? Just to make it known to them.. Though, they're probably responsible for how the little f**ker has turned out so probably couldn't care less.

Ah, they are well aware of his long history. His poor mother has been through enough, I don't want to ring her worrying her. She's a nice woman and doesn't deserve to be involved. The guy who did it is an adult now, so she's not responsible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Thanks appreciated, I'm in hillview. I texted my brother to ring my house phone so we can find out more info. I told him on the phone to contact the police. My text delivered so hopefully he will call soon.

Ok so

But if you do need her to translate , Let me know and i'll contact her.

Ok thanks Rockman, appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Ah, they are well aware of his long history. His poor mother has been through enough, I don't want to ring her worrying her. She's a nice woman and doesn't deserve to be involved. The guy who did it is an adult now, so she's not responsible.

I would involve her. May sound harsh but she had a major part in how the little **** turned out.

Ah no - she did her best. Parents split up when he was young, so she didn't have a male authority in her house to sort him out. Anyways.. I don't want to go into the personal details about his mother. Sometimes, people are bad people because they are bad people.

The guy rang me cos I texted him and told him to return the money or I'm going to come over to Majorca. He knows that it wouldn't be in his best interests if I catch up with him. He said he didn't take it. I told him to go up to my brother and get him to call my mother. My brother wouldn't say he stole it unless he did. The guy is a known thief and was in my brother's apartment. He's filth. If I put a lie detector on him, I'd bet my life on it he'd fail. I'm still waiting for my brother to call so I can sort out some money through Western Union for him.

Ok, just a bit more info. My mother was speaking to the mother of one of the other boys on holidays with my brother. That youngfella said that a maid let in two guys into the apartment (assuming it's the two guys originally in question) because they said they were locked out.

I would assume this would put the hotel at fault as the maid should not have left in two people who were not staying in the apartment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Yep, get them to get to the holiday rep with this info.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

sueme wrote: »
    Irish Consul 971 719 244

+1 best people to call I'd say.

Hope the scumbag gets what's coming to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Get your brother to talk to the local police, ASAP, I was in santa ponsa a few weeks ago and the place is literally crawling with police, also he should report it to the rep, and the hotel manager, insurance may not cover it as for the little sh1te to get into the safe when there was nobody there, it'd have to be open.

My brother just called there. He spoke to the manager, the rep and police. He needs to go back to the police tomorrow morning. His friend has his bank card with him, so we're all putting money on the card for them all to take out from. Right now, my brother and his friends don't have one cent for food. I'm fuming.

Santa Ponsa is a small place. He won't be hard to find. And if he escapes back to Ireland avoiding the spanish police, he'll wish he's been arrested. He knows full well what I will do to him if I catch him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,962 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

That's really crap op, I hope you get a good outcome from all of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Batter the ****!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

In fairness you have no proof it was the accused fellow do you? There's nothing you can do really unless there is CCTV or something of the accused going into the hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

how?

My brother just called there. He spoke to the manager, the rep and police. He needs to go back to the police tomorrow morning. His friend has his bank card with him, so we're all putting money on the card for them all to take out from. Right now, my brother and his friends don't have one cent for food. I'm fuming.

Santa Ponsa is a small place. He won't be hard to find. And if he escapes back to Ireland avoiding the spanish police, he'll wish he's been arrested. He knows full well what I will do to him if I catch him.

no proof it was him
    if it was him how did he get into the safe

he might be a scumbag but in this situation i can also smell stupidness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

how?

Those safes are usually piss easy to open, fart on one and it'll open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

haven't read all the thread.

How was the E2.5k stolen?
    Did they have it in cash? If so, bad idea. No excuse for carrying large amounts of cash these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 kimcardashian

the guy who robbed your brother is some scut...

hope you get it all sorted out

x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Op I know your bro is your but why didnt they just tell this lad to f**k off?

well when you've read as many stories about kids knifing eachother over Pokémon cards as I have...

eh: ah, safe-crack and grab. I see.

Can't believe neither the police or the hotel are offering them anything to eat? spaniards steal enough of your damn fish...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

To all asking how they opened the safe. Most (if not all) electronic safes have over-ride codes, in case of forgotten passwords.

Its quite possible they either knew the code (from having the same model), they guessed it (not exactly complicated codes usually), or maybe even they told the maid they forgot the code and she got the override code for them.

Theres probably other simpler methods that i'm overlooking too.

Sorry to hear this dlofnep. Thats some major bollox right there. Hopefully they get sorted. What a little scummy wanker to do that ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Rabies wrote: »
    haven't read all the thread.

How was the E2.5k stolen?
    Did they have it in cash? If so, bad idea. No excuse for carrying large amounts of cash these days.
    Read the ****ing thread!

OP: You're brother saves 2.5k as spending money alone and he goes to Santa Ponsa? The guys clearly needs a kick up the arse himself for going to such a **** hole.

But, ****ty thing to happen none the less, plus i'd be talking to the rep and hotel manager ASAP regarding compensation!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Read the ****ing thread!

Read my ****ing post!

Sh!t thing to happen. But bringing loads of cash was a stupid thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Read the ****ing thread!

OP: You're brother saves 2.5k as spending money alone and he goes to Santa Ponsa? The guys clearly needs a kick up the arse himself for going to such a **** hole.

But, ****ty thing to happen none the less, plus i'd be talking to the rep and hotel manager ASAP regarding compensation!!

awright! awright! calm down!

To certain others: Encouraging/inciting violence is unacceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Read the ****ing thread!

Follow your own advice and read the OP's post properly , the 2.5k belonged to his brother and his brother's mates.

Sh1t thing to happen OP, knowing your background - the guy is in for a fun time when he returns ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

at least now u can have piece of mind that he wont be binge drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

He can always go around and get the free shots...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Spain uses the euro and spanish ATMs will happily take irish banklink and laser cards.Trusting a hotel safe with that amount of cash is stupid,imo,its just providing people with too much temptation.Hotel managers and duty managers will usually have an override code for the safe in case you forget the code,they are notorious for money going missing from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Any update on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Yea, I'm at dublin airport drinking a coffee and I just saw a scumbag getting off a flight with a half open safe containing sacks with dollar signs on them!!! No messin' lads! Permission to give chase?! Or will I just blow my rape-whistle and hope it alerts a gaurd?

Why would anyone take 2.5k on holidays? If anything they should've left it in the ATM (and taken cash out) or else had some of the money in notes and the rest in travellers cheques (not sure if they're accepted there, but I don't see why not?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

how do u know it was him