Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€400 Tournament - The Official Thread. €10,000 GUARANTEED Prize pool.

• 15-07-2008 1:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭

Saturday 19th July.

€400 + €40 "No Limit" Hold'em Freezeout.

2 Day Event.

Starting Stack : 10,000.

Clock : 40 minutes.

Start times :

Saturday, Day 1 : 8pm. Doors open at 6pm for 1 Table satellites.

Sunday, Day 2, The Final Table : 7pm.

€10,000 Guaranteed Prize pool.

Only 1 Satellite left.

Tuesday 15th July.

2 x €440 Tickets Guaranteed.

€40 + €5 "No Limit" Hold'em.

1 x €40 Rebuy or Top-up.

Starting Stack : 3,000.

Rebuy/Top-up : 4,000.

Clock : 20/30 minutes.

80 minute rebuy period (4 x 20 min levels).

Doors open at 8pm for a 9pm Start.

Satellite Structure.

25 - 50 - 20 minute clock
    50 - 100
    75 - 150
    100 - 200

20 minute break

150 - 300
    200 - 400
    300 - 600
    400 - 800
    500 - 1000
    600 - 1200
    800 - 1600

10 minute break

1000 - 2000
    1500 - 3000
    2000 - 4000 - 30 minute clock
    3000 - 6000
    4000 - 8000

Paddy Power On-line Satellites :

Tuesday 15th and Wednesday 16th July ;

$12 + $1.20 Feeder Satellite for Thursday's Grand Final. 9.30pm Start.

Thursday 17th July.

$75 + $7.50 Grand Final. 9.30pm Start.

If you would like to reserve yourself a seat for the Satellite or the Main Event, feel free to send me a pm or you can phone the Poker room on 01-7030679 between 8pm-6am.

Our Restaurant is now up and running with a seperate menu for the Poker room.

The Club is strictly over 21's.

See some of you tomorrow,

Alex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭tylerdurden94

Fantastic to see that this tournament will be guaranteed i really hope that it does well, oh if only i could qualify now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

Nice work on the GTD fo this one. Sadly, I haven't even tried to sat into this as I can't play on the 19th, stupid poxy friends having stupid poxy birthdays on the night of big tourneys :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

May donate to this. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Pabloh

I'll be in as well - nothing better to do for 2 days :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭playable_hand

Fantastic to see that this tournament will be guaranteed i really hope that it does well, oh if only i could qualify now.

they guarateeing it bcoz all they need is 25 players for 10k and they already have 16 tickets that won in their tues games, its very esy to get the extra 9 players

Ah i see!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭zsoulking

Menu for the Sporting Emporium €400 game

Slow braised Lamb Shank with Champ & Roast Potatoes and a Guinness Thyme and Balsamic Reduction.

Apple Pie with cream for desert.

John.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭babymaker6

will john be cooked or do we have to eat him raw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Has the structure been posted for the M.E?
    What time is dinner? (so I can time my earlier assault on Eddie Rockets)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

whos playing this?

Think they qualified 12 in the club, 1 last night on PPP. They have guaranteed it for 10k so thats 25 players required.

Im giving it a spin anyway, fully expect to be winning it so I guess I thank you all in advace for your contributions to the prizepool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭HIVeindhoven

extremely tempted to spin up to this, though i'll need a top 1 finish to break even for the week. Have numbers recovered recently in the S.E after the recent slump?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Jayminator

whos playing this?

Im giving it a spin anyway, fully expect to be winning it so I guess I thank you all in advace for your contributions to the prizepool.

You will be one jet lagged tilty mc tilter mofo as a consequence of vegas hooker excursions, titty bar titalations where you ask for the 12 inch versions of songs in order to extend your lap dance time cos your such a tight ass offfffallly ginger orse. You will also be fat due to frequent fine dining and bottles of miller full fat high alcohol intake with the smoozzy poker elite like KP n da like.

All of the above taken into account you will deffo win this so no Im not playing.

Oh and you are hawkeyes friend too so there.

extremely tempted to spin up to this, though i'll need a top 1 finish to break even for the week. Have numbers recovered recently in the S.E after the recent slump?

Yes numbers have recovered a bit. Was in there during the week and had mighty craic so good all round.

Jay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Donating

Jay,

cut to the chase? are you playing? if you would like to spare some time just tsfr me 400euro on pstars and we can call it quits. This way you save the 40 reg and about 5 or 6 hours that you could spend in the pub, spending the 40 reg that you saved.

Jay,

cut to the chase? are you playing?

Probably. Needing to work on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭HIVeindhoven

Gonna head in around 6 and try a sat for this. Anyone else going in for a spin? Presume they'll be doing an 80/90E STT for 2 tickets or something similar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭dacman

i might go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭zsoulking

Satellite running now

2 tickets up 4 grabs,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

Any1 any updates on this game...? runners - how many left etc...

35 runners and a lot of very good players amongst them. Had cashgame Martin and Sean Prenderville on my immediate right and Dacman and Liam Flood on my immediate left so hard to find a spot when you're card dead!

I didnt play great and there was 24 runners left when i was leaving at 1230

Not sure of the chip leaders but 3 of the early double up players were Pabloh, Mistermonkey and Russsh

Flushdraw wrote: »
    35 runners and a lot of very good players amongst them. Had cashgame Martin and Sean Prenderville on my immediate right and Dacman and Liam Flood on my immediate left so hard to find a spot when you're card dead!

I didnt play great and there was 24 runners left when i was leaving at 1230

Not sure of the chip leaders but 3 of the early double up players were Pabloh, Mistermonkey and Russsh

Sh!t man sounds like a tuff table, wasnt that many runners tho i taut they'd get more....

So does this mean you'll be at Stephens game tomorrow....

They were all tough tables Wes, just got stuck between a rock and a hard place ha! yeah should be at Stephens game. Resisted the temptation to play cash in the SE and headed home. If i get to bed before 6 i'll be playing. Hope to see u out there if you're around

yeah might do, by the way how was your holliers.

Just one word - CLASS!

I'll fill you in when i see you

Cool, talk to ya soon..

matusowesque

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

matusowesque

errrrrrm, you're on drugs? :eek:

kpnuts wrote: »
    errrrrrm, you're on drugs? :eek:

no no no, 2.5 times average to busto in 2 orbits.

matusowesque

Matusoesque would be how I would describe it alright. Was it €100 we had for the last longest..

6 left

John Swarbrigg 120K
    Me 48K
    Tony (doorman from McGs) 40K
    Oz 38K
    ? 75K
    ? 36K

Play resumes @ 6.30 tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 444 ✭✭dacman

pretty meh tourney for me. gl to all left

Results?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭hatedajacks

Swar took this down with Oz second. My hero!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

Swar took this down with Oz second. My hero!

Yeah, Oz is pretty heroic.

Filthy luckbox that he is.

Congrats Mr Swar, well done Oz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭SWAR

Congrats Mr Swar, well done Oz.

Cheers Danny.

I must say that the SE put on a great show for this tournament...not only was it an excellent structure but the food on saturday was second to none and all 6 of us that were back on Sunday were treated to a free dinner in their new restaurant.

The numbers seem to be picking up again. WP Alex & John for taking all comments on board and doing something about it.

Its a good sign that numbers are picking up as you say and that a good show was put on for the players. Hopefully in no time it will be back to the old times full tournamnet tables and loads of fish in the cash game for you shark's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭ozpoker

Cudos to John for taking this down. We did a saver deal at the end, but still played for €1000. I feel pretty confident he outplayed me HU.

He also made a great play at the FT that deserves some mention. Some of these details might not be exact but it went something like this. When we were 7 handed, Jay opened from the CO and John called on the button. The flop came down T high uncoordinated, Jay cbet and John called. Turn was a brick and it went check-check. River is another brick and Jay bet nearly the pot, about 80% of his stack. John dwelled up for a few minutes, and said, "I just don't see what you have here to beat me", and called with KQ no pair! And it was good!

I knew right then that, if I got to HU, I didn't want it to be against SWAR.

Thanks to the SE and John, Alex, and Geoff. They really are trying to turn things around and they deserve another chance from all the boardsies.

ozpoker wrote: »
    Cudos to John for taking this down. We did a saver deal at the end, but still played for €1000. I feel pretty confident he outplayed me HU.

He also made a great play at the FT that deserves some mention. Some of these details might not be exact but it went something like this. When we were 7 handed, Jay opened from the CO and John called on the button. The flop came down T high uncoordinated, Jay cbet and John called. Turn was a brick and it went check-check. River is another brick and Jay bet nearly the pot, about 80% of his stack. John dwelled up for a few minutes, and said, "I just don't see what you have here to beat me", and called with KQ no pair! And it was good!

I knew right then that, if I got to HU, I didn't want it to be against SWAR.

Thanks to the SE and John, Alex, and Geoff. They really are trying to turn things around and they deserve another chance from all the boardsies.

WP also OZ, a cuple of coolers heads up sealed it for me really.

I just thought I would correct some of the details regarding the hand against Jay. We were 6 handed and he did open from the CO and I called from the button with KhQc...flop was 10 high with 2 hearts and it went check check...turn paired the board with a third heart (4h I think) and Jay bet just over half the pot and I make the call...river came a Js and he then bets over 2/3's pot. I felt that even A high in this spot had a certain amount of show down value, whatever about a pair and the fact that I called his bet on the turn once the board paired made his bet stink even more on the river. I felt he either had a very big hand or absolute air and the only way he could win the pot was by having a stab at it. I did dwel up for quite a while (well I did only have K high) and felt he could be bluffing with the best hand (A high) but as I said A high did have a certain amount of show down value at that stage given the action went check check on the flop. That was my rational anyway...flawed or not!

John "The Sickness" Swarbrigg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Oz and SWAR, two of the most consistant players head up? seems plausable.. Wd lads. Good field pity I couldn't make it..next time, I'm gaggin for a game.

SWAR wrote: »
    WP also OZ, a cuple of coolers heads up sealed it for me really.

I just thought I would correct some of the details regarding the hand against Jay. We were 6 handed and he did open from the CO and I called from the button with KhQc...flop was 10 high with 2 hearts and it went check check...turn paired the board with a third heart (4h I think) and Jay bet just over half the pot and I make the call...river came a Js and he then bets over 2/3's pot. I felt that even A high in this spot had a certain amount of show down value, whatever about a pair and the fact that I called his bet on the turn once the board paired made his bet stink even more on the river. I felt he either had a very big hand or absolute air and the only way he could win the pot was by having a stab at it. I did dwel up for quite a while (well I did only have K high) and felt he could be bluffing with the best hand (A high) but as I said A high did have a certain amount of show down value at that stage given the action went check check on the flop. That was my rational anyway...flawed or not!

Hi John,
    Flop was 10h 8h 4d, turn 4h river Js.

Flop went check check.

I cant really get it how A high had showdown value here John if i'm OOP in the hand with 2 hearts on the flop and the board pairing on the turn if i'm trying to get you off the pot..I have to keep firing to take the pot down. What happens if I check the turn too and give you the chance to bluff me off the pot. Maybe someone can put me right on that line??
    Mistake no1 from me was not to bet the flop.. I was looking to CR that flop anyhow.

On the turn I could easily have been betting any range from A high, str8 draw, flush draw or 2 pair to a monster of 10 10. Your flat call on my turn bet made me think you were on the FD which in fact you were with the Kh. My thinking for my river bet was a blank on the river and I can take it away from you with a value bet that showed some strength ( I had left very little of my stack behind but you did nt notice this. You need to pay more attention to that). The J on the river I thought eliminated 79 & Q9 from your range for the st8 and so you missed your FD (which was true). A value bet of 2/3rds pot on river would have stank of a big hand IMO and if i were in your position I could never make the call even with A high let alone K fkn high. But thats why your the Swaaaaarrrr and Im just poor oul ABC Jay.

The river completes a possible st8 draw, the FD & the housey house house on the turn. 90% of the time if Im bluffing here im bluffing you with the best hand or with a monster the way the action went. I dont know how you could make the call when your FD missed.

It was the 1st hour of the FT I had been very tight and quiet and had not got out of line once. I only re raised OZ once with KK in my BB and besides that I had been very inactive. You had began to open a lot of pots and began to call a lot of raises. I had seen you fold 3 times in that hour to both flop & turn bets from initial raisers but you found the super hero K high call against me.

This post will probably be moved to the HH section btw

I just think that over the long term that type of call is deffo -EV

WP though I was impressed with your (flawed) rationale of the hand afterwards.

ozpoker wrote: »

WP Oz,
    Just to point out he did nt make a great play, he made a great call but Im not bitter. He also did nt say "I just don't see what you have here to beat me", He said ''Im just trying to work out what hands beat me'' but Im still not bitter. He also said '' I think your bluffing but bluffing with the best hand'', He also said ''This will be another hero call''...

He just likes the attention. And as we had an audience he made the call knowing he could muck if he was wrong. That is all.... I'm not bitter.

Jayminator wrote: »
    Hi John,
    Flop was 10h 8h 4d, turn 4h river Js.

Flop went check check.

I cant really get it how A high had showdown value here John if i'm OOP in the hand with 2 hearts on the flop and the board pairing on the turn if i'm trying to get you off the pot..I have to keep firing to take the pot down. What happens if I check the turn too and give you the chance to bluff me off the pot. Maybe someone can put me right on that line??
    Mistake no1 from me was not to bet the flop.. I was looking to CR that flop anyhow.

On the turn I could easily have been betting any range from A high, str8 draw, flush draw or 2 pair to a monster of 10 10. Your flat call on my turn bet made me think you were on the FD which in fact you were with the Kh. My thinking for my river bet was a blank on the river and I can take it away from you with a value bet that showed some strength ( I had left very little of my stack behind but you did nt notice this. You need to pay more attention to that). The J on the river I thought eliminated 79 & Q9 from your range for the st8 and so you missed your FD (which was true). A value bet of 2/3rds pot on river would have stank of a big hand IMO and if i were in your position I could never make the call even with A high let alone K fkn high. But thats why your the Swaaaaarrrr and Im just poor oul ABC Jay.

The river completes a possible st8 draw, the FD & the housey house house on the turn. 90% of the time if Im bluffing here im bluffing you with the best hand or with a monster the way the action went. I dont know how you could make the call when your FD missed.

It was the 1st hour of the FT I had been very tight and quiet and had not got out of line once. I only re raised OZ once with KK in my BB and besides that I had been very inactive. You had began to open a lot of pots and began to call a lot of raises. I had seen you fold 3 times in that hour to both flop & turn bets from initial raisers but you found the super hero K high call against me.

This post will probably be moved to the HH section btw

I just think that over the long term that type of call is deffo -EV

WP though I was impressed with your (flawed) rationale of the hand afterwards.

Thanks for the emmm compliment Jay!!!!

A high does have a certain amount of showdown value in this instance if as you say you put me on a flush draw. I could of been calling with say Ah 9s or something like that, in which case A x would chop the pot. Wow you were planning on check raising with K5 off suit (no hearts)...or did you have the 5h.

Yes on the turn you could of been betting with some sort of str8 draw or whatever...why would you not continuation bet on the flop with a str8 draw...yes you could of check raised me I suppose. Personally if I had hit my str8 on the river I would of gone into check call mode given the fact that my opponent called my bet on the turn when the flush came and also paired the board. As for your stack size, I calculated that you had just over 45K at the start of the hand and with your bet on the river you had invested a total of just under 20k...leaving you with quite a bit more that half your stack...see I was paying attention. Don't forget you had enough chips to play that 44 hand aagainst my 88!!!

I agree that I had opened a lot of pots but I strongly disagree that I called a lot of raises. I presume you are talking about the hand in question and also the hand where I made it 4,000 when it was folded to me on the button with J9 and the BB re-reaies to 10,000. I called in that instance as I felt that particular guy would move all-in regardless of the flop and plus he didn't have much chips left so it was an opportunity to eliminate a player. I did flop a str8 with a Q 10 8 board only for it to come 9 J for chop chop as you remember. I have no idea what you are talking about when you say I folded to flop and river bets 3 times...posibbly SB v BB.

Yes you hadn't been that active, but we had only been playing for about 15 - 20 minutes at that particular point in time.

"I just think that over the long term that type of call is deffo -EV" - You may be right with what you say here but I don't like this saying as the fact of the matter is that it's not every day that you make a call with K high and belive it is good...I gave you my rational (although you think it's flawed...probably right!!) and I stand over it.

Anyhow,
    Went out in 6th for €650 after having to come back on the SUnday evening to finish it out. Some pretty sick hands to cripple me. My set getting rivered to a str8 but donkey me still making the call and paying off John knowing the Swaaar had the 8 to make the St8.
    My KK getting no action from Oz when I hoped he would think I was just protecting my BB.

Both OZ and AN other should have been gone before me when OZ busted QQ with A5 after making a move on a button raise and AN other should have been gone before me when Swaaar flopped the nutz getting it all in only for the villian to hit runner runner for the split pot.

Then AN other 66 holding up against my KJ for my final hand.. Ah well thats why we love the game so much.

I have to say the lads are really making an effort which is great to see and I will now be playing my poker a lot more back in the old SE. The food on the saturday was top notch and I did nt hang around for the free dinner last night after getting knocked out.

Well done to Alex, John, Jeff and all the crew up there. My only gripe which I became quite verbal about was the fact that they took our clock screen away from us when we were 6 handed so they could use it for the Sunday €50 game.
    Our clock became a stop watch on the table with Oz having to re set it for each blind level. This imo is totally unacceptable for a €440 event. I had been using the screen for the obvious calculations and times for blind level changes & antes etc etc which were now written down on a piece of paper. I was told that this is what they usually do if the FT of a tourny has to come back on the Sunday and that they were using the clock screen for the Sunday game. End of.. This is simply not true. The previous FTs that I had to come back on the Sunday for used the main clock screens.
    It was tough enough concentrating on the hands after 2 hours kip without having to ask how long was left etc etc in the levels. Rant over.

Very enjoyable tourny and so happy that I took €100 off BCB @ 11/10 that I would last longer than him. He aint paid me btw

Jay

Jayminator wrote: »
    WP Oz,
    Just to point out he did nt make a great play, he made a great call but Im not bitter. He also did nt say "I just don't see what you have here to beat me", He said ''Im just trying to work out what hands beat me'' but Im still not bitter. He also said '' I think your bluffing but bluffing with the best hand'', He also said ''This will be another hero call''...

He just likes the attention. And as we had an audience he made the call knowing he could muck if he was wrong. That is all.... I'm not bitter.

WOW...Jay what I said was "I'm trying to work out what i'm beating here" and that "I think you might be bluffing but you could be bluffing with the best hand"...yes I did say "it would be a hero call"...and it was as it turned out....not bitter eh...ya tilt munger!!!

SWAR wrote: »
    Thanks for the emmm compliment Jay!!!!

A high does have a certain amount of showdown value in this instance if as you say you put me on a flush draw. I could of been calling with say Ah 9s or something like that, in which case A x would chop the pot. Wow you were planning on check raising with K5 off suit (no hearts)...or did you have the 5h.

Yes on the turn you could of been betting with some sort of str8 draw or whatever...why would you not continuation bet on the flop with a str8 draw...yes you could of check raised me I suppose. Personally if I had hit my str8 on the river I would of gone into check call mode given the fact that my opponent called my bet on the turn when the flush came and also paired the board. As for your stack size, I calculated that you had just over 45K at the start of the hand and with your bet on the river you had invested a total of just under 20k...leaving you with quite a bit more that half your stack...see I was paying attention. Don't forget you had enough chips to play that 44 hand aagainst my 88!!!

I agree that I had opened a lot of pots but I strongly disagree that I called a lot of raises. I presume you are talking about the hand in question and also the hand where I made it 4,000 when it was folded to me on the button with J9 and the BB re-reaies to 10,000. I called in that instance as I felt that particular guy would move all-in regardless of the flop and plus he didn't have much chips left so it was an opportunity to eliminate a player. I did flop a str8 with a Q 10 8 board only for it to come 9 J for chop chop as you remember. I have no idea what you are talking about when you say I folded to flop and river bets 3 times...posibbly SB v BB.

Yes you hadn't been that active, but we had only been playing for about 15 - 20 minutes at that particular point in time.

"I just think that over the long term that type of call is deffo -EV" - You may be right with what you say here but I don't like this saying as the fact of the matter is that it's not every day that you make a call with K high and belive it is good...I gave you my rational (although you think it's flawed...probably right!!) and I stand over it.

John,
    You know Im having a go a bit here.

As I said last night it was a very impressive call. Yes I did have the 5h but it was quite irrelevant in the hand. I dont believe the showdown value theory here or else I just dont get it cos im thick but you were behind to AK, AQ,AJ,A10 etc etc. I had opened the pot and fired 2 barrels at the pot after being very inactive at the table so I feel I should of been given some credit here for at least A high or a pair.
    With regard to CR with K5 off and on that flop.... Well I ve done worse..

I also did say I could nt find a call there and was very impressed with your call.

You had called 3 raises although in position and folded to bets. This I am quite sure about. I am not even counting our hand or the hand when you flopped the nuts.
    You folded twice on the button when someone bet into you after you called an initial raise. Anyhow moving on.
    We were deffo playing for more than 15-20 minutes at that stage. More like 20-25 minutes.

Why would I go into check call mode when board paired if I have a monster and you ve called my turn bet with a FD. Im leading out on the river regardless. If you missed your flush on the river you are checking behind if I check and only calling me if the flush hits. If I have a big hand and you ve called my turn bet then I'm betting for value.
    As you said I either had a monster or air so I value bet the river representing the latter.

Ignore my -EV comment. Im only using that for the maths chumps and actually only slagging ya.

Anyhow you are a luck box and have nice hair. End of..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭RockRory

John "The Sickness" Swarbrigg

Sick and Pure Class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Cliffnotes: The sooner the Swarbrigg ****s off and hit and runs the SE and goes Arab the better from Jay and Oz's point of view. :) Sounds like a good fun tournie.