Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Sorry, can I ask you a few questions?"

• 14-07-2008 3:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭

So can you just do a survey on the streets if the mood takes you?Just make up a few questions grab a clipboard and generally harass the public?

What would make you stop and answer the questions if you were stopped on the street? Do you have to have an interest in the subject or do you just have to fancy the person asking the questions?

Seriously, is there any law about just stopping people on the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

6th wrote: »
    So can you just do a survey on the streets if the mood takes you?Just make up a few questions grab a clipboard and generally harass the public?

What would make you stop and answer the questions if you were stopped on the street? Do you have to have an interest in the subject or do you just have to fancy the person asking the questions?

I did one as they wanted to take me to a pub that was near by to taste cider's....

this one i will _always_ stop and do..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Nope, you can stop people and ask them anything, what time it is? How much they weigh? etc.

Don't be surprised if you're considered to be rude by doing so. And you might get a slap for the second question I mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Hmmmm ...... cider? ..... interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I only answer survey questions regarding George Went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

You can do pretty much anything you want if you have a clip board under your arm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I stop for pretty girls

You can do pretty much anything you want if you have a clip board under your arm.

Except maybe clap your hands above your head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Keep on walking ... walking .. walking..

Headphones make it easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

A gaggle of hot blonds girls riding bikes in Eyre Square stopped me a few weeks ago. They offered me some fruit and told me to trade it for drink in the pub. Which I did. Lovely Kopparberg.
    Other than that I have never stopped for anyone. Recently there have been a lot of people looking for donations and sh!te around Galway. Practically at every street intersection and outside every single major retailer. Add to that all of the regular tramps and winos and beggars and it's insane.

Sandor wrote: »
    A gaggle of hot blonds girls riding bikes in Eyre Square stopped me a few weeks ago. They offered me some fruit and told me to trade it for drink in the pub. Which I did. Lovely Kopparberg.
    Other than that I have never stopped for anyone. Recently there have been a lot of people looking for donations and sh!te around Galway. Practically at every street intersection and outside every single major retailer. Add to that all of the regular tramps and winos and beggars and it's insane.
    How far away was the pub? Was there a chance you'd have got hungry on the way and eaten the fruit? Would they still accept an apple core for bartering purposes or would you have scuppered all your chances at free booze?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Throw on a hi viz jacket and you can probably get people to do just about anything. :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

ntlbell wrote: »
    I did one as they wanted to take me to a pub that was near by to taste cider's....

this one i will _always_ stop and do..

This happens to me all the time, usually on the corner of O connell St and abbey street. They test new flavours there all the time.

Guinness Breo? My fault.

SDooM wrote: »
    Guinness Breo? My fault.

/punches sDooM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

Only if you force them to stop. Nothing stopping them from breezing right by you.

I'm talking about questionaires not asking for money .... would that make a difference?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Phlann

It's those Concern guys that really bug me. I know that makes me sound a bit mean but jesus they're annoying.

Walking down Harcourt St./Stephen's Green/Grafton St./D'olier St has been like running the gauntlet lately.

I'd swear they've been brushing up on their tactics too. There were five of them on one side of D'Olier St the other day, craftily arranged in a formation that made it impossible to avoid more than one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

biko wrote: »
    I stop for pretty girls

Reminds me of one of my favourite movie clips of all time...

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=Ot0Lws8d76w

I definitely would have to stop and help these girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

If they told me it was for a university or somethin then I'd do it, but I rarely give them the opportunity to stop me. Wear a badge that says what uni you're from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I stop and generally give total bull**** answers.

Then chuckle to myself as I walk away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Avoid eye contact, cross the street. After that a shake of the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

I love being asked to stop, I give them a physcopathic look without saying a word :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

i prefer a clean "I dont speak english" and then walk on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Holsten wrote: »
    I stop and generally give total bull**** answers.

Then chuckle to myself as I walk away.
    I was stopped by some slag doing an AIDS survey lately, gave her the most bullsh*t answers I could think of, like I feel that AIDS was designed by god to get rid of rectum raiders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

biko wrote: »
    I stop for pretty girls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Some oul wan wouldnt let me shut my front door until I completed her fookin survey :(

On the street, only if they are good looking or they are clearly offering some freebie/entry in a draw.

Some gorgeous little brown haired tanned yoke from 02 caught me in the street once for a few questions.

"Thats grand! Now if I can just have your number Ill enter you in the draw"
    "Yeah, it is 086 12211221....thats her. So whats your number?"

Oooh yeah, playa *hi fives* :cool: :cool: :cool:

Oh, you will be shocked to learn she declined to give it btw. Smiled and joked through the annoyance of what was likely the 25th cheesy repeated attempt she faced that day.

Ive been tempted lately to rip the piss from those long haired/mullet bearing college lads working for Concern and the like. You know, the ones who try and approach you like a mate meeting you at the airport when you get off a flight to join him backpacking in Thailand, hand outstretched, the whole "alright my friend, can we have a chat?" types.

A whole performance modelled on the crazed fan who kidnapped Alan Partridge, ending with a demand for their number so we can all go on a lads piss up, it would be classic to video.

Even a watered down version where I occasionally interrupt the guy and try and extort as many things as possible from him during the conversation (a cigarette, a light, ask the time, rolling papers, a chewing gum, 50 cent for the bus, permission to use his mobile for a quick call, and then end it all by asking in your thickest Dublin accent for directions to somewhere pretty fookin obvious like Trinity or the GPO, and pretend not to understand his directions).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

I'll only stop to answer a questionairre for a profit-making company if they give me something in return. Why would I give my time up for free? If the interview takes 5 minutes, I think €5 is a fair price.

The reason I don't stop for charities is because they seem to hire the most precocious, cheeky, loud-mouthed little f**kers in Dublin to do their chugging for them. If I was stopped, just once, by a humble, friendly and dignified type looking to speak to me in the name of a charity, I would almost certainly stop and at least hear them out. But when some little s**tebag stops me, bouncing up and down on his heels and gives me a big, loud "ALRIGHT THERE MATEY! CAN I STOP YOU THERE FOR A QUICK CHAT?" - I tend to become less charitable than Robert Mugabe. First of all, you little c**t, I'm not your mate. I'm at least 10 years older than you and you will address me and respect me as an elder. Secondly, if you're doing work on behalf of starving kids in Africa, then at least have some kind of digified humility and stop acting like you just got off the bus from 0xegen after a weekend on the pills.

Rant over. Jesus. I think I need to check my blood pressure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

I'm talking about questionaires not asking for money .... would that make a difference?
    Aren't you working for some kind of a marketing outfit? I seem to recall something like that...

I work for a design & Advertising agency but this has nothing to do with my job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

I work for a design & Advertising agency but this has nothing to do with my job.
    Kewl, just wondering. I have nothing against marketing myself, its a valuable tool for developing business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

"Ask me hole"

or

"Go die in a fire"

Usually do the trick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

I've answered some questionnaires but only when sitting around in ucd years ago. it was just a bit of fun then.:)

But the people who keep walking in front of you pretending to be your friend and not taking no for an answer really makes me want punch them repeatedly.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

I ignore anyone unfamiliar who approaches me on the street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Sorry, can I ask you a few questions?

Mood dependant answer:

1) Avoid eyes and keep walking

2) So you should be, and no you fuckin' cant.

Annoying fuckers. them, and the ones with the buckets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

when someone asks you have you time to answer a few questions you should say yes, but say that you want to ask them a question first!!

they will say yes and then you ask them: "do you prefer rohypnol or a good oul fashioned hammer to the head?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

I feel almost ashamed to admit that I feel sorry for them 'cos I know they have a quota.

I usually help them out if I have the time.....:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I feel almost ashamed to admit that I feel sorry for them 'cos I know they have a quota.

I usually help them out if I have the time.....:o

Can I have your house? I've 16 childerns and no hooome to gooo ta :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Got the "can I talk to you for a moment" line on Abbey st last friday from one of the mullet lads. Told him I was heading for my bus in Dame st if he wanted to walk and talk and the look I got from him was amazing :p Lazy git told me he didnt want to walk that far :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

No, because I automatically assume they're scientologists.

I find "nich sprachen englisch" works well... (obviously not here, though!). If you're really mischeivious ask if they fancy a bum.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.