Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crossing The Rubicon With The iphone

• 14-07-2008 11:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2

There is no beauty that had not the slightest bit of strangness.

I like to think of myself as a very knowledgeable Techy. A geek who is unreserved in his geekness, who is a true believer, an early adaptor, a lover of the groundbreaking, a scoffer of the cautious, and hopeless believer that the next G will make my life simpler. (yes i'm a nerd).
    Yet my thoughts on the iphone have left me so very vexed, so very vexed indeed. Like Caesar standing on the banks of the rubicon, i know to buy one would be to cross an uncrossable barrier, to enter into an unretrievable situation.
    When the Ipod came out I adaptod with glee, I was enthralled, overcome with it's brilliance. I jumped into the ever growing masses, and happily entered where no geek dare go, Pop/mass culture. I didnt care, because the Ipod was superior, it was an excelent product. From its data transfer, its easy OS, to its wonderful TP3 applications, that to everyone who owns a car can atest to. It was easy, and solid.
    Yes it had it's flaws, Itunes isnt the easiest or most accesable system to use, nor was the sound quality truly fantastic at first. But it had a combined package that nothing else could compete against.
    It is few and far between, that a technological device, and the cutting edge of its industry can circulate into the masses so quickly, But the Ipod did, but the Iphone has left me so troubled. So very vexed.
    I have read so many reviews, heard so many opinions, and as snobby as it sounds ( and i fully accept that). alot of these reviews should no better. They should. Too many times have i heard, "so what if it doesnt do this" and so forth. It leaves one puzzled.
    I want the iphone to be brilliant, I want it to be as good as the Ipod was. But it isnt. I just cant accept it yet. I can perhaps get around its 2g issues, and even its still apparent inability to do the basic things like take video, but i just cant get around its fact that at the cutting edge, it fails.
    The OS is stunning,but as technoligical superior Windows mobile it is not. Its Snapper is ok but a camera it is not, It's gps is good, but a fully intergrated sat nav it is not. Its 3G is good, but HSDPA it is not. Its battery life is well.......
    I will take the argument that early adaptions require time, they require evolution, and niggling, I agree i do, but there in lies the point. The first iphone came at the right time, but this one has not. Is it not 12-18months too early. Is it not quiet ready yet. I think so, And i think it is merely a marketing phenonenom. And that is fine, I cant argue against it. But a technological masterpiece better than anything else on the market. It is not quiet there yet.
    I just dont see how it can be herald as such a groundbreaking device, when we are on the cusp of intergration. When it is the buzz word of the technological world. We strive for that simpler device, taking each aspect of the iphone except for its Beautiful appearence, and stunning touchscreen interface, It is not at the top end of intergration. There are many better products out there, Many better integrated products, who's innovation will be gobbled up by the subsequent iphone. Perhaps then it will be worthy, but from the techy point of view. I just cant cross that Rubicon yet.

(and im not refferning me or any nerd to being Caeser, merely the analogy of what crossing the rubicon meant, im not that much of a sap)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭elderlemon

You do realize that you are going to get into a ton of trouble for downing the iphone. Wouldn't like to be in your shoes!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭landmonster

ID10T wrote: »
    I like to think of myself as a very knowledgeable Techy.

Yet you write it Iphone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 ID10T

Im really not trying to down the iphone, and Landmonster, i just capitaled my title, i thought to make it clearer. is that not the done thing? im not trying to down the iphone, im just wondering as to why so many tech heads i know, just cant love it yet. What is the reason that is stopping it from being brilliant in their eyes. That is what im trying see if there is an opinion about that. I am not TRYING TO DISS IT or GET into a battle about what's better or anything like that. Its more an Epistimological argument than Onthological, and yes im well aware of my spelling. PLEASE DON"T THINK IM TRYING TO GET INTO A HATE/ NO POINT ARGUMENT ABOUT IT BEING CRAP. ITS NOT CRAP. I DONT THINK IT IS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Chergar

I think its as much a cultural thing as it is Technological. I think people don't like to admit something is the best if everyone has one. Yet you argue that you werent the same about the ipod. I know that the iphone has been reviewed in a different way from many other products, possibly because it is the successor to the ipod, and as such is given a positve starting base rather than a neutral.
    But it is stunning looking, and is intuativly easy and simply to use. Yet as you said, it does appear to lack alot of the technological Ticked boxes to really wooo over the nerd fraternity. I dont think your post is a trying to down it, and poses a good question. Why dont the nerds want to embrace it just yet.
    Perhaps, because it really is like taking a sip of cola, its horrible and sticky at first, but drink enough of it, and you begin to like it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭NiSmO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

NiSmO wrote: »

Ahaha, how true..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

ID10T wrote: »
    Its more an Epistimological argument than Onthological.

No it's an ontological argument, you only thought otherwise because you couldn't find the incorrect spelling in dictionary and simply defaulted to the former.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭strecker

A waste of words, but I totally agree :P

if the iPhone was made by Samsung or Motorola or even Nokia, it'd be seen correctly for what it is: a failed attempt at a useful fashion phone...

thanks to the apple hype machine and ignorant wh*res in the press it's become this phenomenon...

it's a nice/good/hot gadget... Some like it some don't - personally, I'd rather take a 2 year old e61i (to name just one) than an iPhone 3g... Others will queue for a week (which gives you an idea of how socially gifted and in need for an adequate communications device they are...)

crossing the rubicon? Get retail therapy! ;) :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

It has HSDPA 3G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Seems too big to have in my pocket. Thats just my 2 cents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭strecker

gpf101 wrote: »
    It has HSDPA 3G.

...and?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

strecker wrote: »
    ...and?

..and, he claimed it isn't. So he's wrong. Fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭DJ_Spider

cianclarke wrote: »
    ..and, he claimed it isn't. So he's wrong. Fail.

fail-1.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭mkennedy

The iphone's biggest accomplishment is its far superior intuitive touchscreen technology and the popularisation of smartphones among the non-early-adopter mainstream through an (admittedly ridiculous) hype-machine.

(even though some would argue it's not even a smartphone, just a very cool feature-phone- that's beside the point).

In doing so it's galvanised the whole smartphone industry to produce more consumer-friendly smartphones- not a bad thing at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭NullZer0

I feel a ban coming for me...aw well!

<b>GIMP!</b>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Jeeze lads give a guy a break !!! He's as entitled to an opinion as any of ye, just because it differs doesn't mean we slate him !!

Some of his post is slightly inaccurate - lack of 3G etc but I believe he was referring more to the iPhone concept than a specific device.

The iPod was groundbreaking because there wasn't much else out there at the time that could do what it did - cure barrage of contradictions here but those early devices didn't have the style or functionality of the iPod. Previous to this we had bulky portable CD players and cassette Walkmans. It was Sony who took their eye of the ball so to speak and let the iPod take over where it had reigned for years something they've paid for since imo. Had they come up with the first mass selling media device there probably wouldn't be an iPod today.

The iPhone though has been done before over and over again. There are many excellent devices that outshine the iPhone on the features front.

I would consider myself similar to the OP, a nerd, gadget freak etc. I have 4 PDAs here and countless other gadgets that rarely see the light of day, something new comes out . . . I buy it and feck the consequences so to speak. But I don't have an iPhone ! I didn't get carried away on the wave of hysteria that went with it. There are things about it that make me think hey ! how the hell can such a wonderful device not have :

A2DP - come on even my daughters W380 has this and it was 149 euro, my K750i has it - what were Apple thinking ffs !!

Decent AF Camera. My K750 has a decent 3.2MP autofocus camera as does my N73 with a Carl Zeiss lens no less !! (and A2DP)

These are just 2 things and I'm sure if I look harder I'll find many more but these things are available on cheaper devices that just make a nod towards media playing. These 2 items have kept me away from the iPhone so far. The iPhone is a full fledged iPod and phone which needs bluetooth for headsets so why not make it A2DP ? I can understand why the iPod Touch doesn't have it, but the iPhone ?!

I for one agree with the OP, I think the iPhone is there to bask in the success of the iPod Touch and if it wasn't for the Touch we wouldn't even be talking about it. The iPod Touch is the successful device I think, the iPhone while successful just isn't as desirable. I'd wager that most of those who buy it don't already own an iPod Touch.

ZEN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭nialler

I think a lot of us have missed the point, no offense to the OP but hang on. I sat on launch day (last year) in the apple store in Florida Mall and sat my 72 year old father and handed him an iPhone, told him to take a picture, attach it to an email and send it. Took him 3 mins, my father still calls me over to record on his sky digibox and tune in the TV.

That in itself is a statement of the ease and intuitiveness of the iPhone's UI.

Personally I haven't purchased one, overpriced for what it offered, being bound to a restrictive price plan with o2 and I haven't purchased a 3g one either, not sure if I will.

BUT

The UI and responsiveness is far superior to anything out there at the moment, Symbian my ar$e, multiple nokia's that I've had (E's & N's) have just frustrated me with slowness and difficulty generally in use and if I handed them to my father he'd look at me as if I had 2 heads. Hand him an iPhone and he's off using it. I'm a geek also, I do love my gadgets and yes it doesn't hold a candle to some of the feature packed phones out there but sometimes it's form over function. Personally I could do with a phone that can take the odd picture and send it via mms, send sms and make a decent phone call nothing more. Now throw ann iPod in the mix that can phone, give it decent web browsing (name one phone on the market with a decent browser) and make it simple to use, I think they're on to a winner, not a jesus phone by any way shape or form but it's a good phone and will hold a hefty position in the market if the ipod is anything to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Its a cool phone, no need to get to deep about it! Apple are masters at introducing improvements bit by bit. Wait for the 5mp camera in the next model. All a smart plan to temp upgraders!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

I wonder how many people have actually seen or taken a pic from an iPhone. My neighbour has one and the pictures are 100 times better than my Nokia E51 which is 2MP as well. Any pics I have taken with it are great and put my one to shame. It may be just a bad phone, but seeing as the speaker is knackered in it after 4 months, O2 are replacing it, and I'll try the replacement to see if its any better.Other than that, much as I'd love one, I'm not paying the stupid money o2 want, seing as the E51 integrates so well with the mac anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

gpf101 wrote: »
    Its a cool phone, no need to get to deep about it! Apple are masters at introducing improvements bit by bit. Wait for the 5mp camera in the next model. All a smart plan to temp upgraders!

This is what disturbs me about the modern Mac fan (and I've been using macs since System 6).

You are actually pleased that Apple are deliberately not introducing a good enough product, on the basis that they can introduce it one bit at a time and charge people 4 times over for it. Basically, Apple could release a phone with a decent camera, or feature X, Y, or Z, that their competitors have, but aren't because they want to sell you a replacement every year.

That's not a good thing. It means they're ripping you off and telling you in advance that's what they're doing. It's as though we should be pleased that they're deigning to allow us to buy their product at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭nialler

This is what disturbs me about the modern Mac fan (and I've been using macs since System 6).

You are actually pleased that Apple are deliberately not introducing a good enough product, on the basis that they can introduce it one bit at a time and charge people 4 times over for it. Basically, Apple could release a phone with a decent camera, or feature X, Y, or Z, that their competitors have, but aren't because they want to sell you a replacement every year.

That's not a good thing. It means they're ripping you off and telling you in advance that's what they're doing. It's as though we should be pleased that they're deigning to allow us to buy their product at all.

SE, SE30, II, IIx, IIfx think it was at 7 before the LC heap came out. Liked system 6 with multifinder there's a website somewhere on the net which emulates it, good fun. Were you using xpress 2.12 with Illustrator 88 and Photoshop 1 oh Pagemaker was around then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,852 ✭✭✭Hugh_C

NiSmO wrote: »

Maybe you should review your quoting technique nismo, you quoted the entire post.

I think it was a pretty good post but don't have direct experience of the iPhone, don't have the shekels.

HC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,588 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

nialler wrote: »
    SE, SE30, II, IIx, IIfx think it was at 7 before the LC heap came out. Liked system 6 with multifinder there's a website somewhere on the net which emulates it, good fun. Were you using xpress 2.12 with Illustrator 88 and Photoshop 1 oh Pagemaker was around then.

I think I was dividing between Illustrator and Quark, but don't ask me version numbers, I'm far to decrepid in the brain to remember that business. I just remember being impressed at the ability to paste your own icon designs onto things!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Dog Fan

I'm a little bit of a techie, but won't get an iphone.
    like Hugh_C I don't have the shekels,
    but, I don't have a use for the level of functions that the iphone provides,
    plus,
    my nokia has survived numerous drops out of pockets, as well as a few days working as a dummy/teething ring for my 17 month old daughter. Don't fancy seeing what her dribble would do to the iphone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

At the moment I'm tempted. Nokia have dirtied their bib so to speak with me. I bough a SIM Free N73ME about a year ago and initially was delighted with. A great music player and a standard 3.5mm headphone socket - happy days. 6 months ago Nokia released a new firmware update which promised A2DP. This was terrific and worked lovely.

Problem was that now the phone no longer worked with my Mac+Leopard via BlueTooth, I wasn't the only one having problems either. Nokias support forum was packed with people in the same situation, Apples forums too !

Neither accepted responsibility but as everything was fine prior to the update I assumed it was a Nokia problem. Anyway a month ago Nokia released a new firmware but unfortunately this didn't fix the problem so I have a 570 euro phone that don't talk Mac lingo.

Not only that but both new firmware updates have made the phone progressively more sluggish, 90 seconds from power on to usability, 20 seconds for the camera to come alive, and a useless T9 dictionary function (compared to the SE K800i at least).

So no more Nokias for me, the iPhone is looking more attractive now or maybe the SE K900 when/if it materialises ?! I'm a Sony fan, what can I say.

ZEN