Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coming out of depression - Sundays are difficult for some reason

• 13-07-2008 5:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I find I am always a little low on Sundays and can never put my finger on it for definite.

Today I am low and I was not out late last night or anything....I went into town without drinking for the first time ever and had abit of craic with the lads for an hour or so...got home went to bed....feeling a little down last night before going to bed and I think that's because I did not follow my new diet very strictly yesterday. I haven't done so today either but am starting afresh tomorrow. It's just a little relapse.

I know Sundays are a time for reflection so perhaps it's in our genes to be depressed on Sundays!! :o

I am sitting here thinking that maybe if I had a girlfriend or something like that we could go off and do something but even though i'd love a girlfriend I'm far away from that as I am coming out of depression and my social skills and self esteem is not great...baby steps though...

Going into town last night for an hour without drinking was a huge step but a baby step at the same time I think...

It might also be to do with the fact that work is tomorrow. I'm not really all that happy in the job but it's not too bad then when I actually do go in alot of the time.

Anyways would appreciate any input on this and also support as it would be nice to have someone to talk to in the next few months as I try to rebuild and find my place in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Heya,

Good luck with tomorrow. Maybe you're right bout feeling down on a sunday! That's why mass was on a sunday!! ;)

Everyone gets down the day before work, it's only natural. That's why it's called 'work'!! :D Just think that in five more tiny days, it'll be another weekend and another step to going out for longer.

If you don't want to drink and want to meet similar people, check out the Non Drinkers forum on this, there are usually meet ups with no alcohol, no pressue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭newname

Yeah sundays can be a depressing day especially if you were used to doing things on a sunday and then that changed. I give up the booze around 2 years ago and sundays were the worst day of the week for the first year. They are still depressing if I lay about the house all day, so i get out and do things now.
    You could just be bored on sundays tho.
    They were always kinda depressing tho even in childhood - mass, sunday dinner then crap TV and the thought of school next day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭pookie82

Hey. To be honest I've found Sundays - especially the evenings - the most depressing day of the week ever since I can remember, and i don't even suffer from depression. I think it stemmed from my youth when there was always the thoughts of the beginning of a school week the next morning (anyone else remember living in dread of the Glenroe closing music?.... always meant bedtime!!!). Seriously though, even when I started college and never dreaded a Monday as I loved my course and mates there etc or when I got a job that I loved and never hated going in, Sunday evenings always had that come down feeling for me, regardless of whether I was out or not (it had nothing to do woth a hangover). I'm sure if you talk to a lot of people they'll feel the same way. The weekend is over and in the morning it starts all over again....

Fair play to you for going out with your mates - depression can be extremely isolating so beginning to socially interact again is a sure sign that you're getting places...

I wouldn't let the Sunday evening feeling worry you. I think it afflicts a huge number of people. Don't take it as a sign that you're regressing or are in danger of relapsing. It might be an idea to go see a movie on Sunday evenings if you can or if you don't feel up to going out, fill it with dvds and a groups of friends or a good book. Just make sure it's nothing that's centred around alcohol and that it occupies your mind so you don't have time to dwell on the next day! Plus I recognise what you say about dreading a job but it not actually being that bad when you get in there most of the time... I've worked in places like that too - the thought is worse than the deed itself!

Congrats on getting better, slowly but surely you'll find that as you get out there more the opportunity to meet someone will come along. Don't rush yourself though - it's important to feel stable yourself first, and rely on close friends who understand to give you company and reassurance until then. When i was single I used to always think about what I'd be doing on a Sunday eve in particular if I was part of a couple, as those around me were always at something or other (film/dinner etc). But now that I'm in a relationship we usually just sit in and be miserable together!!!! :-)

Hang in there and you'll be grand. Best of luck :-)