Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mountjoy riot

• 12-07-2008 4:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭

yes its that time again when even our criminals have had enough they ve started a new riot today!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

good stuff nothing like a riot to brighten up the day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

FIGHT THE POWER.
    Any particular reason (other than eh...being locked up) they've kicked off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

PrivateEye wrote: »
    FIGHT THE POWER.
    Any particular reason (other than eh...being locked up) they've kicked off?

i think someone stepped on the budgie while watching the telly in their cell:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

2 week lock down. That will learn them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 986 ✭✭✭ateam

Are the prisoners armed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

2 each!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

no sorry they heard the chef only had 2 michelin stars instead of 3

*shocking*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

[Mr. Burns] Release the hounds [/Mr. Burns]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

RTE News will be covering it in more detail in a few mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭beautiation

Is this being televised anywhere?

Yep RTE now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Is this being televised anywhere?

It's currently an exclusive on the Mountjoy CCTV channel, 613 on your sky box (subscription dependent)

Wertz wrote: »
    It's currently an exclusive on the Mountjoy CCTV channel, 613 on your sky box (subscription dependent)

They protesting about their cut so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Harpie

Sherifu wrote: »
    2 each!
    lmao! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

is_that_so wrote: »
    They protesting about their cut so?

My insider tells me it's an action in solidarity with the loyalist cause...the inmates feel the plight of northern protestant fringe groups has been forgotten by the monied Freestate and are highlighting the issue with a simultaneous riot in the south's most well known prison, to run in paralell with "community events" across the North...

It warms the heart to see such fine-spirited civic awareness and on the day that's in it. Temporary release for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

Served lasagne 2 days in a row......what is a convicted criminal to do??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

briantwin wrote: »
    Served lasagne 2 days in a row......what is a convicted criminal to do??

Shank somebodys face. FFS did nobody watch Oz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Shank somebodys face. FFS did nobody watch Oz.

I did, what a show:)

Anyway i wanted them to use the water cannons on them but still i bet it was something stupid that they rioted about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

2 each!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Wertz wrote: »

:mad: can't believe I fell for that

News is about to start. \o/ Bring on the hot prison sex.
    jimbo78 wrote: »
    Oh Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Bunch o' c*nts Part II.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

They now have soap on a rope so not half as many people are dropping it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

News is about to start. \o/ Bring on the hot prison sex.

Oh Jesus.

I think we need a sarcastic smiley

They're complaining about not getting contraband. Stupid prisoners are stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

7 people injured! thats mental

Fair play to the police for stopping it so quickly though :)

7 people injured! thats mental

Fair play to the police for stopping it so quickly though :)

The police?

What has happened to the country I love?

prison officers, police wouldn't be involved

Thought news report said that police were called too

hmm maybe they called them for backup in case things got too hot but the prison officers would have all the riot gear and stuff to take care of those situations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

You just can't beat a good prison riot.

good glad to see I am not gone insane :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I think we need a sarcastic smiley

:rolleyes: This lad is fairly sarcastic.

Teh crims had probably had enough of this poxy recession. Its enough to drive you to riot.

Either that or NTL scrambled the signal to their ''box" during a rerun of The Green Mile on Sky Movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

2 each!

Was it not the guards?

Have never heard an Irish person call the police before.

Possibly have just lived sheltered life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Peared wrote: »
    Was it not the guards?

Have never heard an Irish person call the police before.

Possibly have just lived sheltered life.

I've heard of the Guards being called alot worse than "police"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

2 each!

I don't get that :( Explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

I don't get that :( Explain?

I dunno, I guess only God knows these things. Did you get your two legs though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Cianos wrote: »
    I dunno, I guess only God knows these things. Did you get your two legs though?

I still don't get it? I have more internets learning ahead :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Armed. 2 each. What is not to get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭The Sheriffk

MooseJam wrote: »
    prison officers, police wouldn't be involved

A young prison officer had his jaw dislocted and lost four teeth ... serious siht lads , not a laughing matter .......

Not directed to you moosejam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭mookishboy

Aww poor screw
    Got his teeth broken and dislocated jaw.
    Poor dear, thats lots and lots of sick pay incomming for him and maybe some compo too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

A young prison officer had his jaw dislocted and lost four teeth ... serious siht lads , not a laughing matter .......

Not directed to you moosejam.

True.
    Just read that as well.
    A prison riot must be one scary place to be- who'd wanna be a prison officer.

Wonder what the guilty inmate will get for breaking that guy's jaw- no sky for a month or some such sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Wow :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

mookishboy wrote: »
    Aww poor screw
    Got his teeth broken and dislocated jaw.
    Poor dear, thats lots and lots of sick pay incomming for him and maybe some compo too.

Well I'd prefer to have my jaw and teeth just as they are. Glad to hear no other serious injuries though.

Mookishboy=lag;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

The situation could have been a lot worse from what i hear and i think full and fair credit is due to all emergency service workers involved ... Their were a few lessons learned that day that should either prevent or minimise a similar incident in the future, well here's hoping anyway