Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dog and cat control!

• 12-07-2008 11:25am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭

Are these animals causing damage to game numbers in any localities and if so how?
    If a farmer can shoot dogs that attack his/her sheep then can a person in possession of sporting rights kill dogs and cats that he believes are up to no good? ( In the permissions ground only)
    I know plenty of hunters that would not hesitate to shoot cats or dogs, what views do you have?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

No,has to be domestic stock only.Wild game belongs to no one under Irish law.Suppose it could be argued that if you found a cat/dog ripping thru your pheasent pen of poults,you were justified in killing it.As you are currently raising that as domestic stock.:confused:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Cats are a scourge, terrible little killers. I would shoot 'em if I know they are feral, which is near impossible, even though I know lads who reckon if they are more than 5 yards from a house they are feral.

Dogs, if they are attacking sheep etc. is the only time I will consider it and I have to catch 'em at it. Hearsay don't count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Ive shot three feril cats so far, they have no place in the wild and our gun club has had problems with them before killing Phesants and our little red legs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

In fairness, shooting peoples' pets to protect wild game is a bit OTT.
    And domestic cats generally travel far more than 5 yards from their homes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

I've shot both tbh. Cats hundreds of yards away from houses after having seen them hunting songbirds and game and a few dogs worrying livestock that belongs to farmers I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

5 yards is pretty close.The standard in the EU is 50 meters from any building.Cats... the worst predator there is here.:(

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I shot 2 this year, cats are bad predators.
    Next one I am going to take a pic like the old tiger hunting safaris, cat on it's belly with a stick holding the head up and the mouth open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Cats are rotten. Only reason I don't shoot them on sight is that most I see are within what I consider a "reasonable distance" from a house, probably someones pet too.

Had a chat to the local copper when I started shooting first. We had some problems with dogs after the sheep just the year before so I was curious. Basically he said any dog once on our land was fair game, obviously not at someones feet.

I've used live catch fox cages to trap dumped dogs a time or two, instead of shooting them. If they're hungry they can't resist a nice big bowl of dog food and bonios.

jimbo78 wrote: »
    In fairness, shooting peoples' pets to protect wild game is a bit OTT.
    And domestic cats generally travel far more than 5 yards from their homes.

Pets are supposed to be under the supervision and control of their owners, otherwise they aren't pets, if they aren't under their owners supervision and control and are killing/attacking game, wildlife or livestock then there are consequences

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    5 yards is pretty close

I know, these lads shoot 'em on sight, domestic or feral, they mention 5' to explain that all cats are shootable on sight, not necessarily 5' 1" from a house ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 940 ✭✭✭kerryman12

I would have no problem shooting a dog if I saw him up to no good. We lost three sheep last year to dogs. Some of the other were mauled and rest got very nervous. It definately had a impact on the whole flock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭J.R.

Vermin Control: Release feral cats back into the wild

One species of vermin that can do untold damage in the countryside is the domestic cat that has gone wild / been abandoned (feral cat).

I have often met them out hunting, especially when lamping, but never shot them as they are only a field or two from houses......don't want to cause mayhem by wounding one & it makes it home!

The Green Party have their own solution for the problem!!!

This is the policy of the Green Party.

6. Domestic animals in Ireland
    6.1 The party aims to introduce a countrywide neutering programme for stray cats and dogs. The situation, at present, has reached crisis point and needs to be addressed urgently. This would involve trapping of feral cats, transportation of these cats to and from the vets and release back into the natural habitat. These stray colonies should be monitored, ensuring that they have access to food and shelter, a basic requirement. This will dramatically improve the situation.

http://www.greenparty.ie/en/policies...welfare_policy

I do agree with feral cats being trapped but definitely do not agree with releasing back into the natural habitat....should be humanely dispatched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭thelurcher

I'd never shoot a dog unless I actually caught it in the act of ripping into a sheep or other stock.
    And if anyone had the idea of shooting a hound, lurcher or terrier don't forget there'll be a few irate lads not too far behind and I wouldn't fancy your chances of getting home in one piece ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭whitser

cats are fair game when they are a resonable distance from a house. dogs at sheep and livestock also should be shot. but lurcher is right be sure the dog is attacking livestock. a hound or lurcher running through a field mightnt be worrying the sheep but after a fox etc... just cos you see sheep running away doesnt mean the dog is chasing them. i've had foxes run through flocks and even through cow sheds full of cows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 KRICO.22

i wont hesitate to shoot any dog worying sheep or livestock whether hes just walkin through the field or not. weve lost a good few sheep to dogs over the years 14ewes in lamb in one nite fo example.
    Iv even had to shoot one of my own:( (Sheepdogs) that went off lookin for a mate when she was in heat and the dog she ended up with went on a killin spree. she was sittin at the gate wen the farmer pulled up, she jumped into the jeep beside him (Good friend of mine) and the dog was in the field killin. Its a matter of guilty by ASSOCIATION.

Shoot every cat that isnt in someones garden.

i wont hesitate to shoot any dog worying sheep or livestock whether hes just walkin through the field or not. weve lost a good few sheep to dogs over the years 14ewes in lamb in one nite fo example.
    Well krico - be prepared to live with the consequences. There's a lot of time and effort put into a decent working dog and no one I know would keep a dog that isn't stock broken - what would be the point?!

If it was clung to a ewe or there's no doubt it chopped one then shoot away - you'd be saving me a bullet ;) but I don't even want to think about what I'd do if someone shot one of my dogs for no good reason.

Must be a PITA to loose them like that - does insurance cover the loss?

Lurcher, if your dog is properly trained you shouldn't have any problem but on the other hand letting one slip near a field or shed with ewes in lamb is asking for trouble. It's exactly the same as hunting with a firearm : use your common sense and all will be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭G17

.220 Swift - 8 of of 10 cats prefer it :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

If you don't see a collar and it's far, far away from a house it's fair game I reckon. Also if you get close enough, you can usually spot a 'wild' cat by its behaviour, i.e. they don't answer to "here Kitty!", also domestic cats are usually in great condition, especially toms. I do always look for a collar/tag though. If you're a pet owner think how fond of yours you are. Kids missing a beloved pet in the morning is not a happy thought. Just pause before you squeeze to double check and please make sure the shot counts, a three legged bloody tabby/fluffy /sprinkles hobbling in could put an old dear straight into a home! All joking aside, it's our responsibility to be humane at all costs (I realise if a dog is eating one of your lambs, there might not be time to ring the kennel club).

I saw an unusually large feral cat being shot one day some years ago, it was a monster tom, haven't seen its like before or since. Same bloke shot a trophy Caracal in SA last year and said "I've shot bigger in Wexford!" I must find the pic and post it.:)

Lurcher, if your dog is properly trained you shouldn't have any problem but on the other hand letting one slip near a field or shed with ewes in lamb is asking for trouble. It's exactly the same as hunting with a firearm : use your common sense and all will be fine.
    That's what I'm saying - a bit of common sense on all sides and we'll be fine ;)

Unfortunately just like with a firearm accidents happen - there's no predicting where a fox or hare is going to run - the latter are the worst for running through stock - if they're hunting through the same field as the ewes then shooting them isn't going to help you - if anything it'll upset the ewes more! Take it up with the owners - call the guards - most lads I know and all the packs I hunt with are fully insured.
    I know only too well that there are some simpleton farmers who will shoot any dog on there property - it's not as cut and dry as ye think. I know of a local harrier pack that brought a successful case against a farmer that shot some hounds.
    I can think of a good few farmers around the various packs I hunt with that have had their guns taken off them over the years.

The OP is on about someone on permission shooting a dog that is 'up to no good'
    I'm just trying to show that you'd want to be careful how you define that - just be aware that there are other legitimate field sports that are just as likely to have the same permission you have to be there - you shoot the lurcher or hound then you are in serious s**t - with the dog's owner and very likely legally as well.

any dog man worth their salt wouldnt keep a dog thats not stock broken, especially a lurcher or hound. but a dog could start a hunt fields away from where the sheep are and end up hunting through the field. that doesnt mean its worrying sheep. sheep are stupid but they know when the are being attacked and when they arent. i would advise that you be sure before you pull on a dog that the dog is going after the stock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 KRICO.22

Must be a PITA to loose them like that - does insurance cover the loss?[/quote]

Insurance covers most of it alrite, but if you dont get the dogs then your only waiting for it to happen again to you or to your next door neighbours stock.

(I know only too well that there are some simpleton farmers who will shoot any dog on there property - it's not as cut and dry as ye think. I know of a local harrier pack that brought a successful case against a farmer that shot some hounds. ( the Lurcher))

Not to sure about the Simpleton Farmer comment but i aggree any farmer that cant tell the difference between a Pack of hound hunting a field, and shoots them, deserves to suffer the consequences.The Hunts are usualy well advertised and all the farmers in the area know well in advance if the hunt is either on their land (because they gave permission) or near their land. In any case some of the hounds do wander from the pack but that is no excuse for a farmer havin a pop at it. We have always let the Hunt run through our land and have never had any issues with livestock the odd hedge suffers but that can be mended. Anything that reduces the Vermin in the area is fine with me.

Dog control
    Any dog that is wandering around the fields with livestock, with no sign of any owner/master or its not hunt day or Nov 1st - Jan 31th. The animal is not under control and something needs to be done.

whitser wrote: »
    any dog man worth their salt wouldnt keep a dog thats not stock broken, especially a lurcher or hound. but a dog could start a hunt fields away from where the sheep are and end up hunting through the field. that doesnt mean its worrying sheep. sheep are stupid but they know when the are being attacked and when they arent. i would advise that you be sure before you pull on a dog that the dog is going after the stock.

You're making a lot of sense Whitser about sheep knowing that they're being attacked. Their initial reaction to the lurcher or hound will be to round up in a bunch. The same way as they react to sheepdogs used by farmers. The trouble starts when the dog attacks the bunch : you'll get panic and a stampede. Any farmer knows this and will take a shot at a dog causing this.
    That's why it's essential, as you said, to have your dogs trained in how to behave with livestock.

Anyway, this discussion isn't about trained and under control dogs anyway. We were talking about problem dogs and cats and it just drifted of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Charlie 22

If there is a cat eating out of your rubbish bin and making a mess around the bin would it be in my rights to shoot it? By the way no collar in sight on the cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Charlie 22 wrote: »
    If there is a cat eating out of your rubbish bin and making a mess around the bin would it be in my rights to shoot it? By the way no collar in sight on the cat.

I wouldn't if I were you there is too much chance it could be a pet.

Trap it and see how tame it is, if it is very wild then bring it to a rescue center or something.

Don't shoot it

Anyway, this discussion isn't about trained and under control dogs anyway. We were talking about problem dogs and cats and it just drifted of course.
    But surely - as I said - what defines a problem dog is worth discussing and relevant to the topic.
    It's fine for the likes of you me and whitser but think for example about some lad from the suburbs that's spent the last few years on targets - then gets some permission and tries his hand at hunting - sees a lurcher on his patch near sheep and shoots - then as I crack his nose open he's screaming that it's OK because he read on boards.ie that some 'hunters' shoot them on sight.

If you're in any doubt go straight to the landowner and let them sort it.

And for the poor sensitive souls on here - of course I wouldn't go cracking people's nose open :eek: - I'd report him to the guards ;)

I must add that I'm not having a go at you at all meathstevie in case you think I am ;)

This is just a thing I genuinely worry about - as I guess does anyone with hounds or lurchers.

lads should just be sure when they pull the trigger thats it warranted. a mistake might be just a dead dog to the shooter,but it could be a mans best hound or lurcher thats taken yrs to get to the level he's at, even worse it could be the end of a bloodline with generations even decades of carefull breeding gone into it. not just a case of going out and buying another one.