Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I've fallen in love, advice needed

• 11-07-2008 1:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭

OK don't ask me why but for some reason I've fallen hard for this little beauty, an Ibanez S5470-TKS. I've been thinking of getting an Ibanez for a while now as I've small hands and the smaller neck seems to suit me on the few I've tried.

I'm going to try and get into a few music shops next week to see if I can find any similar to play, but there are a few things I wouldn't mind getting peoples opinions on in the mean time.

The first is the fat frets, does it really make that much of a difference? I know it's supposed to give a lighter touch but I've heard it can also make it more difficult to play in tune for some reason.

Secondly the floating bridge, loads of people say floyd rose bridges can be a pita and I doubt they'll let me restring a guitar in a shop just for the craic so I won't know until it's time to restring myself. Is it really that bad, or is it just a case of knowing what you're doing or getting used to it?

Third thing is the 24 frets. I've only ever played 22 fret guitars and tbh I can't imagine myself ever needing the extra 2, so is there much of a difference playability wise with the slightly longer neck?

Last thing I was wondering is if someone might be willing to recommend an alternative to Ibanez guitars to consider. I'm willing to spend up to about 12-1300 euro so I want to be sure I'm getting something I'll be happy with for quite a while to come.

Playability wise I'd be looking for something with a nice slim neck to fit my small hands. Style wise I don't play one thing in particular so versatility is what I'm after which is why I like the HSH setup on many of the Ibanez guitars, and looks wise I'll look at anything, but one of the reasons I've fallen for the S5470 is it's looks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

pug_ wrote: »
    The first is the fat frets, does it really make that much of a difference? I know it's supposed to give a lighter touch but I've heard it can also make it more difficult to play in tune for some reason.

The size of the frets really won't make it more difficult to play in tune, unless you're extremely heavy handed. It's a non-issue for most guitar players, but if you still feel that this could be a problem, go and try out a few guitars in a shop with larger frets.
    Secondly the floating bridge, loads of people say floyd rose bridges can be a pita and I doubt they'll let me restring a guitar in a shop just for the craic so I won't know until it's time to restring myself. Is it really that bad, or is it just a case of knowing what you're doing or getting used to it?

Well, the Ibanez trems can differ greatly to the Floyd Rose, especially the one on that guitar, the ZR-2 trem. But in general, the Ibanez trems are easier to use than Floyds when it comes to string changing, so all it'll take is a bit of getting used to, and there are some extremely comprehensive guides on them out there, so you shouldn't have any problems learning the ins and outs of a floating trem.
    Third thing is the 24 frets. I've only ever played 22 fret guitars and tbh I can't imagine myself ever needing the extra 2, so is there much of a difference playability wise with the slightly longer neck?

No, the neck isn't any longer at all, it's a 25.5" scale guitar, the same as a Fender Strat or many other guitars, so playability there won't be a difference. The only adjustment is how you'll use those 2 extra frets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

JIMHO big frets are way better. Much easier to play. Almost all guitars nowadays come with Jumbo or medium jumbo frets. It is possible to make the note a big sharp if you press really hard on the string with big frets. I have never had a problem with that (although I am a cloth-eared duffer :o)
    IMHO the only real downside of jumbo frets is when you slide a note up or down the neck your fingers "run into" the frets much more than with vintage frets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

What is about guitars eh.... I mean I never had GAS for an Ibanez, but lately I find myself searching ebay for HSH Ibanez. Actually I was looking for any of Voodoo's but the one above would do nicely too.

My advice is go buy it! If you don't like I'll take it off you for a discounted but fair price ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Paolo_M

OK don't ask me why but for some reason I've fallen hard for this little beauty,

Eh, get out more, see the world, find a nice girl? :pac: :p

I've an Ibanez RG series as well as a couple o' Les Paul's and Strats.

1. Yup, it especially makes a difference up the fret boards on leads. It means you need only a lighter touch. Because of this you could go slightly sharp with too heavy a hand. I haven't really had a problem with it though and I've 9s on the Ibanez and 11s on the Les Pauls.
    2. Floyd Rose bridges are a pain in the a** at first but, like most things, they're grand once you get used to them.
    3. The cut outs on an Ibanez actually give you much easier fret access than any standard Les Paul or Strat type guitar. I find it easier to get to the 24th fret on the Ibanez than the 19th on the Les Paul for example.

Finally I don't have much experience with the rest of the Ibanez range so maybe someone else could step in?

Jeez, you guys are quick, there were no replys when I started writing this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭pug_

Cheers for the replies lads, no real negatives and I have the wife on board she just doesn't know how much it costs :)

I'm still trying to justify the cost to myself when I could get an RG Ibanez like this one for €500 cheaper. I just don't like the look of the RG series to me they look like a Styrofoam cut-out of a guitar or something.

So can anyone tempt me with something else that's not an Ibanez in my price range? I've also considered an hss strat something like this, but it just doesn't have that extra je ne sais quoi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

There were reports going around that something about the construction or trem on the S5470 was having an adverse effect on sustain. The model was only released this year, so its impossible to say for sure if its an actual problem or just a few people with set-up issues.

Rich Harris (Ibanezrules) checked a few of his and confirmed that there did seem to be some sort of issue. Saying that, ive heard other owners refute this. So I couldn't tell you what the craic is one way or another. Its something to be aware of anyway.. maybe hang on ordering one until you can check it out in the flesh and see yourself what you think of the sustain.

Well I managed to get into town and I was surprised to find one shop actually had an S5470 the exact guitar I was thinking of. It plays beautifully, and sounds very very nice indeed, but voodoo_child is right the sustain was noticeably poor on it.

Have to say I'm gutted because I love everything else about it, the jumbo frets were a joy you just have to touch the fretboard to get a nice sound, no tuning problems for me anyway though I'm probably tone deaf so wouldn't have noticed :)

Unfortunately they didn't have my second choice an RG1570, or not that I could see anyway. So I'm at a bit of a loss as to whether I should chance it or not. Playability wise it should be almost identical as it's got the same neck dimensions, and the sustain will almost certainly be better seeing as I've never seen a complaint before for sustain on Ibanez guitars. It will probably sound somewhat different though having DiMarzio ibz pick ups, I've been having a listen on youtube, but you can't really tell as it's hard to find someone playing clean, sound quality is poor on youtube in any case.

I don't know maybe I should hold out until I can actually get to play one that I like, but I have the money now and I've convinced myself that I need a change :)

Its not a guitar im particularly interested in, so I havent fully read up on the sustain 'problem'. Keep an eye on it and see if anyone actually narrows it down.

If you like the S-series generally, there have been some fantastic ones produced in the past, under the prestige badge and also a couple of J-Custom models. You could pick one up used if you were lucky, and the quality would be equally high, or higher. Only major difference is that they wouldn't have 24 frets.

IMO, older S-series like the S1540FM were awesome guitars, and can be picked up fairly cheap on the used market.

If you're shopping used, stay away from S-series Presitge made in 2005 onwards, they were made in Korea and kinda sucked.

Quattroste wrote: »
    I mean I never had GAS for an Ibanez, but lately I find myself searching ebay for HSH Ibanez. Actually I was looking for any of Voodoo's but the one above would do nicely too.
    Real nice J-Custom RG1880 on the u-box today. Its HSH and has a lovely burst and flame top altogether.
    3154768041.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

i cant stand ibanez jumbo frets, there stupidly big and flat and make it harder for me to play anyways, the neck is pretty thin alright and tis a nice guitar

i much prefare much smaller, thin and narrow pointy frets, i plan on gettin a new neck fro my rg with better frets on it sometime soon

That is a lovely looking guitar all right, what may I ask is u-box?

Its the used-guitars section of Ishibashi, a Japanese store that a good few of us here have bought from. I just remembered someone saying they were looking for a HSH Ibanez J-Custom, so I posted it when I spotted it, its a very rare find. It'll be snapped up shortly anyway, so better someone from here than somewher else :pac:

http://www.ishibashi.co.jp/u_box/

Have to say I'm loving the English translation...
    J-CUSTOM at the beginning of time of 1999. Making is overall polite, and it is possible to visit the height of accuracy as musical instruments. It is a specification that the problem etc. also are thicker than present goods and have the playing answer. The state are neither some feeling having nor a big wound that stands out and is overall beautiful. In the Middle Ages, it is ..rhea that can rarely be met you.. ippon now. The person who looks for : by all means at this chance. It has adjusted it at our repair center on July 9, 2008. Soft case and arm attachment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

j customs are amazing though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mr_fruitbowl

I got one last week...sustain is poor alright...but not amazing bad...heard if you change middle pup then it's meant to be much much better. But i only had to pay 650 euro for it so i'm sure the sustain wont bother me too much;)

But it's one sexy guitar! feels so nice!

DSC00157.jpg

DSC00155.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Have to say I'm loving the English translation...

FYI for god knows what reason the word "problem" in these translated pages means "guitar neck".

I've a friend who speaks Japanese so got him to translate for me in any case, Here's what he translated it as...
    J-custom from early 1999! A high-precision instrument manufactured
    with great care. The neck is thicker than current models. Shows some
    signs of use, but there are no scratches and overall it looks very
    well. This guitar is now quite rare. If you were searching, now is
    your chance! Tuning adjustment took place in our repair centre on July
    9th. Comes with a soft case.

@mr_fruitbowl €650 god that's a good price, have to say if I saw one for that price I wouldn't think twice either.

I've kinda fallen out of love with it again though, I was so disappointed with the sustain when I actually played one that I felt cheated. Lets just say we broke up by text, and I'm now looking for a replacement love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mr_fruitbowl

Could always try 2170?...pretty much same thing just different pups and a zr-1.

Aye it's on the consideration list all right. The thing is I want to have my research done, and be sure I'm actually getting what I want before I purchase. For one thing before I read it in this thread I thought all prestige models were made in Japan and I'm still trying to figure out which models are made where as rightly or wrongly I have it in my head that that the Japanese made guitars are generally a better build quality.