Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda on todays papers

• 10-07-2008 12:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭

Does anyone think the the papers should not have published the photo of the D. Garda with the uzi outside the court house in Limerick, the photo was a close up in the indo and the times, surely this was a security and personal hazard and hinders undercover work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Vas_Guy wrote: »
    Does anyone think the the papers should not have published the photo of the D. Garda with the uzi outside the court house in Limerick, the photo was a close up in the indo and the times, surely this was a security and personal hazard and hinders undercover work.

I see no issue. Comes with the package of doing the job. As for undercover work at a later stage, the officer would not have chosen to carry if he had this in mind for the future.

There is, apparently, a pub in East London that buys photos from anyone and displays them in a private room. These images are of police officers in uniform and plainclothes and apparently they charge a nominal fee for crims to go in and browse this room to see if they know any faces or to see if their "Organisations" are being infiltrated etc.

I say apparently as I have not been to this pub but I know people who claim to have seen this room. What's to say this does not exist here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

I cant see a problem with photographing a plain clothes member at all unless they are specifically in the undercover end of things. If that was the case then he would probably be withdrawn from duty until his face is forgotten. I doubt that he would be involved in undercover work cos he wouldnt have been there in public in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

I've seen gang members snapping pics of us out and about in marked cars (when I was in uniform). Apparently some of the numpties have websites they upload the pics to in an effort to try get their members to identify officers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

metman wrote: »
    I've seen gang members snapping pics of us out and about in marked cars (when I was in uniform). Apparently some of the numpties have websites they upload the pics to in an effort to try get their members to identify officers.

Aye, copwatch as the likes. People here (certain type of person) buys information from taxi men. Our car regs, addresses etc.

had to explain this too my mates as they kept making jokes about my job when we were on the way home after a night out.

Dnt have an issue with the papers running a picture anymore than running my pic while in uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The gardai are still using uzi's?

yes we are but the eru i have heard are using either the mp5 or mp7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

jaysus, are them yokes not just bullet hoses? i would have thought they would have been shelved yoinks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

TheNog wrote: »
    yes we are but the eru i have heard are using either the mp5 or mp7

ERU and RSU use MP7

Bambi wrote: »
    jaysus, are them yokes not just bullet hoses? i would have thought they would have been shelved yoinks ago.

When I was about 10yrs old I held an Uzi (what an experience for a 10yr old) and was told that they carry 24 rounds in the mag and can go through it in 8 seconds. Having said that many of the guards I asked said the uzi is a great weapon. Very accurate and easy to shoot. I belive the uzi are not made anymore and parts are getting harder to come by so i suppose in the not too distant future the MP7 or other platform will be used dispensed around the country.
    yayamark wrote: »
    ERU and RSU use MP7

Thanks for that and also thanks for the site link. I havent slept since!!!!:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

No problem at all. He is not an undercover garda he is a detective and allowed to wear plain clothes.

NSU or National surveillance are undercover gards and are never photographed, appear in court, carry weapons. Most Gardai wouldnt know who they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Remmy

Chief--- wrote: »
    No problem at all. He is not an undercover garda he is a detective and allowed to wear plain clothes.

NSU or National surveillance are undercover gards and are never photographed, appear in court, carry weapons. Most Gardai wouldnt know who they are.

Sorry,but did you mean to say NSU do or dont carry firearms?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

if your mates who claim to have seen it actually have then they wouldnt tell you about it. It doesnt exist.
    Trojan911 wrote: »
    I see no issue. Comes with the package of doing the job. As for undercover work at a later stage, the officer would not have chosen to carry if he had this in mind for the future.

There is, apparently, a pub in East London that buys photos from anyone and displays them in a private room. These images are of police officers in uniform and plainclothes and apparently they charge a nominal fee for crims to go in and browse this room to see if they know any faces or to see if their "Organisations" are being infiltrated etc.

I say apparently as I have not been to this pub but I know people who claim to have seen this room. What's to say this does not exist here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

FX Meister wrote: »
    if your mates who claim to have seen it actually have then they wouldnt tell you about it. It doesnt exist.

Are you working in east end policing then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

I work ina highly visible and somewhat high profile role. And although a lot of my colleagues love it, I hate having my photo taken for many reasons. Todays holiday snap will end end up on tomorrows facebook or myspace and can wind its way up to the BBC's front page. Need a photo of a london copper, that'll do!! so your face gets plastered along with some story thats got bugger all to do with you.

Also, I wont be doing my current role forever, who's to say I wont go into undercover work or even say, a source handler. Five years time, I'm in a cafe debreifing my source when the bloke on the table next to me has my smiling face on the front page after some irrelevant newstory has broke and mine was the first stock photo they found. The bit about choosing not to carry if they wanted to do undercover work I think is a bit invalid. All SFO's start off doing routine ARV or AFO work, which puts them in the public eye, as do a lot of SO1 protection officers.

When asked about having my photo taken, I politley explain that I'd rather not... What gets me is the (usually) tourists who try to snap you froma distance. There must be a hundread photographs of my back in peoples holidays snaps..

Intersested to hear more about this pub Trojan????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Need a photo of a london copper, that'll do!! so your face gets plastered along with some story thats got bugger all to do with you.

ha ha, thats so true the world over I think. I did an operation a while back purely as a uniform member backing up the important people with guns. Was actually very interesting and impressive but during it I ended up on a checkpint screening vehicles coming and going into a certain estate and got my picture taken. Now it seems to appear for half the checkpoints out there.

Keep getting calls asking if I was on such and such an operation and most of the time I have no idea what they are even talking about let alone involved in it. :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Remmy wrote: »
    Sorry,but did you mean to say NSU do or dont carry firearms?

Dont.

But if they have a firearms card they are well entitled to. They are gardai after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

Intersested to hear more about this pub Trojan????

That's all I have at the moment I'm afraid, but I will put in a call to a buddy in London who will hopefully shed some more light on it i.e. a name or location that you could run through Crim/Int, C.R.I.S. or PNC etc. This was a couple of years ago & was known about. May have been shut down now or changed hands etc.

I'll PM the results, if any, to you & metman rather than "outing" a lic/prem on a public forum. You can then make your own discreet enq's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

Cheers Trojan...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Anyone post the photo that was on the front page?