Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alton Towers

• 10-07-2008 9:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭

Anyone ever been in Alton Towers?

How did you get there (flights/accomodation etc)?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Vic Mackay

I'm the friggin' Alton Towers expert.

Ferry to Holyhead, then a 2hr drive. Lots of nice B&Bs around (The Warren: http://www.thewarren-bb.com/).

PM me if you want more info. We usually go at the start of October on a Monday & Tuesday because:
    1) Queues in the sumer are hell - 45mins for the big rides. 10-20misn for the smaller ones: and that's on a weekday! Far worse at weekends!
    2) On a weekday in October, all kids are in school: queue time is NOTHING! Seriously - we just walk straight onto Nemesis & Oblivion!
    3) Weather is still good enough to enjoy the park (luckily it never rained for us). That's the risk you take, but it's worth it. That said, it could still rain mid-summer!
    4) They close at the end of October, so avoid that time (mid-term break) as there is a big fireworks display for Halloween/Guy Falkes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭Ritz for d'Lack

Hey Dellas,

I'm actually going on Tuesday - I'm bringing my Dad, Sis and her Husband. I'm going on Tue and coming back Wed - and it worked out like this

Flights - CrimeAir - Dub-Manchester - 20eur x 4 (taxes incl!!!!)
    Car - Hertz (cheap for once) Midsize - 50eur for 2 days
    Drive 45miles +/- from Manchester Airport to Alton Towers near Stoke
    BnB - Fields Farm http://www.enjoyengland.ie/stay/productdetail.aspx?advsrch=1&TowPosCd=cheadle&sdate=15%2f07%2f2008&durat=2&display=list&PType=gacc&room=1&adult=1&child=0&isGreen=False&Rad=5&Sec=accommodation&Lat=52.9888364236&Lon=-1.9791037121&Caption=Cheadle%2c+Staffordshire&Pid=30816
    44 sterling for a room (2 to a room)... the bnb is 3 miles away from alton towers

then finally book the tickets on the alton towers website - cheaper - 2 day pass - 34sterling

Overall, I can't wait - and a really really cheap trip to a top class Rollercoaster Paradise

I'll let you know how I get on.

Unbelievable tho - to get there I paid 20 eur the flight and 12.50 (per person) for the car

oh, btw, probably best to go mid week - cheap flights & car rental.
    :eek::D:eek::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭dellas1979

Thanks for the replies.

We booked it through Irish ferries:

Leave Sunday 20th at 8.05am. Get Cruise ferry.
    2 X 2 day passes to Alton Towers.
    (1 twin room) 3 nights accommodation at the “Quality Hotel Stoke-on-Trent” hotel in which is about 30mins away from Alton Towers. Breakfast included.
    Ferry leaves at 2.10pm Wednesday afternoon.
    €382 each

I think that that is very good!

Very Expensive in my opinion... When you consider that my trip costs 140eur!! Think about the fact that the tickets only cost 34GBP for a day pass - how much did you really end up paying for the hotel and boat??

How are you getting from Stoke to Alton Towers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 rushbrook

has anyone stayed overnight in alton towers ? (alton towers hotel or splash land hotel) -- which is better ? .. don't have a choice in staying outside of the resort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 tag1

Travelling to Alton Towers viva Hollyhead next week.

Can any one recommend a place to stay close to Alton Towers ( Family of four two boys 15 and 12 yrs)

Other than alton towers is there anything else I should do in the area

Hey Tag,

Try http://www.touristnetuk.com/WM/NS/alton/index.htm - I wish I'd found this before I left. I stayed at Fields Farm when I went with my Dad, Sis, and her Husband. We got a double and a twin room and it was only 22 pounds per person. She's alright, yer wan running it, as good as 22 pounds will get you. The BnB is grand and clean, and only about 3 miles away from Alton Towers.

I would highly reccommend a Sat Nav if you are driving, just the 4 of yous. It's really in the heart of the country!!! As is the BnB, it's literally up a laneway off a small road (one of the main roads to Alton Towers).

Also if you save the Big 4 Rides till late on in the evening, the queues are a LOT less, maybe 5 mins max. I went before the schools broke up and the queues for the big rides were up to 70mins!!!

I would also reccommend Fast Track Passes for 8pounds each. It only allows you once on to the Big Rides, but it really saves a lot of time!!

VOila, let us know how you get on...

Nope sorry...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

There are less queues later in the day apparently.

Well I'm not the only user on the thread to say that the queues were higher during the day, and also it doesn't make sense... People stream in as the morning passes, Queues increase, and then drift off as closing time comes (7pm when I was there) so queues are really at their lowest at just befoere closing... Sorry... :confused:

whoops, just read your post, and you were actually agreeing with me.... DOH!!!!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Hey folks, do any of you know if there is a regular bus service running to Alton?

I won't be bringing a car, just going over with the girlfriend. Going to have to assume the nightlife there is dead...?

Hey Naos,

From memory, there's not, that said I didn't stay in the Village, and I had a car... but it's really not that far away so I would reccomend taking one of the Jo Maxi. But sher after recent events in Alton, are you sure you want to take a Bus? or any form of public transport in Alton???

Na. get a taxi. It'll be fine. Nightlife on the other hand is pretty non existent.. Couple of Village Pubs dotted with the occasional Village Idiot... Alton Towers really is buried in the middle of the countryside!!!!

Enjoy and let us know how you get on...

How are you getting there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

buses run from stoke city centre (the closest city to alton towers) and pass through towns and villages on the way http://www.firstgroup.com/ukbus/northwest/staffordshire/timetables/timetable.php?day=1&source_id=2&service=32/32A&routeid=67074&operator=21&source=sp

if you are staying in stoke the nightlife is centred on hanley, couple of decent spots for nightlife there

rossie1977 wrote: »
    buses run from stoke city centre (the closest city to alton towers) and pass through towns and villages on the way http://www.firstgroup.com/ukbus/northwest/staffordshire/timetables/timetable.php?day=1&source_id=2&service=32/32A&routeid=67074&operator=21&source=sp

if you are staying in stoke the nightlife is centred on hanley, couple of decent spots for nightlife there

Depends what you are after, if it's nightlife and you're not totally bothered about Alton Towers, then yeah, Stoke is fine, but it is quite a trek, and you'd be doing well to be there by the time the park opens.
    On the other hand, if you are going to Alton cos you are a RollerCoaster Junkie like me, then stay local and get the best out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Hey Naos,

From memory, there's not, that said I didn't stay in the Village, and I had a car... but it's really not that far away so I would reccomend taking one of the Jo Maxi. But sher after recent events in Alton, are you sure you want to take a Bus? or any form of public transport in Alton???

Na. get a taxi. It'll be fine. Nightlife on the other hand is pretty non existent.. Couple of Village Pubs dotted with the occasional Village Idiot... Alton Towers really is buried in the middle of the countryside!!!!

Enjoy and let us know how you get on...

How are you getting there?

Thanks for the response Ritz.

What recent events are you talking about in Alton?

Well, had planned to get the plane over to Manchester and then get a train to Manchester Picadilly. Stay in Manchester Picadilly.

From there, get a train to Stoke-on-trent and then a bus to Alton...

Hey Naos,

Am I the only mug heard about the Bus Crash in Alton?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/7569112.stm

Just got a PM from the greatest woman in the world asking me the same thing... (no not Angelina, a better one)

If I was you, I'd stay in Stoke, rather than Manchester. You've got no hope of making it to the Park on time by staying in Manchester, and ok, maybe now, it mightn't fill up AS fast, but I went just before the Primary Schools broke up and it filled up to 70min Q's for the Best Rides in minutes!!!

As I said before on this thread, the best time to hit the Big Ones is just as they are closing, in the last hour... Q's drop off savage fast... But stay in Stoke rather than Manchester, seriously...

Are you gettin a 2 day pass or 1 day? oh, buy passes on-line btw, much cheaper...

it also depends when you are going over there, going over when school is in session should be the priority so monday-friday and BEFORE or after the halloween break.

we were over there last week on monday and tuesday and there was nobody in the park, arrived at 1.43pm the first day and did the 5-6 big rides in the park 2-3 times no problems, no queues it was great :)

if you are going before October 3rd you can use this voucher for £16 each http://www.raring2go.co.uk/uploads/nationals/Raring2go%20Alton%20Jan%2008.pdf btw there were special "come tomorrow for £8" tickets inside the park available last week

gutted... how did I not know about these offers before I went - that's a great deal...

God, I really want to go back now... Grrrr...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

My 2c.

I went mid week with the GF last year. Place was practically deserted so all rides took only minutes to get on.

I'm 26 and although the rides were good none of them really gave me a buzz and were over in a couple of minutes at most. Now after walking along the queue line and seeing signs saying 'from here you have a 2 hr wait' etc made me think... I enjoyed my day out but to be honest if I'd had to wait any longer for the rides than I did or in particular an hour etc then I'd have been asking for a refund cos it wouldn't have been worth my day as far as I'm concerned.

I suppose it depends on taste really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

I'm 26 and although the rides were good none of them really gave me a buzz and were over in a couple of minutes at most

How long were you expecting them to last? Thinking of heading over to Alton towers soon enough so thanks for the tips...

Dodge wrote: »
    How long were you expecting them to last? Thinking of heading over to Alton towers soon enough so thanks for the tips...

I agree... Yes, there a tad short, but you pay on the gate, they want to get a lot of people on and off... Of course they're gonna be short... but it's the initial impact that people go for...

And can you honestly say that you didn't get a buzz from Air? Or the initial blast on Rita? I do concede that Rita is a bit short...

air is an awesome ride and i liked those pinball things near the front entrance. I had ridden front row sheikra in busch gardens a few times so oblivion was a bit of a disappointment given thats its only a third the length of sheikra and only one drop (though dive coaster virgins are sure to love it) and its themeing is great

Nemesis has aged well in the face of strong competition

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

sorry about draggin this up, booked flights an to stay in fields, just wonderin has anyone used lastminute.com to book there tickets into the park? they seem cheaper are they ok to use?

Lenny wrote: »
    sorry about draggin this up, booked flights an to stay in fields, just wonderin has anyone used lastminute.com to book there tickets into the park? they seem cheaper are they ok to use?
    I couldn't really see a problem bein honest - I mean Lastminute have a good rep an all...
    If you're not comfortable with them, Check the Alton Towers Site and buy on line - I found this the cheapest way, but that being said I didn't check Lastminute.

If there's not that much of a difference, and it makes you feel ore comfortable, then just book on line on the AT website... I found the 2 day pass to be good value!

Well Done on Booking Fields, it's cheap, clean, comfy, and the woman is quite accomodating - brekkie's not half bad either.... It's quite close to the Park too - maybe 7 mins drive... I'd reccomend a Sat Nav to get to her BnB - just lob in the post code before you go...

Hope the weather is better than today!

Be sure to let me know how you get on!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

yea shes in her seventies she said on the phone! I was askin how close the nearest pub is an she said about a mile walk, and another one ab out a mile and a half, the gf wasn't impressed lol, and theres no taxis in the area either. she said she walks seven miles to her sisters so us young people should be up for it no problem :)
    like i mean theyre 18quid sterling each on LM. just wana make sure there is no hidden costs or why they're cheap.
    same thing as to booking the car, budget car are half the price of avis and hertz. must read the t&c must be something to do with insurance
    actualy just noticed there from oct 17th they're changed to 25pp. wonder is that permanant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

rossie1977 wrote: »
    it also depends when you are going over there, going over when school is in session should be the priority so monday-friday and BEFORE or after the halloween break.

we were over there last week on monday and tuesday and there was nobody in the park, arrived at 1.43pm the first day and did the 5-6 big rides in the park 2-3 times no problems, no queues it was great :)

if you are going before October 3rd you can use this voucher for £16 each http://www.raring2go.co.uk/uploads/nationals/Raring2go%20Alton%20Jan%2008.pdf btw there were special "come tomorrow for £8" tickets inside the park available last week

balls, just saw that voucher, heading over there on wednesday, just saw that voucher

been to alton towers a few times, love the place, the last time i was there they didn't have Rita so looking forward to going on that

sadly enough, the haunted house is one of my favourite attractions :)