Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 86 purses released

• 08-07-2008 10:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭

UFC 86 purses released
    Forrest Griffin highest paid

As usual, in the days following a big UFC event, the athletes to have competed in the event have their purses made public. Keeping to the scheme to motivate the fighters by doubling the purses of the victors, and adding a bonus for the night's standouts, the American organization filled the coffers of the new light heavyweight champion: Forrest Griffin.

The American fighting out of Xtreme Couture was the best paid of the night, receiving US$ 100,000 for his appearance, US$ 150,000 for his win and another US$ 60,000 for having participated in the best fight of the night, bringing his overall earnings to 310,000 dollars:eek: In second place came former holder of the belt Quinton Jackson, who had the highest purse of the event (US$ 225,000) and received the same US$ 60,000 Forrest did to fight, bringing it to 285 big ones:eek:

The third highest paid athlete was somewhat of a surprise, since he figured in the preliminary part of the show. Brazilian Gabriel Gonzaga, with a new contract with the UFC, took home US$ 100,000 (half purse, half win bonus). Melvin Guillard and Cole Miller also took home 60 thousand each for best knockout and submission, respectively.

Check out each fighter's purse (without bonus for best fight, submission and knockout):

Forrest Griffin - $250,000 ($100,000 for fighting, $150,000 for winning)
    Quinton Jackson - $225,000
    Patrick Cote - $32,000 ($16,000 for fighting, $16,000 for winning)
    Ricardo Almeida - $23,000
    Joe Stevenson - $60,000 ($30,000 for fighting, $30,000 for winning)
    Gleison Tibau - $11,000
    Josh Koscheck - $70,000 ($35,000 for fighting, $35,000 for winning)
    Chris Lytle - $14,000
    Melvin Guillard - $20,000 ($10,000 for fighting, $10,000 for winning)
    Dennis Siver - $7,000
    Tyson Griffin - $40,000 ($20,000 for fighting, $20,000 for winning)
    Marcus Aurelio - $40,000
    Cole Miller - $20,000 ($10,000 for fighting, $10,000 for winning)
    Jorge Gurgel - $10,000
    Justin Buchholz - $8,000 ($4,000 for fighting, $4,000 for winning)
    Corey Hill - $8,000
    Gabriel Gonzaga - $100,000 ($50,000 for fighting, $50,000 for winning)
    Justin McCully - $5,000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭crokester

Could you not keep this to the UFC discussion thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

Gabe Gonzaga 100k
    Justin McCally 5K.

Harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Good to see Forest make the best money, he deserves it..a great advert for up and coming fighters-all heart.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Judomad

crokester wrote: »
    Could you not keep this to the UFC discussion thread?

could you not just ignore the thread, its not like the title of the thread was misleading................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

Judomad wrote: »
    could you not just ignore the thread, its not like the title of the thread was misleading................
    Sure it is. I thought the UFC were going to start selling handbags. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Judomad

t-ha wrote: »
    Sure it is. I thought the UFC were going to start selling handbags. :pac:

or purses even, jesus wouldnt that make sense alright, i think its funny that people go out of there way to say to put a thread in a different one as if its gonna change there life...just ignore what you dont want to read people, its as simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

Gabe Gonzaga 100k
    Justin McCally 5K.

Harsh.

Gonzaga probably signed that contract around the time that he was number one contender. At that time he was a black belt in BJJ and had just knocked out Cro Cop, so he would've had a lot of bargaining power. But he's sort of fallen since then. I think McCully was just signed to lose to Hardonk, which he didn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Thats a total of $1,183,000.00 for the fighters.

Any released news on gate receipts and/or ppv/tv money.

Either way the UFC is making alot of money. Do they publish annual accounts? I wonder how much the overheads are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

cowzerp wrote: »
    Good to see Forest make the best money, he deserves it..a great advert for up and coming fighters-all heart.

Big time. We've watched him grow up and mature as a fighter, like our very own little son! Except, he's 6'3"! And older..

In anycase, he's trained his ass off to where he is today. If you had said to anyone 3 years ago that Forrest Griffin would be the UFC LHW champ by beating Shogun & Rampage, they would of laughed at you - and I would of been one of them!

Judomad wrote: »
    or purses even, jesus wouldnt that make sense alright, i think its funny that people go out of there way to say to put a thread in a different one as if its gonna change there life...just ignore what you dont want to read people, its as simple as that.

At the moment it would be fairly easy to ignore alright. Its where the forum is headed that would concern me. It seems to be fillling with UFC related threads. Either way i wont lose sleep but i think we would be losing something in the process. Like someone else mentioned before i think its at risk of becomming a mini Sherdog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭Fozzy

crokester wrote: »
    At the moment it would be fairly easy to ignore alright. Its where the forum is headed that would concern me. It seems to be fillling with UFC related threads. Either way i wont lose sleep but i think we would be losing something in the process. Like someone else mentioned before i think its at risk of becomming a mini Sherdog.

I've yet to see anyone posting here who borders on the type of poster at Sherdog! No need to worry yet

Fozzy wrote: »
    I've yet to see anyone posting here who borders on the type of poster at Sherdog! No need to worry yet

Ah im sure the discussion is all fairly intelligent. Its just that i see it posibly pushing out the Irish MMA and martial art discussion. If its going that way well then so be it but it would be a pity i reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

I agree with Crokester here, I can't see why this wasn't put in the UFC thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

There is already too much discussion in the UFC for 1 thread, I say keep that for discussing up coming fights, no point posting something like this in there and derailing the whole thread.
    BTW - fair play to Forrest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭mickoo

Because its too cluttered and there can be loads of different topics all going around at once, i browse all the threads but not that 1 as its too crowded and hard to keep 1 topic going without breaking it.

Why is there no kickboxing thread, tma thread, grappling thread? because its all martial arts.

i prefer it like this and its easier to read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

mickoo wrote: »
    Why is there no kickboxing thread, tma thread, grappling thread? because its all martial arts.

Because these are not promotions. There is currently a thread there for the discussion of MMA promotions....this is a small item, practically a moot one in the grand scheme of things.

So we have the OP, detailing fight purses and then.......the majority of conversation is about whether or not it should be in the main thread or people giving out about it, or people giving out about people giving out about it.

Personally i don't find the "load of different topics" thing to be going on in that thread...normally a news item or an event comes up, it is discussed and then we move on to discussing the next one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Kent Brockman

mickoo wrote: »
    Because its too cluttered and there can be loads of different topics all going around at once, i browse all the threads but not that 1 as its too crowded and hard to keep 1 topic going without breaking it.

i prefer it like this and its easier to read.

Im with you on this one Mickoo. Unless you check in a few times a day its hard to have your say on that thread cus it changes often- I dont really bother posting anymore.
    And God forbid you might have the cheek to start a new thread about one topic you are interested in.......:rolleyes: