Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pictures from the Terenure Show

• 06-07-2008 5:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭

Weather turned out to be very good. It wasn't a mud bath like Moynalty last year anyway. The full set of picture I took (about 150 of them) can be got here:

http://s181.photobucket.com/albums/x191/kazimann/Terenure%20Show%202008/?start=all

Here's a few of what I got:

S2300188.jpg

S2300192.jpg

S2300185.jpg

S2300196.jpg

S2300198.jpg

S2300201.jpg
    This really was the main attraction of the show, the BTTF DeLorean DMC-12

S2300202.jpg
    Complete with flux capacitor...

S2300203.jpg
    ...and time circuits!

S2300204.jpg

S2300206.jpg

S2300209.jpg
    There can't be too many of these left in the country!

S2300208.jpg

S2300207.jpg

S2300214.jpg

S2300218.jpg
    Aussie Ford Falcon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

S2300226.jpg

S2300231.jpg

S2300239.jpg

S2300236.jpg

S2300246.jpg
    Corktina's car!

S2300251.jpg

S2300279.jpg

S2300289.jpg

S2300291.jpg

S2300296.jpg

S2300302.jpg

S2300304.jpg

S2300308.jpg

S2300312.jpg

S2300277.jpg

S2300275.jpg

S2300268.jpg

S2300272.jpg

S2300274.jpg

S2300250.jpg

S2300248.jpg

S2300242.jpg

S2300227.jpg

S2300256.jpg

S2300329.jpg

S2300320.jpg

S2300281.jpg
    This was an odd beast, on Cartell, the cars comes up as a Porsche 911 DIESEL! :confused:

S2300243.jpg

S2300265.jpg

S2300310.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭Mr. 'H'

Brilliant reportage, thanks so much!

:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Thanks alot for that max,looks like it was a great day up there,i was only wondering about these carinas last week and along comes this one and the one on e-bay in cork!!
    S2300192.jpg
    And i absolutly love this car!!!
    S2300246.jpg
    And id love to know the story behind this minty R12!!
    S2300188.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Abelloid

Oh yeah, Hertz Mustang :D

S2300321.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I believe the R12 was owned by the same lady til recently. never saw one in automatic before. beautiful condition.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I believe the R12 was owned by the same lady til recently. never saw one in automatic before. beautiful condition.
    It looks like it just came off the production line!!!I love it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

I love the white morris van that got a but of a pimpin'....nice tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

great pics...funny how you always see a few after in photos you missed at the show....i loved the Falcon...oh an i love the 3.0S too....went like a clock today (as usual) 3.5 hrs going home..including 30 mins or so in McD's:) 160/170 miles or so...

Was there much auto jumble and the like there today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Was there much auto jumble and the like there today?
    Not that many parts, mostly selling models, books and cheap tools.

colm_mcm wrote:
    It looks like it just came off the production line!!!I love it!!!

The pictures don't do it justice, the leather interior was like on a new car, and the engine bay was spotless.

good paintjob too.

Not that many parts, mostly selling models, books and cheap tools.
    humm...much like every big show!!

only in Ireland...UK ones are better but even then a lot of stuff goes through ebay now instead...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Half of carzone is in that field! :D

That black w116 looks like the Jap 280 import (9 grand and change I think).

Mike.

I love the white morris van that got a but of a pimpin'....nice tho!

It's actually a Peugeot 203 van.

mike65 wrote: »

Indeed it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Slaphead07

Half of carzone is in that field! :D

Mike.

I was tempted if the missus liked it (for herself) but she thought it looked a bit too "mafia". A Bargain at €9995. Seriously.

Slaphead07 wrote: »
    I was tempted if the missus liked it (for herself) but she thought it looked a bit too "mafia". A Bargain at €9995. Seriously.

It wouldn't surprise me if it was once owned by the Yakuza (Japanese Mafia). They are known to travel around Tokyo in Mercedes S-Class'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

That black w116 looks like the Jap 280 import (9 grand and change I think)

Indeed. It's overpriced and the engine should be more than 4 litres bigger than that paltry 2.8, but it's still a very cool car for a poseur :)

Max_Damage wrote: »
    It's actually a Peugeot 203 van.

i loved that one....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

Is that the actual Back To The Future DeLorean? If it is, does it not belong in some movie museum somewhere? :)

CtrlSource wrote: »
    Is that the actual Back To The Future DeLorean? If it is, does it not belong in some movie museum somewhere? :)

No, it's a replica. It only one of two in Europe apparently (going by the info sheet in the window of the car).

The actual BTTF DeLorean is in the Universal Studios theme park in Los Angeles, California.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

No, it's a replica. It only one of two in Europe apparently (going by the info sheet in the window of the car).

The actual BTTF DeLorean is in the Universal Studios theme park in Los Angeles, California.

Ahh, that's okay then :)

Saw a DeLorean over on the southbound carriageway of the M50 on Saturday. Must have been on its way to the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Sabre Man

Cool pictures. Thanks for sharing!

unkel wrote: »
    Indeed. It's overpriced and the engine should be more than 4 litres bigger than that paltry 2.8, but it's still a very cool car for a poseur :)

Nonsense. It's a perfectly adaquate engine for getting around Ireland. Why would anybody need a 6.8 engine a saloon car? Sometimes you can spot poseurs just from their posts you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭CPG

Nonsense. It's a perfectly adaquate engine for getting around Ireland. Why would anybody need a 6.8 engine a saloon car? Sometimes you can spot poseurs just from their posts you know.

Well, its much more fun being stuck on the M50 in a 6.8 :) More room in the car to be grumpy

CPG wrote: »
    Well, its much more fun being stuck on the M50 in a 6.8 :) More room in the car to be grumpy

6.8 is engine size, not seating capacity.

It's actually a 6.9

I'll get my anorak! :)

its a taxi.....:D

No, it's a replica. It only one of two in Europe apparently
    Its a hell of a replica!!Very well done!

Gotta hit 88 Doc!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

I remembered to bring a proper camera this year, here's my lot...
    http://s315.photobucket.com/albums/ll469/Alias_9/?albumview=slideshow

good job alias. you missed mine! (not strictly a classic! grey one)
    ftomr9.jpg

ftomr9.jpg

I passed the FTO's and remembered how 10 years ago when I was finishing up in college, I really wanted one. Don't know why I didn't stop and take a pic, I guess they just don't interest me any more. It's funny how these things change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Sometimes you can spot poseurs just from their posts you know.

Oops I must have got found out :p
    Nonsense. It's a perfectly adaquate engine for getting around Ireland

Depends on how you want to get around Ireland. I have very fond memories of going over the Conor pass in the early 90s in my rented 1.0l Micra. It had a perfectly adequate engine to do the job. That said, adequate is not my favourite word. Especially not on this forum. Let's have some more passion!!! For a real engine - listen to my sig ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Well one thing I will say about the whole day..........it was a welcome break from the 'Real World'.........and all the horse**** about the R word, etc........

Indeed, I sat on the hill at the back of the pitch with the kids having a small picnic, behind all the yank cars, and invariably, they were all started at one point or another to satisfy the oglers.......... :D:D .......and a few things came to mind.....

- it's going to take a lot more than an oil price increase to kill the interest in classic cars.
    - down in the corner past the yanks, where all the RX-7's were, you could, literally, smell fuel in the air. Cool :D:D:D
    - there was a red V12 E-type coupe on the Jag stand, which, again, was started for the benefit of bystanders - it ran for a minute, or less, at which time one wag stated: '..there goes another fiver! ' :D No, CO2 not on the agenda in Terenure, thank god, just good 'ol human endeavour and creativity.

Me? I'd prescribe a car show a week to lift the country out of the doldrums !

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

galwaytt wrote: »
    Well one thing I will say about the whole day..........it was a welcome break from the 'Real World'.........and all the horse**** about the R word, etc........

Indeed, I sat on the hill at the back of the pitch with the kids having a small picnic, behind all the yank cars, and invariably, they were all started at one point or another to satisfy the oglers.......... :D:D .......and a few things came to mind.....

- it's going to take a lot more than an oil price increase to kill the interest in classic cars.
    - down in the corner past the yanks, where all the RX-7's were, you could, literally, smell fuel in the air. Cool :D:D:D
    - there was a red V12 E-type coupe on the Jag stand, which, again, was started for the benefit of bystanders - it ran for a minute, or less, at which time one wag stated: '..there goes another fiver! ' :D No, CO2 not on the agenda in Terenure, thank god, just good 'ol human endeavour and creativity.

Me? I'd prescribe a car show a week to lift the country out of the doldrums !

......nicely put, and I agree completely ! We revved up a few 560's/450's too just for the greens !!

BTW......to be pedantic..........the Yakuza always used left hand drive cars, despite Japan being RHD, to separate themselves from distinguished establishment and cheauffeur cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭landydef

ftomr9.jpg
    i seen them ftos and they looked pristine,they really highlighted how other people ruin them by sticking stickers and bits of plastic to them!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I have very fond memories of going over the Conor pass in the early 90s in my rented 1.0l Micra. It had a perfectly adequate engine to do the job.
    I drove the Conor Pass two weeks ago (pic from top here) - probably with a little more craic using 3.5 litres of old Merc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Dades wrote: »
    I drove the Conor Pass two weeks ago (pic from top here) - probably with a little more craic using 3.5 litres of old Merc!

..........just think how much more fun it could have been if you had a beautiful bodycoloured rear spoiler on that Merc !! :P

Depends on how you want to get around Ireland. I have very fond memories of going over the Conor pass in the early 90s in my rented 1.0l Micra. It had a perfectly adequate engine to do the job.
    Its a grand road now,they have widned the other side of it down towards dingle, iv nearly rolled my van more than once going down there:o:P
    Heres my chevette up the top on a run last year
    Image037ch.jpg
    And this is what i saw at the bottom one morning on the way out to dingle....:eek:
    Image351.jpg
    Scary,keys were still in the ignition,no one around though...

And this is what i saw at the bottom one morning on the way out to dingle....:eek:
    Image351.jpg
    Scary,keys were still in the ignition,no one around though...

If I owned a vectra, I may well have done the same ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,701 ✭✭✭Sids Not

Another NCT failure...."Hello Gardai...my car's been robbed"........:D

Perfectly good air freshner going to waste......:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭DarenO

http://s351.photobucket.com/albums/q452/DarrenLaura/

a few pics i took, got their too late and missed some good cars judging by what was on the road.

When, where is the next big show

Regards
    Darren

20th july...trim

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Sids Not wrote: »
    Perfectly good air freshner going to waste......:p
    LOL!

alias no.9 wrote: »
    If I owned a vectra, I may well have done the same ;)
    I see your point.....:D

if i owned a Vectra I would have stayed in it and found a bigger cliff....