Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First shots with new .17HMR

• 03-07-2008 10:22pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭

Well lads,
    Thanks for all your help and advice. Got rifle this morning (only 8 weeks). I zeroed it to 100 yards like ye said, took a walk down the fields after and nailed a rabbit at 155 yards (friend had range finder) with first shot. I'm delighted to say the least. Just one more quick question, on my license it says .22, I only noticed this in the gun shop. Is it a big deal to get it changed to .17HMR, the guard who filled out the initial form was fairly clueless about firearms and put down .22 instead of .17. The FAO is sound and I get on with him well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭killintime

hi shud be ok to get it changed just make shur the numbers mach you firearm as well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭dwighet

I had the same thing happen on my cert for the 17hmr...I took it into the barracks and the it was corrected there on the spot... No hassles at all...

Congrats on your new rifle...The 17hmr is a good fun gun..150yd first kill...Very nice...
    rgds
    Dwighet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Mac Tire

Fair play, 150yds first shot and kill...Just have to try and keep the kill ratio up there at 100% now, easier said than done ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 624 ✭✭✭thehair

Mac Tire wrote: »
    Fair play, 150yds first shot and kill...Just have to try and keep the kill ratio up there at 100% now, easier said than done ;)

have you been hunting with your new 308 mac:p

Rawhead wrote: »
    Well lads,
    Thanks for all your help and advice. Got rifle this morning (only 8 weeks). I zeroed it to 100 yards like ye said, took a walk down the fields after and nailed a rabbit at 155 yards (friend had range finder) with first shot. I'm delighted to say the least. Just one more quick question, on my license it says .22, I only noticed this in the gun shop. Is it a big deal to get it changed to .17HMR, the guard who filled out the initial form was fairly clueless about firearms and put down .22 instead of .17. The FAO is sound and I get on with him well.

well done and hello from steve:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭Mac Tire

thehair wrote: »
    have you been hunting with your new 308 mac:p

Na, havn't fired a shot through it yet.....patience is all part of the hunt! :pac::D

Mac Tire wrote: »
    Na, havn't fired a shoot through it yet.....patience is all part of the hunt! :pac::D

aaaaa dont worrie i will log off soon to go SHOOTING:eek::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭eoinkildare

hi lads,
    i've been shooting with my cz452 for the last two years and i love it, but now im thinking of changing to a .17hmr considering the better range.

is the ammo much more expensive?
    is the .17 as silent with a mod and subs?
    is the range better with .17 subs than with .22 subs?

cheers in advance,
    eoin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

As far as I know there's no subsonic ammo for the .17HMR. Yes, it's a hell of a lot louder than a .22lr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

ammo is approx €19 per 50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

hi lads,
    i've been shooting with my cz452 for the last two years and i love it, but now im thinking of changing to a .17hmr considering the better range.

cheers in advance,
    eoin

Hi Eoin,

To answer your quetions quickly : yes, no, yes!!

Ammo can be had for a HMR for 15€ for 50 (federal)
    There are no subsonic loads in 17 HMR, so they're still a crack
    Hell yes, you will double your range with the HMR.

Should be a straight swap on a .22 license

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭eoinkildare

cheers lads, thanks for the amazingly quick reply

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭foxhunter

hi lads,

It will cost you about €15 for 50 .17 hmr

Short answer is no it will never be as quiet as the .22

Ive never heard of .17 subs to be honest but the standard 17gr ballistic tip has a better range alright.

i have a cz 452 and i used CCI 32 GRAIN STINGERS MINI ROCKED AMMO:D
    will kill fox at 50 yards but dont do it with a .22 rimfire in case you might
    miss:eek: i have killed gray crow at 125 yards easy:Dwith that ammo steve:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭riflehunter77

Fairplay to you Rawhead, nothing like getting the first one in the bag. Hope you get many more over the year, safe shooting...