Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why GAA is better then soccer (old but i love it)

• 03-07-2008 2:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭

:D:DWHY GAA IS SOOOOO MUCH BETTER!!!!!!!!
    25 REASONS WHY GAA IS BETTER THAN SOCCER
    1) The GAA player who played in front of 80,000 at the weekend will be teaching your children, selling you meat or fixing your drains on Monday morning. The soccer player who plays in front of 80,000 will be moaning about playing too many games and will be trying to sell you his personalised brand of leisure wear
    2) GAA nicknames are better (The Bull, The Bomber, etc.) . Soccer players just add a Y to their surnames
    3) Dublin vs Meath is a real derby. What does Utd. Vs City mean to Ronaldo or Sibierski
    4) How many soccer players does it take to screw in a light bulb? Answer eleven. One to stick it in and ten to surround and kiss him after he does it
    5) Soccer players go to the papers after a game. GAA players go to the pub
    6) John Terry would run a mile if he came up against Darren Fay
    7) GAA teams are numbered 1-15. A soccer team reads like the lottery results
    8) All soccer players wear shin pads. Some hurlers wear helmets
    9) Television runs soccer. Schoolteachers run the GAA
    10) The GAA is about where you're from. Soccer is about who you like
    11) No segregation at GAA games
    12) No soccer team has a nickname quite as lovely as the Fighting xxxs of Carlow
    13) Bubble perms never made it to Croke Park
    14) A scoreless draw in the GAA would be quite a novelty
    15) The GAA may not appreciate its women as much as it should but at least we all know who Cora Stanunton is. The most famous woman in English soccer is Posh Spice
    16) Under age players get to be part of the biggest days in hurling and football at half-time in the All-Ireland.
    17) Micheal O'Murchearaigh.
    18)If a GAA player ever jumped at a spectator like Eric Cantona did the rest of his team would join in. So would the rest of the crowd.
    19)Vinnie Jones grabbed Gascoignes testicles. Paudie O'Se decked Joe McNally during the National Anthem. McNally learnt his lesson. Gascoigne just got worse.
    20) The GAA season always leaves you wanting more. The soccer season leaves soccer people demanding less. "Fewer games please"
    21) Old soccer players get testimonials, Old GAA players just slip down to junior.
    22) Rural villages = A Church, A Post-office, a Pub and a GAA pitch.
    23) Pints after the match with the lad you knocked seven lumps of xxxe out of in the game.
    24)Croke park on a Summer's Day.
    25)Roman Abramovich can buy the League. You can't buy Sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭megadodge

I like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Those and many other reasons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭andrew1977

Brilliant.. great post !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Ye are all watching too much English soccer. Irish soccer is at the heart of the community too.
    I love the GAA and the league of Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

it most certainly is old!!! some of them need to be revised:

1. He might, but some of the managers will be gazing at their bank balance and some of the players throwing darts instead of woking in the jobs the country sponsers or "supporters clubs" have found them, or indeed driving freebe cars around while you wait in the rain for the bus.

2. Nowadays you can just stick "er" at the ends of their names (glorious exception being Vaughen) or indeed "o"

9. Not anymore!!!

13. They did, and worse!!!

20. Dont know about the hurling this year so far!! Less, please!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭Trampas

great post.

was going to say 14 not in the championship but I had to read again to see scoreless and not just a draw. Which there hasn't been many this season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭ssmith6287

Ye are all watching too much English soccer. Irish soccer is at the heart of the community too.
    I love the GAA and the league of Ireland

Iris soccer is so boring, the only soccer i can watch is championship in england, theyre not bitches like the premiership but theyre not too far below standard. I went to a few Drog games this and last season and the term drying paint comes to mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

While it is not unknown, there is a lot less diving, and if a guy stays down he usually is injured. There is much more playing to the whistle and getting on with the game, which is the way it should be. There are other things, like with 15 minutes to go you don't look at the scoreboard and think that that will be the final score.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 tracto

11) No segragation with the exception of Dublin and hill 16 ;)

19) I once saw Hank Traynor play with a Westmeath lads testicles during the national anthym before the quarter finals a few years ago. Thought it was gas until he ended up booked before the ball was even thrown in. Needless to say he wa given his marchin orders very shortly afterwards. Damn anti Meath bias :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

tracto wrote: »
    11) No segragation with the exception of Dublin and hill 16 ;)

19) I once saw Hank Traynor play with a Westmeath lads testicles during the national anthym before the quarter finals a few years ago. Thought it was gas until he ended up booked before the ball was even thrown in. Needless to say he wa given his marchin orders very shortly afterwards. Damn anti Meath bias :rolleyes:
    Ah now, Hill 16 isnt segregated. Tickets are available for anyone. Personally i would love to see more tickets going to the oppositions for the sake of banter......once we still hold the majority there that is :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭ssmith6287

Nalced_irl wrote: »
    Ah now, Hill 16 isnt segregated. Tickets are available for anyone. Personally i would love to see more tickets going to the oppositions for the sake of banter......once we still hold the majority there that is :D

It was either last year or the year before, but kerry were playing the dubs. Me, my Uncle and my cousin wore our kerry jerseys and had the flags on the hill. best craic ever. simpley the dubs were so confident about beeting us that they were slagging and jeering us BEFORE the game but sure we destroyed em. but was savage fun altogether. all d dub lads round us from inner city dublin and pure gentleman (un stereotypical) they loved the game, and even bought us a beer afterwards