Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Over the top displays of affection in public

• 03-07-2008 12:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭

Ok not full sure if I'm in the right forum but here goes...

Do some folk go way over the top in showing affection for their partner in public places. Call me old an grumpy if you will but think that snogging and just short of going the whole hog with some one in public is just a total turn of really and very unromantic. Like theres a time an a place for that and don't think its at 6 o' clock on a monday evening down the dairy aisle in Tesco and blocking up the whole place in the process. What are ye're views?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Down with this sort of thing! It sccccccccreams insecurity! You shouldn't have to show it off. Affection is fine but showing off...booooooooooooooooooo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

If I was mad about somebody I wouldn't care where I was and I probably wouldn't notice either. It should make you happy to see two people happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 414 ✭✭Looby_Loo

Depends where you mean by public.
    Snogfest in Tescos- not ok
    In pub/ nightclub- ;)

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Looby_Loo wrote: »
    In pub/ nightclub- ;)

And generally in this locale there'd be a good bit of drink on board, so I think there's an element of 'diminished responsibility' here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I absolutely hate seeing people being affectionate in public.
    Simply because I'm single, desparate, horny and jealous. :(

I love seeing couples fighting and breaking up though :D I don't see why other people should be happy when I'm not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Your really making yourself sound appealing to any female posters here:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I don't care as long as I've somewhere else to look, book to read, music to listen to, bus window to look out of..anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

kmart6 wrote: »
    Your really making yourself sound appealing to any female posters here:rolleyes:

Just wait 'til you see my personal ad ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Ah leave them be. They're lucky to have someone and aren't doing anyone any harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Ah leave them be. They're lucky to have someone and aren't doing anyone any harm.

Unless they're Joe Fritzel......

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Public displays of affection offensive? How about if I set up a cam, grab who? How about Jeremiah 16:1, who seems to think it's OK? French kiss him on cam and post it here? Would boards crash? Would there be an anti-affection "marching season" in all the principle cities of Ireland? Would the decency police drag us off and throw us in the slammer? Would the Pope make a proclamation against it? Would we get banned from AH or the site? Or worse, would The Rigger distort the pic, giving us horse bodies or something, with a humourous comment boldly imposed on it?

Public displays of violence seem to be OK (boxing for example), but why not affection? Make love, not war!

Public displays of affection offensive? How about if I set up a cam, grab who? How about Jeremiah 16:1, who seems to think it's OK? French kiss him on cam and post it here? Would boards crash?

I think I'd crash.:)
    Would there be an anti-affection "marching season" in all the principle cities of Ireland? Would the decency police drag us off and throw us in the slammer? Would the Pope make a proclamation against it? Would we get banned from AH or the site? Or worse, would The Rigger distort the pic, giving us horse bodies or something, with a humourous comment boldly imposed on it?

Public displays of violence seem to be OK (boxing for example), but why not affection? Make love, not war!

Amen, sister, amen! Testify! Do I hear you testify? Sweet Lordy Jesus, TESTIFY!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Would the Pope make a proclamation against it?
    Probably :p
    would The Rigger distort the pic, giving us horse bodies or something, with a humourous comment boldly imposed on it?

Definately :D
    Make love, not war!

Yeah, once the man ain't shooting blanks its all gravy baby!!

Back on topic though, i don't see much wrong in it, well i suppose there are limits like those two skangers ridin on the DART (literally), but kissing/hugging etc nothin wrong with that sure we all need that once in a while ( i wouldn't mind it myself its been a while haha)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

YES! This has been wrecking my head lately! Hate to shamelessly self-promote but I've literally just written about this on the blog mentioned in my sig.
    It's horrible, kids wearing the faces off each other on street corners in the early evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I'm not fond of seeing it really. Good thing I missed the beers.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I think I'd crash.:)
    Hey! You're one of the few lads on boards who knows what I look like. Would that be a good crash or a bad crash?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

Hey! You're one of the few lads on boards who knows what I look like. Would that be a good crash or a bad crash?

god that such a display of public affection!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

Bah, too much. Get a room, I declare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

I proclaim that I will see what you look like. Either through stalking or the easy method :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I fúcking hate it. I was having my lunch yesterday before going to work, and I was sitting at the window. On the seats outside for smokers, right in front of me, a couple were actually practically having sex. Kissing, groping, all that. At 12.30 on the street in the middle of Cork City. Then on the bus home, there was two 18/19 year olds sitting on each others laps on one seat right up by the driver, so the whole bus had a good view of them.

I'm all for couples being happy, but when you start to feel like you're watching a sex tape, it gets uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭CombatCow

I saw a couple in Houston station on the benches sucking the faces off each other for 5mins( no exaggeration ) then they came up for air and continued again, I was sitting across from them and was looking at other people watching them, 50% were disgusted (old folk) and 50% were laughing. I had fun watching other peoples reactions :pac:

CC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Ruu wrote: »
    Down with this sort of thing! It sccccccccreams insecurity! You shouldn't have to show it off. Affection is fine but showing off...booooooooooooooooooo!

Alright Ruu, who was she? :pac:

Xavi6 wrote: »

Boom! We have a winner!!

I dont mind as long as they dont get in my way!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

If public displays of affection are acceptable for couples then they should be acceptable for single people too.

You know damn well what I'm talking about.

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

Earthhorse wrote: »
    If public displays of affection are acceptable for couples then they should be acceptable for single people too.

Ha, the next crimewatch is going to be interesting...

"The gards are looking for a single male approx 6'' long.....":eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Reku

dfx- wrote: »
    I don't care as long as I've somewhere else to look, book to read, music to listen to, bus window to look out of..anything.
    These two pretty much sum up my view of it. As long as they're not groping one another or stripping off to get down to it no real harm IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Wouldn't think public displays of violence are OK meself and think most people would agree with me on that one not that they would always refrain from it either when it comes to it. Kinda take on board what your sayin to a certain extent Blue_Laggon. Im not talking about a something thats innocent such as a hug or that either though. I'm on about when it gets a lot more enthusaistic than that and even cause the people in the vicinity inconvenience. And if there are young children around too it may be a consideration. Nightclubs an that grand and you may not even see enough of people getting friendly in that sort of way in niteclubs these times for that matter.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Sherifu wrote: »
    I'm not fond of seeing it really. Good thing I missed the beers.

OMG the beers :eek: now that was shocking

personally, i dont mind it but that was just too much ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Earthhorse wrote: »

Think you would be arrested for that Earthorse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Steve_o wrote: »
    Ha, the next crimewatch is going to be interesting...
    Think you would be arrested for that Earthorse.

Only one way to find out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

3 words
    GET A ROOM

I'd need to be rebooted...but there would be a Chelsea Grin on my face for sure!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Public displays of affection..

hmm it depends.. if shes ugly i try to refrain from it..

If shes hot.. id stop just short of oral.

You will find that in different countries there is a different attitude toward it.

France for example it rather common, and most of the tim you will find that the ppl are sober while displaying affection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Xavi6 wrote: »

Hardly an example of public displays of affection

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 babsbabs

I agree and disagree

Ok younger people maybe is a bit much when they are only kids

But when its two adults - well if you are in the centre and you see that - maybe someone said something or did something and the other person thought it was nice and decided to show thanks for it!!!

Im with my boyfriend five months now and yeah we are still in the honeymoon phase - and for eg - the other day I was in work and I got a call to say to come to reception, when I arrived I was met by a huge bunch of roses - I didnt know where to look!!! But my Bf picked me up from work that night and yes I showed affection - who wouldnt after getting something so sweet!!!

But I do agree that sometimes - you have to see a bit too much and then it becomes tacky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I would be constantly giving my hubby kisses on the lips (no tongue) and hugging him and holding hands - I do not see any harm in it and do not see why I should stop it, we are far worse behind closed doors. Having said that virtually having sex is a bit too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

cormie wrote: »
    If I was mad about somebody I wouldn't care where I was and I probably wouldn't notice either. It should make you happy to see two people happy.

To true , i was over in amsterdam last year (one of many vists ) and was bolwed over a bit by the way boy/girlfriends greet each other on meeting ,at tram stops or anywere in public any time ,day or night .They seemed to be everywere and i thought ' Hello, is this not OTT ? but soon realised ,well no this is just how they do it here ,the whole grabbing each other , looking into each others eyes ,whispering sweet nuthing ooo la la ...( no that's france) and it was all age groups from teens to 50 somethings , so there ya have it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Yeah, once the man ain't shooting blanks its all baby gravy!!

FYP :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Sorry, my disgust there caused me to post prematurely...

Don't like public displays of affection, though holding hands and the odd kiss, like to say goodbye or whatever, is grand. Particulaly dislike couples sitting on each others laps (well, girl on guys lap, would hardly be fair the other way) when there are seats available on the train/bus. Eurgh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

Doesn't bother me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭peanut66

I have to say Im not that fond of seeing other people doing it in front of me...esp older people. Therefore I tend to look elsewhere. However I love doing it myself, its nice to feel wanted and I would rather be with someone who had no problem being affectionate in public than someone who never touched me.

My best friend's boyfriend is very anti PDA'S and it really upsets her. Like ya there is over the top and then theres a hug and a quick snog situation. He wont even hold her hand in public let alone anything else.

If it botheres people that muchh though.......don't look, simple as that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭hermit

I dont care... in fact we should be encouraging more of it and more extreme too.... highly entertaining.

on one foot... it can be arousing... maybe ya could jump in for a bit of triple action ya know.... ;)
    on another you can start up the whole "jaysus what is she doing with him" or "she looks retarded why would you" etc.. etc... etc... etc.....